“Special Announcement” for Modern Warfare Coming at Gamescom 2019

0
Modern Warfare Special Announcement

With Gamescom 2019 on the horizon, it comes as no surprise to see both Activision and Infinity Ward preparing to take center stage on the opening night. Infinity Ward has confirmed the prospect of a “special announcement” incoming. As to what that could be remains a mystery, however – especially with the Modern Warfare MP reveal only surfacing a few weeks ago.

The news comes in a recent tweet, where Geoff Keighley claims Infinity Ward has a “special announcement” up their sleeve on the opening night of Gamescom.

Keighley also mentions that new footage will air during the livestream. It appears as if this gameplay will be a further look at Modern Warfare’s Campaign, although this isn’t confirmed. It certainly does tie in nicely with previous teasers from devs within the studio, however.

The opening night of Gamescom 2019 is set to take place on Monday, August 19th at 8 PM CEST / 2 PM EDT / 11 AM PDT / 7 PM BST. This will be closely followed by Gamescom proper on August 20th.

Modern Warfare Battle Royale Surprise?

Surprisingly, some have remained resistant to the prospect of a Modern Warfare Battle Royale mode. Though it would essentially be an additional portion to the game with players having the choice to try it out or leave it behind.

Regardless of players’ opinions, however, there’s a strong chance Battle Royale will be revealed at Gamescom 2019. A new rumor suggests the mode will arrive in early 2020 as free post-launch content. Although that’s some time away, it’s always good to provide fans with an inkling of what to expect.

To the contrary, IGN has mentioned in a recent video that Infinity Ward has no plans for Battle Royale within Modern Warfare. This could just be a misunderstanding though.

The Call of Duty developers have confirmed that many more Multiplayer modes are on the horizon, so perhaps we’ll see one of those revealed instead of Battle Royale. At this point, it’s anyone’s best guess.

Infinity Ward is yet to shed any light on what the “special announcement” will be, but we’ll certainly be tuning into the livestream.

In addition to the Call of Duty giants, a host of other studios are also scheduled to make an appearance. These include but are not limited to, companies such as THQ Nordic and Kojima. Over 15 other publishers are set to take to the stage, as well.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here