Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →The 2024 Player’s Handbook is the revised fifth-edition Dungeons & Dragons handbook—not the original 2014 book. Wizards of the Coast describes it as a 384-page core rulebook with updated classes and character options, Weapon Mastery, more than 100 pages of spells, and an expanded guide to play. Those are the publisher’s headline features, not a complete rule-by-rule comparison.
What is the 2024 Player’s Handbook?
The 2024 Player’s Handbook (2024 PHB) is the revised fifth-edition D&D player core rulebook. It revisits the 2014 Player’s Handbook and is intended to help players learn the game, create characters, and look up rules during play. D&D Beyond describes it as 384 pages.
The official contents begin with “Introduction: Welcome to Adventure,” followed by “Chapter 1: Playing the Game” and “Chapter 2: Creating a Character.” Chapter 1 covers core play topics including dice, the six abilities, D20 tests, proficiency, actions, social interaction, exploration, combat, damage and healing, and conditions. See the official 2024 Player’s Handbook contents.
What’s new in the 2024 Player’s Handbook?
D&D Beyond’s overview highlights several areas of revision:
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
- Updated classes and character options: The publisher calls out updated classes, reworked backgrounds, species, and feats. Its launch recap also notes revised subclasses, spells, feats, and other character options.
- Weapon Mastery: The overview identifies Weapon Mastery as a prominent feature of the revised book.
- More spells: The publisher says the book contains more than 100 pages of spells.
- Expanded play guidance: The book adds an expanded guide to playing, alongside its rules and character-creation material.
- Rules organization: The launch recap points to a Rules Glossary designed to help readers find rules answers more directly.
These are the changes emphasized in the publisher’s overview; they should not be read as an exhaustive list of every changed rule. For the official summary, see D&D Beyond’s overview of what’s new and its D&D Direct recap.
2024 Player’s Handbook vs. 2014: which should you get?
The 2024 PHB is the revised edition of the fifth-edition handbook, while the 2014 PHB is the earlier version. If you are choosing a book for a new campaign, ask the Dungeon Master which rules and character options the group will use; a table’s chosen ruleset matters more than the newer publication date alone.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| What to compare | 2014 Player’s Handbook | 2024 Player’s Handbook |
|---|---|---|
| Edition relationship | Earlier fifth-edition handbook. | Revised fifth-edition handbook that revisits the 2014 book. |
| Publisher-highlighted character material | Not stated in the cited 2024 overview. | Updated classes and revised character options, including backgrounds, species, and feats. |
| Other publisher-highlighted updates | Not stated in the cited 2024 overview. | Weapon Mastery, more than 100 pages of spells, an expanded play guide, and a Rules Glossary. |
| Complete rules changes or compatibility | Not established by the cited overview. | The publisher overview does not provide a comprehensive change list or establish that every older character, supplement, or table rule transfers unchanged. |
The 2024 PHB is the clearer choice if you want the revised rules and character options described above. If your group is continuing with the 2014 rules, check with the DM before switching books: the official overview does not settle how every legacy option or table ruling carries over.
Should you get the physical or digital Player’s Handbook?
The D&D Beyond marketplace lists physical, digital, and digital-plus-physical formats for the book, with Wizards of the Coast identified as publisher. The listing’s stock status can change, and digital-platform features and access terms may also change, so check the current destination and your region before buying. The available listing is at the D&D Beyond marketplace.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
- Choose physical if you want a printed reference at the table or prefer browsing a book without a screen.
- Choose digital if you prefer accessing rules through a device and want to evaluate the platform’s current tools and terms.
- Consider both if you want a print copy and digital access; confirm exactly what the current bundle includes before purchasing.
If searching Amazon, “Dungeons & Dragons 2024 Player’s Handbook” is a clear product search phrase; it does not confirm that a particular seller or copy is currently available. The documented release dates are historical: D&D Beyond gives September 17, 2024 as the wide release date, and says local game store early access in the United States and Canada began September 3, 2024. Those dates are not current sales or availability offers. See D&D Beyond’s preview and release information.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Is the 2024 Player’s Handbook the new 5e book?
It is the revised fifth-edition player handbook, but that does not by itself mean every group has stopped using the 2014 rules or that older material works unchanged. Treat “new 5e” as shorthand for the revised handbook, not a promise of universal adoption or automatic compatibility. Ask your DM which handbook and options apply to your campaign.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




