Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

ASUS really did unveil ROG Mjolnir at Computex 2024. It is a Thor’s-hammer-shaped portable power station marketed as a gaming UPS, with a 768 Wh lithium-iron-phosphate battery, claimed runtime of about one hour for an RTX 4080 system, and support for solar, USB-C and Qi 2.0 charging. The unresolved question in 2026 is availability: no official U.S. price or confirmed retail launch has been established.

What is ROG Mjolnir?

ROG Mjolnir is more than a conventional desktop UPS. ASUS presented it as a portable power station, emergency battery backup and outdoor power source for gaming, LAN parties, camping and mobile content creation. Its hammer silhouette references Mjolnir, Thor’s mythological weapon; the design is ROG branding, not evidence of a Marvel license.

ASUS officially showcased the device at Computex 2024 in a press release dated June 4, 2024. The announcement calls it a portable UPS, but it does not establish every engineering detail that a desktop-UPS buyer may expect.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

ASUS Computex 2024 announcement

Announced specifications

Specification What is established
Battery 768 Wh lithium-iron-phosphate (LiFePO4/LFP), according to ASUS
Gaming runtime Approximately one hour for an RTX 4080 system, an ASUS claim rather than an independently verified universal result
USB-C Up to 100 W output, according to ASUS
Wireless charging Qi 2.0 with MagSafe compatibility, according to ASUS
Solar charging Supported, although panel requirements, input limits and recharge time were not specified
AC output and outlets Secondary coverage reports four AC outlets and up to 1,200 W maximum output
UPS transfer Secondary coverage reports a 10 ms switchover
Other ports and display Secondary coverage reports two USB-C ports at 100 W, two USB-A ports up to 16 W, and an LCD showing battery and power information
Handle Detachable flashlight handle that reportedly charges wirelessly when docked

The 1,200 W output, 10 ms transfer figure, port count and LCD are reported by Android Headlines; they are not all stated in ASUS’s press-release excerpt. TweakTown also covered the Computex demonstration and the RTX 4080 runtime claim.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
LAPGEAR Home Office Pro Lap Desk - Black Carbon, Fits 15.6” Laptops
  • Spacious Design: Measuring 21.1" wide and 14.1" deep, our lap desk comfortably fits most laptops up to 15.6". Extra room for accessories ensures convenience.
  • Enhanced Functionality: Packed with handy features, including a 5x9" precision tracking mouse pad and a built-in phone slot for seamless work or video calls. Plus, enjoy ergonomic support with the integrated cushioned wrist rest.
  • Cool Comfort: Enjoy a stable surface with our lap desk's dual bolster cushion, designed for comfort and airflow, keeping your lap cool during extended use.
  • Durable Surface: Work with confidence on our lap desk's solid surface, featuring a sleek black carbon color, ensuring optimal air circulation to prevent your laptop from overheating.
  • On-the-Go Convenience: With an integrated handle and lightweight design (2.8 lbs), our lap desk is portable for travel or moving around the house, offering flexibility in any space.

What does 768 Wh mean for gaming time?

Watt-hours measure stored energy, not guaranteed AC runtime. A useful estimate is:

Runtime (hours) ≈ battery capacity (Wh) × conversion efficiency ÷ load (W)

Rank #2
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

A 700 W load would theoretically consume 700 Wh in about 1.1 hours before conversion losses. Real runtime is lower and depends on the PC’s average draw, monitor(s), workload, battery reserve, temperature, battery age and any USB or wireless charging.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

“An RTX 4080 system” does not mean the graphics card alone. ASUS’s announcement does not identify the CPU, power-supply model, monitor, game workload, average wattage or reserve threshold used for the approximately one-hour claim. Treat it as a configuration-specific estimate, not a promise for every RTX 4080 computer or newer high-end GPU.

Rank #3
Sale
Yilador Webcam Cover 3 Pack, 0.03 inch Ultra Thin Laptop Camera Cover Slide
  • Note: Not suitable for MacBooks released after 2023 or devices with a protruding front camera; Not applicable to full-screen or notch-style tempered glass screen protectors; Do not use on the rear camera of the phone.
  • 💻 Why Do You Need a Webcam Cover Slide? — Safeguard your privacy by covering your webcam with our reliable webcam cover when not in use. Don't let anyone secretly watch you. Stay protected!
  • ✅ Thin & Stylish — Enhance your laptop's functionality and aesthetics with our 0.027" ultra-thin webcam covers. Seamlessly close your laptop while adding a touch of sophistication.
  • ✅ Fits Most Devices — Compatible with laptops, phones, tablets, desktops! Keep your privacy intact on Ap/ple, Mac/Book, iPh/one, iP/ad, H/P, L/novo, De/ll, Ac/er, As/us, Sa/msung devices.
  • ✅ 365 Days Protection — Our upgraded 3.0 adhesive ensures a strong hold that won't damage your equipment. Experience reliable, long-term privacy protection day in and day out.

Features beyond outage backup

LFP battery chemistry

LiFePO4 cells are generally valued for cycle life and thermal stability relative to some other lithium-ion chemistries. ASUS did not publish a cycle rating, warranty duration, replacement policy or service-life guarantee in the announcement.

Solar compatibility

Solar input could make Mjolnir useful for outdoor LAN events, remote work, camping and emergency power. Compatibility alone does not tell you how quickly it charges: panel wattage, sunlight, orientation, cabling, input limits and charge-controller behavior all matter, and those figures were not verified.

Rank #4
AboveTEK Portable Laptop Lap Desk w/Retractable Left/Right Mouse Pad Tray, Non-Slip Heat Shield Tablet Notebook Computer Stand Table w/Sturdy Stable Work Surface for Bed Sofa Couch or Travel
  • Anti-Slip Surface - Transform your laptop into a mobile workstation with the AboveTEK portable laptop lap desk. The anti-slip surface provides a strong grip for laptops up to 15.6 inches(Diagonal), while the double rubber strip on the bottom ensures a stable display or typing experience on your lap, couch, or bed.
  • Retractable Mouse Pad - Retractable laptop mouse pad extends on both directions for the left/right handed with elevation along the edges for stopping mouse from falling off. The size of laptop tray is 14" X 9.7" and the size of mouse pad is 7.4" X 6.1".
  • Effective Heat Shield - The effective heat shield made of sturdy and thick material protects your laptop from overheating. Prioritizes your comfort and safety, an ideal lap pad or board for working anywhere.
  • EASY to Carry and Store - With an ergonomic and simplistic design, the lap desk is portable to store in a backpack. Only 15" in size, 2.2 lb of weight and with slim 0.6 inch thickness, it is ready to be easily carried around.
  • Widely Applicable - The smooth platform accommodates laptops and tablets up to 15.6 inches(Diagonal), making it a versatile accessory and one of the best gifts for mom, dad, students and professionals. Perfect for use as a laptop bed tray or tablet holder anywhere at home, library, or park.

USB-C, Qi 2.0 and the flashlight

A 100 W USB-C output can charge many laptops, handhelds, cameras and phones, but a high-performance gaming laptop may require more power or a proprietary charging mode. Qi 2.0 and MagSafe charging are convenient for phones, while wireless charging is less efficient than the main AC output. ASUS did not specify the flashlight’s brightness, capacity or runtime.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is it a true UPS?

ASUS markets Mjolnir as a UPS and secondary reports describe a 10 ms transfer. The available announcement does not establish whether the final product uses standby, line-interactive or online topology, nor does it verify:

Best Value
Sale
LAPGEAR Home Office Lap Desk – Pink, Fits 15.6” Laptops
  • Spacious Design: Measuring 21.1" wide and 12" deep, our lap desk comfortably fits most laptops up to 15.6". Extra room for accessories ensures convenience.
  • Enhanced Functionality: Packed with handy features, including a 5x9" precision tracking mouse pad and a built-in phone slot for seamless work or video calls. Plus, enjoy laptop support with the integrated device ledge.
  • Cool Comfort: Enjoy a stable surface with our lap desk's dual bolster cushion, designed for comfort and airflow, keeping your lap cool during extended use.
  • Durable Surface: Work with confidence on our lap desk's solid surface, featuring a blush pink color, ensuring optimal air circulation to prevent your laptop from overheating.
  • On-the-Go Convenience: With an integrated handle and lightweight design (2.14 lbs), our lap desk is portable for travel or moving around the house, offering flexibility in any space.
  • Pure-sine-wave output on battery
  • Automatic voltage regulation
  • USB shutdown signaling or operating-system software
  • Surge-protection ratings
  • Continuous versus peak output limits
  • Pass-through behavior while charging
  • Grounding, neutral and country-specific safety certifications
  • Whether every outlet is battery-backed

A large battery does not automatically make a power station a better desktop UPS. Buyers with active-PFC computer power supplies should confirm waveform and transfer behavior before relying on any portable unit.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

ROG Mjolnir versus a conventional desktop UPS

Factor ROG Mjolnir Conventional desktop UPS
Portability Designed for indoor and outdoor use Usually stationary
Energy capacity 768 Wh announced Often much lower
Primary purpose Extended backup and mobile AC power Ride through short interruptions or shut down safely
Solar support Announced Generally not intended
Shutdown integration Not verified Common on business-oriented models
UPS engineering details Topology and waveform not verified Often published by the manufacturer
Price No verified official U.S. price Usually easier to compare across retailers

Who should consider it?

Potentially good fit

  • Gamers facing frequent or extended outages
  • LAN-party and event organizers
  • Creators needing AC power away from the grid
  • Users who want one battery for home backup and outdoor use
  • Owners whose sustained system draw is comfortably below the output limit

Probably a poor fit

  • People who need only five to 15 minutes for a safe shutdown
  • Buyers prioritizing the lowest cost per watt-hour
  • High-end workstations operating near the reported 1,200 W limit
  • Users requiring verified automatic shutdown or enterprise UPS behavior
  • Anyone who needs a confirmed, immediately purchasable product

Important edge cases

  • Include every monitor and accessory when estimating load; multiple high-refresh displays can substantially reduce runtime.
  • GPU and CPU transients may overload a unit even when average consumption is below its nominal rating.
  • A 100 W USB-C port may not sustain a gaming laptop at maximum performance.
  • Heaters, laser printers and other high-surge appliances are inappropriate loads.
  • Cloud cover can make solar recharge impractically slow.
  • A 768 Wh lithium battery is far beyond ordinary passenger carry-on limits; do not assume it is flight-legal.
  • Do not use it for medical or life-support equipment without explicit certification and manufacturer approval.

Can you buy ROG Mjolnir now?

Availability status checked August 18, 2026: the ASUS U.S. store and ROG USA site did not surface a current Mjolnir product listing in the available official pages. No official U.S. MSRP or confirmed mass-market launch was verified. That does not prove cancellation, but it does mean the product should be treated as an announced device rather than a currently available purchase.

Historical reports mentioned an early-2025 expectation; that timing should not be treated as evidence of present availability. Check ASUS or an authorized retailer for a live listing, region, warranty and final specifications before paying anyone using the Mjolnir name.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What to buy instead if you need backup today

For a desktop that mainly needs safe shutdown during short outages, compare established UPS lines from APC, CyberPower or Eaton. Check pure-sine output, continuous wattage, surge handling, battery-backed outlet count and USB shutdown support.

For portable AC power, solar input and outdoor use, established power-station ranges from EcoFlow, Jackery, BLUETTI and Anker SOLIX provide clearer retail channels. Compare watt-hours, continuous and peak output, battery chemistry, UPS transfer behavior, USB-C wattage, solar-input limits, weight, warranty and current regional price rather than capacity alone.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.