Recommended Free Tools
The best co-op Xbox game depends on who is playing and how: Split Fiction or Lego Voyagers suit two players, Stardew Valley can bring a larger group together, and Overcooked 2 turns teamwork into a fast-paced challenge. This guide draws on Xbox Wire’s December 2025 multiplayer roundup and an Xbox Store listing checked October 4, 2026; it is a curated set of options, not a review-score ranking. Local and online modes, player limits, and subscription access vary by game.
Best co-op Xbox games at a glance
| Game | Best for | Co-op details in the cited source | Access note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Split Fiction | A focused two-player adventure | Two players; split-screen on one couch or online | Xbox Wire says Friend’s Pass lets one player own the game; confirm current terms. |
| Lego Voyagers | A relaxed two-player puzzle adventure | Two players; local or online | Xbox Wire says one copy can work through Friend’s Pass; confirm current terms. |
| Stardew Valley | Farming and building together | Up to eight co-op players, per Xbox Wire’s 2025 roundup | That roundup listed Game Pass Essential, Premium, and Ultimate; check the current catalog. |
| Minecraft | Open-ended building and survival | Split-screen co-op is identified in the roundup | The 2025 roundup listed Premium and Ultimate; check current availability and local setup. |
| Lego Party | Minigames with a group | Up to four, split-screen or online; 60 minigames, according to Xbox Wire (2025) | Current purchase or subscription access is not stated in the cited roundup. |
| Overcooked 2 | Coordination under pressure | Cooperative cooking in person or online | The roundup listed Game Pass Essential, Premium, and Ultimate; check the current catalog. |
| Gears of War: Reloaded | Action and a campaign played together | Modern split-screen experience, per Xbox Wire | The roundup listed Game Pass Ultimate and PC Game Pass; check edition, platform, and current access. |
| PowerWash Simulator 2 | Low-pressure teamwork | Up to four online or two in split-screen, per Xbox Wire | The roundup listed Game Pass Ultimate and PC Game Pass; check the current catalog. |
| House Flipper 2 | Renovation and creative projects | Online co-op for up to four, with story and sandbox modes described in the roundup | Current purchase or subscription access is not stated in the cited roundup. |
| Grounded 2 | Survival and crafting | Up to four, per Xbox Wire | Listed as Game Preview and with Game Pass Ultimate and PC Game Pass in the roundup; both preview status and access can change. |
| Towerborne | A cooperative brawler, including couch play | Up to four, with console couch co-op, per Xbox Wire | The roundup described it as Game Preview. Its report of nine major updates was tied to a year in Early Access, not a current update count. |
| Sea of Thieves: 2025 Edition | An online pirate crew | Two to four online co-op players and cross-platform co-op, according to the Xbox Store listing accessed October 4, 2026 | The accessed US listing displayed $19.99+ and Game Pass purchase/access options; price and subscription access can change. |
| Arc Raiders | A three-player online squad | Xbox Wire describes an online three-person squad and says solo play is also possible | Current purchase or subscription access is not stated in the cited roundup. |
| Marvel Cosmic Invasion | A cooperative side-scrolling brawler | Up to four players, with character swapping and team combinations noted by Xbox Wire | Verify current release and access status. |
Mode and player-count details in this comparison come from Xbox Wire’s December 22, 2025 roundup unless the Xbox Store is named. Game Pass listings here describe what that dated roundup said, not a guarantee of current inclusion.
Best Xbox co-op games for two players
Split Fiction
Choose Split Fiction for a two-person adventure built around platforming and puzzles across science-fiction and fantasy settings. Xbox Wire describes both couch split-screen and online play. It also says Friend’s Pass lets one player own the game while the other joins; check the current terms before relying on that arrangement.
Lego Voyagers
Lego Voyagers is another clear two-player pick, with a lighter puzzle-adventure focus. The roundup describes local and online co-op and a Friend’s Pass arrangement that can let one copy serve two players. Confirm the terms that apply to your platform and region.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Gears of War: Reloaded
For a more action-focused session, Xbox Wire points to the game’s split-screen experience. The roundup also listed Game Pass Ultimate and PC Game Pass access, but those listings do not establish current availability or which edition and platform are included.
Best couch co-op games on Xbox
Overcooked 2
Overcooked 2 makes communication the main challenge: players coordinate to complete timed cooking tasks, either in person or online. It is a natural choice when the group wants a lively cooperative game rather than a shared exploration campaign.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Lego Party
For a party-game format, Lego Party offers 60 minigames. Xbox Wire says up to four people can play split-screen or online, making it one of the clearer options for a group on one console.
Minecraft
Minecraft offers a more open-ended local option: the roundup identifies split-screen co-op for building and survival play. Local setup can vary by platform and mode, so check the game’s current instructions for your Xbox before planning a session.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteRank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Towerborne
If you want a brawler with local play, Xbox Wire describes Towerborne as supporting up to four players, including console couch co-op. The source calls it Game Preview; check its current status before choosing it.
Set up local play
Local modes may require additional controllers, but the exact setup depends on the game and the console. Microsoft’s accessories catalog lists Xbox Wireless Controllers and compatibility filters for Xbox One and Series X|S; the page consulted was localized to Denmark, so check the relevant regional catalog and your game’s requirements.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Best Xbox co-op games for a larger group
Stardew Valley
For a slower shared project, Stardew Valley combines farming and homestead-building. Xbox Wire’s 2025 roundup gives a co-op capacity of up to eight players, the largest group size among the titles listed here. Its Game Pass tiers in that article are dated listings, not current access advice.
PowerWash Simulator 2
PowerWash Simulator 2 suits a group that wants a calmer shared task. Xbox Wire says it supports up to four players online, or two in split-screen. That difference matters if everyone plans to play together in one room.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
House Flipper 2
House Flipper 2 supports online co-op for up to four, according to the roundup, with story and sandbox modes. The cited description establishes online group play; it does not identify local split-screen.
Grounded 2
Grounded 2 is the survival-and-crafting pick for groups of up to four in Xbox Wire’s roundup. That source identified it as Game Preview and listed Game Pass Ultimate and PC Game Pass, so confirm both the game’s current status and access before making plans.
Sea of Thieves: 2025 Edition
For a crew-based online adventure, the Xbox Store listing accessed October 4, 2026 specifies two to four online co-op players and cross-platform co-op. The same US listing displayed a price of $19.99+ and Game Pass purchase/access options at that time; neither the price nor plan access should be assumed to remain unchanged.
Choose by the kind of teamwork you want
- Work through an adventure together: Split Fiction and Lego Voyagers are the most clearly described two-player choices.
- Build or tend a shared world: Try Stardew Valley for farming or Minecraft for open-ended building and survival.
- Coordinate under a timer: Overcooked 2 centers on cooperative cooking challenges.
- Play without a high-pressure objective: PowerWash Simulator 2 offers collaborative cleaning, with player limits that differ between online and split-screen.
- Take on action together: Consider Gears of War: Reloaded for its described split-screen experience, or Towerborne for a brawler with couch co-op.
- Bring a party: Lego Party is the explicit minigame option for up to four, locally or online.
- Play online with a crew: Sea of Thieves: 2025 Edition has a stated two-to-four-player range and cross-platform co-op on the cited Store listing; Arc Raiders is the three-person squad option in Xbox Wire’s roundup.
Check access and mode before you start
Game Pass membership is not a blanket condition for this list. Xbox Wire’s December 2025 roundup named subscription access for selected titles only, and its catalog details may have changed. Check the current Xbox listing for the exact game, edition, console or PC version, and plan. Also confirm whether the specific mode you want is local, online, or both: a stated online player limit does not establish a split-screen option.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteOne Xbox Wire paragraph about Lightyear Frontier repeats details about Lego Party, including golden bricks, minifigures, and minigames. Those details do not establish Lightyear Frontier’s gameplay, player count, or subscription status, so it is not included as a recommendation here.
Quick Recap
Sources
- Xbox Wire: holiday multiplayer roundup, December 22, 2025, by Danielle Partis, Xbox Wire Editor. Used for the listed game descriptions, modes, player counts, and dated Game Pass mentions.
- Xbox Store: Sea of Thieves: 2025 Edition. Listing accessed October 4, 2026; used for the player range, cross-platform co-op, and time-sensitive US price and access display.
- Microsoft Xbox Wireless Controllers accessories catalog. The consulted page was Denmark-localized; use the appropriate regional catalog for compatibility and availability.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




