Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →God of War: Sons of Sparta has co-op, but not in its main story: the campaign is single-player, while two players can play local, offline couch co-op in The Pit, an end-game challenge mode. The Pit normally unlocks after the campaign, though PlayStation publishes a menu sequence for opening it early. The official support material reviewed does not describe online multiplayer.
What co-op and multiplayer does Sons of Sparta have?
| Mode | Players | Availability |
|---|---|---|
| Main story campaign | One | Single-player story progression. PlayStation Support |
| The Pit challenge | Solo or two-player local couch co-op | Offline local play; normally available after the campaign, with an official early-unlock input sequence. PlayStation Support |
| Online multiplayer | Not stated as available | The official support material reviewed does not describe online play. Do not assume you can play co-op over the internet. PlayStation Support |
Why did the player-count listing cause confusion?
The PlayStation Store listing labels the game for “1 – 2 players” and describes it as “Single Player or 2 Player Couch Co-Op mode.” That wording is compatible with the game’s limited co-op offering, but the nearby purchase listing does not by itself make clear that co-op is confined to The Pit rather than available throughout the story. PlayStation’s support FAQ makes that distinction explicit. PlayStation Store PlayStation Support
TechRadar reported player questions about the player-count language and the fact that the co-op mode requires finishing the campaign first. That establishes reported discussion and criticism, not how widespread it was or that players reached a consensus. TechRadar
How to unlock The Pit early
By default, The Pit becomes accessible after completing the main story. PlayStation says this progression is intended to ensure players are familiar with Kratos’ Spartan arms and the enemies they will face. PlayStation Support
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →#1 Best Overall
- PREMIUM 6-INCH KRATOS FIGURE: Unleash the fury of the Gods with this meticulously crafted Kratos figure, featuring 129 unique finishes that captures his faded white skin and rugged survival armor
- 31 POINTS OF ARTICULATION: Pose the Ghost of Sparta in intense battle stances with 31 points of articulation. Every joint is designed for dynamic poses to recreate epic moments from the PS5 games
- 5 ACCESSORIES FOR BATTLE: Kratos comes prepared with 5 essential accessories, including his Leviathan Axe, Guardian Shield, Gauntlet and 2 extra handsets, ready for any challenge
- OPEN DISPLAY BOX: Showcase Kratos and additional PlayStation action figures (sold separately) like from The Last of Us and Horizon Forbidden West in this box design, an official licensed product of PlayStation
- TOYS & GAMES FOR ALL: Presented by Spin Master, the creators of kids toys for boys & toys for girls who love collectibles, toy figures & playsets. Ideal holiday gift, or birthday gifts for all ages
To access the challenge before finishing the campaign, enter this sequence at the starting menu:
- Press Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right.
- Press L1, then R1.
- Press the Touchpad.
PlayStation says a new menu option appears after the sequence and leads to The Pit. The challenge can be played solo or with another player locally, offline. PlayStation Support
Rank #2
What kind of game is Sons of Sparta?
God of War: Sons of Sparta is a canon 2D action platformer about a young Kratos and his brother Deimos during their Agoge training. Santa Monica Studio describes its themes as duty, honor and brotherhood; the studio developed the game with Mega Cat Studios. It released for PS5 on February 12, 2026. Santa Monica Studio PlayStation.Blog
The adventure includes customizable weapons, skills, divine Gifts of Olympus, optional quests, hidden encounters and exploration across Laconia. Those features describe the broader single-player adventure; they do not expand co-op beyond The Pit. Santa Monica Studio
Rank #3
- SONY
- PlayStation 5 Standard Edition + God of War: Ragnarok Voucher
Does the PS5 listing mean there is a disc version?
The official product listing identifies digital PS5 software; the available information here does not establish a physical disc edition. The Store confirms DualSense vibration support. A second controller may be useful if another person is joining for local co-op, but the cited listing does not state whether a second controller is required or included. PlayStation Store
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Launch editions and prices
PlayStation.Blog listed these U.S. launch prices in February 2026. They are launch figures, not confirmation of current prices.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- AWESOME DESIGN. The Design of the Kratos air freshener looks exactly like the character Kratos and his Son.
- REFRESHING SCENT. This God of War collection piece has a great scent which keeps the car fresh.
- OFFICIALLY LICENSED. The exclusive God of War air freshener is an officially licensed product.
- MANUFACTURED PACKING. The Kratos and Son air freshener comes in a detailed manufacturer’s packaging.
- GREAT GIFT. The famous game series collectible is a great gift for your friends, family, and God of War anime fans.
Rank #4
- Consola PS5 Digital + God of War Ragnarok
| Edition | U.S. launch price | Listed extras |
|---|---|---|
| Standard Edition | $29.99 | Not stated in the launch overview. PlayStation.Blog, February 2026 |
| Digital Deluxe Edition | $39.99 | Digital artbook, digital soundtrack, in-game items and PlayStation avatars. PlayStation.Blog, February 2026 |
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




