Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Skip to content
VGSources
DOOM

DOOM: The Dark Ages Slaughter Mode vs. Other Horde Modes: What We Know

Slaughter Mode is announced as an endless solo challenge with randomized escalating encounters. Here’s how it differs from the Ripatorium and what comparisons with other shooters can responsibly say.

By VGSources Team 3 min read

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

DOOM: The Dark Ages’ Slaughter Mode is an announced endless, single-player survival challenge—not a documented, one-to-one match for horde modes in other shooters. The announcement describes escalating rounds of randomized demons, bosses, and arenas, with personal high scores, cosmetics, and weekly challenges. It is due in November 2026 and requires the Revelations expansion, but an exact release date and complete rules have not been announced in the available materials.

What is Slaughter Mode in DOOM: The Dark Ages?

The announcement text reproduced in a DOOM community post describes Slaughter Mode as an endless solo challenge built around escalating encounters. Demons, bosses, and arenas are randomized, and players can pursue personal best scores, cosmetics, and weekly challenges. The announcement does not state how scoring works or specify the number of arenas, rounds, bosses, or rewards.

The mode is announced for November 2026, with no exact day given in the reproduced announcement. Treat the date and feature description as announced information until Bethesda publishes release notes confirming the launch details.

How does Slaughter Mode compare with the Ripatorium?

The closest documented comparison is inside The Dark Ages itself. The Ripatorium is an arena tool for building encounters; Slaughter Mode is presented as a ready-made survival and score challenge. Bethesda’s Update 2 notes, published August 7, 2025, introduced the Ripatorium as an endless arena mode where players set up combat encounters in three arenas. Update 3 notes, published November 18, 2025, expanded its customization.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Comparison Slaughter Mode Ripatorium
Core structure Announced as endless survival with escalating, randomized rounds. (Community-posted announcement: source) Player-built encounters arranged in up to five rounds. (Bethesda Update 3 notes)
Player setup Randomization is emphasized; specific setup controls are not stated in the announcement. (Source) Players choose demon types and quantities, respawns, time limits, and round settings. Each round can have up to 10 respawn waves. (Bethesda Update 2 and Update 3)
Encounter spaces Arenas are named as part of the randomized challenge; the total number is not stated. (Source) Three arenas were available when the Ripatorium was introduced: City of Ry’uul, Village of Khalim, and Harbor of Souls. (Bethesda Update 2 notes)
Replay goals Personal high scores, cosmetics, and weekly challenges are announced. (Source) Encounter presets and passcode sharing support custom challenges; Bethesda described passcode sharing as beta in Update 3. (Update 3 notes)
Access The announcement says Revelations ownership is required. (Source) Introduced as an update feature; Bethesda says Revelations owners receive additional post-story content for the Ripatorium. (Update 2; Revelations announcement)

The practical distinction is control versus surprise. Ripatorium lets players deliberately choose and tune encounters. Slaughter Mode’s announcement instead highlights randomized, escalating fights and a personal score chase. It does not establish that players will be unable to adjust any settings, only that those controls have not been described in the announcement.

Does Slaughter Mode require Revelations?

Yes, according to the announcement reproduced in the community post. Bethesda’s Revelations announcement identifies the expansion as a paid downloadable add-on for base-game players and says they can buy it separately or upgrade to Premium Edition. Check the relevant platform’s listing for current purchase terms.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What does “horde mode” mean in this comparison?

“Horde mode” is a broad genre label for survival against successive enemy groups, not a standardized ruleset. The available description supports calling Slaughter Mode an endless solo survival challenge with escalating randomized encounters. It does not establish specifics such as co-op, a fixed wave cap, checkpoints, matchmaking, global leaderboards, or permanent progression.

Reporting by Twisted Voxel says feedback on DOOM Eternal’s Horde Mode influenced Slaughter Mode. That is useful context about its development, but it does not prove the two modes share rules. The sources available here do not document the mechanics of specific horde modes in other shooter franchises, so a detailed cross-game comparison would be speculative.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What remains unknown before release?

  • The exact November 2026 release day.
  • How rounds, checkpoints, scoring, or failure and restart rules work.
  • The complete reward list and how each cosmetic is earned.
  • Whether matchmaking, leaderboards, or any multiplayer option is included.
  • Whether every Revelations enemy appears in the mode.

Those details are not specified in the announcement or the cited update notes. Bethesda’s official DOOM: The Dark Ages page and future release notes are the appropriate places to confirm final availability and mechanics.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from Patch Notes

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.