The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →FINAL FANTASY XI’s free trial can now be played without a time limit, according to Square Enix’s North American store listing. The change followed maintenance in late September 2026. It removes the clock, not the trial’s other limits: access remains capped at level 75 and restricted to the original-release areas, with expansions and several social and economy features unavailable.
Does the FFXI free trial have a time limit?
No. Square Enix says the trial is “available with no time limit” on its North American free-trial store page. The listing says the change took effect following maintenance in late September 2026; Square Enix’s support FAQ also says players can continue indefinitely.
This changes how long you can use the trial, not what it contains. The trial is a way to explore a limited portion of FFXI without a playtime deadline; it does not make the full game free or unlock expansion content.
What can you play in the trial?
Level and jobs
Available jobs can be raised to level 75. Jobs added by expansions are not available to trial characters, according to the Square Enix store listing and support FAQ.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Areas and story
Trial characters can enter areas from the original FINAL FANTASY XI release. Expansion packs and additional downloadable content are excluded. Square Enix specifically notes that the Rhapsodies of Vana’diel and The Voracious Resurgence missions cannot be completed in the trial.
What restrictions remain?
Square Enix’s current store and support pages list the following limits for trial accounts:
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
- Characters: Up to three characters at a time.
- Gil: A maximum holding amount of 100,000 gil.
- Auctions: You cannot view auctions, place bids, or put items up for auction.
- Trading and bazaars: Trading with other players and buying or selling through bazaars are unavailable.
- Parties: You cannot invite another player to a party, but you can join a party when invited.
- Chat: /tell, /shout, and /yell are restricted. Party chat is available, and you can reply to incoming tells.
- Other features: Trial characters cannot use the Mog House Delivery Box or World Transfer Service, become Mentors, or participate in Unity Concord.
These restrictions matter most if you want to trade, use public chat channels, move items through delivery, or play with friends who expect you to organize a party. The exact limits are documented in Square Enix’s free-trial account FAQ.
Can you explore Vana’diel solo?
Yes. FFXI supports solo progress through Trust magic, which summons NPC allies to fight alongside you. Square Enix’s Returning Adventurer Guide, Vol. 1 describes Trust allies as enabling combat as though you were in a full party, and says many older missions and features have been adjusted to support solo play.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
That is support for soloing, not a promise that every objective is effortless. The guide advises players to prepare for later missions, so expect some content to require planning or assistance. The official FFXI site also describes the game as a Windows PC MMORPG with solo play and NPC allies: FINAL FANTASY XI Official Promotional Site.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Should you stay on the trial or upgrade?
The decision depends on whether the trial’s boundaries fit what you want from FFXI. Square Enix’s listed trial limits are clear; current full-service prices and subscription terms are not established by those pages, so check the official store for your region before budgeting.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
| What matters | Free trial | Full game |
|---|---|---|
| Time to play | No playtime deadline after the late-September 2026 maintenance, per Square Enix’s North American listing. | Full-service terms are not stated in the cited trial pages. |
| Content | Original-release areas; expansions and additional downloadable content excluded. | Expansion content is outside the trial; check the official regional store for current availability and terms. |
| Progression | Available jobs capped at level 75; expansion-added jobs unavailable. | Current full-game progression limits are not stated in the cited trial pages. |
| Social and economy features | Restrictions on auctions, trading, bazaars, party invitations, chat, and other account features. | Trial restrictions do not describe full-account features; consult Square Enix’s current account information. |
| Cost | Free trial. | Paid service; current regional price and subscription terms are not stated in the cited sources. |
Staying on the trial makes sense if you want to take your time with the original-release experience and can accept the level, content, and account limits. Consider moving to the full game if you reach those limits or want expansion areas, expansion jobs, or the restricted trading and social features. Check Square Enix’s official regional pages before upgrading, since prices and service terms can vary.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →




