October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
VGSources
Grand Theft Auto V

GTA 6 vs. GTA 5: What’s Changed in the Open World?

GTA V’s world is Los Santos and its surrounding Southern California-inspired landscapes. GTA VI moves to Vice City and beyond in Leonida, but Rockstar has not published comparable map-area figures.

By VGSources Team 4 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

GTA V’s open world is a fictionalized present-day Southern California built around Los Santos and Blaine County; GTA VI moves to the state of Leonida, with modern Vice City and places beyond it. Rockstar has described the two settings and GTA V’s exploration structure, but it has not published comparable map-area measurements or GTA VI’s full access rules. So the confirmed difference is in the setting and what Rockstar has disclosed—not a proven claim that one map is bigger.

At a glance: Los Santos and Blaine County vs. Leonida

What to compare GTA V GTA VI
Setting Los Santos and surrounding hills, countryside, and beaches, framed by Rockstar as reimagined present-day Southern California. Rockstar’s 2011 announcement. The state of Leonida, including Vice City and areas beyond it. Rockstar’s descriptions do not provide a complete list of playable regions. GTA VI official site.
Disclosed exploration structure Rockstar’s May 2013 preview said the world would be open from the beginning, with traversal from mountain peaks through city streets to the ocean floor. Rockstar’s preview roundup. Complete access rules and traversal structure have not been established in Rockstar’s reviewed descriptions. GTA VI official site.
Story’s relationship to place Three playable protagonists—Michael, Franklin, and Trevor—move through the world with distinct lives and skills. Rockstar’s preview roundup. Jason Duval and Lucia Caminos are at the center of a criminal conspiracy spanning Leonida. GTA VI official site.
Official comparable map-area figure Not stated in the cited Rockstar material. Not stated in the cited Rockstar material.

How the settings differ

GTA V: a city framed by Southern California landscapes

Rockstar announced GTA V as a story set in “the city of Los Santos and surrounding hills, countryside and beaches,” describing its inspiration as a reimagined, present-day Southern California. That framing makes the world a contrast between an urban center and the landscapes around it, rather than a city-only setting. Rockstar’s announcement.

GTA VI: Vice City within the wider state of Leonida

Rockstar places GTA VI in Leonida, a fictional state whose best-known city is Vice City. The official descriptions point beyond the city, and the story announcement describes Jason and Lucia’s conspiracy as stretching across Leonida. That establishes a broader fictional setting than Vice City alone, but not the exact boundaries, playable footprint, or full list of destinations. GTA VI official site and Rockstar’s Trailer 2 announcement.

What Rockstar has said about exploring each world

GTA V’s launch-era description

In its May 2013 preview roundup, Rockstar said GTA V’s entire world would be open from the beginning. It described a range of environments from mountain tops through Los Santos streets to the ocean floor. The same preview highlighted activities such as golf, tennis, yoga, cycling, parachuting, vehicle customization, and meeting characters while exploring. These are descriptions of GTA V, not confirmation that the same activities or structure carry over to GTA VI. Rockstar’s preview roundup.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

GTA VI’s full access rules remain unspecified

Rockstar’s public descriptions establish the Leonida setting and its story, but they do not spell out a complete exploration model: for example, whether every region is accessible immediately, how locations open up, or how traversal compares with GTA V. Rockstar said its August 2026 extended look was captured entirely from in-game footage on PlayStation 5; that identifies the footage source and platform, but does not provide a measured map comparison or guarantee that every shown feature will be final. Rockstar’s extended-look announcement.

Is the GTA 6 map bigger than the GTA 5 map?

There is no comparable official map-area figure in the Rockstar material cited here. Rockstar describes GTA V’s environments and GTA VI’s setting, but gives no matching measurements for either game. Leonida being a state, and the story reaching beyond Vice City, do not by themselves prove that GTA VI has a larger playable area than GTA V.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

For now, treat numeric map-size rankings as unverified unless they are independently sourced, clearly attributed estimates. The reliable comparison is qualitative: GTA V’s disclosed geography centers on Los Santos and its surrounding landscapes, while GTA VI is set in Vice City and beyond within Leonida.

How the protagonists connect the story to the world

GTA V’s preview introduced Michael, Franklin, and Trevor as three playable protagonists. Rockstar’s current GTA VI story material instead focuses on Jason Duval and Lucia Caminos, whose criminal conspiracy spans Leonida. This changes the announced cast and the story’s geographic framing; it does not, on its own, establish how switching characters or accessing the world will work in GTA VI. GTA V preview, GTA VI character pages, and Trailer 2 announcement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

GTA VI release and platform details

As of October 4, 2026, Rockstar lists GTA VI as a single-player game for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S, scheduled to launch November 19, 2026. Rockstar’s pre-order announcement says the physical edition is available starting November 12 to support pre-loading and contains a download code inside the box; it should not be described as a disc edition on that basis. Rockstar’s pre-order announcement and Rockstar’s release update.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from Patch Notes

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.