Yes—the original Lexar PLAY 4TB is a credible PS5 expansion SSD, but it is most compelling at a discount. It includes a PS5-oriented heatsink and carries a five-year limited warranty. The Lexar NM790 with heatsink is the closest value alternative: Tom’s Hardware describes the PLAY as nearly the same hardware, and says the NM790 can cost $10–$15 less when otherwise equivalent. That is a review-period comparison, not a live price quote, so check the exact model and current listing before choosing.
What you get with the original Lexar PLAY 4TB
The Lexar PLAY 4TB SSD for PS5 is an M.2 2280 PCIe Gen4x4 drive with a heatsink designed for PS5. Lexar’s April 2024 product sheet rates it for sequential reads of up to 7,400MB/s and writes of up to 6,500MB/s, with 3,200TBW endurance and a five-year limited warranty. Lexar describes it as tested and approved for PS5 use. Those speed figures are manufacturer ratings, actual performance may vary, and the console imposes its own speed limit.
The heatsink is included on the original PLAY model described in that sheet, so you do not need to buy a separate one for the console’s M.2 expansion slot. Confirm that the listing is for the heatsink-equipped drive, rather than an unrelated or differently specified listing.
How the PLAY compares with the closest alternatives
The relevant buying comparison is not just maximum rated speed. Check the exact capacity and model, whether a heatsink is included, PS5 test results, endurance, warranty and the price you can actually buy at.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
| Drive | PS5-relevant details established here | Price context |
|---|---|---|
| Lexar PLAY 4TB, original | Included PS5-oriented heatsink; up to 7,400/6,500MB/s sequential read/write; 3,200TBW; five-year limited warranty. Manufacturer ratings, not guaranteed PS5 results. | HotHardware listed $379.99 at launch in August 2024; not a current quote. |
| Lexar NM790 4TB with heatsink | Tom’s Hardware describes the PLAY as nearly the same hardware as the NM790. TechRadar names the NM790 with heatsink as a value choice and reports a 6,526MB/s PS5 internal benchmark result for the 4TB model. | Tom’s Hardware said the NM790 could be $10–$15 cheaper when otherwise equivalent; this is not a live price. |
| WD_BLACK SN850X 4TB | PS5 benchmark, heatsink configuration, endurance and warranty are not stated in the cited HotHardware launch comparison. | $304.99 in HotHardware’s August 2024 launch-period comparison; not a current quote. |
| Samsung 990 Pro 4TB | PS5 benchmark, heatsink configuration, endurance and warranty are not stated in the cited HotHardware launch comparison. | $319.99 in HotHardware’s August 2024 launch-period comparison; not a current quote. |
| Corsair MP600 Pro LPX 4TB | PS5 benchmark, endurance and warranty are not stated in the cited HotHardware launch comparison. | $349.99 in HotHardware’s August 2024 launch-period comparison; not a current quote. |
| XPG Gammix S70 Blade 4TB | PS5 benchmark, heatsink configuration, endurance and warranty are not stated in the cited HotHardware launch comparison. | $298.99 in HotHardware’s August 2024 launch-period comparison; not a current quote. |
| Acer Predator GM7000 4TB | PS5 benchmark, heatsink configuration, endurance and warranty are not stated in the cited HotHardware launch comparison. | $269.99 in HotHardware’s August 2024 launch-period comparison; not a current quote. |
The historical prices show why the PLAY should not be treated as an automatic best buy: at launch, several 4TB rivals were listed for less. They do not establish which drive is cheapest today. Compare current prices for the same capacity and heatsink configuration rather than using launch prices as deal guidance.
What the speed ratings mean on a PS5
Lexar’s 7,400MB/s read and 6,500MB/s write figures are maximum sequential ratings for the drive, not a promise that a PS5 will deliver those speeds. The console has its own limit, and real performance varies. For context, TechRadar’s PS5 buying guide reports a 6,526MB/s internal benchmark result for the 4TB NM790 with heatsink; that result is for the NM790, not a measured PLAY result.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
There is also a platform-specific caveat in PCWorld’s review: the PLAY is a DRAM-less design that uses Host Memory Buffer (HMB), which PS5 does not support. PCWorld retained a lower PlayStation rating even after improving its PC rating following additional testing in an August 25, 2025 update. That is a reason to compare platform-specific evaluations, not evidence that the PLAY cannot be used in a PS5.
PLAY versus PLAY SE: check the listing carefully
The original PLAY and the PLAY 2280 SE are separate models. Lexar’s June 2025 SE sheet describes a 4TB-only drive rated up to 7,000MB/s read and 6,000MB/s write, with a stated 6,300MB/s PS5 speed cap. It also lists 3,200TBW, a PS5 heatsink and a five-year warranty. Do not apply those SE ratings to the original PLAY, or assume a listing for one model is the other.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesRank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
- Look for the full model name—PLAY or PLAY 2280 SE—and the 4TB capacity.
- Verify that the listing explicitly includes the PS5-oriented heatsink.
- Compare the seller’s current price, not an old launch price or a price for a different capacity.
When the Lexar PLAY 4TB is the better buy
Choose the PLAY when
- Its current price is competitive with the NM790 with heatsink and other 4TB drives.
- You want the original PLAY’s included heatsink, published endurance rating and five-year limited warranty.
- You have checked that the listing is for the original PLAY rather than the differently rated PLAY SE.
Consider the NM790 or another 4TB drive when
- The NM790 with heatsink costs less and the listing otherwise matches what you need. Tom’s Hardware identifies it as the closest value alternative to the PLAY.
- A competing 4TB model is currently cheaper and its heatsink, warranty and PS5-specific performance meet your requirements. The August 2024 HotHardware prices are historical only and cannot identify today’s best deal.
Tom’s Hardware’s December 21, 2024 review found reasonable all-around performance and good power efficiency, while flagging price as the main concern. That supports treating the PLAY as a capable option whose value depends on the offer—not as a reason to pay a premium over a near-equivalent alternative.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




