Kingdom Hearts IV is currently scheduled for late 2027. Square Enix announced the release window on August 16, 2026, alongside confirmation of Nintendo Switch 2, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S and PC versions. The announcement also places Sora in Quadratum, introduces a world inspired by Coco, and describes Mickey, Donald and Goofy as playable while they search for Sora. No exact launch date has been announced.
When is Kingdom Hearts IV coming out?
Square Enix announced a late-2027 release window for KINGDOM HEARTS IV at D23: The Ultimate Disney Fan Event on August 16, 2026. That is the current announced window, not a specific launch day or month. The official announcement does not state a price or preorder date. Square Enix’s announcement
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
KINGDOM HEARTS Collection [I–III] Amazon Exclusive Edition - PlayStation 5 | $74.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Kingdom Hearts All in One Package (PlayStation 4) | $53.49 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Kingdom Hearts: The Story So Far (PS4) | $23.49 | Buy on Amazon |
The timing became clearer over the summer: a June 10 Square Enix announcement said a new trailer had debuted and that more details would follow, but did not give a release window. The later D23 announcement supplied the late-2027 timing and additional story details. June 10 announcement
What platforms will Kingdom Hearts IV be on?
Square Enix lists KINGDOM HEARTS IV for Nintendo Switch 2, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S and PC. Its platform listing specifies Xbox on PC, Steam and Epic Games Store. The announcement does not establish platform-specific performance, resolution, frame rate, cross-save support or other feature differences.
#1 Best Overall
- KINGDOM HEARTS Collection [I–III] Amazon Exclusive Edition includes a double-sided poster.
- A value packed bundle featuring three collections: KINGDOM HEARTS -HD 1.5+2.5 ReMIX-, KINGDOM HEARTS HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue, and KINGDOM HEARTS III + Re Mind (DLC).
- This product is also included in other bundle sets. Please ensure you do not purchase the same content more than once.
- Platform-exclusive Keyblade "Midnight Blue" included with purchase!
- To play the physical version of KINGDOM HEARTS Collection [I–III], an internet connection and additional data download are required.
| Platform | What Square Enix lists |
|---|---|
| Nintendo Switch 2 | Console version |
| PlayStation 5 | Console version |
| Xbox Series X|S | Console version |
| PC | Xbox on PC, Steam and Epic Games Store |
Choose based on the hardware you already use and, for PC, your preferred storefront. The announcement does not provide PC hardware requirements, so those details remain unknown. Nintendo’s June 2026 Direct recap also described the game as a new action RPG coming to Switch 2. Nintendo Direct recap
What did the 2026 Kingdom Hearts IV trailer reveal?
Sora is in Quadratum
The story follows Sora in the mysterious city of Quadratum, where Heartless are causing havoc. Square Enix also says players will visit worlds inspired by Disney and Pixar, but the announcement does not give a complete list of those worlds.
A world inspired by Coco
The D23 announcement confirms a new in-game world inspired by Disney and Pixar’s Coco. It does not describe the full world, its characters or how it fits into the game’s story.
Rank #2
- The compilation includes the following games: KINGDOM HEARTS HD 1.5+2.5 ReMIX KINGDOM HEARTS FINAL MIX KINGDOM HEARTS Re:Chain of Memories KINGDOM HEARTS 358/2 Days (HD Remastered cinematics) KINGDOM HEARTS II FINAL MIX KINGDOM HEARTS Birth by Sleep Final MIX KINGDOM HEARTS Re:coded (HD Remastered cinematics)
- KINGDOM HEARTS HD 2.8 FINAL CHAPTER PROLOGUE KINGDOM HEARTS Dream Drop Distance HD KINGDOM HEARTS 0.2 Birth by Sleep –A fragmentary passage– KINGDOM HEARTS χ Back Cover (movie)
- KINGDOM HEARTS III
Mickey, Donald and Goofy are playable in a search for Sora
Donald Duck and Goofy return, and Square Enix says players can play as Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck and Goofy as they seek information about Sora’s whereabouts. That confirms a playable segment featuring the trio, not the game’s complete playable-character roster.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
It is a single-player RPG
Square Enix classifies KINGDOM HEARTS IV as an RPG and lists one player. The announcement does not spell out the complete combat system.
What is still unknown?
Square Enix’s announcement does not specify an exact release date, price, preorder timing or PC hardware requirements. It also does not establish technical performance or feature differences between platforms. Beyond the details above, it does not lay out every Disney or Pixar world, the full combat system or the full scope of playable characters. Retailer listings or speculation should not be mistaken for confirmed publisher details.
Rank #3
- Includes Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5+2.5 Remix & Kingdom Hearts HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue
- Catch up on the story leading up to Kingdom Hearts III
- Relive the magical adventures of Sora, Donald Duck, Goofy and friends
What should you play before Kingdom Hearts IV?
For players who want to catch up, Square Enix announced KINGDOM HEARTS Collection [I–III], a bundle of three earlier releases: KINGDOM HEARTS -HD 1.5+2.5 ReMIX-, KINGDOM HEARTS HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue and KINGDOM HEARTS III + Re Mind. It is a previous-games collection, not KINGDOM HEARTS IV.
Square Enix announced the collection for Nintendo Switch 2, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S and Microsoft Store on Windows, with an October 8, 2026 release date in its June announcement. It has physical and digital editions. The physical version requires an internet connection to download additional data, so do not assume all of its content is on the card or disc. Local availability and store terms can vary by region. Square Enix collection announcement
What else is new for the Kingdom Hearts franchise?
Disney announced on August 14, 2026 that an original anime series, currently using the working title Kingdom Hearts, had been greenlit for Disney Channel and Disney+. Disney says it is being developed in partnership with Tetsuya Nomura and the Square Enix creative team as a new story that expands the franchise universe. The announcement gives no premiere date or release schedule. Disney’s announcement
Separately, Square Enix’s trailer-channel description says the series had shipped and sold more than 39 million copies worldwide as of the end of December 2025. Square Enix trailer channel
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




