Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Short answer: The April 2025 Legion Tab story was a leak, not a Lenovo announcement. Its central prediction largely became reality as the China-market Lenovo Legion Y700 Gen 4, launched May 8, 2025, with Snapdragon 8 Elite silicon and a reported 7,600mAh battery. What remains unconfirmed is an official U.S. release under the Legion Tab Gen 4 name.

What the April 2025 leak actually claimed

The original report, published April 22, 2025, relayed a Digital Chat Station leak through 9to5Google and Android Authority. Lenovo had not confirmed the product or its specifications at that point. The reported package included:

  • Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite
  • An 8.8-inch display, retaining the compact format
  • A 3K resolution and 165Hz refresh rate
  • A thinner chassis
  • A battery somewhere between 7,000mAh and 8,000mAh, versus roughly 6,550–6,650mAh in the existing model
  • A possible May 2025 launch

The leak is documented by Android Headlines and summarized by 9to5Google. Those reports should be read as pre-launch claims, not as an official Lenovo specification sheet.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What launched: Legion Y700 Gen 4 in China

Lenovo launched the successor as the Legion Y700 Gen 4 in China on May 8, 2025. Launch coverage confirms the Snapdragon 8 Elite platform and reports a 7,600mAh battery. The same 8.8-inch-class concept was retained, while the earlier 3K and thinner-design claims broadly matched the direction of the released device.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Notebookcheck’s launch report and Gadgets 360’s coverage establish the China launch. Several outlets described the Y700 Gen 4 as the likely basis for a global Legion Tab Gen 4, but the available evidence does not show Lenovo confirming a U.S. retail launch under that name.

Gen 3 versus the Y700 Gen 4 successor

Lenovo’s U.S. Legion Tab Gen 3 is the clearest official baseline. Its specifications come from Lenovo’s CES announcement and U.S. product page, while the Y700 Gen 4 column combines launch reporting with the limitations of an unconfirmed global version.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Specification Legion Tab Gen 3 (U.S.) Legion Y700 Gen 4 (China launch/reporting)
Processor Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 Snapdragon 8 Elite
Display size 8.8 inches 8.8-inch class
Resolution 2560×1600 3K was reported before launch; a complete official global specification sheet was not established
Refresh rate 144Hz in Lenovo’s U.S. specification 165Hz was part of the pre-launch report; final global specification not established
Memory/storage Up to 12GB LPDDR5X and 256GB Not stated in the available launch evidence
Battery 6,550mAh Reported 7,600mAh
Charging 45W USB-C Not stated in the available evidence
Thickness and weight 7.79mm; about 350g Reportedly thinner; verified comparable measurement not established
Expandable storage Not established in the cited U.S. specification microSD support was reported
Biometrics Not specified here No biometric authentication was reported
U.S. pricing/status Expected starting price of $499.99 at launch; current sale price may differ No confirmed U.S. MSRP or official U.S. retail launch

Lenovo’s official references are its CES 2025 announcement and the U.S. Legion Tab Gen 3 product page. Lenovo’s CES material also used “up to 165 FPS” language, while its specification lists a 144Hz display; those are different claims and should not be merged into “a 165Hz U.S. panel.”

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What the upgrade means in practice

Snapdragon 8 Elite performance

Moving from Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 to Snapdragon 8 Elite is a platform-level upgrade and should provide more headroom for demanding Android games and emulation. It does not guarantee a particular frame rate. Results depend on each game’s rendering resolution, graphics settings, thermal limits and software optimization.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

More battery capacity, not automatically more hours

The reported 7,600mAh capacity is a substantial increase over 6,550mAh. It is not proof of longer gaming endurance. A sharper display, high-refresh operation, sustained processor power, brightness, performance modes and wireless activity can consume the difference. Actual battery life requires comparable testing.

Thinner portability, unresolved cooling questions

A thinner 8.8-inch tablet is easier to carry, but the available sources do not provide a verified Gen 4 thickness measurement or sustained-performance testing. Dense internal packaging and high-end gaming make heat dissipation important. Peak benchmark performance cannot establish how well clocks hold during a long session, so claims that the thinner design is either cooler or hotter would be speculation.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Display details still need regional verification

The rumored move from 2560×1600 to 3K could improve sharpness while increasing rendering and power demands. Before buying an imported unit, verify whether games can render at native resolution, whether refresh rate and resolution are independently selectable, whether adaptive refresh is supported, and how brightness and HDR perform. Those details were not fully established in the available evidence.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Should a Legion Tab Gen 3 owner upgrade?

The upgrade case

  • You play demanding titles or emulators that can use additional CPU and GPU headroom.
  • You want more capacity in the same compact 8.8-inch format.
  • You are comfortable importing hardware and accepting regional software and warranty uncertainty.

The case for keeping the Gen 3

  • Your current games already run well on Snapdragon 8 Gen 3.
  • Official U.S. support, known firmware and straightforward returns matter more than peak specifications.
  • You would rather wait for a confirmed global model than pay import costs for an uncertain regional variant.

Should U.S. buyers import the Y700 Gen 4?

Import listings were reported around $599, but that is an import price signal, not an official Lenovo U.S. MSRP. Taxes, shipping, warranty limitations and return costs can change the effective price.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

An imported Chinese Y700 may differ from a global Legion Tab in firmware and ZUI version, language choices, Google Play certification, network-band support, included charger, update behavior, preinstalled services and region restrictions. Confirm those points with the seller before paying. Also check accessory fit: the Gen 3’s compatibility with products such as the Razer Kishi Ultra does not prove that a thinner or differently dimensioned successor will fit the same controller, case or screen protector.

Lenovo’s current U.S. direction

For U.S. shoppers, the Gen 3 remains the verified retail reference in the cited Lenovo pages. Lenovo also lists a newer Legion Tab Gen 5 as “coming soon,” powered by Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5. The page does not establish a current U.S. price. That makes the 2025 Y700 Gen 4 an important historical follow-up to the leak, but not automatically Lenovo’s newest or officially available U.S. option.

Bottom line

The rumor was substantially borne out: Lenovo’s compact successor appeared as the China-market Legion Y700 Gen 4 with Snapdragon 8 Elite and a reported 7,600mAh battery. The unresolved part is the branding and region. Until Lenovo confirms a U.S. Legion Tab Gen 4, treat the Y700 Gen 4 as a related China-market device rather than a confirmed U.S. product. Gen 3 owners should upgrade for performance headroom only if they accept import risks; buyers prioritizing official support should compare the U.S. Gen 3 with the forthcoming Gen 5 instead.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.