The MSI Claw 8 EX AI+ is real, but its retail launch date and complete specification sheet are not yet officially confirmed. MSI unveiled the new handheld at Computex on June 1, 2026, identifying Intel’s Arc G3 Extreme platform as its key hardware feature. That announcement is different from the already available Claw 8 AI+ A2VM and Claw 7 AI+ A2VM, which use Intel Core Ultra 7 258V and Arc 140V graphics.
This distinction matters because “MSI Claw” covers several generations. The sections below separate confirmed EX AI+ information from the fully documented A2VM models.
Which MSI Claw model is being discussed?
MSI’s naming is easy to confuse, so identify the suffix before comparing release dates or specifications:
- MSI Claw A1M: the first-generation 2024 handheld.
- MSI Claw 7 AI+ A2VM: a currently documented 7-inch Lunar Lake model.
- MSI Claw 8 AI+ A2VM: the larger, currently documented 8-inch Lunar Lake model.
- MSI Claw 8 EX AI+: the newer 2026 model announced with Intel Arc G3 Extreme graphics.
Processor, display, battery, wireless standards, ports, weight, storage and availability can all change between these model families. MSI’s product pages also warn that specifications and bundled offers may vary by country and SKU.
#1 Best Overall
- Desktop-Level Performance, Anywhere: Get legendary gaming performance with the Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX processor, delivering ultra-smooth gameplay and future-ready AI (Up to 13 NPU TOPS). Offload tasks like background removal and audio optimization to the NPU for seamless streaming and gaming, while Intel Application Optimization enhances performance on classic titles.
- Game-Changing Realism: Powered by NVIDIA Blackwell architecture, GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop GPU unlocks the game changing realism of full ray tracing. Equipped with a massive level of 992 AI TOPS horsepower, the RTX 50 Series enables new experiences and next-level graphics fidelity. Experience cinematic quality visuals at unprecedented speed with fourth-gen RT Cores and breakthrough neural rendering technologies accelerated with fifth-gen Tensor Cores.
- Supreme Speed. Superior Visuals. Powered by AI: DLSS is a revolutionary suite of neural rendering technologies that uses AI to boost FPS, reduce latency, and improve image quality. DLSS 4 brings a new Multi Frame Generation and enhanced Ray Reconstruction and Super Resolution, powered by GeForce RTX 50 Series GPUs and fifth-generation Tensor Cores.
- The Ultimate in Ray Tracing and AI: NVIDIA RTX is the most advanced platform for full ray tracing and neural rendering technologies that are revolutionizing the ways we play and create. Over 700 games and applications use RTX to deliver realistic graphics and incredibly fast performance with cutting-edge AI features like DLSS Multi Frame Generation.
- Immersive Depth and Detail: At 18 inches with a 16:10 aspect ratio, the pristine WQXGA screen offering vibrant colors with up to 100% DCI-P3 operates at a fast 240Hz refresh and 3ms overdrive response time. Alongside the suite of features from NVIDIA G-SYNC and NVIDIA Advanced Optimus, you're guaranteed that whatever's on-screen is a distinct viewing delight.
MSI’s announcement of the Claw 8 AI+ and Claw 7 AI+ describes the A2VM models as available products, while the separate Computex announcement covers the EX AI+.
MSI Claw 8 EX AI+ release date and availability
| Milestone | Status |
|---|---|
| Product announcement | Confirmed at Computex on June 1, 2026 |
| Global retail release date | Not stated in the cited MSI announcement |
| Regional launch | Must be checked by country and exact SKU |
| Preorders or estimated shipping | Only meaningful when attributed to the specific retailer or MSI regional store |
| Existing Claw 8 AI+ and Claw 7 AI+ | MSI lists both as available products, subject to regional stock |
June 1 confirms when MSI unveiled the Claw 8 EX AI+, not when every market will receive it. A retailer’s date may describe a preorder window, estimated arrival or local shipment rather than a worldwide launch. Until MSI publishes a final product page or regional store listing, there is no defensible single global retail date.
What MSI has confirmed about the Claw 8 EX AI+
MSI’s official Computex material confirms the following:
Rank #2
- Intel Core i9 14th Gen 14900HX 1.6GHz Processor, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 8GB GDDR7, 32GB DDR5-5600 RAM
- 1TB PCIe Gen4 x4 NVMe M.2 SSD
- 15.1" WQXGA OLED Glossy Display
- Gigabit LAN, 2x2 WiFi 7 (802.11be), Bluetooth 5.4
- 4.19 lbs. (1.90 kg),Windows 11 Home
- Name: MSI Claw 8 EX AI+.
- Platform: Intel Arc G3 Extreme handheld processor family.
- Announcement: Computex 2026, June 1.
- Wireless technologies mentioned: Intel Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6.
- Ports identified in the announcement: two USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A ports.
Those are announcement-level facts, not a complete retail specification sheet. The announcement does not establish the exact processor SKU, core configuration, graphics execution-unit count, clock speeds, configurable TDP, memory amount or whether memory is soldered. It also does not provide final display resolution, refresh range, brightness, variable-refresh details, panel type, SSD capacity or format, battery size, charging wattage, dimensions, weight, complete port layout, regional SKU numbers or an official US MSRP.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
A Tom’s Hardware report described a $1,799 price claim and 32GB of RAM, but that is secondary reporting. Treat the figure as a reported price signal, not a universal MSI MSRP, until the applicable regional MSI store confirms it: Tom’s Hardware’s report.
Specifications that should not be assumed
Do not copy the A2VM’s 8-inch display, 80Wh battery, 32GB memory, 1TB SSD or 65W charging specification onto the EX AI+. They belong to a different model generation unless MSI publishes a final EX AI+ datasheet confirming them.
Rank #3
- 【EFFICIENT PERFORMANCE】KAIGERR light gaming laptop featuring the latest AMD Ryzen R2544 Processor (boasting 3.7GHz high-frequency). Outperforming the Celeron N5095/N100/N97/N95, it delivers robust multitasking capabilities. The laptop computer has an integrated UHD graphics card clocked at up to 1200MHz for stronger graphics processing performance. KAIGERR laptop is designed to elevate your computing experience.
- Huge Capacity Storage: KAIGERR laptop comes with 16GB SODIMM DDR4 RAM, advantages of large operating memory capacity both can reduce read latency of memory data and improve CPU utilization for seamless multitasking, paired with a 512GB M.2 NVMe SSD that ensures lightning-fast boot speeds, rapid application loading, and ample storage space for all your files.
- Brilliant Display & Integrated Graphics: The KAIGERR Light gaming laptop features a brilliant FHD display with an innovative thin-bezel design that maximizes screen space for a truly immersive viewing experience, while the integrated AMD Radeon Graphics deliver smooth and detailed image processing for enjoying computer games and tackling photo editing projects with ease.
- Rich Interfaces & Wireless Connectivity: KAIGERR traditional laptop offers a variety of connectivity options, including HDMI, Type-C, 3.5mm TRRS Jack, Memory Card Slot and USB3.2 ports. You can easily connect to various devices and peripherals to expand your capabilities. Mini laptop computers equipped with WiFi6 & Bluetooth 5.2 which offer strong wireless signal, fast wireless connections, and reliable transmission speed
- Portable Design & Durable: KAIGERR laptop compact design makes it easy to carry with you wherever you go. Also, you can enjoy the benefits of a powerful computer without the bulk of a traditional desktop. KAIGERR laptop computers are built with high-quality components and designed to handle heavy workloads and deliver consistent performance and longevity. If you encounter any problems, please contact us and we will help you solve the problem within 12 hours
Claw 8 EX AI+ versus Claw 8 AI+ A2VM
| Item | Claw 8 EX AI+ | Claw 8 AI+ A2VM |
|---|---|---|
| Status | Announced June 1, 2026; retail details incomplete | Existing product listed by MSI |
| Processor platform | Intel Arc G3 Extreme family | Intel Core Ultra 7 258V |
| Graphics | Final retail GPU details not stated | Integrated Intel Arc 140V |
| Memory, display, battery and weight | Not yet confirmed by the cited announcement | Published in MSI product material |
These are not two names for the same handheld. The A2VM is a documented Lunar Lake product that can be evaluated from a specification sheet; the EX AI+ is a newer announcement whose final buyer-facing details remain outstanding.
Confirmed MSI Claw 8 AI+ A2VM specifications
| Specification | Claw 8 AI+ A2VM |
|---|---|
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 7 258V |
| Operating system | Windows 11 Home |
| Graphics | Integrated Intel Arc 140V GPU |
| Memory | 32GB LPDDR5x-8533, on-package |
| Display | 8-inch, 1920×1200, 16:10, 120Hz |
| Display features | Touchscreen, VRR, 100% sRGB typical, 500 nits typical, IPS-Level |
| Storage | Up to 1TB PCIe Gen 4 SSD |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4 |
| Ports | Two Thunderbolt 4 / DisplayPort / USB-C ports with USB-C PD 3.0 |
| Expansion | microSD card reader |
| Audio | Two 2W speakers, DTS sound effects and Hi-Res Audio support |
| Battery | 80Wh, six-cell lithium-polymer |
| Charger | 65W USB-C PD 3.0 |
| Dimensions | 299 × 126 × 24 mm |
| Weight | 795g |
| Listed color | Sandstorm |
“Up to 1TB” describes the listed capacity or configuration range; it does not guarantee that every retail SKU includes a 1TB drive. Check the full model number, such as a regional A2VM identifier, before buying. MSI’s Claw 8 AI+ A2VM product page and US specification page are the appropriate references.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsControls, software and charging
- Hall Effect analog sticks and triggers, macro keys, HD haptics and a six-axis IMU.
- Dedicated MSI Center M controls and a fingerprint-enabled power button.
- Windows 11 Home with MSI Center M, MSI AI Engine and advertised Android mobile-game support through MSI’s App Player.
- The handheld charges at up to 65W over USB-C PD 3.0. MSI’s dock can accept up to 100W for dock-connected accessories, but a 100W charger does not make the handheld charge at 100W.
Hall Effect components are designed to reduce potentiometer wear; they do not make the entire stick, trigger, firmware or calibration system immune to failure.
Rank #4
- 【ENGINEERED FOR SPEED】The KAIGERR 2026 RX16 laptop is equipped with the powerful AMD Ryzen 7 H255 processor (8C/16T, up to 4.9GHz), delivering superior performance and responsiveness. This upgraded hardware ensures a smooth experience, fast loading times, and high-quality visuals. It provides an immersive, lag-free experience. Its performance is far moere than 30% better than AMD R7 5700U/5800U/5825U/6600HX/7735HS.
- 【Advanced Dual-Fan Cooling】KAIGERR’s dual-fan system expels heat faster than standard designs, drastically reducing thermal buildup during intense gaming or work. Optimized airflow keeps components cool, prevents throttling, and maintains smooth, sustained performance—all while staying quiet. Stay cool, play longer.
- 【INSPIRE YOUR POSSIBILITIES】 The laptop on sale comes with 16GB DDR5 memory and a 512GB M.2 NVMe SSD for faster response times and ample storage. Dual-channel DDR5 memory supports upgrades to 64GB (2x32GB), and NVMe/NGFF SSD can be upgraded to 4TB, providing plenty of space for all your favorite videos/files.
- 【Vivid 16.0" IPS Display】Featuring a wide color gamut and high refresh rate, the 16.1" IPS screen delivers smoother motion, richer colors, and exceptional detail—surpassing standard displays in both accuracy and immersion. Whether gaming, streaming, or creating, every frame appears lifelike and dynamic for a truly engaging visual experience.
- 【KAIGERR: Quality Laptops, Exceptional Support.】Enjoy peace of mind with unlimited technical support and 12 months of repair for all customers, with our team always ready to help. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to reach out to us—we’re here to help.
Confirmed MSI Claw 7 AI+ A2VM specifications
| Specification | Claw 7 AI+ A2VM |
|---|---|
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 7 258V |
| Operating system | Windows 11 Home |
| Graphics | Integrated Intel Arc 140V GPU |
| Memory | 32GB LPDDR5x-8533, on-package |
| Display | 7-inch, 1920×1080, 120Hz |
| Display features | Touchscreen, VRR, 100% sRGB typical, 500 nits typical, IPS-Level |
| Storage | One PCIe Gen 4 ×4 NVMe M.2 2230 slot |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.4 |
| Ports | Two Thunderbolt 4 / DisplayPort / USB-C ports with USB-C PD 3.0 |
| Expansion | microSD card reader |
| Audio | Two 2W speakers, DTS sound effects and Hi-Res Audio support |
| Battery | 54.5Wh, six-cell lithium-polymer |
| Charger | 65W USB-C PD 3.0 |
| Dimensions | 290 × 117 × 21.2 mm |
| Weight | 675g |
| Listed color | Black |
One MSI announcement rendering contains apparent typographical errors in the processor and Bluetooth fields. Use the SKU-specific product page or datasheet as the authority; MSI’s official Claw 7 AI+ page is the safer reference.
Claw 8 AI+ versus Claw 7 AI+: the practical choice
| Feature | Claw 8 AI+ A2VM | Claw 7 AI+ A2VM |
|---|---|---|
| Screen | 8-inch 1920×1200, 16:10 | 7-inch 1920×1080 |
| Refresh and VRR | 120Hz with VRR | 120Hz with VRR |
| Battery | 80Wh | 54.5Wh |
| Weight | 795g | 675g |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 | Wi-Fi 6E |
| Storage detail | Up to 1TB PCIe Gen 4 SSD | One PCIe Gen 4 ×4 NVMe M.2 2230 slot |
The Claw 8 gives games more physical screen area and a taller 16:10 workspace, but it is 120g heavier. The Claw 7 is easier to carry, while its smaller battery does not automatically mean a specific runtime. MSI says battery life varies with configuration and system settings; brightness, refresh rate, game workload, frame-rate caps, power mode and fan mode all affect results.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Price: what is and is not official
The cited MSI announcement does not establish an official global price for the Claw 8 EX AI+. The $1,799 figure comes from secondary reporting and should be labeled as such unless a particular MSI regional store confirms it. Taxes, shipping, preorder terms, stock and included software can differ by country.
Best Value
- AI-Powered Performance: The AMD Ryzen 7 260 CPU powers the Nitro V 16S, offering up to 38 AI Overall TOPS to deliver cutting-edge performance for gaming and AI-driven tasks, along with 4K HDR streaming, making it the perfect choice for gamers and content creators seeking unparalleled performance and entertainment.
- Game Changer: Powered by NVIDIA Blackwell architecture, GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop GPU unlocks the game changing realism of full ray tracing. Equipped with a massive level of 572 AI TOPS horsepower, the RTX 50 Series enables new experiences and next-level graphics fidelity. Experience cinematic quality visuals at unprecedented speed with fourth-gen RT Cores and breakthrough neural rendering technologies accelerated with fifth-gen Tensor Cores.
- Supreme Speed. Superior Visuals. Powered by AI: DLSS is a revolutionary suite of neural rendering technologies that uses AI to boost FPS, reduce latency, and improve image quality. DLSS 4 brings a new Multi Frame Generation and enhanced Ray Reconstruction and Super Resolution, powered by GeForce RTX 50 Series GPUs and fifth-generation Tensor Cores.
- Vibrant Smooth Display: Experience exceptional clarity and vibrant detail with the 16" WUXGA 1920 x 1200 display, featuring 100% sRGB color coverage for true-to-life, accurate colors. With a 180Hz refresh rate, enjoy ultra-smooth, fluid motion, even during fast-paced action.
- Internal Specifications: 32GB DDR5 5600MHz Memory (2 DDR5 Slots Total, Maximum 32GB); 1TB PCIe Gen 4 SSD (2 x PCIe M.2 Slots | 1 Slot Available)
For the A2VM models, MSI provides product and store purchase routes, but the material here does not establish a reliable current price to quote. Verify the exact SKU, warranty region and stock status on the relevant MSI store page. MSI also says bundled offers, including Xbox Game Pass promotions, can vary by model and country.
Should you buy now or wait?
Buy the Claw 8 AI+ A2VM now if:
- You want an 8-inch MSI handheld that is already documented and available through an authorized seller.
- The 80Wh battery, 16:10 screen and Thunderbolt 4 connectivity matter more than having the newest Intel platform.
- You need a product with established regional warranty and return terms.
Choose the Claw 7 AI+ A2VM if:
- Lower weight and a smaller body are more important than battery capacity.
- A 7-inch 1080p display is sufficient.
- It is materially cheaper in your market.
Wait for the Claw 8 EX AI+ if:
- You specifically want Intel’s Arc G3 Extreme platform.
- You can accept unknown launch pricing, regional availability and final specifications.
- You are willing to wait for independent testing of performance, battery life, thermals, fan noise and software stability.
What to verify before ordering an EX AI+
- Confirm that the listing is for Claw 8 EX AI+, not Claw 8 AI+ A2VM.
- Check whether the date means announcement, preorder, shipment or in-stock delivery.
- Record the exact processor SKU, RAM amount, SSD capacity and display specification.
- Confirm battery capacity, charging limit and the complete port layout.
- Check whether the quoted price includes local tax and which warranty region applies.
- Verify any Xbox Game Pass or other bundle for your country and SKU.
Verdict
The MSI Claw 8 EX AI+ is an officially announced 2026 handheld built around Intel’s Arc G3 Extreme direction. As of August 18, 2026, MSI has not supplied a definitive retail launch date or a complete buyer-facing specification sheet in the cited announcement, so claims about its final battery, display, memory, weight, MSRP or performance remain unconfirmed. The Claw 8 AI+ A2VM is the better-documented choice for an 8-inch MSI handheld today, while the Claw 7 AI+ A2VM is the lighter alternative.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




