The “RTX 4090 Dragon” is NVIDIA’s GeForce RTX 4090D, a China-market version of the RTX 4090 designed to meet U.S. export-control limits in effect at its launch. It is not evidence of a publicly documented, individual U.S. approval letter: the distinction is regulatory compliance under the rules then in force.
What is the RTX 4090 Dragon?
“Dragon” is an informal name for the GeForce RTX 4090D, which NVIDIA announced specifically for China after U.S. export controls covered shipments of the original RTX 4090. NVIDIA’s product page lists it as an Ada Lovelace gaming and creator GPU, with support for ray tracing, DLSS 3.5, Reflex, Broadcast and Studio. The page describes the card as a major advance in performance, efficiency and AI-powered graphics; that is NVIDIA’s own translated marketing claim, not an independent performance finding. NVIDIA’s China RTX 4090D product page
RTX 4090D specifications and comparison
The 4090D retains 24 GB of GDDR6X memory and a 384-bit bus, while reducing the CUDA-core count and board power relative to the original RTX 4090. NVIDIA lists a 2.52 GHz boost clock and a China starting price of ¥12,999.
| Specification or context | GeForce RTX 4090D | GeForce RTX 4090 |
|---|---|---|
| Market context | China-market variant; announced December 2023 | Original model; shipments to China required a U.S. license under rules reported effective November 16, 2023 |
| CUDA cores | 14,592 (NVIDIA product page) | 16,384 (Tom’s Hardware, 2023) |
| Board power | 425 W (Tom’s Hardware, 2023) | 450 W (Tom’s Hardware, 2023) |
| Memory | 24 GB GDDR6X, 384-bit bus (NVIDIA product page) | Not stated in the cited comparison sources |
| Boost clock | 2.52 GHz (NVIDIA product page) | Not stated in the cited comparison sources |
| China starting price | ¥12,999 (NVIDIA product page) | Not stated in the cited comparison sources |
| Export metric reported in 2024 | 4,707 TPP in Tom’s Hardware’s comparison | 5,285 TPP in Tom’s Hardware’s comparison |
These figures describe the cited models and sources; they do not establish identical availability or legal status in every country. NVIDIA says its average game-performance figure was derived from 22 games tested at 4K, 1440p and 1080p using its stated configuration. That is vendor-reported methodology, not an independent lab result. NVIDIA’s page provides its test details.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What “U.S. approval” means—and how the rules changed
Coverage describing the 4090D as approved for China refers to its design relative to export-control thresholds, not to a publicly documented, card-specific approval letter. The limits concern U.S. export controls, and their wording changed over time.
- November 16, 2023: Tom’s Hardware reported that shipments of the RTX 4090 and specified data-center GPUs to China and certain other countries required a U.S. Commerce Department/Bureau of Industry and Security license. Tom’s Hardware on the license requirement
- December 28, 2023: Tom’s Hardware reported the China-specific RTX 4090D launch and described its reduced core count and power draw in the context of a then-current 4,800 TPP threshold. Tom’s Hardware on the 4090D launch
- April 3, 2024: Tom’s Hardware reported revised U.S. rule language involving a 70 Weighted-TeraFLOPS threshold and compared the 4090D at 4,707 TPP with the original 4090 at 5,285 TPP. Tom’s Hardware on the revised threshold
Export rules can change, so historical reporting about the 4090D’s compliance should not be treated as a guarantee that a particular shipment is lawful now. The cited coverage does not establish current destination-specific eligibility; buyers and sellers need to check the rules and licensing requirements that apply to the shipment at the time.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What the name means for a buyer
The 4090D is the precise model name to look for when identifying this China-market card. Its published specifications show that it is not identical to the original RTX 4090: it has fewer CUDA cores and lower board power, while NVIDIA lists the same 24 GB memory capacity and a 384-bit bus for the D model. The cited sources do not establish an independently measured, universal performance gap between the two, so the core-count difference alone should not be turned into a percentage claim.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.




