October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
VGSources
Nintendo Switch

Pokémon FireRed and LeafGreen Walkthrough: Kanto, the Sevii Islands, and Switch Guide

Get oriented in Pokémon FireRed and LeafGreen: what the Sevii Islands add, how the Switch versions differ in language and connectivity, and what is confirmed about Pokémon HOME.

By VGSources Team 4 min read

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Pokémon FireRed and LeafGreen take you through a remake of the original Kanto adventure, with the Sevii Islands adding locations beyond the main region. The Nintendo Switch releases preserve the games’ original content and connectivity features, but the official material available for this guide does not establish a reliable route-by-route sequence or exact island unlock steps. This guide separates what is confirmed from what you should check in-game rather than guessing at those details.

What this walkthrough covers

FireRed and LeafGreen are 2004 remakes of the first Pokémon adventures, originally released in Japan as Pokémon Red and Pokémon Green in 1996. Nintendo’s February 2026 announcement says players can encounter the original 151 Pokémon in the Switch versions. The main adventure is set in Kanto; the Sevii Islands are additional locations highlighted in the official Pokémon game listing.

Use the guide to understand the scope of the adventure, decide which release suits you, and plan around Switch connectivity. It is not a route-by-route checklist: Nintendo’s release and support information does not specify the exact route sequence, ferry triggers, island quest order, or encounter tables. For those details, follow the directions and available destinations shown in your copy of the game rather than treating an unverified sequence as definitive.

How to approach the Kanto adventure

Start with the Kanto portion of the game and use the objectives and destinations presented in-game to determine where to go next. The official materials establish the setting and the original Pokémon roster, but do not provide a complete walkthrough of individual routes, gyms, or story events. They therefore cannot support a precise ordered itinerary here.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
  • Check the game’s current objective and the places it makes available before leaving an area.
  • When progress seems to stop, revisit people and locations connected to the most recent story event; the official release information does not identify specific characters or triggers.
  • Keep the Sevii Islands separate in your planning from a Kanto route checklist. They are additional locations, not a substitute for directions through the main region.

What the Sevii Islands add

The official Pokémon listing describes the Sevii Islands as added locations where players can catch some Pokémon not found elsewhere in Kanto. That makes the islands a meaningful extension of the remake adventure, especially if you are exploring beyond the main region.

The official information does not specify when the ferry becomes available, the order of island visits, individual quests, or which Pokémon appear on each island. Check the game’s own prompts when island travel becomes available; do not assume a particular island order or encounter list from this overview.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

FireRed or LeafGreen: how to choose

The two releases retain their respective original versions, and Nintendo confirms that local trading is available on Switch. The official material cited for this guide does not provide a dependable list of version-exclusive Pokémon, so it would be misleading to name species or claim a complete comparison.

  • Choose around the Pokémon you want. If a particular exclusive matters to you, verify that species against a reliable, game-specific reference before buying.
  • Consider whether you can trade locally. Trading can help players exchange Pokémon, but it requires another nearby player with a compatible game and setup.
  • Check the language edition before purchase. Each language is a separate release; you cannot change the game’s language from inside it.

Playing FireRed and LeafGreen on Nintendo Switch

Nintendo announced the games as digital-only releases available from February 27, 2026. They are playable on Nintendo Switch and Nintendo Switch 2. Nintendo’s support FAQ says a Nintendo Switch Online membership is not required to purchase or play, and there is no physical Switch cartridge release.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

The American language versions listed by Nintendo are English, French, and Spanish; the French and Spanish options are European French and European Spanish. Because language cannot be switched in-game, select the intended edition before purchase.

Trading and battling on Switch

The Switch releases use local wireless for the original connectivity features. Nintendo says the Pokémon Wireless Club supports connections with up to four other players; its Union Rooms include trading, battles, and a minigame. Online play is not supported, so do not expect to trade or battle with someone over the internet.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

For a trade or battle, arrange to play locally with the other person and use the game’s Wireless Club. The Nintendo support information confirms the available local features but does not provide a step-by-step menu sequence for joining a room.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Pokémon HOME and the Celebi reward

The Pokémon Company announced that the Switch versions would connect with Pokémon HOME beginning in October 2026. The announcement also described a special Celebi Mystery Gift in the mobile version of HOME for completing the corresponding FireRed or LeafGreen Pokédex in HOME. As of October 3, 2026, that announcement alone does not confirm that connectivity has gone live or establish the exact transfer and reward steps. Check the current HOME and Pokémon announcements before attempting a transfer or relying on the reward conditions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from Patch Notes

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.