Transmog and glamour systems let you change how equipped gear looks without changing its gameplay stats—but they differ in how they collect appearances, save outfits, charge for changes, and handle new gear. Final Fantasy XIV applies glamours to individual items, Guild Wars 2 combines an account-wide wardrobe with reusable Fashion Templates, and World of Warcraft has announced outfit slots in its Midnight transmog overhaul. There is no universal winner: the best fit depends on whether you value broad collection access, saved looks, automatic outfit changes, or low-cost switching.
What transmog and glamour mean
Both terms describe cosmetic customization: a character keeps the equipment’s gameplay function while displaying a different appearance. The names are not standardized across MMOs, and the details matter. One game may let you project a skin onto a single item; another may save a complete cosmetic loadout or attach appearances to an outfit slot.
To compare systems fairly, separate four questions: where appearances are collected, how a look is applied or saved, what changing or reapplying it costs, and whether the game can restore a look when equipment changes. A system can be strong in one area and limited or undocumented in another.
How glamour works in Final Fantasy XIV
Unlocking and applying a glamour
In Final Fantasy XIV, Glamour Prisms let you project one item’s appearance onto another through the Cast Glamour action. The feature unlocks after the level 15 quest “If I Had a Glamour.” Square Enix’s official glamour UI guide says you can cast a glamour from Actions & Traits, an item’s subcommands, or the glamour dresser in an inn room.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Requirements and what the guide establishes
The displayed appearance can depend on character requirements: Square Enix notes that gear glamour restricted by race, gender, or Grand Company will not display if the character does not meet the relevant requirement. The guide explains the cast-glamour workflow, but it does not establish account-wide appearance unlocks or the current capacity of glamour plates. Those points should not be assumed from this guide alone.
How Guild Wars 2 combines its Wardrobe and Fashion Templates
Account-wide skin collection
ArenaNet’s 2014 announcement of the Guild Wars 2 Wardrobe describes an account-wide collection of armor and weapon skins unlocked by any character on the account. It also describes previewing skins and applying an appearance without replacing the selected equipment’s stats. In that original system, applying a skin used Transmutation Charges.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Saving and applying Fashion Templates
Fashion Templates, introduced in the February 3, 2026 patch, save cosmetic loadouts made from armor, weapon, and backpack skins plus selected dyes. ArenaNet’s Fashion Templates support article says each character starts with two template tabs; up to seven more can be purchased through the in-game Gem Store, for nine tabs total.
The cost depends on the action. Saving changed skins costs one Transmutation Charge per changed item, while changing dyes is free. Applying an already saved template to equipment is free. The feature also includes an option to reapply the last selected template automatically when equipment changes, which can help keep a chosen look in place as you update gear.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What World of Warcraft has announced for transmog
Blizzard’s announcement for the Midnight transmog overhaul describes Outfit Slots that save appearances, so players do not have to reapply a look whenever they receive new gear, and says outfits can switch automatically for different situations. The announcement is available at Blizzard’s official transmog update page. Its live status is not established here, so treat these as announced features rather than confirmed current functionality. The accessible announcement details do not establish the system’s costs or restrictions.
How the systems compare
| System | Collection scope | Application and outfit saving | Documented costs | Known limitations or status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Final Fantasy XIV glamour | Account-wide collection scope is not stated in the cited UI guide. | Cast an item’s appearance onto another item; the guide lists Actions & Traits, item subcommands, and the inn-room glamour dresser. | Glamour Prisms are used to cast glamour. The cited guide does not establish other costs or plate capacity. | Some glamours have race, gender, or Grand Company requirements. See Square Enix’s UI guide. |
| Guild Wars 2 Wardrobe and Fashion Templates | The Wardrobe announcement describes account-wide armor and weapon skin unlocks. | Fashion Templates save armor, weapon, and backpack skins and selected dyes; the last selected template can be reapplied automatically when equipment changes. | One Transmutation Charge per changed skin item when saving; dyes and applying a saved template are free. Extra template tabs are sold in the in-game Gem Store. | Two tabs per character by default, with up to seven additional tabs. Details are in ArenaNet’s template support article. |
| World of Warcraft Midnight transmog overhaul | Not stated in the accessible announcement details. | Announced Outfit Slots save appearances and can switch outfits automatically for different situations. | Not stated in the accessible announcement details. | Features are announced; live status is not established here. See Blizzard’s announcement. |
Which system is best for your play style?
- Choose FFXIV-style item projection if you want to apply a specific item’s look to another piece and prefer an explicit cast-glamour action. Be mindful of character-specific appearance requirements.
- Choose Guild Wars 2’s model if account-wide skin collection and saved cosmetic loadouts are priorities. Its cost structure distinguishes changing skins while saving from freely applying a saved template.
- Watch World of Warcraft’s announced slots if your priority is keeping saved outfits associated with changing gear or switching looks automatically. Confirm availability in-game before relying on the announced overhaul.
“Best fashion” is not one measurable outcome here. Collection breadth, outfit switching, restrictions, and the cost of changing a look are separate design choices, and the cited documentation does not support a universal ranking of the three games.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




