Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Verizon did offer PlayStation Plus and PlayStation Now with qualifying purchases in 2020, but the promotion is not a current offer as of August 18, 2026. It was a conditional carrier-and-phone incentive—not a free subscription available to any Verizon customer. PlayStation Now is no longer sold as a separate current subscription.

What Verizon’s 2020 promotion offered

The campaign paired a limited PlayStation subscription benefit with specific Verizon transactions. The reported benefit depended on whether a customer was new to Verizon or upgrading an existing line:

Customer route Reported benefit Qualification
New Verizon wireless customer Up to 12 months of PlayStation Plus and PlayStation Now Required a qualifying phone, trade-in and plan; see the historical terms reported by Android Headlines, November 23, 2020, and Verizon’s November 2020 promotional material.
Existing Verizon customer upgrading Three months, as reported in the contemporaneous coverage Not an automatic benefit for every upgrade; eligibility depended on the promotion’s requirements.
New Verizon home-internet customer A home-internet route was mentioned in Verizon’s promotional material The available promotional material does not establish complete terms for every home-internet product or customer.

What the wireless offer required

For the main new-customer smartphone route, the 2020 coverage described a bundle of requirements rather than a standalone subscription giveaway. The reported steps were:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  1. Switch to Verizon and activate a new smartphone line.
  2. Trade in an eligible phone.
  3. Buy a select 5G smartphone using Verizon’s device-payment arrangement.
  4. Choose one of the named qualifying unlimited plans: Play More, Do More or Get More.

The reported upgrade route for existing customers also depended on qualifying for the offer; simply having Verizon service did not mean a customer received the benefit. The home-internet mention was a separate historical route, and its detailed eligibility should not be assumed to match the wireless promotion.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

What “free” meant—and what it did not

“Free” referred to the PlayStation subscriptions during the promotional period, not to the phone, Verizon service or the overall transaction. Phone payments, wireless-plan charges, taxes and other applicable costs still mattered. The deal was potentially useful for someone who already intended to switch to Verizon, buy an eligible 5G phone and keep a qualifying plan. Switching carriers solely for a temporary gaming perk could be poor value if those costs or commitments were otherwise unwanted.

What the PlayStation services included at the time

PlayStation Plus

Under the 2020 service structure, PlayStation Plus provided online multiplayer, monthly games, discounts and other membership benefits. The precise benefits and game lineup can change, so descriptions from that period should not be treated as a promise about today’s membership.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

PlayStation Now

PlayStation Now was then a separate game subscription with a streaming catalog; the 2020 coverage described a catalog of more than 800 titles. A subscription catalog is access, not ownership, and the available games can change.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why PlayStation Now is not a current standalone option

Sony’s current U.S. consumer subscription is PlayStation Plus, organized into Essential, Extra and Premium tiers. PlayStation Now is not presented as a separate subscription to buy today. Sony’s current pages also explain how old PlayStation Now vouchers may be converted into a current PlayStation Plus entitlement, which is why the old name can still appear in historical offer coverage. See Sony’s current PlayStation Plus information and PlayStation Plus terms and plans.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Can you claim the Verizon promotion now?

No current material establishes that the November 2020 campaign remains available as of August 18, 2026. Its named qualifying plans belong to an older Verizon lineup, and Verizon says its former +play platform is no longer accepting new subscriptions. Verizon describes newer plan-based ways of delivering perks in its +play shutdown and entertainment-perks update. Check Verizon’s current unlimited plans and promotions for live offers; do not assume a current plan includes the old PlayStation bundle.

Current U.S. PlayStation Plus prices

The prices below were displayed on Sony’s U.S. PlayStation Plus page on August 18, 2026. Prices and promotions can change, and subscriptions renew automatically until canceled.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Tier Monthly Three months 12 months
Essential $10.99 $27.99 $79.99
Extra $16.99 $43.99 $134.99
Premium not stated on the cited current U.S. page for this comparison not stated on the cited current U.S. page for this comparison not stated on the cited current U.S. page for this comparison

Essential is the lower-cost option for core membership benefits such as online multiplayer. Extra adds access to a game catalog, while Premium is aimed at players who want its additional catalog and premium features; availability and features can vary by region. Compare the current details on Sony’s plan page before subscribing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

If you have an old Verizon redemption code

Do not assume a 2020 code is still valid or that it will convert into a particular current tier. Its expiration and other conditions depend on the code’s terms. Sony says old PlayStation Now vouchers can convert based on monetary value, and the resulting duration can differ depending on whether the account already has an active PlayStation Plus membership. Check the voucher terms and Sony’s current voucher guidance before redeeming, particularly if you already subscribe.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

If you qualified during the original campaign but never received a code, check your purchase and account records for the phone model, trade-in status, line activation date, plan, any My Verizon enrollment, and whether a code was sent by email, text or account notification. Those are useful points to investigate, not a guarantee that the promotion can still be fulfilled. Contact Verizon about the original transaction and Sony about a code that has already been issued or redeemed.

Managing a current subscription

Sony says PlayStation Plus subscriptions continue and renew automatically until canceled. Review the subscription and renewal details in your PlayStation account settings before purchase; the exact menu labels can change. Do not rely on an old Verizon promotion to prevent a later recurring charge.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.