Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11World War Z: Aftermath is the expanded edition of the original game, not a separate story sequel. Focus Entertainment describes it as the “next evolution” of World War Z and says it includes the content of World War Z: Game of the Year Edition, then adds new story episodes, combat options, a class system, and Horde Mode XL on certain platforms. If you already own the original, the question is less “which game is different” and more “what does the upgrade add, and what does it cost on my platform.”
How Aftermath relates to the original game
The publisher’s own wording sets the frame. Aftermath is presented as the next evolution of the original, and it carries the Game of the Year Edition content forward rather than starting a new storyline with new characters. That makes it closer to a full expansion bundled with the base game than to a conventional follow-up. The publisher’s product page does not give a technical definition of whether Aftermath is a standalone release or a paid add-on package, so the practical answer depends on your store listing: some storefronts sell it as a separate product, and eligibility for discounts is set there.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
The Diofield Chronicle - PlayStation 5 | $21.51 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
World War Z: Aftermath | $22.01 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
World War Z: Aftermath - PlayStation 5 | $39.95 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Back 4 Blood - PlayStation 5 | $9.37 | Buy on Amazon |
What Aftermath adds
Two new story episodes
Aftermath adds two story episodes: Rome, including Vatican City, and Kamchatka. The publisher names New York, Moscow, Marseille, Jerusalem, and Tokyo as full episodes included from the Game of the Year Edition, so a player moving from the original to Aftermath gets those episodes plus the two new ones. The publisher’s materials do not list the base game’s episodes separately, so if you need an exact episode-by-episode breakdown of your own copy, check your store’s game page.
Melee combat and first-person perspective
Aftermath adds a melee system with two-handed and dual-wield weapons. It also adds an optional first-person mode. Both are optional layers on top of the existing third-person play. The first-person mode changes how you see the fight rather than how the zombies behave, so players who prefer the original camera can keep it.
#1 Best Overall
- New Strategy RPG by Square Enix - An all-new Strategy RPG that chronicles an epic tale of war and honor; Featuring a unique and beautiful world that blends fantasy, medieval and modern-day influences, and a deep yet innovative real-time battle system
- Deep, strategic, real-time tactical battles – Make real-time assessment of battlefield conditions and decisive orders that take advantage of your troops strengths and weaknesses; Make use of skills, classes and equipment to complete your mission
- Realistic diorama style battle scenes - Richly detailed depictions of the environments of the island of DioField combined with unique "diorama" style visuals as you command your forces like a general
Eight classes, including Vanguard
The publisher describes eight classes, including the new Vanguard, with class progression features in Aftermath. This is the most noticeable change to how you build a character over a long campaign, because it gives each run a clearer specialty rather than a single generic loadout.
Horde Mode XL and where it is listed
Horde Mode XL is a major part of the Aftermath package, but the publisher lists it only for certain platforms. Do not assume it is available everywhere Aftermath is sold.
Rank #2
| Platform | Horde Mode XL, as listed by the publisher |
|---|---|
| PC | Listed |
| PlayStation 5 | Listed |
| Xbox Series X|S | Listed |
| Nintendo Switch | Not stated in the publisher’s Aftermath materials |
| Amazon Luna | Not stated in the publisher’s Aftermath materials |
Platform availability and cross-play
Platform support is where the two versions differ most in practice. Saber Interactive’s FAQ says the original World War Z is available on Nintendo Switch, while Aftermath is listed on PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, PC, and Amazon Luna. The same FAQ says Switch does not cross-play with other platforms.
That means a Switch player and a PC or console player cannot play together, and a player who wants Aftermath should confirm the platform in the store before buying. Cross-play and cross-progression are separate questions. The sources available for this comparison do not establish whether saves, purchases, or progression carry over between platforms, so anyone planning to switch systems should ask Saber for the exact platform pair they care about.
Rank #3
- Take back Vatican City in an epic confrontation in Rome, and join forces with survivors in Russia’s snowbound Kamchatka peninsula in all-new story missions
- Play in glorious 4K|60 FPS. Endure endless waves of increasingly difficult zombies in the new Horde Mode XL game mode, featuring hundreds more zombies on screen than ever before possible
- Experience a heart-pounding new perspective with Aftermath’s immersive new First-Person Mode option
- Level up eight unique classes — the Gunslinger, Hellraiser, Slasher, Medic, Fixer, Exterminator, Dronemaster, and all-new Vanguard class — each with their own perks and playstyles
Upgrade paths and cost
Aftermath is sold as an upgrade for existing owners, but the route depends on the platform:
- Xbox Series X|S: Saber’s FAQ says Aftermath is required for the free next-generation upgrade. Check the Xbox store listing for current terms.
- PlayStation 5: Saber’s FAQ describes a separate PS5 upgrade path. Read the FAQ and your PlayStation Store listing for the exact purchase steps and price.
- Same-platform discount: Xbox Wire reported at launch that owners of the original or Game of the Year Edition could buy Aftermath at a discounted price on the same platform. That was a launch-period announcement from 2021. Discount terms change and vary by region, so treat it as a route to check, not a fixed price.
Aftermath launched on September 21, 2021, according to the publisher’s product page. Because launch-era pricing and eligibility are not guaranteed to match today’s storefronts, compare the current price of Aftermath with what you would pay for the original or Game of the Year Edition on your platform before deciding.
Rank #4
- Fight your way through a perilous world In a 4-player co-op story campaign where you must work together to survive increasingly challenging missions
- Choose from 8 customizable cleaners and a range of lethal weapons and items
- Play with or against friends in PvP
- A new Roguelike card system creates different experiences each and every time
- A PlayStation Plus subscription is required to play Back 4 Blood on PlayStation or Xbox consoles.
Choosing between the two
- Pick the original if you want the base game with its core campaign and do not need the new episodes, melee system, or class system.
- Pick Aftermath if you want the Game of the Year content, Rome and Kamchatka, the first-person option, and Horde Mode XL on a platform where it is listed.
- Check your platform before buying. Switch players are in a different cross-play group from PC and console players, and Horde Mode XL is not listed for Switch in the publisher’s materials.
- If you already own the original or Game of the Year Edition, look for the upgrade route on your storefront before buying a new copy.
Clearing up the naming
People often write the question as “what’s the difference between WWZ and Aftermath?” or ask whether Aftermath is a sequel or DLC. The short answer is that Aftermath is an expanded edition that bundles the Game of the Year content with new episodes and features, and it is not presented by the publisher as an unrelated follow-up. Whether your store treats it as a standalone purchase or an add-on depends on the listing.
The one thing the publisher and Saber’s FAQ do not settle is exactly how each store and region prices the upgrade, so the store page is the final check.
Official references: the publisher’s World War Z: Aftermath product page (Focus Entertainment), Saber Interactive’s World War Z FAQ, and Xbox Wire’s Aftermath launch announcement from 2021.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




