Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Xbox Game Pass is the better fit if you play across Xbox and Windows PC, want eligible new games on day one, or value streaming on supported devices. PlayStation Plus is the natural choice for PS4 and PS5 owners: Extra adds a broad downloadable catalogue, while Premium adds classics, game trials and cloud streaming. Neither service wins for everyone. Start with your hardware and the games you actually want, then compare the tier and its current local price.
Compare the services by the hardware you use
Game Pass has options for Xbox consoles and Windows PC, with cloud play on supported devices; PC Game Pass is PC-only. PlayStation Plus is primarily for PlayStation consoles, although Premium also offers cloud streaming on PC. Games and features depend on plan, platform and region, so a library advertised by a service may not be available on every device or tier. See Xbox’s plan details and PlayStation’s US plan page.
If you own only a PS5 or PS4, begin by checking PS Plus. If you play on Xbox and PC, or want to use supported devices through streaming, look at the Game Pass plan that covers those uses. A subscription to either service is less useful if it does not serve the device on which you play.
What the tiers add
Compare the benefits you will use, not just the tier names. The entry-level tiers focus on baseline membership features and online multiplayer. The middle tiers add sizeable game catalogues, while the highest tiers add different extras.
#1 Best Overall
- MODERNIZED DESIGN — Experience the modernized design of the XBOX Wireless Controller with sculpted surfaces and updated geometry that enhances comfort and control during long gaming sessions.
- PRECISION PERFORMANCE — Stay on target with a hybrid D-pad and textured grips on triggers, bumpers, and back case for improved accuracy and handling.
- SHARE BUTTON: Seamlessly capture and share content such as screenshots, recordings, and more with the new Share button.
- VERSATILE CONNECTIVITY — Connect via USB-C for plug-and-play on console and PC, or quickly pair and switch between supported devices with XBOX Wireless and Bluetooth support.
- BUILT-IN AUDIO SUPPORT — Plug in compatible headsets using the 3.5mm audio jack for direct voice chat and immersive in-game sound.
| Service and tier | Best-known fit or included benefit | Published catalogue count |
|---|---|---|
| Xbox Game Pass Essential | Baseline membership features, including online console multiplayer | 50+ games, according to Xbox’s current plan page |
| Xbox Game Pass Premium | Broader Game Pass catalogue | 200+ games, according to Xbox’s current plan page |
| Xbox Game Pass Ultimate | Widest Game Pass catalogue; bundles EA Play, Fortnite Crew and Ubisoft+ Classics | 500+ games, according to Xbox’s current plan page |
| PC Game Pass | PC-only membership | 300+ games, according to Xbox’s current plan page |
| PlayStation Plus Essential | Baseline membership features, including online console multiplayer | not stated on Sony’s US plan page |
| PlayStation Plus Extra | Large downloadable game catalogue for PlayStation | not stated on Sony’s US plan page |
| PlayStation Plus Premium | Extra’s catalogue plus Classics Catalog access, game trials and cloud streaming | not stated on Sony’s US plan page |
Xbox’s figures are current page counts, not a promise that any fixed number of games will remain available. Sony describes its catalogues as changing collections. Check both live catalogues for the games you care about before subscribing.
US prices: compare checkout terms, not just monthly equivalents
The following prices are US storefront snapshots checked on October 4, 2026. They can change, and promotions may not be the renewal price. Sony lists one-, three- and twelve-month options; the Xbox figures below are monthly storefront listings. Confirm the current price, billing interval and renewal amount at checkout for your region and account.
Rank #2
- Tri-mode Connectivity: Wired for Xbox, 2.4G & Wired for PC, and Bluetooth for Android. The G7 Pro supports seamless connectivity across Xbox, PC, and Android. Effortlessly switch between modes using the convenient physical mode switch.
- TMR Sticks: The G7 Pro features GameSir's Mag-Res TMR sticks, combining Hall Effect durability with traditional potentiometer performance. This advanced technology delivers stable polling rates for smooth, drift-free gaming with low power consumption.
- Hall Effect Analog Triggers: The GameSir precision-tuned Hall Effect analog triggers provide unmatched smoothness and linear input for precise control. Featuring clicky Micro Switch trigger stops, gamers can easily switch based on their preferences.
- 1000Hz Polling Rate on PC: Experience ultra-responsive gaming with a 1000Hz polling rate on PC, available through both wired and 2.4G wireless connections. This ensures instantaneous input registration, reducing lag and optimizing your performance for the most competitive gameplay.
- GameSir Nexus App: The G7 Pro is compatible with the upgraded GameSir Nexus app, which brings a significant upgrade over the original. It introduces powerful new features such as gyro settings, stick curve adjustments, and button-to-mouse mapping, giving you deeper customization and more control than ever before.
| Subscription | 1 month | 3 months | 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| PlayStation Plus Essential | $10.99 | $27.99 | $79.99 |
| PlayStation Plus Extra | $16.99 | $43.99 | $134.99 |
| PlayStation Plus Premium | $19.99 | $54.99 | $159.99 |
| Xbox Game Pass Essential | $9.99/month | not stated in the captured US Xbox Store listing | not stated in the captured US Xbox Store listing |
| Xbox Game Pass Premium | not established in the reviewed US storefront information | not stated | not stated |
| Xbox Game Pass Ultimate | $22.99/month | not stated in the captured US Xbox Store listing | not stated in the captured US Xbox Store listing |
| PC Game Pass | $13.99/month | not stated in the captured US Xbox Store listing | not stated in the captured US Xbox Store listing |
Sony’s prices are listed on its US PS Plus page. Xbox’s prices are storefront snapshots; see Xbox’s plan page and the live Xbox Store for current terms. The reviewed Xbox plan page did not establish a US Premium price, so check the store rather than inferring one. Because billing options differ, do not assume that multiplying a monthly price by twelve is comparable to a listed annual option.
Game Pass has eligible day-one releases, with a Call of Duty exception
Xbox advertises eligible new games on day one, but that should not be read as a promise that every Xbox-published game arrives at launch. In an April 2026 update, Microsoft said future Call of Duty releases would be added to Ultimate and PC Game Pass in the following holiday season—about a year after launch—not on day one. Existing Call of Duty games already in the library remain available. Read Microsoft’s April 2026 update before subscribing mainly for an upcoming Call of Duty.
Rank #3
- PLAY LIKE A PRO — The XBOX Elite Wireless Controller Series 2 features over 30 ways to play like a pro. Designed in collaboration with pro-level players, it puts exceptional performance, customization, and durability where it matters most.
- ADJUSTABLE-TENSION THUMBSTICKS — Fine-tune your aim with thumbsticks that let you adjust resistance for improved accuracy, consistency, and control in every match.
- SHORTER HAIR TRIGGER LOCKS — Fire faster and react quicker with three-step hair trigger locks that reduce pull distance for rapid input in competitive gameplay.
- INTERCHANGEABLE COMPONENTS — Swap thumbstick toppers, D-pads, and paddles to tailor your controller to your preferred gaming style. Includes 6 thumbsticks, 4 paddles, 2 D-pads, carrying case, and charging dock.
- SAVE AND SWITCH PROFILES — Save up to 3 custom profiles on the controller and switch between them on the fly with the dedicated Profile button. Even pick which color the XBOX button lights up as.
PlayStation Extra and Premium offer rotating catalogues, not a general day-one release promise. If release timing matters more than having a large back catalogue, check the service’s current announcements for the particular game.
Streaming limits and platform support
Xbox cloud play
Cloud play is available on supported devices, but the included monthly playtime is changing. Xbox announced that beginning in November 2026, included cloud playtime will be 5 hours per month for Essential, 10 hours for Premium and 15 hours for Ultimate. This is a scheduled change, not a description of the allowance before the transition. Check Xbox’s current plan terms for the rule in effect when you subscribe.
Rank #4
- XBOX ELITE WIRELESS CONTROLLER SERIES 2: Play like a pro with adjustable-tension thumbsticks, wrap-around rubberized grip, and shorter hair trigger locks..Audio : 3.5mm stereo headset jack. Also compatible with the Xbox One Stereo Headset Adapter and all other Xbox controller accessories made by Microsoft.
- CORE ESSENTIALS: Includes just the components you need to unleash your best game. Additional components sold separately for even more customization with the Complete Component Pack.
- LIMITLESS CUSTOMIZATION: Exclusive button mapping options in the Xbox Accessories app—even pick which color the Xbox button lights up with.*
- CUSTOM PROFILES: Save up to 3 custom profiles on the controller and switch between them on the fly.*
- EXTENDED GAMEPLAY: Stay in the game with up to 40 hours of battery life and refined components that are built to last.*
PlayStation Plus Premium streaming
Sony lists cloud streaming for PS4, PS5 and PC with Premium. Its stated connection minimum is 5 Mbps, or 15 Mbps for 1080p. Streaming availability and the games playable this way can depend on region and title; see Sony’s plan and streaming details.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Game catalogues are temporary
A subscription catalogue is access while the game is included, not permanent ownership. Xbox says access ends if a game leaves the catalogue or the subscription expires or is cancelled. Sony also notes that its catalogues vary and may have announced removal dates. Sony says PS4 titles will be added only intermittently from January 2026. Before joining for a specific game, search the live catalogue for your region and tier, and check any announced departure date.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Best Value
- MODERNIZED DESIGN — Experience the modernized design of the XBOX Wireless Controller with sculpted surfaces and updated geometry that enhances comfort and control during long gaming sessions.
- PRECISION PERFORMANCE — Stay on target with a hybrid D-pad and textured grips on triggers, bumpers, and back case for improved accuracy and handling.
- SHARE BUTTON: Seamlessly capture and share content such as screenshots, recordings, and more with the new Share button.
- VERSATILE CONNECTIVITY — Connect via USB-C for plug-and-play on console and PC, or quickly pair and switch between supported devices with XBOX Wireless and Bluetooth support.
- BUILT-IN AUDIO SUPPORT — Plug in compatible headsets using the 3.5mm audio jack for direct voice chat and immersive in-game sound.
Which subscription should you choose?
- You own a PS5 or PS4 and want a broad library to download: Start with PlayStation Plus Extra. Its catalogue is the main step up from Essential.
- You want PlayStation classics, trials or cloud streaming: Consider Premium if those particular additions justify its higher cost over Extra.
- You play on Xbox and Windows PC, or want supported-device cloud play: Compare the Game Pass tier that covers your devices. Ultimate has the widest Game Pass catalogue and the listed bundle extras; PC Game Pass is a distinct PC-only option.
- You mainly need online console multiplayer: Compare Xbox Essential and PlayStation Essential in your own storefront, then choose based on platform, local price and any included games you will use.
- You are subscribing for one upcoming release: Confirm its availability and date on the relevant service before paying. In particular, future Call of Duty titles are not included on Game Pass at launch under Microsoft’s April 2026 update.
For either service, make a short list of games you intend to play and verify that each is currently included on your platform and tier. Then compare the checkout total and renewal interval with the extras you would genuinely use. Catalogue size alone cannot tell you whether a membership is worth it for you.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




