On May 7, 2024, Xbox announced that Arkane Austin, Tango Gameworks and Alpha Dog Games would close, while Roundhouse Games staff would join ZeniMax Online Studios. The announcement ended development on Redfall, but said the game and its servers would remain online; it also said Hi-Fi Rush would stay available on its existing platforms. Tango’s story changed later that year when Krafton acquired the studio and the Hi-Fi Rush rights.
What Xbox announced
In a staff memo on May 7, 2024, Xbox Game Studios head Matt Booty outlined three closures and one integration. Microsoft had acquired ZeniMax in 2021; its 2022 fact sheet listed eight game development studios in the group.
| Team | Announced outcome | Game or staff impact stated at the time |
|---|---|---|
| Arkane Austin | Closure | Redfall development would end after its previous update. Xbox said the game and servers would remain online. Some team members would transfer to other Bethesda projects; the memo did not give a total for affected employees. |
| Tango Gameworks | Closure | Xbox said Hi-Fi Rush would remain available on its existing platforms. The announcement did not specify a staff transfer plan. |
| Alpha Dog Games | Closure | Mighty Doom was scheduled to sunset on August 7, 2024. The announcement did not specify a staff transfer plan. |
| Roundhouse Games | Integration, not a closure | Its staff would join ZeniMax Online Studios. No separate game-service change was specified in the memo. |
The memo also said players who had purchased Redfall’s Hero DLC would receive make-good offers. It did not establish a combined job-loss figure, and the transfer of some Arkane Austin employees means the announcement should not be read as saying every person at the affected teams was laid off.
Why did Xbox close Arkane Austin and Tango Gameworks?
Booty said the changes were “grounded in prioritizing high-impact titles and further investing in Bethesda’s portfolio of blockbuster games and beloved worlds.” He added that Xbox would look across its business for opportunities “best positioned for success.” Those are the company’s stated reasons; the memo does not provide a studio-by-studio explanation or establish a specific financial cause for each decision. The memo was reported on May 7, 2024.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Xbox president Sarah Bond later described the moves as an outcome of the company’s commitment to keep the business healthy over the long term. Asked about Tango, she said decisions involve “a whole variety of factors” and there is “no one-size-fits-all” answer for every game or studio. Her comments likewise do not identify a single confirmed cause for Tango’s closure. Bond’s remarks were reported May 10, 2024.
What happened to the games?
Redfall
Xbox said the previous update would be the game’s last and development would stop, while the game and servers would remain online. It also promised make-good offers to people who had purchased the Hero DLC. These were the company’s statements in May 2024; they do not establish the game’s server status or availability in 2026.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Hi-Fi Rush
At the time of the closure announcement, Xbox said the game would continue to be available on its existing platforms. Game Developer reported that it had reached three million players by May 7, 2024; that is a historical reported figure, not a current audience count. The figure appeared in Game Developer’s May 7, 2024 coverage.
Mighty Doom
Alpha Dog’s mobile game was scheduled to sunset on August 7, 2024. That was the announced service-end date, not a statement about the game’s present availability.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsRank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Tango Gameworks’ story changed after the closure announcement
The May 2024 announcement was not the final chapter for Tango. Krafton announced in August 2024 that it had acquired Tango Gameworks and the rights to Hi-Fi Rush; Microsoft retained the rights to The Evil Within and Ghostwire: Tokyo. The acquisition came after Xbox had announced Tango’s closure, so the two events should not be conflated. Krafton’s announcement is the primary source for the deal.
The acquisition changed the studio’s post-announcement status, but it does not by itself establish the staffing arrangements or future release plans. The cited announcements do not verify those details.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
What the announcement does—and does not—establish
- Three teams were announced for closure; Roundhouse Games was to be integrated into ZeniMax Online Studios.
- Some Arkane Austin employees were to transfer to other Bethesda projects, but no verified total for jobs lost across these changes is established.
- Xbox gave portfolio prioritization and long-term business health as its rationale. The cited statements do not prove one specific financial explanation for each studio’s selection.
- May 2024 statements about games remaining online or available are not confirmation of their server or storefront status in 2026.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




