Short answer: it depends on which regional version and date you mean. At the Korea/Taiwan launch in November 2025, paid Quna items that reportedly granted power appeared in the shop and were then slated for removal. The global model announced in July 2026 is described as more restrained, but its Daeva Pass may include upgrade materials. Whether those materials create a meaningful competitive advantage—and what is currently in the live global shop—has not been established.
What counts as pay-to-win in AION 2?
The useful test is mechanical: does paying real money buy combat power directly, or materially speed access to gear and other competitive advantages? Cosmetics alone do not meet that test. Convenience benefits may or may not, depending on what they unlock or save. Premium currency that can be exchanged for gameplay currency, and paid rewards that include upgrade materials, deserve closer scrutiny because their effect depends on what those currencies and materials can actually buy or accelerate.
That distinction matters in AION 2: announcements describe different regional models, and an announced reward list is not the same thing as verified live inventory or proof of a competitive power gap.
What happened at the Korea/Taiwan launch?
Before the November 19, 2025 Korea/Taiwan launch, NCSOFT described a business model with memberships and passes for convenience, cosmetic costumes, weapon skins, pets and wings, plus an exchange between in-game currency and premium currency. NCSOFT’s September 12, 2025 announcement covered that regional plan; it should not be treated as a description of the later global version.
#1 Best Overall
- The Ultimate 2 Player Game
The launch also had a reported controversy. PC Gamer reported on November 20, 2025 that players found Quna-purchased items that granted power. Following an emergency broadcast, NCSOFT said it would remove the items after a temporary update. In PC Gamer’s account and translation, development producer Kim Nam-joon said, “We were complacent and unthoughtful, and we will be pulling the items from the store after today’s temporary update.” Business-division head So In-seop apologized: “I have no excuse to offer you, but I am truly sorry.” PC Gamer’s report supports a conclusion about that launch episode, not a claim that those items remain for sale now.
What does the announced global model include?
A July 2026 summary of NCSOFT’s July 8 global-team notice describes the planned global game as free-to-play, with Kina earned through gameplay and Quna as premium currency. It says an active membership was required for access to the Market and Kina–Quna Exchange. The summary describes shop cosmetics as aesthetic and consumables as earnable in regular play, but says Daeva Pass rewards may combine cosmetics, items, upgrade materials and other in-game currencies. AION2 Hub’s July 22, 2026 summary does not establish whether the upgrade materials materially accelerate gear progression.
Rank #2
So “cosmetics-only” is not an accurate description of the announced global pass. But the presence of upgrade materials alone does not prove pay-to-win: their effect depends on their quantity, availability through play, and impact on progression and competition. The available global information does not settle those points or provide a complete current shop catalog and pass reward table. NCSOFT’s global AION 2 site carries live notices, but the evidence available here is insufficient to give a definitive October 2026 verdict on the current global shop.
How do the regional models compare?
| Question | Korea/Taiwan launch evidence | Global plan announced in July 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Can premium currency connect to gameplay currency? | NCSOFT’s 2025 announcement said in-game currency could be exchanged for premium currency. The notice does not establish every exchange direction or what currency could buy. Source: NCSOFT, September 12, 2025. | The July 2026 summary identifies Kina as gameplay-earned Market currency and Quna as premium currency, and describes a Kina–Quna Exchange. Source: AION2 Hub summary, July 22, 2026. |
| Were direct power-related paid items reported? | Yes. PC Gamer reported Quna items that granted power at launch, followed by NCSOFT’s stated plan to remove them after a temporary update. This is a dated launch report, not current-shop evidence. Source: PC Gamer, November 20, 2025. | Not established by the announcement summary. It describes cosmetics and a pass that may include upgrade materials, but does not establish their competitive effect. Source: AION2 Hub summary, July 22, 2026. |
| Does membership affect market access? | Not stated in the cited launch announcement. | The summary says an active membership was required for Market and Kina–Quna Exchange access. Source: AION2 Hub summary, July 22, 2026. |
| Does the pass include progression-related rewards? | Not stated in the cited launch announcement. | The summary says Daeva Pass rewards may include upgrade materials; whether they materially affect gear progression is not stated. Source: AION2 Hub summary, July 22, 2026. |
Is the official currency exchange the same as real-money trading?
No. The announced in-game Kina–Quna Exchange is part of the game’s official economy. NCSOFT’s global operation policy separately defines prohibited Real-Money Trading to include trading game items or in-game currency for real money or for goods and services, with sanctions for violations. Read the AION 2 Global operation policy. Do not assume an official exchange permits player-to-player deals for cash or services.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Rank #3
- The Thrill of Flight: Flying is a strategic and integral part of the game, adding a fresh dynamic to all aspects of the genre, including combat, quests, and exploration.
- Stunning World: Discover a meticulously crafted fantasy world brimming with otherworldly inhabitants, mysterious enemies, and ancient secrets.
- Innovative PvPvE: Aion introduces a new dynamic to MMOs by combining both PvP and PvE gameplay into an exciting new style.
- Intense Visceral Combat: Engage in a spectacular and evolving combat system utilizing combos, skill chains, counterattacks, and spectacular aerial combat.
- Ships in Certified Frustration-Free Packaging
NCSOFT also described the trade system in an August 12, 2025 release as using in-game currency rather than premium currency. Producer Namjoon Kim said, “The Trade system enables players to exchange items using in-game currency instead of premium currency. After careful consideration, we designed this system to offer the most enjoyable experience for players.” That statement documents the announced trade design at that time; it does not establish every later exchange mechanic. Source: NCSOFT, August 12, 2025.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What do the revenue figures tell players?
NCSOFT reported KRW 100 billion in cumulative revenue as of January 3, 2026, 46 days after launch, and said more than one million characters had purchased memberships during that period. These are company-reported commercial milestones, not measures of average spending or proof that purchases caused a competitive power gap. The release provides no suitable figure for the share of players spending, median spend, or power advantage attributable to purchases. Source: NCSOFT, January 7, 2026.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- CLASSIC TILE PLACEMENT: Draw and place landscape tiles to build cities, roads, fields, and monasteries, then deploy meeples as knights, farmers, and monks to claim features and score points.
- STRATEGY FOR ADULTS AND FAMILIES: Carcassonne pairs intuitive rules with meaningful decisions, making it accessible for ages 7+ while still engaging experienced adult board gamers.
- REPLAYABLE MEDIEVAL ADVENTURE: Randomized tile draws create a different landscape every game, bringing fresh puzzles and competitive fun to family game night and casual group play.
- TWO TO FIVE PLAYERS: Built for 2-5 players with an average 35-minute playtime, Carcassonne fits weeknight sessions at home, family gatherings on vacation, and adult board game evenings.
- INCLUDES MINI-EXPANSIONS: The base game comes with The Abbot and The River mini-expansions in the box, adding variety to the classic Carcassonne board game experience from the start.
Rank #4
- INTENSE TWO-PLAYER GAMEPLAY: Enter the world of Splendor in an exciting battle designed exclusively for two players. Outwit and outmaneuver your opponent as you race to gain the most prestige points and become the master gemstone merchant.
- STRATEGIC GEMSTONE ACQUISITION: Plan your moves carefully to collect gemstones and construct powerful combinations. Use your resources wisely to purchase development cards and gain an edge over your adversary.
- IMMERSIVE AND COMPACT DESIGN: Splendor Duel features high-quality components, including gemstone tokens, development cards, and noble tiles. The game's compact size makes it perfect for travel or playing on-the-go without sacrificing the immersive gaming experience.
- QUICK AND ENGAGING GAMEPLAY: Enjoy fast-paced gameplay with average playtimes of just 30 minutes. Splendor Duel offers a perfect balance of simplicity and strategic depth, making it accessible for both casual gamers and experienced board game enthusiasts.
- ENDLESS REPLAYABILITY: With a vast array of development cards and different starting setups, no two games of Splendor Duel are alike. Explore various strategies and adapt your tactics to emerge victorious in this exciting gemstone battle.
What should you check before spending?
- Confirm your region and version. Korea/Taiwan launch reports do not automatically describe the global shop.
- Read the current item or pass rewards. Look for direct combat stats, upgrade materials, currency and access requirements—not just labels such as “convenience.”
- Check whether comparable rewards are available through play. The speed and limits of free acquisition determine whether a paid reward changes progression materially.
- Check what membership gates. If it controls Market or exchange access, that is an access restriction to weigh separately from a direct power purchase.
- Judge the actual competitive effect. A cosmetic is not power; a material or currency is not automatically power either. Its impact depends on what it enables and how much it changes progression.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




