What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Yes—Animal Crossing can cost money, depending on which game and features you mean. The main current console game, Animal Crossing: New Horizons, is a paid Nintendo Switch title. Its core single-player experience does not require a monthly subscription, but Nintendo Switch Online is required for the game’s online features. Optional additions include the Happy Home Paradise expansion and, for owners of the original game, a paid Switch 2 upgrade. The mobile series is different: the original Pocket Camp service ended, while Pocket Camp Complete is a separate paid app.
What “Animal Crossing” means for the cost question
“Animal Crossing” is a series name, not one single product. For most people asking whether it costs money, the relevant game is Animal Crossing: New Horizons on Nintendo Switch. Nintendo also offers a Switch 2 Edition, an optional expansion, and a separate mobile title. Each has a different payment model.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The prices below are Nintendo’s United States figures. Nintendo notes that manufacturer’s suggested retail prices can differ from retailer prices, and prices, taxes, currency conversion, and service availability vary by country. A sale price at a particular store is therefore not a worldwide or permanent price.
New Horizons is a paid game
You must buy Animal Crossing: New Horizons before you can play it. Nintendo’s January 15, 2026 announcement lists both the original Nintendo Switch release and the enhanced Switch 2 Edition. The original version is the normal choice for someone playing on a Nintendo Switch. The Switch 2 Edition is sold as its own version for people who do not already own the game.
#1 Best Overall
- Share Your Paradise - Show off your island utopia to family and friends - or pack your bags and visit theirs.
- Get Building - Experience a robust new crafting system - collect materials to construct everything from furniture to tools!
- Create Your Perfect Getaway - Craft everything from tools to creature comforts as you create and customize your island community.
- Explore Your Island - Collect bugs, decorate your paradise throughout the day, or enjoy sunset on the beach while fishing in the ocean.
- Play Together - Up to eight players can reside on an island; four residents of the same island can play together simultaneously on a single system.
| New Horizons option | US price or access model | What you receive |
|---|---|---|
| New Horizons for Nintendo Switch | $59.99 US MSRP, listed by Nintendo in January 2026; retailer prices may vary | The base game for Nintendo Switch |
| New Horizons – Switch 2 Edition | $64.99 US regular price in Nintendo’s January 2026 announcement; retailer prices may vary | The game edition intended for Nintendo Switch 2 |
| Switch 2 Edition Upgrade Pack | $4.99 US for owners of the original Switch version | Access to the Switch 2 Edition enhancements without buying the complete game again |
| Version 3.0 software update | Free to people who already own New Horizons | The listed 3.0 content update, including additions such as a resort hotel |
The free 3.0 update is not a free copy of the game. Nintendo describes it as “the free update for everyone who has the game,” so ownership of New Horizons remains the starting requirement.
Choosing between the original and Switch 2 versions
If you are buying the game for the first time on Nintendo Switch 2, compare the complete Switch 2 Edition with the original Switch release plus the upgrade route. If you already own the original Switch game, Nintendo lists the upgrade pack as the way to obtain the Switch 2 Edition enhancements. The upgrade pack is not a second copy of the base game; it depends on your existing ownership.
Because retailer pricing can change independently of Nintendo’s MSRP, check whether a listing is the original Switch game, the full Switch 2 Edition, or an upgrade product before paying. A product page that says “upgrade” is intended for existing owners, while the full edition is the purchase for a new player.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Do you have to pay monthly to play?
No—not for the core game. Nintendo Switch Online is a separate service. Nintendo says a membership is required for New Horizons’ online features, but it is not presented as a prerequisite for playing the main game by yourself. You can purchase the game and play its ordinary offline content without treating the online membership as a mandatory monthly charge.
The membership matters when you want features that Nintendo classifies as online. The required plan is billed separately from the game, and Nintendo’s US support page lists these standard individual options:
| Membership | US price listed by Nintendo | Term |
|---|---|---|
| Nintendo Switch Online, individual | $3.99 | One month |
| Nintendo Switch Online, individual | $7.99 | Three months |
| Nintendo Switch Online, individual | $19.99 | 12 months |
| Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack, individual | $49.99 | 12 months |
| Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack, family | $79.99 | 12 months |
The support page does not state a publication year for those membership figures, so treat them as the listed US prices rather than a promise that every country or future renewal will use the same amounts. Nintendo’s pricing and availability are country-dependent.
Rank #2
- Build your community from scratch on a deserted island brimming with possibility; Create your personal getaway and customize your character, home, decorations, and even the landscape itself
- Collect materials to construct everything from furniture to tools. Then, use what you create to give your island a personal touch
- Watch as the time of day and seasons match real life—even your hemisphere. Each day holds potential for surprises and discoveries
- Get to know the island residents, garden, fish, decorate, hunt for fossils, and more.
- Show off your paradise – play on the same system with a total of 4 people, or play together online or over local wireless for fun with up to 8 players
What happens if the membership ends?
Online access is tied to an active Nintendo Switch Online membership. If you stop renewing, the game itself remains yours, but the subscription-based online features and any membership-based DLC access stop being available under that membership. Nintendo also distinguishes New Horizons from games with ordinary Save Data Cloud support: its support information describes a separate save-backup and recovery service for members rather than standard cloud-save functionality. Do not assume that an ordinary cloud-save slot exists simply because you subscribe.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesHappy Home Paradise is optional DLC
Happy Home Paradise is an expansion for New Horizons, not the base game. You do not need it to play New Horizons, and buying it does not replace the base game. Nintendo’s support comparison gives two ways to access it:
| Access route | US cost or condition | How long access lasts |
|---|---|---|
| Buy Happy Home Paradise | $24.99 USD | Indefinite access after purchase, provided you own the base game |
| Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack | No additional DLC charge while an eligible membership is active | Only while the membership remains active |
Nintendo labels the membership route “Free with membership.” That wording means there is no extra DLC purchase during the eligible subscription term; it does not mean the Expansion Pack membership itself is free. If the membership lapses, access supplied through it pauses. Purchasing the DLC outright is the route that gives continuing access independent of that membership.
For either route, the full New Horizons game is required. Expansion Pack access therefore makes sense primarily when you already plan to maintain that membership for its other benefits, while a standalone purchase is easier to understand if you want the expansion without an ongoing subscription.
What about Animal Crossing on a phone?
The older mobile service, Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp, is no longer the current free-to-play option. Nintendo says that service ended on November 28, 2024. Pocket Camp Complete released on December 2, 2024 as a paid, flat-fee app that uses existing save data.
The Nintendo support notice confirming the change does not state the app’s current price. That means you should check the Apple App Store or Google Play listing for your country before purchasing; the available price may depend on the store and region. Do not describe the discontinued Pocket Camp service as a currently playable free game, and do not assume the Complete app has the same payment terms as New Horizons on console.
Rank #3
- To be updated
- To be updated
- To be updated
Which costs are one-time payments and which can recur?
- Base game: a purchase of New Horizons or the Switch 2 Edition is the entry cost to the console game.
- Version 3.0: the listed update is free for existing owners; it is not a separate subscription.
- Switch 2 enhancement: owners of the original Switch release can use the listed upgrade-pack route instead of purchasing the complete Switch 2 Edition again.
- Online play: Nintendo Switch Online is a recurring service available in monthly, three-month, and annual terms for the standard individual plan.
- Happy Home Paradise: an outright purchase provides indefinite access, while Expansion Pack access lasts only during an eligible membership.
- Pocket Camp Complete: Nintendo describes it as a paid flat-fee mobile app, but the reviewed support notice does not give a current price.
This distinction answers the common “Do I have to pay every month?” concern: a recurring fee is associated with online-service access, not with every minute of ordinary New Horizons play.
Practical buying checklist
- Identify your platform. Decide whether you are buying for Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch 2, or a phone. The console game and mobile app are separate products.
- Check whether you already own New Horizons. Existing owners should look for the Switch 2 upgrade-pack listing rather than automatically buying the complete edition again.
- Decide whether you need online features. If you only want the core game, start with the game purchase. Add Nintendo Switch Online only when you need Nintendo’s online functionality or membership benefits.
- Choose your Happy Home Paradise access method. Compare indefinite ownership through the DLC purchase with temporary access through an active Expansion Pack membership.
- Verify the region and edition on the store page. US figures do not establish the price in another country, and retailer listings can differ from Nintendo’s MSRP.
- Keep the account and product distinction clear. An update, an upgrade pack, DLC, a complete game edition, and a subscription are different transactions with different access rules.
Common misconceptions about Animal Crossing pricing
“The update is free, so the game must be free.”
These are different statements. Nintendo’s free-update wording applies to players who already have New Horizons. It does not waive the cost of obtaining the game.
“Nintendo Switch Online is required for all gameplay.”
Nintendo specifies the membership requirement for online features. That is narrower than saying every form of play requires a subscription. The base game and the online service should be budgeted separately.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →“Expansion Pack means I own Happy Home Paradise forever.”
Membership access and ownership are not the same. The membership route lasts only while the eligible subscription is active; the outright DLC purchase provides indefinite access.
“Pocket Camp is still the free mobile version.”
The original Pocket Camp service ended in 2024. Nintendo’s current mobile replacement is Pocket Camp Complete, which it describes as a paid flat-fee app, with the current amount determined by the relevant app store listing.
“The US price is the price everywhere.”
The figures in this article are US amounts. Nintendo and retailers can set different prices by country, currency, tax treatment, promotion, and edition.
Bottom line
Animal Crossing is not universally free. For the main game, plan on buying New Horizons; Nintendo Switch Online is optional for ordinary play but required for online features. The 3.0 update costs nothing for owners, Switch 2 enhancements have a separate upgrade route, and Happy Home Paradise is either an outright DLC purchase or a temporary Expansion Pack benefit. On mobile, the discontinued Pocket Camp service has been replaced by the paid Pocket Camp Complete app.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

