Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Arcana Unleashed is a 2024-edition Dungeons & Dragons sourcebook. You can add its material to a campaign that still uses 2014 content, but a subclass and the class it belongs to should come from the same rules family whenever that subclass has a 2024 update. Third-party supplements have no blanket compatibility guarantee: check each book’s rules target, conversion notes, and license before allowing it.
What “compatible” means for Arcana Unleashed
Groups often use the word compatible to mean several different things. For Arcana Unleashed, separate these questions before making a character or buying a format:
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- Mechanically usable: Can the option function with the class, spell rules, and character-building procedures your table uses?
- Officially allowed: Is the material permitted in the campaign or organized-play program you are joining?
- Technically available: Does your preferred book, compendium, or virtual tabletop include the content and tools you need?
- Legally shareable: Do the applicable license and fan-content rules allow you to distribute or monetize the material?
A “yes” to one test does not automatically answer the others. A subclass may work at a home table but be excluded from an organized-play campaign; a digital listing may be searchable without granting permission to redistribute its text.
What is in Arcana Unleashed?
The official Dungeons & Dragons product page presents Arcana Unleashed as a high-magic expansion under the phrase “Step into a World Where Magic Rules.” Its advertised character and spell content is:
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
| Content | Official D&D product-page figure | Roll20 digital-listing figure |
|---|---|---|
| Subclasses | 8 | Not stated |
| Faction-tied backgrounds | 10 | Not stated |
| Backgrounds | Not stated separately | 10 |
| Feats | 25+ | 25+ |
| Spells | 30+ | 33 |
| Magic items | Not stated | 47 |
These are catalog descriptions from two different 2026 product pages, not a contradiction that should be “averaged.” The D&D page uses rounded “30+” language, while the Roll20 listing gives a specific count of 33 spells and also lists 47 magical items. Use the figure associated with the edition or storefront you are evaluating.
Using Arcana Unleashed in a 2014-rules campaign
A table that still builds characters with the 2014 rules can usually incorporate Arcana Unleashed options, but the safest method is to identify the rules family of every class and subclass rather than declaring the whole book either legal or illegal.
The important class-and-subclass rule
D&D Beyond’s compatibility guidance keeps 2014 classes, subclasses, species, backgrounds, and feats available, marking older material as Legacy. When a subclass received an update in the 2024 Player’s Handbook, the older subclass cannot be paired with the 2024 version of that class. The older subclass remains usable with the 2014 class.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
In practical terms, do not mix a 2014 subclass with a 2024 class progression merely because both appear in the same character builder. If Arcana Unleashed offers a subclass for a class whose 2024 version changed the subclass framework, select the class and subclass from one rules family.
A 2014-table decision process
- Identify the campaign baseline. Ask whether ability-score generation, class progression, spell preparation, and other core procedures are using the 2014 Player’s Handbook.
- Check the Arcana Unleashed option’s publication target. If the book labels an option for the 2024 rules, treat it as a conversion rather than silently replacing a 2014 feature.
- Check the class interaction. Confirm that the subclass’s level features refer to the class chassis your character actually has.
- Keep Legacy material explicit. If you retain a 2014 option, mark it as Legacy in your character notes or campaign document.
- Record exceptions. If the Dungeon Master changes a prerequisite, feature timing, or spell interaction, write that house conversion where every player can see it.
What usually works without conversion
- Standalone spells can often be evaluated using the spellcasting rules already in the campaign, provided the table accepts the spell’s level, school, components, and class availability.
- Feats and backgrounds can be used when their prerequisites and ability-score benefits match the character-generation method your group selected.
- Magic items generally require an item rarity and attunement check rather than a class-version decision, but the Dungeon Master should still watch for effects written around 2024 terminology.
“Usually” is deliberate: the book is designed for the 2024 rules, so a 2014 table should approve each option rather than assuming every wording interaction is identical.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Using Arcana Unleashed in a 2024-rules campaign
For a campaign built on the 2024 rules, Arcana Unleashed is the straightforward fit. Use the 2024 class, species, background, feat, and spell procedures as the starting point, then apply the book’s prerequisites and feature wording as written.
When an older option appears in a 2024 character
D&D Beyond’s guidance allows 2014 material to remain available as Legacy content, but it does not make every cross-edition combination valid. The specific restriction is most important for subclasses: a 2014 subclass that was updated in the 2024 Player’s Handbook cannot be attached to the 2024 version of that class. Choose the 2024 subclass version or use the 2014 class instead.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Recommended 2024 character checklist
- Confirm that the class is the 2024 version if your table uses the revised class progression.
- Choose the Arcana Unleashed subclass version intended for that class family.
- Use the 2024 background and feat procedures unless the Dungeon Master has approved a Legacy background or feat.
- Check spell descriptions for references to concentration, casting time, targets, or conditions that your table may be interpreting under a different edition.
- Keep a copy of any Legacy exception with the character sheet so the choice is visible during play.
Can a campaign mix 2014 and 2024 material?
Yes. The compatibility guidance is built around continued access to 2014 content, not a requirement that a group replace every book at once. The risk comes from mixing pieces inside a single class package without checking whether the class received a 2024 redesign.
Use a campaign-wide policy
Before character creation, write down three decisions:
- Core rules: State whether the campaign uses 2014 or 2024 class progression as its default.
- Legacy policy: State whether 2014 classes, subclasses, species, backgrounds, feats, and spells are generally allowed, allowed only with approval, or unavailable.
- Conversion authority: Name who resolves an unclear interaction and where the ruling is recorded.
This prevents one player from treating “Legacy” as an automatic conversion while another treats it as a separate rules family.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Mixed-party example
A 2024 fighter can adventure beside a 2014 cleric in the same campaign because party members do not need to use identical character versions. The table should still resolve shared effects—such as a spell targeting a condition or a feature that references a class action—using one agreed interpretation. If a subclass has both a 2014 and 2024 version, each player should pair it with the matching class version rather than combining the two.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Organized play and campaign-setting eligibility
The official organized-play update makes Arcana Unleashed character options and spells available for campaigns set in Forgotten Realms, Eberron, Ravenloft, and Dragonlance. That is an organized-play permission, not a claim that every option is automatically legal in every home campaign or every other setting.
Legends of Greyhawk
Legends of Greyhawk guidance was updated to include the book’s Chapter 1 character options and Chapter 2 spells, with immediate availability for play. If you are joining that program, use the current campaign document for any additional restrictions on character creation, advancement, or table procedure.
Dungeoncraft
Dungeoncraft creators may use the new monsters in Arcana Unleashed. This permission concerns the program’s adventure-creation framework; it should not be read as a universal license to reproduce the entire book or distribute its text outside the program’s rules.
Home campaign versus organized play
| Question | Home campaign | Organized play |
|---|---|---|
| Who decides whether an option is allowed? | The Dungeon Master and group agreement | The current campaign and event rules |
| Can you house-convert an option? | Yes, if the table records and accepts the change | Only where the program’s rules permit it |
| Does setting matter? | The group can adapt the setting | Use the setting list and chapter permissions for the program |
| Are all book chapters automatically legal? | Not necessarily; the Dungeon Master may curate content | No; the published organized-play guidance identifies what is available |
Physical versus digital editions
Format does not change the rules target, but it changes how you reference and use the material at the table.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
| Format | Best for | What is established |
|---|---|---|
| English-language hardcover | Groups that want a permanent physical reference | Asmodee lists an English-language hardcover sourcebook and describes it as compatible with the 2024 D&D rules. |
| Roll20 digital compendium | Virtual-tabletop groups and searchable character building | The listing says the content is searchable in the Compendium, Roll20 Tabletop, and Roll20 Characters, with Digital Reader access. |
Choosing the hardcover
- Useful when several players need to browse at once without sharing a screen.
- Suitable for a physical reference library and table-side page marking.
- Check the language and edition details on the seller’s current listing before ordering.
Choosing the digital compendium
- Searchable text reduces the time spent locating a spell, feat, or item.
- Tooltips and character-platform integration can reduce manual transcription in a virtual campaign.
- Digital access is platform-specific; confirm that your account, compendium, and character tools support the features you expect.
Prices, stock, entitlements, and platform features can change, so verify the current listing at the time of purchase.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Third-party supplements: a three-part compatibility check
There is no official blanket statement that every third-party Arcana Unleashed supplement works unchanged with both rulesets. Evaluate each product independently.
1. Identify the rules target
Look for an explicit statement that the supplement targets the 2014 rules, the 2024 rules, or both. A product that predates the 2024 rules may use assumptions about action economy, subclass levels, backgrounds, or spell wording that do not transfer directly.
2. Look for an update or conversion note
Check whether the publisher released a 2024 update, errata document, or conversion guide. If no update exists, ask the Dungeon Master to review every class feature, prerequisite, and terminology dependency before approval.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3. Check the license
Compatibility and redistribution are separate issues. Wizards of the Coast’s Fan Content Policy states: “You can’t sell or license your Fan Content to any third parties for any type of compensation.” That policy is relevant to fan-made supplements and monetized distribution, but it does not replace the license terms of a separately published commercial third-party book. Read the specific publisher license before copying, uploading, bundling, or selling material.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Third-party review worksheet
| Check | Question to answer | Action if unclear |
|---|---|---|
| Rules target | 2014, 2024, or both? | Ask the publisher or treat it as unconverted. |
| Update status | Is there a 2024 revision or conversion note? | Use the latest official update, if one exists. |
| Character interaction | Does it alter a class, subclass, background, feat, spell, or prerequisite? | Test the interaction with the campaign’s class version. |
| Organized-play status | Does the campaign document list it? | Do not assume home-table approval equals event eligibility. |
| License | Can the material be copied or redistributed? | Follow the product’s license and fan-content policy. |
Common failure modes and fixes
“The builder lets me select it, so it must be legal.”
Character-building software can expose Legacy content for reference without approving every combination. Fix the problem by checking the class version, subclass version, and campaign policy manually.
“The book is 2024, so none of it works with 2014 characters.”
That is too broad. A table can evaluate spells, feats, backgrounds, and other options individually. The critical caution is to avoid pairing a 2014 subclass with a 2024 version of a class when that subclass received a 2024 update.
“A third-party book says fifth edition, so it covers both editions.”
“Fifth edition” is not a sufficient conversion statement. Ask which rules assumptions the author used and whether a 2024 update exists.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →“Organized play approval means every chapter is legal everywhere.”
Program permissions are specific. The update naming Forgotten Realms, Eberron, Ravenloft, Dragonlance, Legends of Greyhawk, or Dungeoncraft does not create a universal approval for unrelated campaigns or distribution.
“Digital ownership means I can share the text.”
A searchable compendium grants platform access under its terms; it does not automatically grant redistribution rights. Keep purchased access tied to the account and permissions that govern it.
Fast decision guide
| Your situation | Recommended approach |
|---|---|
| New 2024 campaign | Use Arcana Unleashed options with 2024 classes and character-building procedures. |
| Established 2014 campaign | Review each option; retain 2014 class/subclass pairings and document any conversion. |
| Mixed-edition party | Allow different character versions if the table agrees, but keep each updated subclass with its matching class family. |
| Organized-play event | Follow the current event document, including the named settings and chapter limits. |
| Third-party supplement | Verify rules target, 2024 update status, character interactions, event eligibility, and license. |
| Physical-reference preference | Choose the English-language hardcover after checking the current edition listing. |
| Virtual-tabletop preference | Choose the digital compendium if search, tooltips, and character-platform integration are priorities. |
What to record in your campaign notes
A one-page compatibility note prevents recurring arguments. Include:
- The campaign’s default rules family: 2014 or 2024.
- Whether Legacy classes, subclasses, species, backgrounds, feats, and spells are allowed.
- The rule that an updated subclass stays with its matching class version.
- Which Arcana Unleashed chapters and options are approved.
- Any house conversions, including the exact feature or prerequisite changed.
- The organized-play document and date used for event characters.
- Any third-party books approved, their stated rules target, and the license restrictions that affect table use.
Revisit the note when a publisher releases an erratum, a campaign document changes, or your group switches character-building platforms. Prices, stock, digital entitlements, organized-play documents, and third-party updates are all subject to change.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

