Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
VGSources
Blog

Bad Magpie Demo FAQ: Platforms, Save Progress, and How Long It Takes

The Bad Magpie demo is on Steam for Windows and macOS, with an Xbox-on-PC announcement. Console availability, save transfer, and official playtime remain unconfirmed.
Length9 min Posted Quest giverVGSources Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Bad Magpie’s free demo is available on Steam for Windows and macOS. The developer also announced it for “Xbox on PC,” but that wording does not confirm an Xbox-console demo. Milktooth has not published an official demo playtime or said whether progress transfers to the full game, so neither the time required nor save carryover is confirmed.

Where can you play the Bad Magpie demo?

The Steam demo listing identifies the demo as free and gives system requirements for Windows and macOS. It lists October 8, 2026 as the release date and names Milktooth as both developer and publisher. Those are the clearly documented options for trying the demo.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Milktooth also announced the demo for “Steam and XBOX on PC.” That announcement supports describing an Xbox-on-PC option, but it does not establish that the demo runs on an Xbox console. “Xbox” can refer to more than one part of Microsoft’s gaming ecosystem; the wording “on PC” matters here. Do not treat it as confirmation of an Xbox Series X|S or other console version.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Option What is established What not to assume
Steam The free demo is listed on Steam, with Windows and macOS requirements. Check the current listing for the specific system requirements before downloading; the platform labels alone do not guarantee that a particular computer meets them.
Xbox on PC Milktooth’s announcement names “XBOX on PC” as a demo platform. The announcement does not confirm a console build or a particular Xbox PC storefront listing.
Xbox console No reviewed official source confirms that the demo is playable on an Xbox console. An Xbox wishlist link for the full game is not evidence that the demo is available on console.

The developer’s announcement account is useful for the Xbox-on-PC wording, while the official game website links to Steam and Xbox wishlists and gives the full game’s announced 2027 window. A wishlist destination and a release window are not a confirmation of demo availability or a specific launch date. If you are looking for a console demo, check for a current platform-specific listing or a direct developer update rather than relying on the broad “Xbox” label.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

For a PC player, the practical first step is to open the Steam demo page and check that the listed operating system and system requirements match the computer being used. Steam’s Windows and macOS labels establish supported operating-system categories, not that every Windows PC or Mac will run the demo. The listing provides the place to verify the specific requirements before downloading; no particular CPU, graphics card, memory figure, or storage amount is established here.

The demo is free, so there is no purchase price to pay to try the Steam version. Its release date is October 8, 2026. If you see “Xbox” while looking for the full game, distinguish the wishlist page from a playable demo listing: the official site has Xbox and Steam wishlist destinations, but a wishlist link alone says nothing about whether this particular demo can be downloaded on a console.

What is included in the demo?

The demo is a slice of Bad Magpie, not the full game. Team Milktooth says it drops players into a corner of one of the game’s three areas and offers an initial glimpse of the story behind the magpie’s quest for shiny trinkets. Its stated objective is to find meteorite shards scattered around the map.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Steam description presents the wider game as a narrative adventure about a one-winged magpie, shiny objects, and a fallen star. It also describes exploration, environmental interactions, and puzzles with multiple solutions. Those details describe the larger experience; they should not be read as a guarantee that every area, puzzle, or story element appears in the demo.

There is also a difference in how the story is introduced. Team Milktooth says the full version tells its story entirely through gameplay, while the demo adds a few lines of text before and after gameplay to set the scene. The demo’s text framing is therefore specific to this preview slice, rather than proof that the full game uses the same presentation throughout.

For a player deciding whether to download it, the clearest expectation is a compact introduction to the setting and a shard-finding objective in part of one area. The official description establishes the task and setting, but it does not specify how many shards must be found, whether every shard is required to finish, or whether the demo opens into further content after the objective. Consult the current game listing or developer announcements for any later clarifications.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

In other words, the demo offers an introduction rather than a tour of all three areas. The announced full game’s broader mix of exploration, interactions, and puzzles gives context for the kind of adventure it is, but the available description does not map each of those features to a specific demo moment. Players should expect the shard hunt and a first story glimpse, not assume that the slice contains the full game’s range or scale.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The “three areas” detail refers to the full game’s world as described by Milktooth; the demo itself takes place in a corner of one area. That distinction is useful if you are deciding how much of the game the download represents. Nothing in the official description says that the demo unlocks the other areas or includes a complete story arc.

Does demo progress carry over to the full game?

Milktooth has not publicly documented whether a demo save transfers to the full game. The reviewed official Steam listing and developer announcement do not say that demo progress carries over, nor do they say that players must start again. The accurate answer is that save transfer is unconfirmed.

That question is separate from whether the demo saves locally between sessions. The available official material does not establish whether progress persists if you close the demo and reopen it, whether Steam Cloud is supported for the demo, or whether a saved run can be imported into the eventual full release. A player should not infer any of those behaviors from the fact that the demo is distributed through Steam.

How to avoid relying on an unconfirmed transfer

  • If you only want to sample the game, play the demo without treating the run as progress toward the full release.
  • If preserving a particular run matters, check the demo’s current Steam listing and Milktooth’s official announcements for explicit save or cloud-save details before you begin.
  • If the sources remain silent, ask the developer directly. Do not assume that a local save, a cloud-synced save, or an eventual full-game save will be interchangeable.

This is a policy question that could be clarified in a later update, so the answer may change. Until Milktooth states how saves work, plan for the possibility that the full game begins separately, without treating that possibility as a confirmed requirement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

It helps to keep three separate questions in view: whether the demo remembers your place after you quit, whether that save syncs through Steam Cloud, and whether the finished game can read a demo save. These are different forms of save behavior, and the official listing and announcement do not settle any of them. A “yes” to one would not, by itself, establish the others.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

If you are choosing when to play, do not delay trying the free demo solely because you expect to preserve progress for 2027, and do not rush through it on the assumption that your progress will carry into the full game. Treat the demo as a standalone preview unless Milktooth publishes a clear policy. That is cautious planning, not a claim that saves will be deleted or that transfer is impossible.

How long is the Bad Magpie demo?

No official completion-time estimate was found in the reviewed Steam listing or Milktooth announcement. There is no verified number of minutes or hours for a typical run, and no separate time for a thorough run that seeks every shard. Giving a range would be a guess, not a published estimate.

The demo’s objective—collecting meteorite shards scattered around the map—suggests what players will be doing, but it does not reveal the map’s scale, the number of shards, how directly they are found, or how much time a player will spend exploring. Familiarity with the game, play style, and how thoroughly someone searches can affect an individual run; the official sources do not quantify those differences.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If you need to know whether you can finish in a particular session, the safest approach is to start when you have time to explore without a deadline rather than planning around an invented playtime. For a later or more precise estimate, look for a developer statement that identifies what it measures—such as completing the stated objective versus exploring thoroughly. No such distinction or timing figure is currently established by the cited official material.

There is a meaningful difference between reaching the stated objective and exploring every part of the demo slice. The objective mentions meteorite shards, but the official description does not state whether collecting all of them is necessary, whether there are optional finds, or how far apart the shards are. As a result, even an estimate for a “complete” run would need a definition that Milktooth has not supplied.

Players who want a quick preview can use the objective as a guide to what the demo asks them to do, but should not mistake that for a time promise. Someone who pauses to explore, tests environmental interactions, or looks for every shard may spend a different amount of time than someone who follows the objective directly. Those are reasonable differences in play style, not published completion-time ranges.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What is known about the full game’s release?

The official website announces the full game as “COMING 2027” and offers Steam and Xbox wishlist destinations. That is a year-level release window, not a specific day or month. It also does not mean the demo is available on every platform where the full game can be wishlisted.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For decisions about the demo, keep the two timelines separate: the demo has a listed Steam release date of October 8, 2026, while the full game is announced for 2027. The full game’s eventual availability, save compatibility, and any changes to the demo’s platform support should be checked against current official listings as they are published.

The 2027 announcement can help set expectations about when the full release is planned, but it does not answer whether the demo’s current save will be compatible, whether the game’s exact release date is set, or whether the demo will appear on console. Wishlist links are destinations for following the full game; they should not be used as a substitute for a demo store listing.

As of October 13, 2026, the clearest answer for someone deciding where and when to try the preview is still the Steam listing for Windows and macOS, with Milktooth’s “Xbox on PC” wording treated separately. Check the official game site and developer announcements for changes, especially if you are waiting for console availability, save details, or a stated playtime.

Frequently Asked Questions

What platforms is the Bad Magpie demo on?

The free demo is listed on Steam, with Windows and macOS system requirements. Milktooth also announced it for “Xbox on PC,” but that wording does not confirm an Xbox-console version. Check the current platform-specific listing before downloading.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Does progress from the demo carry over to the full game?

Milktooth has not confirmed whether demo progress transfers. The official materials also do not establish local save persistence between sessions or Steam Cloud support for the demo, so do not assume any of those behaviors.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

How long is the Bad Magpie demo?

There is no official completion-time estimate. The demo asks players to find meteorite shards, but Milktooth has not given a typical or thorough-run duration, so any minutes-or-hours estimate would be a guess.

What do you do in the Bad Magpie demo?

The demo places players in a corner of one of the full game’s three areas, introduces the story, and sets the objective of finding meteorite shards scattered around the map. It is a slice of the larger game, not all three areas.

Is the Bad Magpie demo free, and when did it release?

Yes. The Steam listing identifies it as a free demo and gives October 8, 2026 as its release date.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

When is the full game coming out?

The official website says “COMING 2027” and links to Steam and Xbox wishlists. It does not give a specific launch date, and those wishlist links do not establish that the demo is playable on an Xbox console.

The Bottom Line

Bad Magpie’s free demo released on Steam on October 8, 2026, with Windows and macOS requirements; Milktooth’s “Xbox on PC” announcement is not confirmation of a console demo. The preview covers part of one of three areas and centers on finding meteorite shards. No official playtime, session-save details, Steam Cloud support, or transfer policy has been confirmed, so check Milktooth’s current listings and announcements rather than planning around assumptions.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More quests from Patch Notes

  1. How to Set Up a RedM (RDR2) Server in 2026: License Key, txAdmin and server.cfg, Step by StepBlog11min
  2. Best RedM (RDR2) Server Hosting in 2026: Comparing Four Hosts on Slots, Memory and PriceBlog10min
  3. How to Host a Mindustry Server in 2026: server-release.jar, Port 6567 and the Commands That MatterBlog7min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.