Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
Skip to content
VGSources
Blog

Battlefield Labs: What EA Revealed About Its Community Test Program

EA’s February 3, 2025 reveal introduced Battlefield Labs, an invite-only test program for pre-alpha concepts—not a public demo. Here are the access details and rules EA announced.
Length3 min Posted Quest giverVGSources Team

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

EA’s “tomorrow” reveal came on February 3, 2025: the company announced Battlefield Labs, an invite-based program for testing work-in-progress Battlefield concepts and mechanics with players. It was not a public demo or a finished-game preview. The original announcement called the project the “next Battlefield experience”; EA revealed the name Battlefield 6 later in 2025.

What was revealed on February 3, 2025?

The day before, the official Battlefield account invited people to “Tune in tomorrow at 5PM CET / 8AM PDT” for details about a community testing program. EA’s announcement the next day identified it as Battlefield Labs. The teaser promised first details; it did not specify what the reveal would include. EA’s announcement described the next Battlefield experience as pre-alpha and framed Labs as a way for players to help teams explore its potential. Insider Gaming reported the teaser on February 2, 2025.

EA’s stated goal was to test concepts and mechanics before public release, learn what to prioritize and improve, and assess what felt like an authentic Battlefield experience. Vince Zampella, then identified by EA as Head of Respawn and Group GM for EA Studios Organization, said: “This game has so much potential. To find that potential, with us being pre-alpha, now is the time to test the experiences our teams have been building for our upcoming launch. Battlefield Labs empowers our teams to do that.”

Was Battlefield Labs a public beta?

No. EA described it as an early, invite-based test of work in progress—not an open demo or a finished build. The company warned that Labs content could have rough edges, bugs, and crashes. Signing up did not guarantee an invitation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Sale
Battlefield 6 - Standard Edition - EN/FR (Xbox Series X)
  • Battlefield 6 Standard Edition (disc) for XBOX Series X contains the full game
  • All-out war, fast-paced close-quarters combat, tactical destruction - Welcome to the definitive Battlefield experience
  • THE NEW STANDARD OF FPS COMBAT: With overhauled gunplay and tactical movement, from crouch sprint to drag and revive, every shot and movement is more instinctual and precise
  • MORE WAYS TO BATTLE: Victory, however you envision it; Seize glory in iconic, large-scale modes including Conquest, Breakthrough, and Rush; Fight in iconic locations all over the world including Cairo, Brooklyn, Gibraltar and more
  • ICONIC ALL-OUT WARFARE: Wage all-out war with infantry and vehicle combat, class-based squad play, and cutting edge audiovisual immersion; Where fighter jets, tanks, skydiving RPGS, heavy artillery, and high-intensity infantry combat become one

EA’s Battlefield FAQ said the first invitations would go to a few thousand players, with a longer-term plan to expand invitations to tens of thousands. Those numbers were stated plans, not reported attendance figures. EA said it wanted a mix of experienced Battlefield players and people new to the series.

Who could sign up, and what did access require?

EA offered registration through its Battlefield Labs page and required an EA Account linked to the relevant platform account. The FAQ listed these platforms and subscription requirements:

Rank #2
BATTLEFIELD 6 | PHANTOM EDITION | XBOX Series X|S Digital
  • PHANTOM EDITION — Full Game Download + Battlefield Pro Token + 1 Token redeemable against the season of first play which includes Battle Pass, 25 Tier Skips, exclusive rewards, and more.
  • ALL‑OUT WARFARE GAMEPLAY — Engage in massive combined‑arms battles with high‑intensity infantry combat, aerial dogfights, tanks, jets, and large combat arsenals.
  • KINESTHETIC COMBAT SYSTEM — Harness precise control over movement and actions with a refined combat system built for fluid gunplay, traversal, and environmental interaction.
  • MULTIPLAYER AT SCALE — Fight for victory across iconic modes like Conquest, Breakthrough, Rush, Domination, King of the Hill, Payload, and the revamped Battlefield Portal.
  • TACTICAL DESTRUCTION — Turn the environment into a weapon by demolishing structures, reshaping the battlefield, and using reactive destruction systems for strategic advantage.
Platform Listed access requirement
PC EA app
PlayStation 5 PlayStation Plus
Xbox Series X|S Xbox Game Pass Core

EA said the initial invited group and servers would be in Europe and North America. Its FAQ described expanding server locations and eventually inviting tens of thousands as future plans; it did not promise a public-access route for people who were not selected.

What PC specifications did EA list?

The FAQ published the following minimum and recommended specifications. They are the requirements listed for the program in that FAQ, not a guarantee that the requirements remain current.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Battlefield 6 Phantom Edition XBOX Series X | VideoGame | English
  • Battlefield 6 Phantom Edition (disc) for XBOX Series X contains the full game
  • Battlefield 6 Phantom Edition includes Phantom Squad, Battlefield Pro Token, Shrouded & Drop Shadow Weapon Package, Chimera Vehicle Skin, Phantom XP Boost Set and more
  • Internet connection and EA Account required to play, including single-player mode; Xbox account must be linked to an EA Account
  • THE NEW STANDARD OF FPS COMBAT: With overhauled gunplay and tactical movement, from crouch sprint to drag and revive, every shot and movement is more instinctual and precise
  • MORE WAYS TO BATTLE: Victory, however you envision it; Seize glory in iconic, large-scale modes including Conquest, Breakthrough, and Rush; Fight in iconic locations all over the world including Cairo, Brooklyn, Gibraltar and more
Component Minimum Recommended
CPU Intel Core i5-8400 or AMD Ryzen 5 2600 Intel Core i7-10700 or AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
GPU Nvidia RTX 2060 or AMD Radeon RX 5600 XT 6GB Nvidia RTX 3060 Ti or AMD Radeon RX 6700-XT
Memory 16 GB 16 GB
Storage At least 30 GB At least 30 GB

How often were tests scheduled?

EA said Labs would not follow a rigid session cadence. It planned to issue repeated builds every few weeks, with specific test sessions scheduled and communicated directly to participants. This describes the plan in the FAQ, not a confirmed current schedule.

Could participants stream or discuss their experience?

No. Invitees had to sign a non-disclosure agreement and could not discuss or show anything from their Labs experience. EA said participants could send feedback directly and securely to development teams and use a private Discord channel. The company also planned public recaps about what it learned and the actions taken.

Rank #4
BATTLEFIELD 6 | 1,100 BFC | XBOX Series X|S Digital
  • BATTLEFIELD COINS CURRENCY — Use Battlefield Coins as in‑game currency to unlock a wide range of optional content through the in‑game Store.
  • COSMETIC CUSTOMIZATION — Spend Battlefield Coins on Soldiers, Weapon Packages, Vehicle Skins, and cosmetic accessories to personalize your battlefield experience.
  • BOOSTERS AND EXTRAS — Purchase gameplay boosters and additional cosmetic items to enhance progression and visual style without impacting core balance.
  • BATTLE PASS ACCESS — Battlefield Coins can be used to purchase the Battle Pass, unlocking seasonal rewards, cosmetics, and progression content.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

When did EA name the game Battlefield 6?

The February 3 Labs announcement referred to the project as the “next Battlefield experience”; it did not call it Battlefield 6. EA announced the Battlefield 6 name later in 2025. That later naming is useful context, but it should not be read back into the wording of the original reveal. EA’s later Battlefield 6 announcement establishes the subsequent title.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
Battlefield 6 - Standard Edition - EN/FR (Xbox Series X)
Battlefield 6 - Standard Edition - EN/FR (Xbox Series X)
Battlefield 6 Standard Edition (disc) for XBOX Series X contains the full game
$41.96
SaleBestseller No. 3
Battlefield 6 Phantom Edition XBOX Series X | VideoGame | English
Battlefield 6 Phantom Edition XBOX Series X | VideoGame | English
Battlefield 6 Phantom Edition (disc) for XBOX Series X contains the full game
$53.95
Best Value
Battlefield 6 - Xbox Series X
  • THE NEW STANDARD OF FPS COMBAT: With overhauled gunplay and tactical movement, from crouch sprint to drag and revive, every shot and movement is more instinctual and precise.The ultimate all-out warfare experience.This is Battlefield 6.
  • MULTIPLAYER Victory, however you envision it. Battlefield 6 has more ways to win than ever before.
  • GLOBAL SCALE CAMPAIGN Join an elite squad of Marine Raiders fighting relentlessly to save a world on the edge of collapse.
  • PORTAL Battlefield Portal is a massive sandbox where creators and players can push Battlefield to the limit. Take unprecedented control of your environment by moving, scaling, and duplicating objects.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More quests from Patch Notes

  1. How to Host a Mindustry Server in 2026: server-release.jar, Port 6567 and the Commands That MatterBlog7min
  2. Left 4 Dead 2 Server Hosting (2026): 5 Best Hosts for Co-op and VersusBlog8min
  3. How to Set Up a Subnautica Nitrox Server (2026): Launcher, Port 11000 and server.cfgBlog8min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.