The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Verdict: The be quiet! Light Mount TKL is a refined 80% mechanical keyboard for players who want a quieter desk, dedicated navigation keys, a media wheel, hot-swap sockets and a cushioned wrist rest. Its three-layer damping and Silent V2 linear switches make it unusually restrained acoustically, while the aluminum top plate, PBT keycaps and onboard controls give it a premium feel. The trade-off is fundamental: it is USB-only, has no number pad and carries a €139.90 official recommended retail price that may be high beside wireless competitors.
What the Light Mount TKL is
The Light Mount TKL is an 80% tenkeyless (TKL) keyboard. Removing the numeric keypad frees desk space while retaining the arrow keys and conventional navigation cluster that disappear on 60% and many 65% boards. It is therefore compact without requiring you to relearn the layout for everyday editing, chat or game menus.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Connection is exclusively wired USB. The cable detaches from the keyboard and uses USB-A on the computer end and USB-C on the keyboard end. There is no Bluetooth and no 2.4 GHz receiver. That makes the board straightforward for a fixed gaming PC, but less suitable if you regularly switch between a desktop, laptop and console or want a cable-free setup.
Be quiet! lists dimensions of 358 × 132 × 43.6 mm without the palm rest and 358 × 213 × 43.6 mm with it. Listed weights are 0.77 kg and 1.03 kg respectively. Those figures put it in normal TKL territory rather than the ultra-short footprint of a 60% keyboard. Full NKRO and 1,000 Hz polling are specified over USB.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
The official product specifications are available on be quiet!’s Light Mount TKL page.
Why it is quieter than a typical gaming keyboard
The board’s defining feature is its acoustic treatment rather than a novel layout. Be quiet! fits orange factory-lubricated Silent V2 linear switches and uses three damping layers inside the case. The switches have a smooth, soft linear action with no tactile bump or click, and the case treatment is intended to reduce both switch and bottom-out noise.
Hardware Busters measured its review sample at approximately 42 dBA during normal typing and 43.1 dBA at maximum, with 31.2 dBA of background noise. The test used a CEM DT-8852 sound meter on A-weighting with Fast response, positioned 20 cm from the keyboard. The board sat on a desk mat in stock configuration, including the foam inserts supplied in the spacebar. These are measurements of that sample and setup, not a guaranteed level in every room or with every switch change.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallIn practical terms, the Light Mount TKL is designed for shared rooms, microphones and late-night use where sharp click or clack is distracting. It is not silent: keycaps still produce impact noise, and a hard desk, different keycaps or heavier typing can change the result. The supplied linear switches also avoid the deliberate click sound associated with clicky designs, so the acoustic profile is a muted mechanical thock rather than total silence.
Hardware Busters’ complete sound and typing observations appear in its September 14, 2026 typing and sound analysis.
Build, keycaps and what is in the box
Materials and mounting
An aluminum top plate provides rigidity, while the lower case is ABS. The combination avoids the flex and hollow resonance common in inexpensive plastic TKLs without making the board unusually heavy. Double-shot PBT keycaps resist shine better than standard ABS caps and keep legends readable as the board ages.
Included accessories
- Magnetic cushioned palm rest
- Detachable USB-A-to-USB-C cable
- Keycap and switch puller
- Keyboard with orange Silent V2 linear switches installed
The palm rest attaches magnetically rather than requiring screws or clips. Hardware Busters found it useful for longer sessions. Their sample’s spacebar felt better after removing its foam inserts, although that is a subjective preference and changes the sound slightly; leaving the foam installed preserves the stock configuration measured in the review.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Warranty
Be quiet! lists a two-year warranty. Coverage and return rights can vary by country and seller, so retain your purchase documentation and check the terms for your region.
Controls, lighting and customization
Media wheel and dedicated keys
A programmable wheel on the left edge handles media or another assigned function. Three nearby macro/media keys provide direct controls without a function-layer shortcut. This arrangement is useful when you want volume adjustment while gaming or streaming and do not want to reach for software controls.
RGB and onboard profiles
The Light Mount TKL supports per-key RGB/ARGB lighting plus accent light bars. Profiles can be stored in onboard memory, allowing basic mappings and lighting to travel with the keyboard rather than depending entirely on a background process.
IO Center software
Configuration is handled through be quiet!’s IO Center desktop application and web interface. You can remap keys, configure the wheel and three extra keys, edit macros, set lighting effects and manage profiles. Hardware Busters notes that some operating-system-dependent macros and assignments require the desktop application, so the browser interface is not a complete replacement for every advanced function. Their software and lighting coverage is documented in the IO Center review section.
Because the board is wired, the USB connection also carries the full 1,000 Hz polling rate and NKRO capability. These specifications matter most for fast simultaneous inputs; they do not by themselves make a player more accurate or faster.
Quick Tap: what it does and what it does not do
Quick Tap is a simultaneous opposing cardinal direction (SOCD) behavior. When you press a paired opposite-direction combination, the most recently pressed direction takes priority. Be quiet! says the feature is disabled by default, and Hardware Busters reports that the software allows up to five pairs to be configured.
Quick Tap is not adjustable actuation and it is not Rapid Trigger. It changes how conflicting directional inputs are resolved; it does not continuously alter the switch’s release threshold. If you play competitively, check the rules for your specific game, league or event before enabling it, because SOCD behavior may be restricted even when the hardware permits it.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Typing and gaming feel
The orange Silent V2 switches are linear, so force increases smoothly through the press with no tactile event. That makes them predictable for repeated movement and rapid key holds, while users who prefer a pronounced bump may find them too soft or indistinct. Factory lubrication helps reduce scratchiness, but switch feel varies slightly from key to key, as it does on most mass-produced boards.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsHot-swap 5-pin MX-style sockets let you replace compatible switches without soldering. This is valuable if you eventually want a heavier linear, tactile or another silent model. A replacement switch changes both force and sound, so the review’s 42 dBA result applies only to its supplied switch and stock build. Be quiet! did not list standalone Silent V2 switch sets on its accessories page at the time of the review; plan on sourcing compatible third-party 5-pin MX-style switches if you need spares or a different feel.
The retained navigation cluster is a practical advantage over smaller layouts for games that use Insert, Home, End, Page Up or Page Down, as well as for office work. The missing number pad is the cost of the TKL footprint: data-entry users, spreadsheet-heavy workflows and games that rely on a dedicated numpad should choose a full-size board instead.
Installation and first setup
- Place the keyboard on a stable surface and attach the magnetic palm rest if you want the additional support.
- Connect the detachable USB-C end to the keyboard and the USB-A end to a computer. The board is powered and usable as a standard keyboard without wireless pairing.
- Install or open IO Center through be quiet!’s keyboard software route, then allow it to detect the connected board.
- Set your preferred per-key lighting, accent-bar effect, wheel behavior and macro/media-key assignments. Save a profile to onboard memory when you want those settings available without the application running.
- Leave Quick Tap disabled unless you understand the SOCD behavior and have confirmed that it is permitted for your game or competition.
- Test every macro and operating-system-specific assignment. If an assignment is unavailable in the web interface, use the desktop application as Hardware Busters recommends.
Desk fit, ergonomics and daily use
The 358 mm width leaves the mouse closer than it would be beside a full-size keyboard, while the 132 mm depth without the palm rest remains familiar for a TKL. Allow 213 mm of front-to-back space if you use the included rest. At 1.03 kg with the rest attached, it should stay planted during normal play; removing the rest reduces the listed weight to 0.77 kg and frees more desk area.
The magnetic connection makes the rest easy to remove for transport or for users who prefer a floating wrist position. Its cushioning is most useful when your hands remain on the home row for long sessions, but comfort is personal and desk height still matters. The board’s conventional navigation block also makes it practical as a work keyboard: you can move through documents and edit text without holding a function key for every navigation command.
Recommended Free Tools
Remember that the cable is detachable, not optional. You still need a USB-A port or an appropriate adapter, and the keyboard cannot be used wirelessly after disconnecting it. If your desk has a monitor hub or a laptop with only USB-C ports, check that your hub or adapter supports a reliable wired keyboard connection.
Acoustic tuning and maintenance
The stock configuration is the fairest way to interpret the published sound result. The desk mat, room noise, typing force and microphone position all influence perceived loudness. Removing the spacebar foam, as Hardware Busters preferred for feel, can alter the bar’s resonance even though the rest of the keyboard remains unchanged. A different keycap set or switch type will also move the sound away from the approximately 42 dBA stock result.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
That tunability is a benefit of the hot-swap design, but it also means later modifications can undermine the reason you bought this model. If low noise is the priority, choose compatible silent 5-pin MX-style switches rather than assuming every replacement will preserve the same character. Keep the original switches and keycaps so you can restore the tested configuration if you sell the board or need to compare changes.
Limitations to consider before buying
- Wired only: there is no Bluetooth or 2.4 GHz mode, so cable management and a free USB port are mandatory.
- No number pad: the TKL layout saves space but cannot replace a full-size keyboard for frequent numeric entry.
- Price positioning: the €139.90 figure is the manufacturer’s official recommended retail price, not a verified live offer in every country. Local taxes, discounts and stock can change the amount.
- Software dependency for some features: advanced OS-specific macros and assignments may require the desktop IO Center application.
- Switch availability: hot-swap sockets are useful, but the exact Silent V2 switches were not listed separately by the manufacturer when reviewed.
How it compares with other TKL choices
Hardware Busters cites the Corsair K70 CORE TKL Wireless and Razer BlackWidow V4 Tenkeyless HyperSpeed as alternatives. Their current prices, regional layouts and included accessories can change, so compare local listings rather than reusing prices from the September 2026 review context.
| Decision factor | Light Mount TKL | Corsair K70 CORE TKL Wireless | Razer BlackWidow V4 Tenkeyless HyperSpeed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Layout | 80% TKL; no number pad | TKL; verify regional layout | TKL; verify regional layout |
| Connection | Detachable USB-A-to-USB-C cable only | Wireless capability is the defining alternative; verify modes and battery details for the version sold locally | Wireless capability is the defining alternative; verify modes and battery details for the version sold locally |
| Switch character | Orange Silent V2 linear switches | Alternative switch feel; exact local switch option not stated here | Alternative switch feel; exact local switch option not stated here |
| Hot-swap | 5-pin MX-style sockets | Not stated in the cited review material | Not stated in the cited review material |
| Keycaps | Double-shot PBT | Verify material by regional listing | Verify material by regional listing |
| Media controls | Left-side programmable wheel and three macro/media keys | Verify the exact control layout | Verify the exact control layout |
| Palm rest | Magnetic cushioned rest included | Verify whether a rest is included | Verify whether a rest is included |
| Current local price | Not established; €139.90 is the official RRP | Not stated | Not stated |
Choose the Light Mount TKL when quiet operation, PBT caps, hot-swapping and an included palm rest matter more than wireless convenience. Choose one of the wireless alternatives when moving between devices or eliminating the cable is your first priority, then confirm switch feel, keycap material, wrist-rest contents and local pricing before ordering.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Buying checklist
- Measure your desk for the 358 × 132 mm board and, if desired, the 213 mm depth with palm rest.
- Confirm that your computer has a suitable USB connection and that wired operation fits your routine.
- Decide whether the missing numpad is acceptable for your work or games.
- Check the local listing for layout, warranty terms and the actual price; €139.90 is the official RRP, not a guaranteed checkout total.
- If sound is critical, plan to retain the stock Silent V2 switches and damping rather than budgeting for an immediate switch swap.
- Review your game or event’s policy on SOCD features before turning on Quick Tap.
Who should buy it?
Good fit
- Gamers and streamers sharing a room who want a restrained mechanical sound.
- Players who need dedicated navigation keys but do not need a number pad.
- Users who want a media wheel, onboard profiles and hot-swap flexibility in one board.
- Anyone comfortable with a permanent USB connection and desktop software for advanced assignments.
Look elsewhere if
- You need Bluetooth or 2.4 GHz wireless connectivity.
- You enter numbers constantly or require a dedicated numpad.
- You prefer tactile or clicky switches and do not plan to change the factory linears.
- Your budget is below the official €139.90 RRP and no local discount is available.
Final verdict
The Light Mount TKL succeeds because its features support one coherent goal: a compact, complete and acoustically controlled wired keyboard. Its measured noise performance, cushioned palm rest, PBT keycaps, wheel, lighting, onboard memory and hot-swap sockets make it more substantial than a basic TKL. The absence of any wireless mode is the decisive compromise. For a fixed gaming desk where quiet linear switches matter, it is a persuasive premium option; for a multi-device setup, the extra convenience of a wireless TKL may be worth prioritizing over its damping and included accessories.
Hardware Busters summarized that trade-off directly: “The wired-only connection remains the main limitation for our needs.” Read the full review context in the September 14, 2026 Hardware Busters review, and check the manufacturer’s specifications at be quiet! before purchase.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the be quiet! Light Mount TKL wireless?
No. It works over a detachable USB-A-to-USB-C cable and has neither Bluetooth nor 2.4 GHz wireless connectivity.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
How quiet is the Light Mount TKL?
Hardware Busters measured approximately 42 dBA during normal typing and 43.1 dBA at maximum, with 31.2 dBA background noise. The test used a desk mat, stock switches and spacebar foam, so results vary by room, desk, keycaps and typing force.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Does it have a number pad?
No. It is an 80% TKL layout with arrow keys and a dedicated navigation cluster, but no numeric keypad.
Can I change the switches without soldering?
Yes. The board uses hot-swap 5-pin MX-style sockets. Third-party switches can change both feel and sound, and the manufacturer’s Silent V2 switches were not listed separately at review time.
What does Quick Tap do?
Quick Tap is an SOCD feature that gives priority to the most recently pressed key in a paired opposing-direction input. It is off by default, can be configured for up to five pairs according to Hardware Busters, and is not Rapid Trigger or adjustable actuation.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Does it include a wrist rest?
Yes. A cushioned magnetic palm rest is included. Hardware Busters found it useful during longer sessions.
What software does it use?
Be quiet!’s IO Center desktop application and web interface control remapping, macros, lighting, profiles and wheel functions. Some operating-system-dependent assignments require the desktop application.
What is the Light Mount TKL’s price and warranty?
Be quiet! lists a €139.90 official recommended retail price and a two-year warranty. Actual local prices, taxes, stock and return terms vary by seller and country.
The Bottom Line
Bottom line: Buy the Light Mount TKL for a quiet, feature-rich wired TKL with PBT caps, hot-swap sockets, a useful palm rest and dedicated controls. Skip it if wireless connectivity or a number pad is essential, or if €139.90 is above your budget.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

