Start with Oathsworn: Into the Deepwood. It is the closest overall substitute for a group that wants a cooperative campaign, tactical encounters, character development and a pre-written adventure, while shifting the emphasis toward cinematic storytelling and boss battles. Choose Descent: Legends of the Dark if an app-assisted dungeon crawl suits your table, Sword & Sorcery if you need room for five players and classic heroic fantasy, or ISS Vanguard if your group values long-form cooperative exploration more than a fantasy setting.
What Frosthaven players are usually trying to replace
Frosthaven is not just a tactical combat game. A 2026 category roundup describes it as a cooperative dungeon crawler with more than 100 scenarios, 16 character classes and town-building mechanics. Those features establish a demanding baseline: players may be looking for a campaign that lasts, decisions that carry between sessions, distinct characters to develop and a written adventure that keeps the group moving from one objective to the next.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The alternatives below do not reproduce every part of that formula. The useful question is which part matters most to your group. A game can be an excellent follow-up while changing the setting, the balance between story and combat, the role of technology at the table or the number of people who can play.
- Tactical puzzle: You want cooperative decisions in encounters rather than a lightly interactive adventure.
- Campaign continuity: You want a sequence of linked chapters instead of isolated scenarios.
- Character development: You want players to feel that their heroes change over time.
- Pre-written narrative: You prefer an authored route through the adventure instead of creating the story yourself.
- Table fit: You need the game to support your actual group size and your tolerance for setup or an app.
- Genre: You may want to stay in fantasy, or you may be ready for science fiction.
Use those criteria rather than treating “like Frosthaven” as a promise of identical rules. The four recommendations occupy different positions on that spectrum.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Best games like Frosthaven at a glance
| Game | Best fit | Key difference from Frosthaven | Group size evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oathsworn: Into the Deepwood | Story-heavy boss battles and a substantial campaign | More boss-focused and cinematic; about 20 chapters and 40–60 hours in the cited 2026 roundup | 1–4 players |
| Descent: Legends of the Dark | App-assisted fantasy dungeon crawling | The app is part of the experience and handles portions of setup and scenario presentation | 1–4 players |
| Sword & Sorcery | Traditional heroic fantasy for a larger group | Classic fantasy framing with support for up to five players | 1–5 players |
| ISS Vanguard | Long-form cooperative exploration outside fantasy | Science-fiction, space-adventure framing rather than a fantasy dungeon | Player count is not stated in the cited product material |
The player counts and descriptions come from the cited publisher pages and the 2026 category roundup. Check the current edition before buying, because stock, contents and availability can change.
1. Oathsworn: Into the Deepwood — the strongest overall substitute
Why it fits a Frosthaven group
Oathsworn: Into the Deepwood keeps the elements most often meant by “what should we play after Frosthaven?”: cooperative campaign play, tactical encounters, character development and a pre-written adventure. A 2026 roundup describes it as a campaign-driven cooperative boss battler for one to four players, with about 20 chapters and roughly 40–60 hours of gameplay. A separate 2025 comparison identifies it as one of the closest choices for people seeking tactical encounters, developing characters and an RPG-like adventure after Gloomhaven or Frosthaven.
That makes it the safest first recommendation when your group wants another substantial fantasy campaign without simply replaying the same structure. The stated chapter count gives the campaign a clear shape, while the reported 40–60-hour range helps you estimate whether it fits your schedule. It is long enough to feel like a project, but the published figure is much more bounded than a campaign described only as “huge.”
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The important change in emphasis
The central difference is focus. The cited descriptions characterize Oathsworn as more boss-focused and cinematic. You should therefore expect its major dramatic beats to be concentrated around boss battles rather than assuming that every session will mirror the same kind of scenario mix you know from Frosthaven. The campaign still supplies tactical play and progression, but the tone is built around set-piece encounters and story presentation.
That shift is an advantage for groups that want memorable confrontations and a stronger cinematic arc. It is a potential mismatch for a table whose favorite part of Frosthaven is the broad variety implied by more than 100 scenarios, 16 classes and settlement development. The available descriptions do not establish an equivalent scenario count, class count or town-building system for Oathsworn, so do not buy it expecting those exact figures.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Who should choose it
- Groups of one to four that want a focused cooperative campaign.
- Players who value authored story and RPG-like character development as much as tactical decisions.
- Frosthaven veterans who want a substantial commitment with a reported 20-chapter, 40–60-hour scope.
- Tables that enjoy boss battles as the campaign’s main dramatic punctuation.
Who should look elsewhere
Choose another game if five players must join the same campaign, if your group dislikes a boss-centered structure, or if town-building is the feature you most want to preserve. The cited material supports Oathsworn as a close thematic and campaign alternative, not as a one-for-one replacement for every Frosthaven subsystem.
2. Descent: Legends of the Dark — best when an app belongs at the table
What the published description establishes
Fantasy Flight Games calls Descent: Legends of the Dark “the definitive cooperative dungeon-crawling board game for one to four players.” Asmodee uses the same one-to-four-player cooperative dungeon-crawling positioning. Those descriptions make it a direct fantasy alternative for a group that wants a shared dungeon adventure rather than a competitive campaign.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchThe defining difference is the app. It handles parts of setup and scenario presentation while the physical board remains central. In practical terms, the app is not an optional companion you can ignore without changing the experience; it is part of how the game delivers its scenarios. That can reduce some administrative work, but it also means your table needs a compatible device, a place to run it and a group that is comfortable with a digital layer.
Why the app can be a good fit
After a campaign as large as Frosthaven, some groups want the next game to take care of more of the procedural burden. App-assisted presentation can make the transition appealing when players would rather spend their attention on decisions and story than on managing every element manually. The physical board still provides the tactile dungeon-crawling experience; the app changes how information reaches the table and how some setup is organized.
The trade-off is experiential rather than merely technical. A group that enjoys a completely offline campaign may find the app intrusive. A group that already uses a tablet at the table may see it as a convenience. Decide before buying whether your ideal evening includes a device, because that choice affects the feel of every scenario.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Who should choose it
- One to four players seeking a publisher-defined cooperative dungeon crawl.
- Fantasy groups that want a physical board with digital scenario support.
- Tables willing to let an app handle portions of setup and presentation.
- Players who prefer a guided scenario flow over managing all information themselves.
Questions to settle first
Confirm which device and operating-system requirements apply to the edition you are considering, and decide where that device will sit so every player can see or reach it. The cited material confirms the app-assisted structure, but it does not establish current software support, update policy or contents for every edition. Verify those details at purchase time instead of assuming that an older listing describes the current product.
Recommended Free Tools
3. Sword & Sorcery — the best fit for five-player heroic fantasy
Why group size changes the recommendation
Ares Games describes Sword & Sorcery as “an epic-fantasy cooperative board game, where one to five players fight together against the forces of evil, controlled by the game system itself.” The five-player ceiling is the clearest reason to choose it over the two one-to-four-player recommendations. If your regular campaign has five people, this is the only option in the comparison with publisher-backed support for that table size.
The wording also confirms a fully cooperative structure: players fight together while the game system controls the opposing forces. That is the familiar role distribution many Frosthaven groups want, with no human game master required by the cited description.
How it differs from Frosthaven
The available evidence supports a classic heroic-fantasy frame and cooperative enemy control. It does not establish Frosthaven-style town building, a matching scenario count or an equivalent number of character classes. Treat Sword & Sorcery as a traditional fantasy alternative, not as a quantified replacement for every part of Frosthaven’s campaign architecture.
That distinction matters when your group is choosing between atmosphere and continuity. If the table wants recognizable heroic fantasy and room for a fifth player, the setting and player-count fit may outweigh mechanical differences. If everyone is specifically seeking a settlement layer or a campaign measured in more than 100 scenarios, the cited information is not enough to promise that experience.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsRank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Who should choose it
- Five-player groups that need a supported cooperative fantasy campaign.
- Players who prefer an epic, traditional heroic-fantasy presentation.
- Tables that want the game system, rather than a human opponent, to control the forces of evil.
- Frosthaven players who are open to a different campaign structure in exchange for group-size flexibility.
4. ISS Vanguard — choose it for cooperative exploration, not fantasy dungeon similarity
Why it belongs on this list
ISS Vanguard is an adjacent recommendation rather than a mechanical one-to-one replacement. Asmodee presents it as a space-adventure board game, and the category guidance positions it for groups that value long-form cooperative campaign exploration more than fantasy dungeon atmosphere. That makes it relevant to players who loved the sense of an extended shared expedition but are ready to leave medieval fantasy behind.
The setting change is fundamental. You are not choosing another version of a fantasy dungeon crawl; you are choosing science-fiction and space-adventure framing. That can refresh a group after a long fantasy campaign, especially when the appeal of Frosthaven was persistent exploration and shared discovery rather than a particular genre vocabulary.
Set expectations before you buy
The cited product material confirms the space-adventure identity, but it does not provide a player count for this comparison. It also does not establish a matching number of scenarios, classes or settlement mechanics. Those omissions are not reasons to reject the game; they are reasons to evaluate it on the experience it actually promises: cooperative campaign exploration in science fiction.
Who should choose it
- Groups that want a long-form cooperative campaign in a science-fiction setting.
- Players who value exploration and a continuing expedition more than fantasy combat aesthetics.
- Frosthaven veterans looking for a deliberate genre change rather than another dungeon.
Who should not choose it
Do not pick ISS Vanguard when the non-negotiable requirement is fantasy dungeon crawling. Its inclusion on a “games like Frosthaven” list is about campaign-minded cooperation, not a claim that its setting or moment-to-moment play is interchangeable with Frosthaven.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Choose by the feature your group refuses to lose
| If your priority is… | Start with… | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| The closest overall follow-up | Oathsworn: Into the Deepwood | It combines cooperative campaign play, tactical encounters, character development and a pre-written adventure, with a reported 20-chapter, 40–60-hour scope. |
| An app-assisted dungeon crawl | Descent: Legends of the Dark | The app participates in setup and scenario presentation while the physical board remains central. |
| A five-player fantasy campaign | Sword & Sorcery | The publisher states support for one to five players in a cooperative epic-fantasy game. |
| A science-fiction campaign | ISS Vanguard | It shifts the experience to cooperative space-adventure exploration. |
| Boss-focused drama | Oathsworn: Into the Deepwood | The cited comparison describes it as more boss-focused and cinematic than Frosthaven. |
| A completely fantasy-focused shortlist | Oathsworn, Descent or Sword & Sorcery | All three are presented as fantasy alternatives; ISS Vanguard is science fiction. |
Match the game to your player count
One player
The cited evidence explicitly places Oathsworn, Descent: Legends of the Dark and Sword & Sorcery in the one-player-to-their-listed-maximum range. That makes them the safest choices when a campaign may sometimes be played solo. The material used here does not state a player count for ISS Vanguard, so confirm the current product listing before treating it as a solo option.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Two to four players
This is the broadest overlap. Oathsworn and Descent both support one to four players in the cited descriptions, making them natural candidates for the same group size that commonly plays Frosthaven. Your deciding factor can therefore be structure: cinematic boss battles and a reported 20-chapter campaign for Oathsworn, or app-assisted presentation for Descent.
Five players
Sword & Sorcery is the only game in this comparison with publisher-stated support for one to five players. If the fifth seat is essential, start there rather than trying to stretch a one-to-four-player product beyond its stated range.
How to move a Frosthaven group into a new campaign
- Write down the non-negotiables. Decide whether your group must have fantasy, tactical encounters, a pre-written campaign, persistent character development, settlement-style progression, a specific player count or no app. Rank them; do not mark every feature as equally essential.
- Choose the campaign scale you can actually schedule. The cited estimate for Oathsworn is about 20 chapters and 40–60 hours. Use that as a planning reference, not a guarantee for every group. Ask how often your table meets and whether a bounded campaign is preferable to an open-ended commitment.
- Agree on technology before session one. If you select Descent, decide who supplies the device, where it will be placed and how the group will handle app access. The digital layer is part of the game’s presentation, so this is a group-consensus issue, not a minor setup detail.
- Confirm the seat count. Check the stated range against your regular attendance. One-to-four-player games are a poor fit for a permanent fifth player; Sword & Sorcery is the listed option that accommodates five.
- Set expectations about the genre. If the group wants another fantasy dungeon, keep ISS Vanguard off the shortlist. If everyone is ready for science fiction, its space-adventure framing may be exactly the reset you need.
- Separate verified facts from hopes. The published material used here does not establish that any alternative matches Frosthaven’s 100-plus scenarios, 16 classes or town-building mechanics. Treat those as Frosthaven-specific benchmarks unless the current edition’s documentation says otherwise.
- Plan a trial decision. Before committing to a full campaign, agree on what success means: a satisfying boss arc, an efficient app workflow, a five-player fantasy adventure or a new exploration setting. This gives the group a fair way to evaluate the different designs without demanding that one game imitate another.
Buying checks that prevent the wrong campaign
- Edition and contents: Verify the exact edition, included components and language before ordering. The cited material does not establish that every listing contains the same contents.
- Availability: Stock and regional availability change. Check the retailer and publisher listing at the time of purchase rather than relying on an old price or listing.
- App dependence: For Descent: Legends of the Dark, confirm current device and software compatibility. The app is part of setup and scenario presentation.
- Player count: Use the publisher-stated ranges: one to four for Oathsworn and Descent, and one to five for Sword & Sorcery. The cited material does not state a player count for ISS Vanguard.
- Time commitment: The 40–60-hour figure for Oathsworn is an estimate from a 2026 category roundup, not a guaranteed play time. Session length, teaching time and group experience will affect your total.
- Setting: Confirm whether your table wants fantasy or science fiction. ISS Vanguard is explicitly a space adventure, while the other three recommendations are framed as fantasy options.
Final recommendation
For most Frosthaven groups, buy Oathsworn: Into the Deepwood first. It preserves cooperative campaign play, tactical encounters, character development and an authored adventure while delivering a different, more cinematic and boss-focused identity. Its cited one-to-four-player range and approximately 20-chapter, 40–60-hour scope make the commitment easy to understand.
Choose Descent: Legends of the Dark when app-assisted presentation is a positive rather than a compromise. Choose Sword & Sorcery when five players and traditional heroic fantasy decide the purchase. Choose ISS Vanguard only when the group is intentionally trading fantasy dungeon atmosphere for science-fiction exploration. None is established as a statistical or mechanical duplicate of Frosthaven’s 100-plus scenarios, 16 classes and town-building system; each is a better answer to a different reason people enjoy that campaign.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

