Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
VGSOURCES
Get listed

cloud gamesPATCH 2026.10.19

Can You Play Paper Perjury and Shadow of Justice Offline on Nintendo Switch? (2026 status)

By VGSources Team 7 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

No—not today. As of 18 October 2026, neither Paper Perjury nor Paper Perjury 2: Shadow of Justice has a released Nintendo Switch version that you can install and play offline. Paper Perjury is announced for Switch and Switch 2 in 2027. Shadow of Justice is announced for 2028, with current coverage describing it as a Switch 2 title. The developers have not published a game-specific offline policy, first-launch requirement, or recurring authentication rule, so no offline guarantee can be made for either future port yet.

Current Switch availability

The practical answer depends first on whether a Switch edition exists. It does not yet. A current price listing offers Paper Perjury for Steam and does not list a Nintendo Switch edition for sale. There is likewise no released Switch purchase for Paper Perjury 2: Shadow of Justice.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Game Status on 18 October 2026 Announced Nintendo platform Offline policy
Paper Perjury No Switch version available to buy or install Switch and Switch 2, planned for 2027 Not published
Paper Perjury 2: Shadow of Justice Unreleased 2028 announcement coverage describes it as Switch 2-only; the final platform list may change Not published

Those years are announced release windows, not guaranteed launch dates. Until a Nintendo product page appears, there is no download, cartridge, or cloud version that can be tested for airplane or other offline use.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What has actually been announced

Paper Perjury: a 2027 Switch and Switch 2 port

October 2026 announcement coverage says the first game is coming to both Nintendo Switch generations in 2027. That announcement establishes a target platform and year, not the distribution method. It does not say whether the port will be a native eShop download, a cartridge release, a cloud-streamed edition, or a combination of those options.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

The announcement also does not state whether the game will require an internet connection on first launch, perform periodic license checks, or continue indefinitely after installation with the console disconnected. Those details normally appear in the final Nintendo listing, the publisher’s support documentation, or both.

Shadow of Justice: a 2028 sequel with unresolved platform details

Coverage places Paper Perjury 2: Shadow of Justice in 2028 and describes the planned console release as Switch 2-only. A separate interview says console plans follow the Steam release, so the eventual platform list should be checked again when the game approaches launch. “Switch 2-only” should therefore be treated as the current report, not an irrevocable specification.

No physical edition, digital size, eShop listing, or offline requirement has been published for the sequel. You should not assume that owning the first game’s Switch version, if and when it launches, will grant access to the sequel or determine how the sequel handles connectivity.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Offline play has three different meanings

“Offline” can describe several technically different products. Identifying which one Nintendo and the developer release is more useful than relying on a marketing label.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Native download or cartridge

A native version runs game code on the console. After downloading the required data or inserting the cartridge, a purely single-player game may work without Wi-Fi. That is not automatic: a title can still require an internet connection for an initial license check, account verification, a mandatory update, or a separate online feature. Nintendo’s final listing and the game’s launch instructions must establish whether any such check exists.

Cloud version

A cloud edition does not run the complete game locally. The Switch receives a video stream while input is sent to a remote server. Losing connectivity interrupts play, even if the game was previously “downloaded” as a small launcher. Nintendo’s general guidance is explicit: “The cloud version requires a stable connection to high-speed internet to play.” That rule applies to cloud versions generally; it does not show that either Paper Perjury title will use cloud streaming.

Native game with online services

A downloaded or cartridge game can be playable offline while offering optional network functions such as leaderboards, cloud saves, patches, or multiplayer. In that case, the single-player campaign may work in airplane mode but those connected features will not. The listing should distinguish required connectivity from optional services instead of simply displaying an online icon.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why the cloud question matters for a flight

If Nintendo labels either title “Cloud Version,” assume it is unsuitable for a flight or any place where the console cannot maintain a fast, consistent connection. A downloaded launcher does not turn a streamed game into an offline game. You would need to confirm that the product is a native download or cartridge and then check for any first-launch authentication.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

If the listing is native and the game is primarily single-player, prepare the console before travelling: finish the download, install the latest required update while connected, launch the game once with your Nintendo Account signed in, and test it with wireless communications disabled. This is a practical verification step, not evidence that the developer has promised offline support. A later update could change requirements, so check release notes before a long trip.

How to verify the final Nintendo listing

When either game receives a product page, use the page itself rather than retailer summaries. Nintendo listings expose supported systems, play modes, player count, release date, and online-feature fields that answer most buying questions.

  1. Confirm the console generation. Check whether the page says Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch 2, or both. A Switch 2 listing should not be presumed compatible with the original Switch.
  2. Identify the delivery type. Look for a standard digital download, a cartridge, or explicit “Cloud Version” wording. If a physical product is announced, verify whether the cartridge contains the game or only a download code.
  3. Read the internet requirement. Search the listing and support text for “internet required,” “online connection required,” “first launch,” “license check,” or similar language. Record whether the requirement is one-time or recurring.
  4. Separate required and optional features. Check whether online play, cloud saves, leaderboards, or other services are optional. A Nintendo Switch Online badge can refer to one feature rather than the entire game.
  5. Check the release date and region. The 2027 and 2028 windows are not exact dates. Confirm the date shown for your eShop region and whether a preorder unlocks a preload or only reserves a purchase.
  6. Look for developer support notes. Paper Cat Games’ launch documentation may explain authentication, patches, save behavior, and what remains available without a connection. Use the latest version of those notes because requirements can change at launch.

Do you need Nintendo Switch Online?

Nothing currently published says that either game requires a Nintendo Switch Online membership. That does not prove the finished ports will have no subscription-dependent feature; the service could be listed for optional online play or another connected function. Nintendo Switch Online is separate from ordinary internet access: a title can require an internet connection for a cloud version without requiring the subscription, while an online multiplayer mode may require both an internet connection and the appropriate membership.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For an offline single-player session, the decisive questions are whether the game runs locally and whether the developer imposes an authentication check. The subscription field on the final eShop page will clarify any optional or required online mode.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Physical editions and ownership expectations

Announcement coverage had not confirmed a United States physical copy for Paper Perjury at the time of reporting. No physical edition is confirmed for Shadow of Justice either. Do not treat an imported listing, placeholder retailer page, or accessory bundle as proof that a cartridge exists.

A cartridge would still not automatically guarantee offline operation. Some cartridges require a download, an update, or a first connection, and a cloud-labelled product can be sold in a physical package containing only an access code. Read the package description and Nintendo’s digital product information before purchase.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Use this comparison when both games launch

The following five checks give you a consistent way to compare the two ports once their listings are live:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Comparison point What to record Why it affects offline play
Supported generation Original Switch, Switch 2, or both Determines which console can run the software
Local or streamed execution Native download/cartridge versus Cloud Version Cloud streaming requires a continuing high-speed connection
Authentication First-launch check, recurring check, or none stated A local game may still be blocked until verification succeeds
Online features Required or optional Nintendo Switch Online and internet features Shows which functions disappear in airplane mode
Physical availability Confirmed cartridge, download code, or digital-only release Clarifies what must be downloaded and what remains playable without the eShop

If a listing leaves one of these cells unclear, treat the point as unknown rather than assuming the most convenient outcome. “Not stated” is materially different from “offline supported.”

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Timeline and confidence in the dates

  • 18 October 2026: neither game has a released Switch edition that can be purchased and tested offline.
  • 2027: announcement coverage places the first game’s Switch and Switch 2 release in this year.
  • 2028: announcement coverage places Shadow of Justice in this year and describes it as planned for Switch 2.

These are public target windows, not fixed launch commitments. Delays, a changed platform mix, or a different distribution model could alter the answer. Recheck the official Nintendo listing and Paper Cat Games’ release documentation near each launch.

What to do if you want to buy now

Do not buy a listing on the assumption that either title is already a Switch game. The currently documented purchase for Paper Perjury is on Steam, while the sequel remains a future release. Wait for a genuine Nintendo eShop or confirmed physical listing, then apply the six-point checklist above. Only after the page identifies a native version and explains any first-launch requirement can you make a reliable offline plan.

For a trip that depends on these games, choose another title that already has a documented native Switch release and tested offline behavior. At present, neither Paper Perjury nor Shadow of Justice can provide that certainty.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

cloud gamesNintendo SwitchNintendo Switch 2offline gamingPaper PerjuryShadow of Justice

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.