Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
VGSOURCES
Get listed

Directive 8020PATCH 2026.10.18

Directive 8020 preload date and storage requirements: what PC and console players need to know

By VGSources Team 12 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Directive 8020’s preload window was announced on May 10, 2026, two days before its May 12 launch. Supermassive Games said preloading was available on Steam and PlayStation 5 for customers who had preordered. The same notice warned that a further data update might be required after launch, but it did not state that update’s size.

For PC, Steam lists 40 GB of available storage for both minimum and recommended requirements and recommends an SSD. That is a free-space requirement for the Windows installation, not a measured download size and not a PS5 or Xbox figure. The launch announcement is now historical, so it should not be read as proof that a preload is still open.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Directive 8020 preload date: the confirmed timeline

The official preload announcement was published by Supermassive Games on May 10, 2026. It said that people who had preordered could begin downloading on Steam and PlayStation 5 so the game would be ready for launch in two days.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Steam lists May 12, 2026 as the release date. Because that date has passed, the May 10 notice describes the original launch-window preload rather than a current download period. A later purchase or reinstall should be checked directly in the relevant storefront for whatever delivery state is shown now.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Directive 8020 Deluxe Edition - PlayStation 5
  • TRUST NO-ONE - Encounter an alien lifeform that perfectly imitates its prey. Years of training and trust are lost among the crew when their enemy hides in plain sight. Who is human and who is not? Your choices are now more important than ever!
  • REWIND DECISION - Rewrite your destiny and change the course of your story with our new Turning Points story tree. Uncover multiple endings, unlock hidden paths, and save your crew from their fateful deaths.
  • REAL-TIME ALIEN THREATS - Evade a deadly alien threat that roams the dark corridors of the ship, intent on eradicating human life. Overcome your enemies using improvised weapons, lightning reflexes, and stealth.
  • DON’T PLAY ALONE - Recruit up to five players to join you on your mission in couch-co-op movie night mode. Choose which crew members to control and work together with your friends to survive alien infiltrators, deadly dilemmas, and catastrophic system failures.
  • DELUXE UPGRADE INCLUDED – For a limited time only, receive with every purchase: The Dark Pictures Outfit Pack, Additional Dark Pictures Collectibles, Cinematic Filter Packs, Digital Artbook and exclusive soundtrack

What the announcement actually promised

  • Preload was available to customers who had preordered.
  • The named platforms were Steam and PlayStation 5.
  • The timing was tied to the May 12 launch.
  • An additional data update might be required after launch.

The announcement did not publish a countdown time, a universal unlock hour, or a size for the post-launch update. It also did not say that every platform would receive preload at the same time.

Which platforms had preload?

Platform or item What the official information establishes What it does not establish
Steam PC Preload was announced on May 10, 2026 for people who had preordered. It does not provide a measured download size.
PlayStation 5 Preload was announced on May 10, 2026 for people who had preordered. No PS5 download or installed size was stated, and the old notice does not prove preload remains open.
Xbox Series X|S The developer’s announcement identifies the game as released on Xbox Series X|S. The cited preload notice does not list Xbox preload availability or an Xbox file size.
Launch-day data The developer warned that an additional data update might be needed after launch. No update size was published in that notice.

This distinction matters if you are comparing reports from different platforms. A number copied from a PC store page cannot safely be applied to PS5 or Xbox, and a console figure from an unverified post should not be treated as official.

Directive 8020 file size: what “40 GB” means

Steam’s PC requirements list 40 GB of available storage for both the minimum and recommended configurations. The same listing recommends using an SSD. “Available storage” means free capacity that the computer should have available for the game’s installation process. It is not a statement that the download is exactly 40 GB.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Download size, installed size and required free space are different

  • Download size: the data transferred from the storefront. Compression, packaging and later patches can make this different from the final installation footprint.
  • Installed size: the space occupied after the files have been unpacked and installed.
  • Required free space: the capacity the platform or installer asks you to have available. This can include temporary working space and room for file replacement.

The official PC listing supplies only the third figure: 40 GB available storage. It does not label 40 GB as the compressed download size, and it does not establish a console installation size. Keep those terms separate when planning a download or judging a third-party claim.

Why the SSD recommendation matters

An SSD is the recommended storage type on the Steam listing. The recommendation tells you which kind of drive the developer expects for the preferred PC setup; it does not add another numerical space requirement. If your system uses a hard disk, the game may still meet the listed capacity requirement, but the published recommendation is an SSD rather than a hard drive.

Does 40 GB include future patches?

There is no published statement that the 40 GB line includes every future update. It is the storage figure shown in the PC requirements, while the developer separately warned that an additional data update might be needed after launch. Treat the listed capacity as the baseline for the installation and retain some practical headroom if your drive is nearly full. No official buffer amount was given, so avoid presenting a specific extra number as a requirement.

How to check the PC requirement and prepare Steam

The following process is useful for a current installation even though the original preload date has passed. Storefront wording can change after release, so use the requirement shown on the live game page as the final check.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Directive 8020 Deluxe Edition - Xbox Series X
  • TRUST NO-ONE - Encounter an alien lifeform that perfectly imitates its prey. Years of training and trust are lost among the crew when their enemy hides in plain sight. Who is human and who is not? Your choices are now more important than ever!
  • REWIND DECISION - Rewrite your destiny and change the course of your story with our new Turning Points story tree. Uncover multiple endings, unlock hidden paths, and save your crew from their fateful deaths.
  • REAL-TIME ALIEN THREATS - Evade a deadly alien threat that roams the dark corridors of the ship, intent on eradicating human life. Overcome your enemies using improvised weapons, lightning reflexes, and stealth.
  • DON’T PLAY ALONE - Recruit up to five players to join you on your mission in couch-co-op movie night mode. Choose which crew members to control and work together with your friends to survive alien infiltrators, deadly dilemmas, and catastrophic system failures.
  • DELUXE UPGRADE INCLUDED – For a limited time only, receive with every purchase: The Dark Pictures Outfit Pack, Additional Dark Pictures Collectibles, Cinematic Filter Packs, Digital Artbook and exclusive soundtrack
  1. Open the game’s Steam store page. In the system-requirements section, look for the storage line. The published figure for Directive 8020 is 40 GB available storage for both minimum and recommended requirements.
  2. Check the target drive. In Steam, open Steam > Settings > Storage and select the library drive where you intend to install the game. Confirm that at least the listed free capacity is available.
  3. Prefer an SSD if possible. The official requirements recommend an SSD. If more than one library is available, select the SSD-based library before starting the installation.
  4. Start or resume the installation. Open Library, select Directive 8020, choose Install, and confirm the destination. Steam will show the transfer in the Downloads view.
  5. Allow for post-launch data. The developer warned that an additional update might be required after launch. Leave more free space than the bare 40 GB requirement if your drive is nearly full, but do not treat any particular buffer as an officially published number.
  6. Wait for verification to finish. Do not launch while Steam is still applying an update or validating files. The game’s status should indicate that the installation and queued updates are complete.

The 40 GB figure is a planning baseline, not a promise that the transfer meter will stop at exactly 40 GB. The amount shown in Steam can differ because it reflects the files and packages being delivered at that moment.

What if Steam shows a larger amount?

A transfer total above or below 40 GB does not automatically contradict the store page. The requirement is expressed as available capacity, while Steam’s download view reports the package being transferred and may account for updates, unpacking or validation. Compare the live requirement with the free space on the selected library rather than treating the progress meter as a permanent installed-size specification.

How to interpret the historical PS5 preload

For PS5 customers who had preordered, Supermassive Games’ May 10 announcement said preload was available. During the original launch window, a preorder could therefore begin downloading before May 12. The announcement did not publish the PS5 data size, the free-space requirement, or the time at which the download would unlock.

Digital and physical PS5 preorders

The developer’s announcement referred to digital and physical preorders. That makes a physical PS5 product relevant to the launch context, but it does not provide a current retailer price, stock status or a verified listing. A disc purchase should not be used as evidence of a particular download size: a physical release can still require an installation and a launch update.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What to check on a PS5 now

  • Open the game in your Game Library and inspect the download or installation status shown by the console.
  • Check Settings > Storage before starting a reinstall or moving the game to another drive.
  • Look for a pending update after the base installation completes.
  • Use the size displayed by the console as the current platform-specific figure; do not substitute Steam’s 40 GB requirement.

Those steps describe how to inspect a present installation. They do not change the historical fact that the published preload notice named May 10, 2026 and required a preorder.

What Xbox players can and cannot conclude

The developer’s announcement identifies Xbox Series X|S as a release platform, but the cited preload statement names only Steam and PlayStation 5. That means the announcement cannot be used to claim that Xbox had preload on May 10, nor can it supply an Xbox download size.

For an Xbox installation, rely on the size and availability displayed in the Xbox store or in My games & apps on the console. A PC requirement, a PS5 report, or an unsourced social-media screenshot is not a substitute for an Xbox-specific listing.

Rank #3
Directive 8020 (PlayStation 5)
  • TRUST NO-ONE - Encounter an alien lifeform that perfectly imitates its prey. Years of training and trust are lost among the crew when their enemy hides in plain sight. Who is human and who is not? Your choices are now more important than ever!
  • REWIND DECISION - Rewrite your destiny and change the course of your story with our new Turning Points story tree. Uncover multiple endings, unlock hidden paths, and save your crew from their fateful deaths.
  • REAL-TIME ALIEN THREATS - Evade a deadly alien threat that roams the dark corridors of the ship, intent on eradicating human life. Overcome your enemies using improvised weapons, lightning reflexes, and stealth.
  • DON’T PLAY ALONE - Recruit up to five players to join you on your mission in couch-co-op movie night mode. Choose which crew members to control and work together with your friends to survive alien infiltrators, deadly dilemmas, and catastrophic system failures.

Why platform reports can differ

Different platforms can package the same game differently. Build data, language files, compression, patches and installation methods may vary between Steam, PS5 and Xbox. That is why a screenshot showing a number on one platform cannot establish the number on another. Only a current platform-specific store or console display can answer the practical question of how much space your device needs today.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why an extra update may appear after preload

Preloading puts launch data on the device before release, but a developer can still publish a separate patch or data package after the game goes live. Supermassive Games explicitly warned that an additional data update might be needed after launch. The notice did not say whether that update would be small or large, and it gave no universal size.

Practical consequences

  • A completed preload does not guarantee that the game is immediately playable without an internet connection.
  • Disk space can fall below the required level while an update is being downloaded or applied.
  • A player with a slow connection should plan for a second transfer after the base preload.
  • The update’s eventual size may differ by platform, edition or version.
  • On a nearly full drive, an update can fail even when the original installation fit, because the platform may need temporary room to unpack or replace files.

Because no official figure was provided, any exact post-launch update size should be treated as unconfirmed unless it comes from a platform-specific listing or a later developer notice.

Preload, release and reinstall: which situation applies?

Preload is a launch-period convenience for an eligible preorder. It is not the same as a permanent download entitlement or a guarantee that the game remains cached on a device. After the May 12 release, a player who buys the game, deletes it or changes storage should follow the normal install flow shown by Steam, PlayStation or Xbox.

If you already downloaded the game before launch, check for an update rather than assuming the preload files are the final build. If you are installing for the first time now, the storefront may deliver the base game and current patches as one queue or as separate steps. Either way, the live platform status is more useful than the old launch announcement for deciding what to click.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Troubleshooting preload and installation problems

The preload option is missing

The original announcement required a preorder and applied to a specific launch window. If you are checking after May 12, 2026, the preload state may no longer exist; the storefront may instead offer the normal purchase-and-download flow. Confirm that you are signed into the account that owns the game and check the game’s current store status.

Steam says there is not enough space

Compare the free capacity of the selected Steam library with the 40 GB available-storage requirement. If the drive is close to full, remove or move other files, select a larger library, and retry. Remember that an update may need additional working room even though its size was not published.

The download finishes but the game still updates

This matches the developer’s warning that a further data update might be required after launch. Let Steam or the console finish downloading and applying the queued package, then restart the game if the platform requests it.

A reported console size conflicts with the store

Give priority to the live platform-specific store or the size shown on the console. The official information reviewed here does not establish an exact PS5 or Xbox figure, so a conflicting third-party number cannot be resolved from the May 10 preload notice alone.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The game installs slowly on a hard drive

Steam recommends an SSD for the PC version. Check that the installation target is the intended drive and that the drive is healthy and not being heavily used by another transfer. Moving the installation to an SSD follows the published recommendation, but it does not alter the 40 GB capacity requirement.

The console reports an update but gives no clear total

Let the platform complete its own download and installation sequence, then recheck storage after the update. The developer did not publish a universal update size, so the console’s current progress and free-space readings are the authoritative practical indicators for that device.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the game is, in brief

Directive 8020 is a science-fiction horror adventure in The Dark Pictures franchise. Steam describes the Cassiopeia colony ship crash-landing at Tau Ceti f, where the crew encounters an alien organism able to mimic its prey. The listing emphasizes consequential choices, branching storylines and a Turning Points story tree.

The store page lists single-player play and shared or split-screen cooperative features, including couch co-op for up to five players. Supermassive Games is identified as both developer and publisher, and Lashana Lynch is featured as astronaut Young. These details explain why players may want the installation ready for launch, but they do not change the storage figures.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Quick planning checklist

  • Use May 10, 2026 as the historical preload-announcement date and May 12, 2026 as the listed release date.
  • For Steam, plan around 40 GB of available storage and an SSD, as stated in the PC requirements.
  • Do not describe 40 GB as the exact compressed download size.
  • Do not apply the Steam number to PS5 or Xbox.
  • Expect that an additional launch update might be required, without assuming a particular size.
  • For consoles, trust the current platform store or the space reported by the console itself.
  • If buying physically on PS5, check the disc product and the console’s update prompt separately; the announcement does not establish a disc-install size.
  • After installation, wait for downloading, unpacking and verification to finish before launching.

Frequently Asked Questions

When was Directive 8020 preload available?

Supermassive Games announced on May 10, 2026 that preloading was available on Steam and PlayStation 5 for customers who had preordered. Steam lists May 12, 2026 as the release date, so that notice describes the original launch window rather than a current preload period.

How much space does Directive 8020 need on PC?

Steam lists 40 GB of available storage for both minimum and recommended PC requirements and recommends an SSD. The 40 GB figure is a free-space requirement, not a guaranteed compressed download total.

Is 40 GB the PS5 or Xbox file size?

No. It is the Steam PC storage requirement. The official information cited here does not establish an exact PS5 or Xbox download or installed size.

Did Xbox have preload?

The developer’s cited preload notice names Steam and PlayStation 5. It identifies Xbox Series X|S as a release platform but does not establish Xbox preload availability or an Xbox file size.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Will there be a launch-day update?

The developer warned that an additional data update might be required after launch. The notice did not state whether it would be required for every player or how large it would be.

Can I preload without preordering?

The May 10 announcement specifically described preload for people who had preordered. After release, use the normal purchase-and-download process shown by your storefront.

Does a physical PS5 copy avoid downloading?

Not necessarily. The announcement referenced physical and digital preorders, but it did not publish installation details. A disc copy can still require installation and a post-launch update; check the console for the current requirement.

Where should I verify a console size?

Use the current PlayStation or Xbox store listing and the storage information displayed on your own console. Do not substitute Steam’s 40 GB PC requirement or an unsourced screenshot from another platform.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Bottom Line

Bottom line: Directive 8020’s confirmed preload date was May 10, 2026 for Steam and PS5 preorders, ahead of the May 12 launch. Steam lists 40 GB of available PC storage and recommends an SSD. That number is not a measured download size and does not apply to PS5 or Xbox. The developer also warned that an additional launch update might be needed, without publishing its size, so rely on the live platform display for current installation space.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Directive 8020file sizepreloadPS5SteamThe Dark PicturesXbox Series X|S

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.