DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
VGSources
Blog

Forza Horizon 5 on PS5 Pro: What Features Does Xbox Not Have?

PS5 Pro adds two described visual features to Forza Horizon 5, but the game’s content is shared with Xbox and official listings do not settle which version looks best.
Length3 min Posted Quest giverVGSources Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Forza Horizon 5 is the same game on PS5 Pro and Xbox in terms of content, but its PS5 Pro version has two developer-identified visual differences: Performance mode gets increased visual fidelity, and Quality mode adds ray-traced car reflections in Races and Free Roam. Playground Games does not specify the Pro mode’s resolution or quantify the visual upgrade, so these features do not establish that PS5 Pro looks better overall than Xbox.

What PS5 Pro adds over the Xbox version

Playground Games describes two PS5 Pro-specific rendering features. In its February 27, 2025 announcement, the developer said: “On PS5 Pro, the Performance mode receives increased visual fidelity, while Quality mode adds ray traced car reflections to Races and Free Roam.” Playground Games’ Horizon Realms announcement does not give a resolution target or name an upscaling technique for the increased fidelity.

  • Performance mode: increased visual fidelity on PS5 Pro.
  • Quality mode: ray-traced car reflections during Races and Free Roam on PS5 Pro.

These are platform-specific rendering features, not exclusive cars, events, or missions. The developer says the PS5 release has the same content as the Xbox and PC versions.

PS5 Pro and Xbox graphics modes compared

Platform or mode Frame-rate information Developer/platform-described visuals
PS5 Performance 60 fps target, according to Playground Games’ 2025 announcement. On PS5 Pro, increased visual fidelity; the developer does not quantify the upgrade.
PS5 Quality 30 fps target, according to Playground Games’ 2025 announcement. On PS5 Pro, ray-traced car reflections in Races and Free Roam.
Xbox Series X|S Xbox advertises 60 FPS; it does not specify a mode-by-mode comparison in the cited listing. Xbox advertises 4K Ultra HD and ray tracing; the listing does not establish a like-for-like comparison with PS5 Pro’s modes.

Playground Games’ PS5 announcement identifies Performance at 60 fps and Quality at 30 fps. Those are stated mode targets, not independent measurements of frame-rate stability. Likewise, Xbox’s Forza Horizon 5 listing advertises 4K Ultra HD, 60 FPS, and ray tracing, but those labels do not show how the platforms compare under the same conditions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
PlayStation 5 Pro with 2TB SSD Storage, Console Only - PS5 Pro Gaming System, White (Renewed)
  • Ray Tracing - Immerse yourself in worlds with a new level of realism as rays of light are individually simulated, creating true-to-life shadows and reflections in supported PS5 games.
  • Faster Loading - Fast-travel across the map and get back into the game almost instantly with the PlayStation 5 console’s ultra-high-speed SSD and fast load times.
  • Stunning Visuals - Experience the vast world in stunning 4K and HDR at 120 FPS (with a 4K and HDR compatible TV or display)
  • Breathtaking Immersion - Discover a deeper gaming experience with support for haptic feedback, adaptive triggers, and 3D Audio technology.
  • Backwards Compatibility - Play over 4,000 PS4 games on PS5. Enjoy faster and smoother frame rates in some of the PS4 console's greatest games.

Is the PS5 Pro version a different game?

No. Playground Games said the PS5 version would have “the same content as the Xbox and PC releases of the game.” The PS5 release, developed by Panic Button in partnership with Turn 10 Studios and Playground Games, includes the same core game content; the stated Pro distinction is how some visuals are rendered.

The developer also said previously released Car Packs and the Hot Wheels and Rally Adventure expansions would be available on PlayStation. The PS5 version launched April 29, 2025, with Premium Edition early access beginning April 25. Playground Games’ PS5 launch announcement also announced cross-play among Xbox consoles, PC, and PS5.

Do the shared Horizon Realms update and cross-play change the comparison?

Horizon Realms is shared content, not a PS5 Pro exclusive. Playground Games announced the feature as available across platforms: it brings back 11 Evolving World locations and adds a Stadium Track. The developer’s February announcement and April 24 rollout update describe the feature and players joining across platforms.

Rank #2
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim)
  • Model Number CFI-2000
  • Includes DualSense Wireless Controller, 1TB SSD, 2 Horizontal Stand Feet, HDMI Cable, AC power cord, USB cable, printed materials, ASTRO’s PLAYROOM (Pre-installed game)
  • Vertical Stand sold seperately
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Can you say PS5 Pro looks better than Xbox?

Not from the official feature descriptions alone. The sources establish the PS5 and PS5 Pro mode features and Xbox’s advertised capabilities, but they do not provide a controlled comparison of resolution, image quality, or frame pacing. “Increased visual fidelity” is not quantified, and Playground Games does not identify a resolution target or a named reconstruction method. An overall winner would require separate comparative testing.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The official PlayStation Store Standard Edition page labels the game “PS5 Pro Enhanced.” That confirms the platform designation, not a measured comparison with Xbox. The Xbox listing provides Xbox’s advertised feature labels, not a head-to-head test.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 2
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim)
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim)
Model Number CFI-2000; Vertical Stand sold seperately
$598.98

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More quests from Patch Notes

  1. How to Host a Mindustry Server in 2026: server-release.jar, Port 6567 and the Commands That MatterBlog7min
  2. Left 4 Dead 2 Server Hosting (2026): 5 Best Hosts for Co-op and VersusBlog8min
  3. How to Set Up a Subnautica Nitrox Server (2026): Launcher, Port 11000 and server.cfgBlog8min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.