Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →If you are searching for a video game called Harry Potter: Defenders of Hogwarts, start with an important distinction: Defenders of Hogwarts is a physical MinaLima tabletop game, not an officially identified video game. It is designed for 2–5 players, takes about 90 minutes, and is recommended for ages 13 and up. Published comparisons describe it as a deck-builder played on a map with a one-versus-many structure, so it is not a fully cooperative game in which every player always shares the same side.
The closest match for a group that wants everyone fighting the game together is Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle. For another Wizarding World tabletop experience, consider Harry Potter: Death Eaters Rising. If you mainly want wizard-school deck-building without the Harry Potter license, The Big Book of Madness is the strongest alternative identified here. Players who specifically want a digital game should look at Harry Potter: Magic Awakened, while remembering that its free-to-play collectible-card role-playing format is very different from a board game around a table.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What Harry Potter: Defenders of Hogwarts actually is
Harry Potter: Defenders of Hogwarts is a physical board game associated with MinaLima. Its published profile lists 2–5 players, an approximate 90-minute playing time, and a 13+ recommendation. The core comparison identifies deck-building and a map as central features. That combination points to a game in which players improve card-driven abilities while moving through a shared physical play space.
The cooperation label matters more than the Harry Potter theme when choosing a substitute. Defenders of Hogwarts is characterized as one-versus-many rather than fully cooperative. In a fully cooperative game, all participants are on one team against the system. In a one-versus-many design, the table includes an opposing side or role, so the social experience includes direct opposition as well as teamwork. A group expecting a pure “everyone versus the board” session should therefore not treat every Harry Potter tabletop game as interchangeable.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
It is also useful to separate three searches that are often blended together:
- Licensed tabletop alternatives: physical Wizarding World games with cards, dice, boards, or campaign elements.
- Wizard-school substitutes: cooperative magical games that use an original setting rather than Harry Potter characters.
- Digital magical adventures: games played on a phone or computer, which change the pace, controls, progression, and monetization model.
The recommendations below are organized around those differences instead of treating theme alone as proof that two games play alike.
At-a-glance comparison
| Game | Format | Players and time | Cooperation structure | Deck-building or card focus | Setting | Opposing role |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harry Potter: Defenders of Hogwarts | Physical tabletop game with a map | 2–5 players; about 90 minutes | One-versus-many | Deck-builder | Harry Potter | Published comparison indicates an opposing side |
| Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle | Physical cooperative tabletop game | 2–4 players; 30–60 minutes in the published comparison | Fully cooperative | Cooperative deck-building campaign across seven years | Harry Potter | No opposing player role in the cooperative premise |
| Harry Potter: Death Eaters Rising | Physical Wizarding World tabletop game using cards and dice | Not stated in the available product sheet | Identified as cooperative | Card-and-dice play; deck-building depth not stated | Harry Potter, focused on a different story period | Not stated |
| The Big Book of Madness | Physical tabletop game | Not stated in the available recommendation | Cooperative | Cooperative deck-building | Original wizard-school setting | No opposing player role in the cooperative description |
| Harry Potter: Magic Awakened | Digital free-to-play collectible-card role-playing game | Not stated | Digital role-playing format, not a tabletop cooperation substitute | Collectible-card progression | Wizarding World | Not applicable to the tabletop comparison |
“Not stated” means the available published description does not establish a reliable value; it is not a prediction about the game’s actual components or session length.
Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle is the closest cooperative match
Why it fits
Hogwarts Battle is the clearest choice when the priority is a licensed Harry Potter game in which every participant cooperates against the game. Its rules describe the premise directly: “In this cooperative game, you will take on the heroic role of either HARRY POTTER™, RON WEASLEY™, HERMIONE GRANGER™ or NEVILLE LONGBOTTOM™ in order to defeat a series of evil threats.” That wording establishes the key difference from a one-versus-many design: the threat is external to the player group.
The published comparison lists 2–4 players and a 30–60 minute playing time. It also identifies a cooperative deck-building campaign spanning seven years. That campaign structure makes the game a particularly natural recommendation for groups that like progression: the experience is not just a single battle with a fixed deck, but a sequence organized around the characters’ school years.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What the session feels like
Players share a goal, discuss which threats to address, and use card effects to improve their characters and answer escalating dangers. Because the deck-building is cooperative, table talk is part of the design rather than a side activity. The important decision is not which player can outmaneuver the others; it is how the group allocates limited actions and card effects before the next threat appears.
Who should choose it
- Choose it if your group requires a fully cooperative structure.
- Choose it if a 2–4 player game fits your regular table better than a five-player option.
- Choose it if a 30–60 minute published session estimate is more practical than an approximately 90-minute game.
- Choose it if a seven-year campaign is more appealing than a single map-based one-versus-many scenario.
It is not a mechanical replacement for every part of Defenders of Hogwarts. The player count is lower, the published duration is shorter, and the comparison describes a campaign deck-builder rather than the same map-centered one-versus-many structure. Its strength is alignment on license, characters, cards, and cooperative play.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsHarry Potter: Death Eaters Rising offers another cooperative Wizarding World route
Why it belongs on the shortlist
Harry Potter: Death Eaters Rising is identified in a product sheet from The Op as another cooperative Wizarding World tabletop game. It is especially relevant for players who want a card-and-dice format and a story period different from the one represented by Hogwarts Battle.
That makes it a useful second licensed option rather than a direct duplicate. A group that enjoys the shared objective of Hogwarts Battle but wants dice in the mix, or wants to explore another part of the Wizarding World timeline, has a clear reason to investigate it.
What is not established
The available product description does not establish a dependable player count, session length, or exact deck-building depth. Those details can vary by edition or listing, so check the rulebook or current product page for the edition you are considering. The same caution applies to stock: availability and releases change, and a product-sheet mention is not a guarantee that every region currently has copies.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Best fit
- Pick it when cooperative Wizarding World play matters more than matching Defenders of Hogwarts minute for minute.
- Pick it when card-and-dice interaction sounds better than a campaign deck-builder alone.
- Verify the edition, player count, and current availability before buying, because those details are not established by the cited product description.
The Big Book of Madness brings wizard-school cooperation without the license
What it offers
The Big Book of Madness is a non-licensed alternative for players who want the atmosphere of students learning magic while working together. A reader discussion describes it as “a cooperative deck-building game about wizards in training.” That is community evidence rather than a formal review, but it identifies the central match clearly: wizard-school flavor, shared objectives, and deck-building.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Its original setting is an advantage if your group wants the mechanics and mood of magical training without replaying established Harry Potter characters. It is also a useful choice when license is less important than the structure of improving decks together and dealing with supernatural problems as a team.
How it differs from the licensed games
- It does not use the Harry Potter or Wizarding World license.
- The available recommendation does not establish a reliable player count or duration.
- Its cooperative deck-building identity is clear, but specific component details should be confirmed in the edition you find.
- Community recommendation does not guarantee current retail stock or a particular language edition.
For a buyer, the decision is straightforward: choose it for original wizard-school fiction and cooperative deck-building, not for official characters, locations, or continuity.
Harry Potter: Magic Awakened is the digital option, not a tabletop substitute
Format and premise
NetEase and Warner Bros. describe Harry Potter: Magic Awakened as a free-to-play collectible-card role-playing game set in the Wizarding World. That makes it the relevant digital recommendation for someone whose real requirement is “a magical Harry Potter game I can play on a device,” rather than “another physical game for the table.”
Why the experience is different
A digital collectible-card role-playing game handles progression, encounters, and card collection through software. It does not reproduce the physical map, shared components, table talk, or one-versus-many seating arrangement of Defenders of Hogwarts. It also should not be described as a fully cooperative board-game equivalent: the cited description establishes its digital role-playing and collectible-card format, not a tabletop-style cooperative structure.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Who should choose it
- Choose it if you want a device-based Wizarding World adventure.
- Choose it if collectible-card progression appeals to you more than physical deck management.
- Do not choose it expecting the same group ritual, setup, or cooperation structure as a board game.
“Free-to-play” describes the access model identified by the publishers; it does not make the game mechanically comparable to a boxed tabletop title.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Choose by the experience you want
If everyone must be on the same team
Start with Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle. It is the only option in this group whose published rules explicitly define a cooperative premise and whose comparison profile supplies both a 2–4 player range and a 30–60 minute duration.
If you want another licensed tabletop game
Compare Hogwarts Battle with Death Eaters Rising. The former emphasizes a seven-year cooperative deck-building campaign; the latter is identified as a cooperative card-and-dice game set in a different story period. Confirm current editions and specifications for Death Eaters Rising before purchase.
If theme matters more than the license
Try The Big Book of Madness. Its community-described identity—cooperative deck-building about wizards in training—targets the same broad fantasy of learning magic together while avoiding a direct Harry Potter retelling.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteIf you want to play digitally
Choose Magic Awakened only if a free-to-play collectible-card role-playing game meets your needs. It is a digital alternative in setting, not a digital version of the physical Defenders of Hogwarts experience.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
If you specifically like opposition at the table
Stay with the one-versus-many idea represented by Defenders of Hogwarts. Fully cooperative recommendations remove the opposing player-side dynamic, so they will change the social tension even when the theme and cards feel familiar.
Questions to check before buying any alternative
Because player counts, editions, and availability can change, use this checklist when evaluating a listing:
- Confirm the format. Make sure the listing is for a physical tabletop game or a digital game according to your group’s needs.
- Check the cooperation rule. Look for “cooperative” if every player must share the same side; look for one-versus-many language if an opposing role is part of the appeal.
- Match the table size. Defenders of Hogwarts is listed for 2–5 players, while Hogwarts Battle is listed for 2–4.
- Compare the time commitment. The published comparison gives Defenders of Hogwarts about 90 minutes and Hogwarts Battle 30–60 minutes.
- Identify the progression model. Decide whether you want a map-based deck-builder, a seven-year campaign, card-and-dice play, original wizard-school deck-building, or digital collectible-card progression.
- Verify the exact edition. This is especially important for Death Eaters Rising and community-recommended titles whose current listings may differ by region or release.
Bottom line: which game is most like Defenders of Hogwarts?
There is no single replacement that matches every feature. Hogwarts Battle is the best overall recommendation when “like it” means licensed Harry Potter theme plus cooperative deck-building. Death Eaters Rising is the next licensed tabletop route if cards and dice and a different story period appeal to you. The Big Book of Madness is the strongest thematic substitute without the license, and Magic Awakened is the choice only when you want a digital collectible-card role-playing game.
The deciding question is therefore structural: do you want to preserve the physical table and accept a different cooperation model, or preserve full cooperation and accept a different map, campaign, or format? Answering that first will lead you to the right game faster than searching for the word “Harry Potter” alone.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

