Recommended Free Tools
Grand Theft Auto VI launches November 19, 2026, on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. The most important detail is easy to miss: the physical Standard Edition is a code-in-a-box release, not a disc. You receive a retail package containing a download code, redeem it on your platform account, and download the same game that digital buyers receive.
Standard is available digitally or in the boxed code format. Ultimate is digital only, with an upgrade bundle of vehicles, weapons, clothing, properties and customization locations. A physical Standard buyer can redeem the code first and buy the Ultimate Edition Upgrade later through the PlayStation or Microsoft store.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
At a glance: physical Standard, digital Standard and digital Ultimate
| Edition | Format | What you receive | Preload timing | Announced US price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard Edition | Digital purchase | Base game; eligible pre-order Vintage Vice City Pack; one month of GTA+ for digital pre-orders or purchases made before November 20, 2026 | Local midnight on November 12, 2026 | $79.99 |
| Standard Edition | Physical code-in-box | Retail box with a download code for the base game; eligible pre-order Vintage Vice City Pack code | After the code is redeemed; code-in-box copies are expected from November 12 | $79.99 |
| Ultimate Edition | Digital only | Base game plus the Ultimate Edition Upgrade content | Local midnight on November 12, 2026 | $99.99 |
The announced prices are US prices from Take-Two Interactive Software in 2026. Taxes, currency conversion and retailer pricing can differ by market.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →What the physical GTA 6 Standard Edition really contains
It is a download code, not a game disc
Rockstar Support says: “The physical version of GTAVI will contain a download code that can be used for the digital download of the game. A disc will not be included in the box.” The box is therefore packaging for a license code rather than physical game media.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
After you redeem the code, the platform downloads Grand Theft Auto VI and associates the entitlement with the PlayStation or Xbox account used for redemption. The box does not let you install the game offline from a disc, and it does not provide a second physical copy for another console. The practical experience after redemption is the same download-based installation as a digital purchase.
When retailers are expected to have the box
Retailers are expected to ship or offer pickup for physical Standard copies beginning November 12, 2026. That is also the date the code can be redeemed for preload. A buyer who does not receive the box or its code until after November 12 cannot start that preload earlier, even though the game launches on November 19.
What the box can still be useful for
- A boxed purchase gives you a retail package and a code that can be gifted or resold before redemption, subject to the retailer’s terms.
- Once the code is redeemed, the game license is tied to the platform account that claimed it. The empty box is not a transferable game license.
- The physical pre-order package includes access to the Vintage Vice City Pack through a code when the offer applies.
How digital Standard and Ultimate differ
Digital Standard
Digital Standard is the base game sold directly through the relevant platform store. The license is attached to the account that makes the purchase, so there is no code to store, lose or hand to someone else. Eligible digital pre-orders or purchases made before November 20, 2026 also receive one month of GTA+ under Rockstar’s stated offer.
Digital Ultimate
Ultimate is sold only as a digital edition. It includes the base game and the Ultimate Edition Upgrade, which adds the content listed below. There is no Ultimate disc and no Ultimate code-in-box package announced. Buyers who want Ultimate content from a physical starting point must use the Standard code first and then purchase the upgrade digitally.
Standard Edition contents and pre-order bonuses
The base package
Both Standard formats contain the same game entitlement once the purchase or code is activated. The difference is delivery: a direct digital transaction or a retail box containing the download code.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Vintage Vice City Pack
Eligible pre-orders include the Vintage Vice City Pack. Its announced contents are:
- The ’55 Vapid Stanier Sedan.
- A Garage for the sedan.
- Additional outfits and hairstyles.
- An exclusive weapon pattern.
Physical pre-orders include a code for this pack. Digital pre-orders, and digital purchases made before November 20, 2026, include the pack under the stated eligibility window.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →The one-month GTA+ offer
Rockstar’s Support description specifically identifies one free month of GTA+ with digital pre-orders or purchases made before November 20, 2026. It does not list that free month as a physical Standard bonus. Do not assume that buying the boxed code-in-a-box edition grants the same subscription month unless the retailer or Rockstar adds a separate promotion.
Everything included with Ultimate
The Ultimate Edition combines the game with the Ultimate Edition Upgrade. Rockstar says the bonuses are threaded through Jason and Lucia’s story, with new items uncovered behind each chapter rather than necessarily being delivered as one immediately accessible bundle.
| Category | Ultimate content |
|---|---|
| Vehicles | ’95 Grotti Cheetah; Jason’s Safehouse Vehicles; Shitzu Squalo; ’67 Vapid Dominator Buggy and Garage; Classic Car Collection |
| Weapons | Hawk & Little Morgan Revolvers; Personalized Weapon Variants |
| Style and clothing | Vice City Styles; Stock 305 Clothing Store; Goodtime Gear |
| Properties and locations | Ganado Retro Build; PTT Youngin$ Compound |
| Customization businesses | Rideout Customs Mod Shop; Sara’s Unisex Salon; Electric Fang Tattoo Parlor; One-Eyed Willie’s Mod Shop |
The names above are the complete announced Ultimate list. Rockstar describes the items as story-linked bonuses, so access may be paced by campaign progression. Ultimate does not replace the Standard game; it is the same base release with the upgrade content attached.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Can a physical Standard owner upgrade to Ultimate?
Yes. Rockstar Support states that a physical version of the Ultimate Edition is not available, but physical Standard owners can purchase the Ultimate Edition Upgrade from the PlayStation or Microsoft stores after using their Standard Edition code.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstall- Obtain the physical Standard box for the same platform on which you intend to play.
- Reveal the download code and redeem it through the platform store. The game entitlement must be activated before the upgrade is offered.
- Download or queue the Standard game. You can begin this during the November 12 preload window once the code is redeemed.
- Open the PlayStation or Microsoft store on that platform and purchase the Ultimate Edition Upgrade.
- Install or enable the upgrade content. Story-linked items may become available as the relevant chapters are reached.
The upgrade can be purchased at any time after the Standard code has been used. The announced material does not state a separate upgrade price, so compare the store’s live upgrade listing with the $99.99 Ultimate package before buying.
Preload and launch schedule
| Date | Event | What it means for each format |
|---|---|---|
| June 25, 2026 | Pre-orders opened at midnight local time | Digital and physical Standard pre-orders became available where offered. |
| November 12, 2026 | Preload begins at local midnight | Digital Standard and Ultimate can begin downloading. Physical Standard buyers can do the same after receiving and redeeming the code; boxed copies are expected to ship or be available for pickup from this date. |
| November 19, 2026 | Launch on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S | The game releases on the announced consoles. |
| November 20, 2026 | End of the stated digital GTA+ eligibility window | Digital purchases made before this date qualify for the one-month offer described by Rockstar Support. |
Why the physical format can affect preload
Digital buyers already have the entitlement on their account, so the download can start at local midnight on November 12. A physical-code buyer needs two things first: the box must be delivered or collected, and the code must be redeemed successfully. Ordering a box that arrives later can therefore delay your preload even though the platform technically supports preload from November 12.
Region, account and platform rules
PlayStation code regions
PlayStation download codes must match the region of the account that redeems them. A code purchased for one market may fail on an account registered in another market. Check the retailer’s region designation and your account country before opening the box, because an incompatible code may not be exchangeable after purchase.
Xbox codes
The announced guidance says Xbox codes are not region-locked. You still need an Xbox account and a compatible Xbox Series X|S console, but the code itself is not restricted to a matching account region in the way PlayStation codes are.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Account ownership after redemption
Both a digital purchase and a redeemed physical code become digital entitlements on the platform account used for activation. The physical package does not preserve disc-based lending or offline installation rights. If several people share a console, use the account whose library and purchasing controls are intended to retain the game.
Which format should you choose?
Choose physical Standard if you want a boxed purchase
- You prefer buying from a retailer, collecting a package or giving an unredeemed code as a gift.
- You want Standard now but may decide later whether the Ultimate upgrade is worth buying.
- You understand that the package contains no disc and that you need the code before you can preload.
- You are buying a PlayStation copy whose code region matches the intended account.
Choose digital Standard if you want the simplest base-game purchase
- You want the entitlement delivered directly to your platform account.
- You want to preload at local midnight on November 12 without waiting for a retailer shipment.
- You are purchasing before November 20, 2026 and want the stated one-month GTA+ offer that accompanies eligible digital purchases.
- You do not need a physical box or an unredeemed code for gifting.
Choose digital Ultimate if you already want the bonus package
- You want the complete announced list of extra vehicles, weapons, styles, properties, shops and collections.
- You do not need a physical Ultimate package, because none is available.
- You would rather pay the announced $99.99 Ultimate price than buy Standard and decide on an upgrade later.
Use Standard first when you are undecided
A Standard purchase does not permanently block Ultimate content. Redeem the physical code or buy digital Standard, play the base game, and purchase the Ultimate Edition Upgrade later if the additional items justify the separate expense. This route sacrifices the convenience of having Ultimate from the start but keeps the initial commitment at the $79.99 Standard price.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Redeeming a physical copy and preparing for launch
- Confirm that the box is labeled for PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X|S, matching the console you will use.
- For PlayStation, verify that the code’s market matches your account region. For Xbox, the announced guidance says the code is not region-locked.
- Open the box and locate the download code. Keep the receipt and packaging until redemption succeeds.
- Use the platform’s store redemption function while signed in to the account that should own the game.
- Start the download. If you redeem on or after November 12, the preload window may be available; before that date, the store may accept the code without making the game playable.
- On November 19, launch the installed game from the same account. If you later buy Ultimate, use the same platform account so the upgrade can attach to the Standard entitlement.
Internet access is required to redeem the code and download the game. The supplied release information does not specify the final download size, required free storage or minimum connection speed, so check the platform listing for those figures when Rockstar publishes them.
Price and value considerations
| Purchase path | Announced US price | Upgrade flexibility | Subscription offer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Physical Standard code-in-box | $79.99 | Ultimate Edition Upgrade can be bought later through the platform store after code redemption. | Rockstar’s stated one-month GTA+ offer is for eligible digital purchases; it is not listed as a physical bonus. |
| Digital Standard | $79.99 | Can be followed by the digital Ultimate Edition Upgrade. | One month of GTA+ for eligible digital pre-orders or purchases made before November 20, 2026. |
| Digital Ultimate | $99.99 | Includes the Ultimate Edition Upgrade from the start. | Digital purchase eligibility follows the stated pre-order or purchase window. |
The $20 difference between the announced Standard and Ultimate prices is the cost of receiving the Ultimate bundle up front. Rockstar has not announced a separate upgrade price in the supplied release information, so do not assume that buying Standard and upgrading later will total exactly $99.99.
Common mistakes to avoid
Assuming a box means a disc
It does not. The physical Standard package contains a download code only. If your priority is a disc-based installation or a disc you can lend, this release format does not provide one.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Expecting Ultimate on a store shelf
Ultimate is digital only. Retailers may sell physical Standard boxes, but Rockstar says a physical Ultimate Edition is not available. A store listing that calls a boxed copy “Ultimate” should be checked carefully for whether it is actually Standard plus a separate digital upgrade code.
Waiting for launch day to redeem the code
Redeeming on November 19 can leave the entire download for launch day. Redeem when the box arrives, beginning November 12 if possible, to use the announced preload window.
Assuming every format receives the GTA+ month
The free month is explicitly described for digital pre-orders or purchases before November 20, 2026. Physical pre-orders are documented as receiving the Vintage Vice City Pack code, not the subscription month.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsUsing a PlayStation code on the wrong regional account
A region mismatch can prevent redemption. Confirm the account country and the code market before purchase, especially when importing a box.
Confusing the Vintage Vice City Pack with Ultimate
The Vintage Vice City Pack is a Standard pre-order benefit containing the ’55 Vapid Stanier Sedan, its Garage, outfits, hairstyles and a weapon pattern. It is separate from the much larger Ultimate Edition Upgrade.
Bottom line
Buy physical Standard if you want a retail box and accept that it is only a download code. Buy digital Standard for the fastest, simplest base-game preload and the clearly stated digital GTA+ promotion. Choose digital Ultimate if you want all announced bonus content immediately; otherwise, Standard leaves you the option to add the Ultimate Edition Upgrade later.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

