Neither console has a proven image-quality or frame-rate advantage. The available PlayStation and Xbox listings do not publish native or dynamic resolution, frame-rate targets, graphics modes, VRR behavior or measured comparisons. Choose PS5 for documented DualSense effects, offline play and its listed accessibility controls; choose Xbox Series X|S for the “Optimized for XBOX Series X|S” designation, achievements, cloud saves and Xbox Play Anywhere.
Heavy Metal Death Can launched digitally on both console families on October 16, 2026, at a listed launch price of $17.49. The two versions describe the same submarine survival-horror design: fixed camera angles, tank controls with modern options, limited ammunition, inventory management and a retro presentation inspired by late-1990s horror games.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Quick verdict: which version should you buy?
- Buy the PS5 version if DualSense vibration and adaptive trigger effects, offline play, control remapping, adjustable difficulty, subtitles, volume controls or other listed accessibility options matter most to you.
- Buy the Xbox Series X|S version if achievements, Xbox cloud saves, the Xbox Play Anywhere label or a console ecosystem that identifies the game as optimized for Series hardware is more important.
- Do not choose on resolution or FPS. No cited store listing or other available source gives a pixel count, frame-rate target, graphics mode, VRR behavior or measured console comparison. Claims that one version is 4K, 60 fps, 30 fps or technically superior would be speculation.
Both are digital, single-player releases. Their core content and retro survival-horror structure are presented as the same, so the meaningful differences are platform services, controller features and accessibility documentation rather than a confirmed visual-quality split.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Release date, availability and launch price
Console launch
The digital PS5 and Xbox Series X|S editions released on October 16, 2026. The PlayStation Store listing identifies the PS5 edition, while the Xbox Store lists a Series X|S edition marked “Optimized for XBOX Series X|S.” Both listings describe one-player play.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Price and editions
Gematsu reports a $17.49 launch price for the digital console release. The available material does not establish a region, currency-conversion rule, tax treatment or whether that amount is a permanent price or a launch promotion, so treat it as the reported launch listing rather than a guaranteed price in every storefront. No physical disc, collector edition, game-specific accessory or other title-specific merchandise is verified.
PC context
The PC version launched on Steam on May 28, 2026, several months before the console editions. That earlier release does not supply console resolution or performance figures, and the cited information does not establish cross-save or cross-progression between Steam and either console family.
What is actually known about resolution and frame rate?
No published render resolution
The available sources do not state whether either console renders at 4K, 1440p, 1080p, a dynamic resolution or another internal target. They also do not say whether the displayed image is reconstructed or upscaled. A store description, even one that calls a game optimized, is not a resolution specification.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
No published FPS target or measured result
There is no confirmed 30-frame-per-second or 60-frame-per-second target, no unlocked-frame-rate statement, no performance mode/quality mode split and no independent frame-time measurement for PS5, Series X or Series S. VRR support and behavior are likewise not documented. Consequently, this comparison cannot identify a frame-rate winner or promise a particular refresh-rate experience.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How to interpret the evidence
“Optimized for XBOX Series X|S” confirms that the Xbox listing is designated for current-generation Series consoles; it does not, by itself, disclose resolution, FPS, visual settings or parity between Series X and Series S. The PS5 listing’s silence on those metrics is not evidence of worse performance. Until a developer specification, patch note or independent technical analysis publishes measurements, consider visual output an open question on both platforms.
PS5 versus Xbox Series features
| Area | PS5 | Xbox Series X|S |
|---|---|---|
| Availability | Digital PS5 listing | Digital Xbox Series X|S listing |
| Console release | October 16, 2026 | October 16, 2026 |
| Platform designation | PS5 edition | “Optimized for XBOX Series X|S” |
| Controller features | DualSense vibration and trigger effects | The cited listing does not specify a Series-controller feature beyond standard console support |
| Play options | Offline play; one player | Single player |
| Account and ecosystem features | PS5/PS Portal cloud streaming with Premium | Achievements, Xbox cloud saves and Xbox Play Anywhere |
| Resolution and frame rate | Not stated in cited sources | Not stated in cited sources |
The table separates documented features from assumptions. For example, the Xbox optimization badge is official wording, but it is not a promise of a particular frame rate. Likewise, the PS5 listing explicitly names DualSense effects, while the Xbox listing’s feature set is centered on services and account integration.
What the PS5 edition adds
DualSense vibration and trigger effects
The PlayStation Store description explicitly states that vibration and trigger effects are supported with the DualSense wireless controller. That gives the PS5 edition a documented tactile feature that is not described in the cited Xbox listing. The listing does not explain which actions use resistance or how extensively the effects are implemented, so the support statement should not be read as a detailed implementation guide.
Offline play and one-player support
The PS5 listing specifies offline play and one-player support. You can therefore treat an internet connection as unnecessary for the listed offline mode, subject to the normal requirements of downloading, installing and licensing a digital game. No online co-op or competitive mode is described.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Accessibility and control options
The PS5 description documents adjustable difficulty, control remapping, subtitles, volume controls and additional accessibility options. These are practical advantages for players who need alternate layouts, audio adjustments, captioning or a difficulty level suited to their experience. The listing does not enumerate every additional option, so do not assume a specific text-size, color-filter or navigation setting unless it appears in the in-game menu.
PS Portal cloud streaming
The listing includes PS5 and PS Portal cloud streaming with a Premium membership. Availability of cloud streaming can depend on account region, subscription status and service conditions; the listing does not provide a resolution or latency guarantee. This is a streaming option, not evidence that the locally rendered PS5 version has a particular frame rate.
What the Xbox Series edition adds
Series optimization label
Xbox identifies the game as “Optimized for XBOX Series X|S.” That designation confirms a Series-targeted release rather than an unqualified backward-compatibility listing. It does not distinguish the internal settings of Series X from Series S, and no source supplies a resolution or FPS table for either model.
Achievements
The Xbox listing includes Xbox achievements. Players who track Gamerscore or use the Xbox achievement system therefore have a documented platform feature that is not stated on the PS5 listing. The number, categories and requirements of the achievements are not provided in the available information.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Cloud saves
Xbox cloud saves are listed as supported. This allows the Xbox ecosystem to synchronize the game’s save data through its cloud-save service, although the listing does not specify storage limits, offline conflict handling or how saves behave between console generations.
Xbox Play Anywhere
The Xbox listing also carries the Xbox Play Anywhere designation. The label is an official ecosystem feature of the listed Xbox release, but the available description does not spell out entitlement details for every store or explain how it relates to the separate Steam version. Check the purchase page associated with your Microsoft account for the exact devices and entitlement presented at checkout.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Shared game design: what plays the same on both consoles?
Fixed camera angles
Both store descriptions present fixed camera angles as a defining part of the experience. The camera is therefore authored around set viewpoints rather than freely controlled like a modern over-the-shoulder game. This can heighten tension and conceal threats, but it also means that movement and situational awareness depend on learning each room’s framing.
Recommended Free Tools
Tank controls with modern options
The game offers classic tank controls alongside modern options. Tank controls keep movement tied to the character’s facing direction, while a modern scheme generally makes directional input feel more camera-relative. Because the listing confirms that both styles are available, players accustomed to late-1990s survival horror can retain the traditional method, while others can try the modern alternative. The exact button mapping is not published, which is why the PS5 remapping option is particularly useful for players who need a custom layout.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Limited ammunition and inventory management
Both platform descriptions emphasize limited ammunition and inventory management. The design therefore expects deliberate resource use rather than unrestricted shooting. Deciding what to carry, when to spend ammunition and which items to leave behind is part of progression, not an optional difficulty modifier identified only on one platform.
Submarine setting and retro presentation
The setting is a submarine, and the presentation draws on 1990s horror games, specifically the late-1990s era in the Xbox description. Narrow spaces, fixed viewpoints and constrained supplies reinforce that survival-horror identity. The cited material does not claim that one console has different assets, lighting or effects; the shared descriptions point to the same core content.
Which version fits your priorities?
Choose PS5 when tactile feedback and accessibility lead
- You want documented DualSense vibration and trigger effects.
- You need offline play explicitly listed by the platform store.
- You rely on adjustable difficulty, remappable controls, subtitles or volume controls.
- You use PS5/PS Portal cloud streaming with a Premium membership and the feature is available in your region.
Choose Xbox Series when ecosystem features lead
- You want achievements and Gamerscore integration.
- You value Xbox cloud saves for keeping progress synchronized within the Xbox ecosystem.
- You want the release carrying the Xbox Play Anywhere designation.
- You prefer a listing explicitly marked “Optimized for XBOX Series X|S.”
When the choice is effectively a tie
If your deciding factor is image sharpness, frame rate or VRR, the responsible answer is to wait for published measurements rather than infer them from platform labels. The available evidence cannot establish whether PS5, Series X or Series S has a higher resolution, steadier frame pacing or a selectable graphics mode. If you already own both consoles, choose based on the controller and account features above.
Practical checks before and after purchase
- Confirm the storefront and edition. Select the digital PS5 listing or the Xbox Series X|S listing released October 16, 2026. The reported launch price is $17.49, but verify the amount shown for your region and account.
- Review the feature badges. On PS5, look for the DualSense, offline-play and accessibility descriptions. On Xbox, verify the Optimized, achievements, cloud-save and Play Anywhere indicators.
- Plan your control setup. If you prefer classic survival-horror movement, start with tank controls; if directional movement feels more natural, try the modern option. On PS5, use control remapping if the default layout is uncomfortable.
- Set difficulty and audio before a long session. The PS5 listing confirms adjustable difficulty, subtitles and volume controls. Configure these before entering resource-tight areas so you do not have to interrupt play later.
- Check for technical notes from the developer. Because no resolution or FPS specification is currently published, consult official patch notes or a reputable technical analysis for later measurements. Do not treat a resolution number or frame-rate claim from an unsourced storefront comment as confirmed.
Important limitations of the comparison
- The evidence covers digital console listings and a release report; it does not provide a laboratory test of PS5, Series X or Series S.
- No native or dynamic resolution, output resolution, frame-rate cap, frame-time result, quality/performance mode or VRR behavior is established.
- The listings describe single-player/offline functionality but do not document multiplayer, cross-platform play or cross-progression.
- The Xbox Play Anywhere label is confirmed, while the exact entitlement relationship to the separate Steam release is not explained in the available description.
- The $17.49 figure is a reported launch price; region, taxes, promotions and later price changes are not established.
Bottom line
Heavy Metal Death Can is functionally the same submarine survival-horror game on PS5 and Xbox Series, with the choice determined by platform features rather than proven performance differences. PS5 is the better documented fit for DualSense effects, offline play and accessibility controls. Xbox Series is the better fit for achievements, cloud saves, Play Anywhere and the Series optimization designation. For resolution and FPS, there is no defensible winner yet: the published material simply does not provide the measurements.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

