A Space Engineers server can cost $0 in software fees when you run the dedicated-server software yourself. That is only close to free if you already have a suitable Windows PC, enough broadband capacity, a public-facing network connection and an electricity budget for an always-on machine. A managed host adds a recurring monthly charge; a dated 2026 provider directory lists a US$5.99 monthly minimum from Wabbanode, while Keen Software House’s officially listed PC and Xbox providers do not publish current prices on their directory pages.
Playing with friends? Godlike.Host runs hosted Space Engineers servers from 10 data-center locations, with free DDoS protection.
Budget separately for the game itself: Steam lists Space Engineers at US$19.99 for the base game when accessed in 2026. Optional DLC is cosmetic and does not replace or include server hosting.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2026 cost summary
The right price depends first on who supplies the hardware and network connection. The dedicated-server software is free for Space Engineers owners, but the infrastructure around it is not necessarily free.
| Option | Software or hosting charge | What can still add cost | Evidence and qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Self-host on your own Windows PC | $0 dedicated-server software fee | PC or upgrades, electricity, broadband, router configuration, backups and maintenance | Keen says dedicated servers are free with an existing Space Engineers account. |
| Managed PC server from Keen’s official provider | Current price not stated on Keen’s directory | Plan size, slots, region, storage, backups, support and add-ons | Keen identifies GTX Gaming as its official PC host; verify the live checkout price. |
| Managed Xbox server from Keen’s official provider | Current price not stated on Keen’s directory | Plan size, region, backups, support and add-ons | Keen identifies Nitrado as its official Xbox host; verify the live checkout price. |
| Wabbanode listing | US$5.99 minimum monthly price | Higher tiers, taxes, location, slots, storage, backups and support | Space Engineers provider directory table updated 2026-03-09; this is a dated minimum example, not a guaranteed quote. |
| Base game purchase | US$19.99 one-time Steam listing | Optional cosmetic DLC | Valve/Steam page accessed in 2026; game purchase is separate from hosting. |
There is no authoritative, complete 2026 price matrix for every plan, region, tax or slot tier. Treat any number that is not shown in a provider’s current checkout as an estimate until you confirm it.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Is a Space Engineers dedicated server free?
Yes, the dedicated-server software has no separate fee for people who own Space Engineers. Keen Software House describes the purpose this way: “Dedicated servers in Space Engineers allow players to connect to a third party host, rather than using a player-host, in a peer-to-peer set-up.” Its documentation says dedicated servers are available to everyone who owns the game, require no extra Steam account and are free with the existing Space Engineers account.
The free software does not mean a free service. A self-hosted server uses your equipment, electricity and internet connection. A rented server transfers those responsibilities to a host in exchange for a monthly bill. You also remain responsible for the game purchase: Steam lists the base game at US$19.99, while the server software is a separate entitlement.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
What self-hosting really costs
Minimum and recommended server specifications
Keen’s 2026 dedicated-server documentation lists a minimum of a 3.2 GHz CPU with three logical cores, 6 GB of RAM and 5 Mbps of bandwidth. Its recommended public-hosting specification is a 4.5 GHz CPU with three logical cores, 10 GB of RAM and a static IP. These are capacity baselines, not a promise of a particular player count or simulation performance; world complexity, mods and concurrent activity affect the result.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Resource | Keen minimum | Keen recommendation | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| CPU | 3.2 GHz, 3 logical cores | 4.5 GHz, 3 logical cores | Simulation work is sensitive to sustained per-core performance. |
| Memory | 6 GB RAM | 10 GB RAM | World size, players and mods can increase memory use. |
| Bandwidth | 5 Mbps | Not separately stated beyond the minimum | Upload capacity and ISP limits affect public access and stability. |
| Public networking | Not specified as a static address | Static IP recommended | A stable address makes it easier for players to reconnect. |
If your Windows machine needs more memory, “16GB RAM kit for a Windows server PC” is a useful search phrase, but it is not a universal requirement. Check the motherboard’s supported memory generation, speed and slot count before buying; a DDR4 kit, for example, is not interchangeable with a DDR5-only board.
Hidden operating costs
- Hardware: An existing desktop may be adequate, but buying or upgrading a PC can cost far more than several months of rental.
- Electricity: An always-on computer draws power continuously. Estimate monthly energy with
watts ÷ 1000 × hours running × your electricity tariff. Use the machine’s measured draw where possible rather than its power-supply rating. - Internet service: Confirm that your plan allows inbound connections and has enough upload capacity. Some ISPs place customers behind carrier-grade NAT, which can prevent normal public hosting.
- Networking work: You may need router port forwarding, a reserved local address, firewall rules and a static public IP or an equivalent arrangement.
- Administration: You handle updates, scheduled restarts, world backups, mod changes, crash recovery and security.
How to self-host a dedicated server
Keen’s documentation covers Windows installation, port forwarding, firewall configuration and maintenance controls. The practical sequence is:
- Confirm ownership. At least one Steam account must hold a valid Space Engineers license so the dedicated-server files can be obtained. Keen says the computer running the server does not itself need a separate licensed copy.
- Prepare Windows hardware. Meet at least the 3.2 GHz/three-logical-core, 6 GB RAM and 5 Mbps baseline; use the 4.5 GHz and 10 GB recommendation for a public server where possible.
- Install the dedicated-server files. Use Keen’s current dedicated-server documentation and Steam-linked process rather than downloading an unofficial package. The server account requirement is separate from the players’ accounts.
- Give the server PC a stable local address. Reserve its address in the router or configure the equivalent supported Windows networking arrangement so a forwarding rule does not point to a changing device.
- Configure the router and firewall. Forward the port specified by Keen’s current documentation to the server PC and create the corresponding inbound Windows Firewall rule. Do not open unrelated ports; if your ISP uses carrier-grade NAT, ask whether a public address is available.
- Set the server identity and world. Choose the server name, world, player access and any Workshop content in the dedicated-server configuration, then start the service and verify that it appears or accepts a direct connection.
- Operate it as a service. Schedule backups, updates and restarts. Keep at least one offline or separately stored world backup so a failed update or corrupted save does not erase the campaign.
The software remains free throughout this process, but the time spent diagnosing networking, mods and updates is part of the real ownership cost.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Managed hosting: what you pay for
A managed host rents the machine and network connection and normally supplies a control panel. You pay for persistence and convenience instead of maintaining a Windows PC at home. The bill can change with the number of players or slots, server region, storage, backup retention, mod support, priority support and DDoS protection.
Official provider status
Keen’s official directory names GTX Gaming for PC and Nitrado for Xbox. The directory pages establish that status but do not publish current monthly prices. Check the provider’s live checkout for the exact platform, region, slot tier, taxes and renewal price before committing. Do not assume a PC plan runs an Xbox world or that a promotional first month is the recurring rate.
The US$5.99 example
The Space Engineers provider directory lists Wabbanode at a US$5.99 minimum monthly price. The table was updated on 2026-03-09. Use this as a dated lower-bound example, not as a guaranteed 2026 quote: the selected location, player capacity, storage, backups, support and any promotion can change the amount at checkout.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Managed-host comparison checklist
| Comparison point | Questions to ask before ordering |
|---|---|
| Monthly price | Is the displayed amount introductory or recurring? Are taxes, setup fees and renewal rates shown? |
| Capacity | Is the limit expressed as players, slots, CPU allocation or a plan label? What happens when the world grows? |
| Platform | Does the plan run PC, Xbox or both? Can players on your intended platform connect? |
| Region and latency | Where is the physical server, and can you change location later? |
| Mods and Workshop | Can you add, remove and update Workshop items from the panel, and are there storage limits? |
| Control panel | Are configuration edits, console access, logs and scheduled tasks included? |
| Backups | How often are automatic backups made, how long are they retained and can you download one? |
| Restarts and updates | Can you schedule restarts and control when game or mod updates are applied? |
| Protection and support | Is DDoS mitigation included, and what support channel and response target apply? |
| Keen listing | Is the provider currently named in Keen’s official directory, and does that listing cover your platform? |
PC versus Xbox hosting
Platform determines the provider shortlist before price does. Keen identifies GTX Gaming for PC and Nitrado for Xbox. A Windows self-host is therefore a PC option; it is not evidence that an Xbox server can be run on the same setup. Confirm cross-platform compatibility, save transfer rules and mod availability for the edition your group owns before paying.
Which option is cheapest?
Choose self-hosting when
- You already own a Windows PC that meets Keen’s specification.
- Your ISP permits inbound connections and your upload capacity is sufficient.
- The group is small and trusted, so you can accept occasional maintenance.
- You value a $0 software bill more than a hosted control panel or support desk.
Choose managed hosting when
- The world must remain online while your own PC is off.
- You do not want to configure port forwarding, firewall rules and backups.
- You need a provider’s region, automated restarts, mod controls or DDoS mitigation.
- The cost of electricity, hardware upgrades and your time exceeds the monthly rental.
For a small private group with existing hardware, self-hosting is usually the lowest cash outlay. For a persistent public world, compare the complete monthly bill—including backups, taxes and renewal pricing—rather than choosing the lowest headline number.
Common cost traps and fixes
“Free” hardware that is too slow
A PC can meet the 6 GB minimum yet struggle with a complex world or mods. Start with Keen’s recommended 10 GB RAM and higher 4.5 GHz CPU target when buying or upgrading, then monitor simulation performance as the world grows.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Buying memory without checking compatibility
A 16 GB kit is an upgrade option, not a guarantee. Verify the motherboard’s memory type, maximum capacity and available slots first.
Confusing a minimum price with a complete quote
The US$5.99 Wabbanode figure is a directory minimum recorded on 2026-03-09. Check the current plan, location, taxes, renewal price and included features at checkout.
Assuming the server computer needs another game purchase
Keen says the provider’s server machine does not require its own licensed copy. One valid Steam account is needed to obtain the files; players still need their own game access to join under the applicable platform rules.
Ignoring backups and updates
A managed plan is not automatically a backup strategy. Confirm retention and restoration procedures, and make an independent copy of important worlds whether you rent or self-host.
Bottom line for 2026
Space Engineers hosting starts at $0 in software fees, not necessarily at $0 in total ownership cost. Self-hosting is economical when your Windows PC, broadband and electricity are already available and you are willing to administer the server. Managed hosting buys uptime and convenience for a recurring fee: Keen officially points PC owners to GTX Gaming and Xbox owners to Nitrado, while the dated directory minimum of US$5.99 from Wabbanode is only a reference point. Confirm live prices and platform details immediately before ordering.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteQuick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




