October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
VGSources
Blog

How to Compare GTA 6 Pre-Order Editions and Choose the Right One

A practical guide to choosing between GTA 6 Standard and Ultimate, including the $79.99/$99.99 U.S. reference prices, Ultimate content, preorder dates, GTA+ terms, regional code rules, and the physical edition’s download-code format.
Length10 min Posted Quest giverVGSources Team

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose Standard if you want the game at the lower listed U.S. price or want to defer the decision about bonus content. Choose Ultimate if the listed in-game vehicles, weapons, properties, clothing, and customization locations justify its premium at launch. Both editions include Grand Theft Auto VI, and Standard owners can buy the digital Ultimate Edition Upgrade later. If you buy a physical copy, know that the Standard box contains a download code rather than a disc; Ultimate is digital only.

Rockstar lists Grand Theft Auto VI for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S on November 19, 2026. Prices, taxes, stock, and preorder terms can differ by country and storefront, so use the comparison below as a framework and verify the final checkout page.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Which GTA 6 edition should I buy?

The practical choice is between two official editions: Standard and Ultimate. Standard is the lower-cost entry point and includes the complete base game. Ultimate includes that same game plus the Ultimate Edition Upgrade content. The right choice depends on how much you value the named in-game extras, whether you want a physical box, and how much flexibility you want if you change your mind.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Edition U.S. listed price reference Included at purchase Format Can you add Ultimate content later?
Standard Edition $79.99, announced by Take-Two and shown on the U.S. PlayStation Store Grand Theft Auto VI Digital, or physical code-in-box Standard Edition Yes. The separate digital Ultimate Edition Upgrade is available after redeeming the Standard code; its price is not stated in the official information reviewed.
Ultimate Edition $99.99, announced by Take-Two and shown on the U.S. PlayStation Store Grand Theft Auto VI plus Ultimate Edition Upgrade content Digital only Not applicable; the Ultimate content is already included.

The two U.S. prices represent a $20 difference, but they are not worldwide prices. Your local currency, taxes, platform fees, and regional pricing may change the amount. Compare the final price in the country associated with your account rather than converting the U.S. figures and assuming they will match.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Buy Standard when flexibility matters most

Standard is the safer choice if you mainly want to play the campaign and online game and do not yet know whether the Ultimate bonuses matter to you. It preserves an upgrade route without requiring you to pay for extras before release. The trade-off is uncertainty: the official pages confirm that the upgrade will be sold separately, but they do not publish its price. A later upgrade could therefore cost more or less than the difference between the two launch editions.

Buy Ultimate when you already value the extras

Ultimate makes sense when you know you want the additional vehicles, weapons, properties, clothing, shops, and customization locations from day one. Treat these as digital in-game entitlements, not separate physical products or collectible hardware. There is no evidence that buying Ultimate grants a different game build, an earlier launch date, or a disc.

What Ultimate adds to the base game

Rockstar’s edition listing names a broad set of in-game additions. They are useful for players who enjoy collecting vehicles, customizing equipment, building out properties, or changing their character’s look. The list does not assign separate retail values to each item, so judge it as a bundle rather than adding up imaginary individual prices.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Vehicles: the ’95 Grotti Cheetah, Shitzu Squalo, the ’67 Vapid Dominator Buggy, and its Garage.
  • Weapons and variants: the Hawk & Little Morgan Revolvers and personalized weapon variants.
  • Safehouse and property features: Jason’s safehouse vehicles, Ganado Retro Build, Rideout Customs Mod Shop, Sara’s Unisex Salon, Stock 305 Clothing Store, Electric Fang Tattoo Parlor, One-Eyed Willie’s Mod Shop, Goodtime Gear, and the PTT Youngin$ Compound.
  • Style and collections: Vice City styles and the Classic Car Collection.

The official list uses names that can sound like physical merchandise. In this context they are game content delivered through the digital edition entitlement. The sources do not describe a separate disc, statue, box, or other hardware item bundled with Ultimate.

Release, preorder, preload, and bonus dates

The dates below come from Rockstar and Take-Two announcements and are stated in local-time terms where the publishers specify them.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Date Event What it means for your purchase
June 24, 2026 Take-Two and Rockstar announced preorder details. The announcement set the U.S. reference prices and confirmed the launch plan.
June 25, 2026 Preorders began at midnight local time. Availability and the exact price were handled by each country’s storefront or retailer.
November 12, 2026 Digital preload begins at local midnight; physical copies are expected to ship or be available for pickup. Digital buyers can download the game files before launch, but access remains locked until release. Physical buyers should confirm the retailer’s pickup or shipping window.
November 19, 2026 Grand Theft Auto VI launches on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. These are the platforms Rockstar lists for launch; no other launch platform is established by the cited official information.
Before November 20, 2026 Purchases made before this date qualify for the Vintage Vice City Pack, subject to the stated preorder terms. Check the storefront receipt and product page to verify that the bonus is attached to your order.

The preload date is not an invitation to play early. It only lets the console download required files ahead of launch. Account authentication and the platform’s release lock still control when the game starts.

Is the physical GTA 6 edition a disc?

No. Rockstar’s customer-support page, updated August 18, 2026, states: “The physical version of GTAVI will contain a download code that can be used for the digital download of the game. A disc will not be included in the box.” The physical option is therefore a Standard Edition code-in-box product, not a disc that can be installed or resold as optical media.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What a physical Standard purchase is good for

  • A boxed item for a shelf or gift.
  • A retailer pickup or shipment instead of a direct digital transaction.
  • The same Standard Edition game entitlement once the code is redeemed.

What it does not provide

  • No disc-based installation or offline disc check.
  • No physical Ultimate Edition; Rockstar lists Ultimate as digital only.
  • No guarantee that the code can be redeemed in a different account region.

If you are buying for someone else, confirm that the recipient’s PlayStation or Xbox account can redeem the code and that the recipient is comfortable downloading the full game. Keep the receipt until the code has been accepted and the entitlement appears in the account library.

Compare editions by your actual priority

Your priority Best starting choice Check before paying
Get the base game at the lower listed U.S. price Standard Edition Your country, currency, platform, taxes, and final storefront total.
Have every listed Ultimate extra immediately Ultimate Edition Whether the in-game bundle is worth the local premium; the additions are digital content.
Keep the decision open Standard Edition with a possible later upgrade The upgrade is confirmed, but its price and any future discount are not stated.
Own a box Physical Standard Edition It is a download code in a box and contains no disc.
Avoid account-linked subscriptions Either edition, with careful bonus review The included GTA+ month has account and autorenewal conditions on the PlayStation Store.
Play on a specific console The edition for that console’s storefront Confirm PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X|S compatibility before ordering.

Do not choose Ultimate solely because it sounds like a higher-performance version. The official descriptions distinguish the editions by included content, not by a different frame-rate target, resolution mode, or release date.

Preorder bonuses and the included GTA+ month

Rockstar says purchases made before November 20, 2026 receive the Vintage Vice City Pack. The bonus applies to either edition when the purchase meets the timing and storefront requirements. Physical preorders also include the pack, but the code-in-box format means you should retain your proof of purchase until the bonus is credited.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Digital preorders include one month of GTA+. The U.S. PlayStation Store describes this month as account-bound, limited to one redemption per account, and set to auto-renew after the included month unless you cancel. That makes the month different from a permanently owned edition feature: it is a subscription promotion tied to the account that redeems it.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to avoid an unwanted renewal

  1. During checkout, read the GTA+ promotion and note which account receives it.
  2. After redemption, open your platform subscription settings and locate the GTA+ entry.
  3. Turn off automatic renewal if you only want the included month. Cancellation rules and menu names can vary by platform and country, so follow the confirmation screen.
  4. Keep the purchase email showing the bonus terms in case the entitlement does not appear after launch.

Do not assume the month transfers between accounts or consoles. The account-bound limitation means the account that redeems the offer is the one that matters.

Platform and region checks before ordering

Rockstar lists PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S as the launch platforms. Select the product page for your console family; a code for one platform is not a substitute for the other.

PlayStation account regions

Rockstar warns that PlayStation redemption depends on the account region and recommends buying from a retailer in the country associated with the account. A code bought in another country can fail activation even when the console model is compatible. Before paying, compare the retailer’s country, the store account’s country, and the currency shown at checkout.

Xbox codes

Rockstar’s support information says Xbox codes purchased are not region-locked. That removes one common activation barrier, but you should still verify that the listing is for Xbox Series X|S and that the seller’s refund policy covers an unused code.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Shared consoles and gifts

Digital entitlements attach to the account that redeems them. If several people use one console, decide which account should own the game, the Ultimate content, and the GTA+ promotion before entering the code. A physical box does not create a transferable disc license because the product inside is still a one-time download code.

Step-by-step: how to compare and place a preorder

  1. Identify the console. Choose the PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X|S listing that matches the hardware you will use at launch.
  2. Set the account country. Check the country and currency in the platform account, especially for a PlayStation purchase or code.
  3. Record the local totals. Write down the Standard and Ultimate prices shown after taxes and fees. Do not rely on the U.S. reference prices when your storefront is elsewhere.
  4. Decide whether the Ultimate list matters to you. Review the vehicles, weapons, properties, clothing, shops, and customization locations; ignore the marketing label and focus on the specific items you would actually use.
  5. Choose digital or physical Standard. Select digital for immediate library delivery and preload, or physical Standard for a box. Remember that physical means code-in-box, not disc.
  6. Review bonus language. Confirm the Vintage Vice City Pack cutoff and read the GTA+ month’s account and auto-renewal terms on the exact storefront page.
  7. Save the transaction record. Keep the receipt, order number, and code packaging. Do not discard a code card until redemption succeeds.
  8. Preload and redeem correctly. Digital purchases should appear in the owning account’s library for preload when the platform enables it. For a physical copy, redeem the code on the matching account and confirm that the download starts.
  9. Reassess before buying an upgrade. If you chose Standard, wait for the Ultimate Edition Upgrade listing and its price to appear in your storefront before deciding. The existence of the upgrade is confirmed; its cost is not.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Common purchase mistakes and fixes

Mistake: treating U.S. prices as global prices

Fix: Use the U.S. figures only as a reference. Open your country’s storefront, select the correct edition, and check the final total including taxes.

Mistake: expecting a disc in the physical box

Fix: Read the product description for “download code.” If you require optical media, the listed physical Standard Edition does not meet that requirement.

Mistake: buying a PlayStation code from the wrong country

Fix: Match the retailer’s country to the account region before purchase. Contact the seller promptly if the code has not been redeemed and the listing was unclear.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Mistake: assuming the Ultimate upgrade price is known

Fix: Treat the upgrade as an option, not a guaranteed bargain. Compare its eventual storefront price with the cost of Ultimate at launch.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Mistake: letting GTA+ renew unintentionally

Fix: Disable auto-renewal in the account that redeemed the included month, while keeping the promotion’s confirmation email.

Mistake: assuming preload equals early access

Fix: Preload downloads files; it does not change the November 19 release lock.

How to think about value without inventing a per-item price

The official material gives a bundle description and two U.S. reference prices, but it does not assign a dollar value to the individual Ultimate items or provide an independent consumer study. A disciplined comparison therefore uses your own play habits.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Vehicle-focused players: Give more weight to the Grotti Cheetah, Shitzu Squalo, Dominator Buggy, Garage, safehouse vehicles, and Classic Car Collection.
  • Customization-focused players: Examine the personalized weapon variants, Vice City styles, clothing store, salon, tattoo parlor, mod shops, and Goodtime Gear.
  • Property and progression players: Focus on Ganado Retro Build, the PTT Youngin$ Compound, and the listed safehouse and workshop content.
  • Minimalist buyers: If none of those categories affects how you play, Standard leaves more of your budget available and retains the later-upgrade path.

This approach avoids claiming that one item is worth a particular amount when Rockstar has not published such a valuation. It also prevents a common mistake: paying for Ultimate because of a long list of names that you may never use.

What is confirmed, and what is still unknown

Official pages confirm the two editions, launch platforms, November 19, 2026 release, November 12 preload, U.S. reference prices, the physical code-in-box format, the digital-only Ultimate format, the later upgrade option, the Vintage Vice City Pack timing, and the account conditions attached to the PlayStation GTA+ month.

They do not establish a universal worldwide price, stock at every retailer, affiliate availability, the exact price of the Ultimate Edition Upgrade, or any performance difference between Standard and Ultimate. Those details can change by country or storefront and should be checked at the moment you order.

Sources and date context

The edition and format details come from Rockstar Games Customer Support’s Grand Theft Auto VI Platforms, Editions, and Versions, updated August 18, 2026. Bonus timing is described in Rockstar’s Grand Theft Auto VI Pre-Order Details, updated June 26, 2026. Take-Two Interactive Software, Inc. and Rockstar Games announced the preorder prices and schedule on June 24, 2026, while the U.S. PlayStation Store displays the same U.S. reference prices and its GTA+ account terms. Storefront wording can change, so review the current listing before submitting payment.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More quests from Patch Notes

  1. How to Set Up a RedM (RDR2) Server in 2026: License Key, txAdmin and server.cfg, Step by StepBlog11min
  2. Best RedM (RDR2) Server Hosting in 2026: Comparing Four Hosts on Slots, Memory and PriceBlog10min
  3. How to Host a Mindustry Server in 2026: server-release.jar, Port 6567 and the Commands That MatterBlog7min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.