Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
VGSOURCES
Get listed

Call of DutyPATCH 2026.10.18

How to preload Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 and manage its install size

By VGSources Team 10 min read

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

On PC, digital preloading for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 begins October 15, 2026, at 9:00 a.m. PT. Campaign early access starts October 16, DMZ early access starts October 20, and the worldwide launch is October 23. Activision lists 115 GB on an SSD as the PC minimum, but mandatory updates mean you should reserve substantially more free space.

Console players should use the current preload indicator in their own PlayStation, Xbox or Nintendo store: Activision confirms the supported editions, but its published material does not provide one universal console preload time or package-size figure. The safest plan is to verify your edition, leave update headroom and decide which optional content your platform lets you manage before downloading.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

When each version becomes playable

The dates apply to the access type attached to your purchase, not simply to the day a file appears on your drive.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Milestone What it means Who should use it
October 15, 2026, 9:00 a.m. PT Digital PC preload opens. Players who digitally pre-purchased on PC.
October 16, 2026 Campaign early access begins. Eligible digital preorders.
October 20, 2026 DMZ early access begins. Eligible digital preorders.
October 23, 2026 Worldwide full-game launch. All editions at their platform’s release time.

Storefront countdowns can show a different calendar date or local time from the PT schedule. Treat the platform countdown as the final local activation reference, while using Activision’s published schedule to plan your download.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Check your edition, account and hardware first

Use the account that owns the purchase

Preloading is tied to the account and storefront where you bought the digital edition. On PC, open that same launcher or store account. On a console, select the purchased edition in the platform library or store page rather than searching for a separate trial or beta listing. If the product page shows a purchase button instead of Download, Pre-load or Manage content, verify the account before changing anything else.

Know what your edition unlocks

Digital preorders are the editions associated with the campaign and DMZ early-access windows in the schedule above. Physical PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X editions provide the base game through participating retailers, but a disc does not create a universal preload rule: the console may still need to copy data and download updates after insertion. Activision also lists a 10% Vault Edition loyalty discount for eligible owners. That discount is an edition benefit and does not reduce the storage requirement.

Meet the published PC minimum

Activision’s minimum PC specification calls for Windows 10 64-bit, 8 GB of RAM, a supported processor and graphics card, TPM 2.0, Secure Boot and broadband internet. The installation must be on an SSD. A machine that can launch another recent game is not automatically compliant; check each security and operating-system requirement before committing the download.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Install or update Windows 10 64-bit before preload day.
  • Confirm that TPM 2.0 and Secure Boot are enabled in your system firmware and recognised by Windows.
  • Verify that your CPU and GPU are among the supported models in Activision’s current specification.
  • Sign in to the purchasing account and update the PC launcher before the preload window.
  • Keep the SSD connected and healthy; an external or nearly full drive can turn a valid download into an installation failure.

How to start the PC preload

  1. Open the purchasing storefront. Launch the PC store or launcher used for the digital preorder and sign in to the account that owns Modern Warfare 4.
  2. Open the game page or library entry. Select the purchased edition, not an unrelated Call of Duty hub entry. The action may be labelled Download, Pre-load or Install depending on the storefront.
  3. Choose the target SSD. Select a drive with the official minimum plus free space for updates and temporary patch files. Avoid starting on a smaller drive and moving the files mid-install unless your launcher explicitly supports that operation.
  4. Start at the published window. PC digital preloads become available October 15 at 9:00 a.m. PT. A launcher can remain open beforehand, but the install control may not activate until the release flag reaches your account and region.
  5. Let the initial verification finish. Do not shut down while the launcher is allocating space, verifying files or applying a small day-one package. The displayed download size can differ from the final space consumed because compressed files are expanded during installation.
  6. Check the installed components. When the launcher offers Manage content or a similar control, review modes and language packs before removing anything. Only deselect items the interface explicitly identifies; Activision has not published a complete universal component-removal matrix.
  7. Run the launcher and game updates. A completed preload is not a promise that no further patch will be required. Leave free space available after the game reports installed so a mandatory update can be downloaded and unpacked.

If the preload control is missing at the published time, refresh the storefront, sign out and back in, verify the purchasing account and inspect the platform’s release countdown. Those checks address the documented account and release-state causes without relying on an unsupported workaround.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

How console preloading differs

Activision confirms PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X physical editions and digital platform availability, and the supported-platform information also references Xbox Series X|S and Switch 2. The reviewed official information does not state one preload hour that applies to every console or one exact console package size.

  1. Open your console’s game library or store and select the edition you purchased.
  2. Look for Download, Pre-load, Install or Manage content. Labels vary by platform and can change as the release approaches.
  3. Read the console’s required-space figure, then reserve additional room for updates. Do not substitute the PC minimum for a console estimate.
  4. For a disc edition, insert the disc when the retailer copy arrives and allow the console to copy data and fetch any required update.
  5. Keep automatic updates enabled if you want the console to finish overnight, and check the store again if the preload indicator has not appeared.

On Switch 2, PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S, your own store’s current listing is the authoritative source for the package size and local preload state. Avoid guides that present a single console number as universal.

Understanding the 115 GB PC requirement

Activision’s official PC minimum is 115 GB on an SSD. That is a floor for the specified installation, not a comfortable allocation. Mandatory updates may need additional room to download, unpack and replace files, and the launcher can require temporary working space while it verifies the preload.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Plan free space instead of matching the number

Before clicking Install, check the drive’s available capacity in the operating system and in the launcher. If available space is only slightly above the requirement, remove or move unrelated games, recordings and installers first. A large enough SSD reduces the chance that a patch fails halfway through and leaves a repair loop.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

A 1 TB or larger NVMe SSD gives a PC more practical headroom for the base installation, updates and other games, but capacity alone does not bypass the requirement for an SSD or the need to keep free space after launch. Storage planning is especially important on a system drive shared with Windows, because updates and virtual-memory files also consume capacity.

Why the number can look different in different screens

  • The store may show a compressed download amount.
  • The launcher may reserve a larger block before downloading.
  • The installed folder can grow when compressed data is expanded.
  • A subsequent mandatory update can change the total after launch.
  • Console stores calculate package and reserved space differently from the PC specification.

For those reasons, compare like with like: use the PC specification for PC planning and your console’s own storage screen for a console installation.

Texture streaming: less local storage, more network dependence

Activision says Modern Warfare 4 uses texture streaming across all game modes to deliver high-quality visuals while reducing the amount stored locally on the hard drive. This is a storage trade-off, not a way to make the game independent of the internet.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Multiplayer, including private matches, and DMZ require a continuous internet connection. If your connection is unavailable or unstable, deleting local texture data will not make those modes playable offline. Texture streaming can also consume bandwidth while you play, so a data cap, congested Wi-Fi network or weak signal can affect the experience even after a successful preload.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Choose the trade-off that fits your setup

Priority Better approach Cost or limitation
Minimise local storage Use the game’s texture-streaming design and remove only components the platform identifies as optional. Multiplayer and DMZ still need continuous internet, and streamed data uses bandwidth.
Reduce update failures Install to a larger SSD and retain substantial free space after preload. Requires available SSD capacity; it does not change the official minimum.
Play with an unreliable connection Keep any locally installable content your platform offers and avoid assuming streaming can be disabled. Activision has not published a complete component matrix or a universal offline mode for every feature.

Managing modes, language packs and optional files

Use the platform’s Manage installation or Manage content screen when it exposes one. A mode or language pack should be removed only when the interface clearly names it and explains whether it can be restored later. The official material confirms texture streaming and the network requirement, but it does not promise that every platform lets you uninstall individual modes or that removing one item will save a fixed number of gigabytes.

A safe cleanup sequence

  1. Finish the base installation and let pending updates complete.
  2. Open the game’s manage-content screen from the library or installed-game menu.
  3. Record the items currently installed before deselecting anything.
  4. Remove one clearly identified optional item at a time, then allow the platform to verify the remaining files.
  5. Recheck free space and launch the modes you intend to use.
  6. If a required mode disappears, return to the same screen and reinstall the named package rather than deleting the entire game.

Do not manually delete folders inside the installation directory. The launcher may interpret missing files as corruption and redownload the complete package.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Troubleshooting preload and storage problems

The preload button is not visible

  • Confirm that the account is the one that purchased the digital edition.
  • Open the library entry rather than a search result for a different edition.
  • Refresh the store, restart the launcher and check for an application update.
  • Compare the local countdown with the published PT window and your time-zone conversion.
  • On console, check both the game library and the store’s purchased-items list.

If those checks do not change the listing, wait for the platform’s release state to update or contact that storefront’s support. There is no documented universal command that forces an early preload.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The installer says there is not enough space

Free more than the displayed download amount, because allocation, expansion and patch staging can each require room. Empty the operating system’s recycle bin, move another game to an external drive, remove unused language packs through the launcher and retry. Do not count on texture streaming to satisfy an installation that cannot complete its local files.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

The download is slow or repeatedly pauses

Pause other large downloads, use a wired connection where practical and prevent the PC or console from entering sleep during the transfer. If the launcher verifies files after every interruption, allow that check to finish before restarting the download. Texture streaming is a separate runtime bandwidth demand, so a completed preload does not eliminate network requirements.

An update fails after the game is installed

Check free space again, restart the launcher or console, and run its built-in file-verification or repair option if offered. Keep the installation on the SSD and avoid moving files while an update is in progress. If the platform reports a missing component, use its manage-content screen to restore that named package.

The game appears locked after preload

A preloaded file is not the same as an activated release. Verify the purchasing account, confirm that the device clock and region are correct, and follow the store’s countdown. Early-access entitlement depends on the edition and the relevant campaign or DMZ date; the full game unlocks at the worldwide launch.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Platform and edition decisions at a glance

Decision PC PlayStation 5 / Xbox Series X|S Switch 2
Preload timing Published digital window: October 15, 2026, 9:00 a.m. PT. No single universal time published; use the platform listing. Use the Nintendo store’s current preload indicator.
Storage figure 115 GB minimum on an SSD; retain update headroom. Exact package size not stated universally; use the console listing. Exact package size not stated universally; use the console listing.
Physical edition Not applicable to a PC digital preload. Physical editions are confirmed for PS5 and Xbox Series X. Use the edition and delivery method shown by the platform or retailer.
Early access Digital preorder entitlement applies on the published campaign and DMZ dates. Depends on the digital edition and the platform’s entitlement handling. Check the store listing for the edition’s entitlement.
Connectivity note Texture streaming reduces local storage; Multiplayer and DMZ require continuous internet. Use the same network caveat for those modes. Plan for the same network dependency where those modes are available.

A final preload checklist

  • Confirm the edition, purchasing account and storefront.
  • Convert the published PT schedule to your local time, then check the platform countdown.
  • On PC, verify Windows 10 64-bit, 8 GB RAM, supported CPU and GPU, TPM 2.0, Secure Boot, broadband and an SSD.
  • Reserve more than the stated PC minimum so updates and temporary files have room.
  • Use only the platform’s documented manage-content controls for modes and language packs.
  • Keep a reliable connection available: Multiplayer, including private matches, and DMZ require it even though texture streaming reduces local storage.
  • After preload finishes, leave the device online long enough to discover and apply mandatory updates.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Call of DutyModern Warfare 4PC gamingPlayStation 5preloadStorage managementSwitch 2Xbox Series X

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.