Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
VGSOURCES
Get listed

Buying GuidePATCH 2026.10.18

How to Tell Whether a PS5 Listing Includes a Disc Drive

By VGSources Team 10 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Use the exact product name, box contents and CFI model number—not a generic product photo—to determine whether a PS5 listing includes a drive. “PS5 Digital Edition” means the console is sold without one. A standard PS5 listing should identify Blu-ray playback, while a PS5 Pro listing is drive-optional unless the seller explicitly includes the drive. Sony’s detachable drive is model CFI-ZDD1.

The quickest way to read a PS5 listing

Start with the title exactly as written, then confirm the specifications or “What’s in the box” section. Treat these labels as different purchasing propositions:

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Listing wording What it establishes What you still need to verify
PS5 Digital Edition The console is sold without a disc drive. Sony describes this version as “An all-digital version of the PS5 console with no disc drive.” Whether the seller has added a separately purchased drive, and which CFI model the console uses.
PS5 console or disc edition These words alone are not enough. A drive-equipped listing should also mention Blu-ray playback or show a drive in the box contents. The specifications, CFI number, physical contents and regional bundle.
PS5 Pro The name does not guarantee a drive. Sony documents disc playback when a compatible drive is installed and sells that drive separately. Whether the seller has included CFI-ZDD1 in this particular bundle.

A stock image with a slot on the front is not proof that the pictured drive is included. Retailers and marketplaces often use one image for several configurations. The written contents list and the model label are stronger evidence than the photograph.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What “disc drive” means on a PS5

A drive-equipped PS5 can play physical PS5 and PS4 game discs. Sony’s product comparison describes that capability as “Play PS5 and PS4 games on Blu-ray discs.” The same hardware also handles movie discs supported by the console’s optical drive.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

The Digital Edition has no optical drive in the box. Games must be downloaded or streamed through the account and services supported in your region. A listing that says “digital,” “all-digital” or “Digital Edition” should therefore be budgeted as a drive-free console unless the seller separately documents an installed accessory.

“Disc edition” is common retailer shorthand rather than a universal official model name. Use it as a search clue, not as final proof. The decisive evidence is a Blu-ray or disc-drive specification tied to the exact console being sold.

How to inspect a listing step by step

  1. Copy the complete product name. Look for “Digital Edition,” “Pro,” “disc,” or “Blu-ray.” Do not rely on a shortened marketplace headline such as “PlayStation 5.” Open the full product page and any variant selector.
  2. Open the specifications and box-contents panels. Search the page for “disc drive,” “Blu-ray,” “Ultra HD Blu-ray,” “DVD,” or “What’s in the box.” A drive should appear as a physical item, not merely as a feature of the console family.
  3. Read the exclusions and bundle notes. Phrases such as “console only,” “drive sold separately,” “digital console,” “stand not included,” or “accessories shown for illustration” can change what the headline implies.
  4. Inspect every product photograph. Find the rear or underside label, the retail box label, or a close-up of the front edge. If the listing uses only promotional renders, ask for a photograph of the actual unit and its model sticker.
  5. Record the CFI model number. Sony tells owners to check the model number when setting up a console. The number can appear on the console label, packaging, specifications or seller photographs. Save the complete CFI string, not just “PS5.”
  6. Check the seller’s exact bundle. Marketplace listings may combine a console, a stand, games and a drive from different packages. Ask the seller to state in writing whether the optical drive is physically in the box or already attached.
  7. Calculate the complete configuration. For a drive-free console, include the cost of a compatible CFI-ZDD1 drive, any required stand or regional accessory, shipping and taxes before comparing it with a drive-equipped bundle.

If any of these checks conflicts—for example, the title says “disc edition” but the contents list says “Digital Edition”—pause the purchase. Request clarification or choose a listing with unambiguous documentation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Use the CFI model number as a second layer of verification

CFI numbers identify hardware groups more reliably than a seller’s marketing label. Sony’s support and accessory information identify CFI-2000, CFI-2100 and CFI-7000 groups in connection with detachable-drive configurations. The accessory listing identifies CFI-2000/2100 Digital Edition consoles and CFI-7000 Pro consoles as compatible with Sony’s drive.

CFI group mentioned by Sony How it relates to drive checking Buyer action
CFI-2000 Belongs to the newer detachable-drive setup identified by Sony support. Confirm whether the particular listing includes the drive or is the Digital Edition configuration.
CFI-2100 Listed with the Digital Edition compatibility information for Sony’s add-on drive. Check the box contents and purchase a compatible drive only if needed.
CFI-7000 Associated with PS5 Pro compatibility for the add-on drive. Assume the drive is optional until the bundle explicitly includes CFI-ZDD1.

These are model groups, not statistics about how often a drive is included. A CFI number can tell you which accessory family to investigate, but it does not by itself prove that the seller packed an optical drive. Inclusion remains a bundle question.

Ask for the full model code when possible. A cropped image that shows only “CFI” or “2000” is insufficient because the suffix and regional packaging can matter. Keep a screenshot of the model label and contents list in case the delivered bundle differs from the listing.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Why PS5 Pro listings need special care

PS5 Pro is the most common source of mistaken assumptions. The console can support disc playback when a compatible drive is installed, but Sony sells the drive separately. Therefore, “PS5 Pro” describes the console family, not a guaranteed all-in-one disc package.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Evidence that a Pro bundle includes a drive

  • The written contents list names Sony Disc Drive model CFI-ZDD1 or clearly says “disc drive included.”
  • Photographs show the drive as a separate item alongside the console and the seller confirms it is part of the shipment.
  • The invoice or SKU describes a bundle containing both the CFI-7000 console and the drive.

Evidence that a Pro bundle does not include one

  • The listing says “PS5 Pro console” but lists only the console, controller and cables.
  • It says “drive sold separately,” “digital,” or “console only.”
  • The seller refuses to identify the drive model or treats a promotional image as the only proof.

When a Pro listing is silent, do not assign a value to an imaginary drive. Compare the console-only price with the cost and availability of CFI-ZDD1 in your region, then decide whether the combined total still meets your budget.

Can you add a disc drive later?

For compatible detachable-drive models, Sony’s official add-on is Disc Drive model CFI-ZDD1. Sony lists it for CFI-2000/2100 Digital Edition consoles and CFI-7000 Pro consoles. It supports 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray, Blu-ray and DVD discs.

The drive is not simply a plug-in accessory that works without registration. Sony states: “Internet connection required to pair Disc Drive and PS5 console upon setup.” Plan to connect the console to the internet during installation. If the console will be used in a location without internet access, complete the pairing before taking it there.

Compatibility check before ordering

  1. Read the console’s CFI label and write down the complete model number.
  2. Match that number to Sony’s CFI-ZDD1 compatibility information.
  3. Confirm that the seller is offering the drive itself, not only a replacement cover or a cosmetic shell.
  4. Check that your region’s package contains the required mounting parts and instructions.
  5. After installation, connect the PS5 to the internet and complete the on-screen pairing process.

Do not buy an optical drive based solely on a similar-looking console faceplate. Physical appearance is not a compatibility specification.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Compare two PS5 listings without missing hidden differences

Put competing listings into the same worksheet. The following fields capture the differences that affect the real purchase:

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Comparison field Listing A Listing B Why it matters
Drive status Write “included,” “not included” or “not stated.” Write “included,” “not included” or “not stated.” Prevents a generic title from being treated as proof.
Product family Standard PS5, Digital Edition or Pro. Standard PS5, Digital Edition or Pro. Digital Edition excludes a built-in drive; Pro requires a contents check.
CFI model group Record the complete number shown. Record the complete number shown. Determines which detachable-drive information applies.
Physical contents Console, controller, cables, drive and other items explicitly listed. Console, controller, cables, drive and other items explicitly listed. Separates a real bundle from a stock image.
Storage capacity Use the seller’s stated capacity; if absent, write “not stated.” Use the seller’s stated capacity; if absent, write “not stated.” Capacity can differ between regional or revised bundles.
Regional bundle Record country/region, language, plug and warranty terms. Record country/region, language, plug and warranty terms. Imported packages may have different accessories or support.
Complete cost Console plus any CFI-ZDD1 drive, shipping, tax and required accessories. Console plus any CFI-ZDD1 drive, shipping, tax and required accessories. A cheaper Digital Edition may not remain cheaper after adding a drive.

“Not stated” is a useful result. It identifies a question to ask instead of turning an assumption into a purchase decision.

Common listing traps and how to resolve them

A generic “PS5” title

A marketplace may omit “Digital Edition” or “disc” from the title to fit a character limit. Read the variant name, specifications and box contents. If those sections are missing, request the CFI label and a photo of the actual front panel.

A console photo with a visible slot

The image may represent a different variant, an earlier revision or a bundle assembled from separate stock. Ask whether the photographed unit is the one shipped and whether the drive is listed as an included item.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

“Blu-ray compatible” wording without a drive line

Compatibility language can describe the product family rather than the exact package. Require a contents statement that names the drive or a clear declaration that the optical drive is installed.

A Pro listing that says “disc-ready”

“Disc-ready” indicates support for an add-on, not necessarily an included accessory. Treat the drive as absent unless CFI-ZDD1 appears in the bundle contents or the seller confirms it in writing.

Used-console listings

Ask whether the drive is physically attached, whether it reads a known game or movie disc, and whether the original cover and mounting parts are present. A seller may have removed a detachable drive before listing the console.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Open-box or refurbished stock

Compare the serial/model photograph with the invoice and inspect the returned contents policy. “Original packaging” does not prove that every original component remains inside.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Conflicting capacities or model numbers

Stop and resolve the conflict before paying. A listing that combines a capacity from one variant with a CFI number from another may have copied specifications incorrectly.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What to ask a seller before you pay

Send specific questions that can be answered with a photograph or a yes/no statement:

  • “Is a physical disc drive included in this exact shipment?”
  • “Is the console labeled Digital Edition?”
  • “What complete CFI model number is printed on the console or box?”
  • “Does the box contents list name a drive, and is its model CFI-ZDD1?”
  • “If this is a PS5 Pro, is the drive included or sold separately?”
  • “Can you photograph the model label and all items laid out beside the console?”

Save the replies. If the seller uses ambiguous language such as “it supports discs,” ask whether that means the drive is installed and included, or merely compatible as an optional purchase.

What you should receive in each scenario

Standard disc-equipped PS5

The listing should identify Blu-ray playback, and the shipped console should have the optical-drive hardware attached or included as part of the documented package. Verify the CFI label and contents before opening the box if the retailer’s return policy allows inspection.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

PS5 Digital Edition

The package should identify itself as Digital Edition and contain no built-in optical drive. If you want physical games or movies, verify CFI-ZDD1 compatibility before ordering a separate drive.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

PS5 Pro console-only package

Expect the console to be delivered without a drive unless the listing explicitly adds one. The CFI-7000 model group is the relevant compatibility reference for Sony’s add-on drive.

Bundle containing a separate drive

The listing should name the drive as a box item, identify its model where possible, and show that the total price includes it. Keep the bundle invoice because a console and drive may ship in separate cartons.

After delivery: verify before discarding the packaging

  1. Match the CFI number on the delivered console to the listing and invoice.
  2. Lay out every item and compare it with the written contents list.
  3. Check that a promised drive is physically present and attached or packaged separately.
  4. For a detachable drive, connect the console to the internet and complete Sony’s pairing setup.
  5. Test a known PS5 or PS4 game disc, then test a supported movie format if movie playback matters to you.
  6. Photograph discrepancies and contact the seller before the return window closes.

If a promised drive is missing, do not substitute a similarly shaped accessory or assume the seller will send it automatically. Report the discrepancy with the original listing screenshots, invoice and photographs of the delivered contents.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A practical decision rule

Buy immediately only when the product name, contents list and CFI evidence agree. If the name says Digital Edition, price the console as drive-free. If it says PS5 Pro, price it as drive-free unless CFI-ZDD1 is explicitly included. If it says only “PS5,” require Blu-ray wording or a documented drive before treating it as a disc-equipped model.

This method avoids the two expensive errors: paying disc-edition money for a Digital Edition, and buying an incompatible or missing accessory for a console that was advertised with an ambiguous photograph.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Buying GuideCFI-ZDD1Digital Editiondisc drivePlayStation 5PS5PS5 Pro

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.