Mononoke no Kuni is an announced action-adventure game from Lights-Interactive, published by Happinet. The current official site and Steam listing identify Steam for Windows as the confirmed platform and give 2027 as the planned release year. Steam says the game is not yet available. The listing also marks it as single-player and describes combat, yokai purification, village restoration and caring for a puppy named Musashi.
Mononoke no Kuni at a glance
The practical answer for anyone deciding whether to follow this game is straightforward: Mononoke no Kuni is a forthcoming PC game, not a released title. Steam is the only platform currently confirmed by the English official site, and the Steam page lists a planned 2027 release. The store page marks the experience as single-player.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Question | Current answer | What the source establishes |
|---|---|---|
| What is it? | An announced action-adventure game | Developed by Lights-Interactive and published by Happinet |
| Where can you play it? | Steam on Windows | Steam is the platform listed by the current official site |
| When is it coming? | 2027 | The current official site and Steam listing show 2027 as the plan |
| Is it playable now? | No | Steam states that the game is not yet available |
| Does it support solo play? | Yes | Steam’s feature list identifies single-player |
That status matters because older announcements used a different target. A Happinet announcement dated September 18, 2025 referred to Autumn 2026. The current 2027 date on the official site and Steam supersedes that earlier window, so Autumn 2026 should be treated as historical information rather than the active schedule.
Recommended Free Tools
Platforms and release timing
Steam is the only confirmed platform
The official English site currently lists Steam as the supported platform. That is the complete confirmed platform information available in the current sources. Reports or database entries that mention a Switch, PlayStation, iOS or Android version should not be treated as confirmation unless the developer or publisher makes a new announcement.
#1 Best Overall
- DISTINCTIVE AND LUXE FORMAT: Durable cloth-bound hardcover with foil stamping, full-color endsheets, and unlined/blank sketchbook pages. Measures 7 x 9 inches, 128 pages, 140 GSM woodfree FSC-certified paper, great for most art mediums, including pencils, pens, inks, pastels, markers, and more.
- LAY-FLAT BINDING: This sketchbook lays flat for ease of writing, sketching, and drawing.
- GREAT GIFT: Fans of Princess Mononoke, Hayao Miyazaki, and Studio Ghibli will love this high-quality sketchbook. A unique present for creatives, animation enthusiasts, collectors, and fans of Japanese art, stationery, and pop culture.
- BELOVED STUDIO WITH MASSIVE FAN BASE WORLDWIDE: Miyazaki is often called the “Walt Disney of Japan.” Six of Studio Ghibli’s films received Academy Award nominations in the United States. The Ghibli Museum, Mitaka is a popular destination in Tokyo, seeing about 650,000 visitors a year.
This distinction is especially important for a game that is still in development. A platform database can preserve rumors, placeholder records or outdated plans; it does not establish a launch commitment. For now, readers should plan around a Windows PC copy through Steam and nothing else.
The planned year is 2027
Both the official site, observed October 13, 2026, and the Steam store page give 2027 as the planned release year. Neither source supplies a launch month or day. “2027” is therefore a broad target, not a dated reservation, and it can still change as development continues.
Steam’s page is also marked “not yet available.” That wording means there is no normal released version to purchase and download at the time of the listing. A page can exist, and a developer can collect interest, without the game being ready for general play.
What the playtest request means
The Steam page includes an option to request access to a playtest. Requesting access does not guarantee entry, immediate access or a preview build. It allows Steam to notify a requester if the developer opens participation. A successful request would be a limited testing opportunity, not evidence that the full game has launched or that its final features are complete.
Is Mononoke no Kuni single-player?
Yes. Steam’s feature list marks Mononoke no Kuni as single-player. The available listing does not confirm cooperative play, competitive multiplayer, online features or local multiplayer. The safest description is a solo adventure built around the relationship between the protagonist Taiki and his puppy, Musashi.
Rank #2
- Features an easy-to-assemble 3D manor with a stunning Art Nouveau flourish
- Moveable standees let players point to mysterious clues in each room
- Use a real miniature Ouija board to answer questions and decode hidden truths
- Solve the mystery by selecting the correct obituary cards after asking a series of questions to the spirit beyond our realm
- Recommended for 2-5 players, ages 10 and up
Single-player support does not by itself explain whether the game requires an internet connection, supports offline play, includes difficulty saves or offers accessibility options. Those details are not established in the current listing and should not be inferred from the single-player label.
What do you do in the game?
The official story places Taiki and Musashi in a world of myths and yokai. Steam’s description combines three connected activities: action combat, purification of yokai and helping restore villages. It also specifically calls out caring for Musashi. These are announced features from the store description, not findings from an independent hands-on test.
Explore a myth-and-yokai setting
The premise follows Taiki and his puppy beyond an ordinary everyday setting into a world shaped by myths and yokai. The official site’s short tagline is: “By your side, even beyond the edge of this world. Never to part.” That line emphasizes companionship as a central part of the setup, with Musashi accompanying Taiki rather than appearing as an incidental mascot.
The available information does not publish a complete map, a list of regions, a quest count or a travel system. It is therefore more accurate to describe the setting and adventure theme than to promise an open-world structure, a fixed chapter count or a particular camera perspective.
Fight with attacks, dodges, guards and parries
The Steam listing describes combat that includes charge attacks, dodging, guarding and parrying. In practical terms, that points to an action system in which timing and positioning matter: attacks provide offense, while a dodge, guard or parry is used to respond to danger. The listing also says the combat system has no stamina gauge.
Rank #3
- CHOOSE YOUR CLANS: Play using only seven of the twelve provided clans. Which clans are used drastically changes the feel and combo potential of each game. Practically endless combinations of which clans are in play.
- MANAGE YOUR ROAD: Clans on your road are both a threat and an opportunity. Recruit them to your camps or rally them to hand for later use. Be worthy of being followed.
- FORGE ALLEGIANCES: Once ready, march out from your camps to forge allegiances. Each allegiance you claim provides a new ability to benefit from. Ensure you have the best army.
- CONSTRUCT WONDERS: Use one card from each of the seven clans to construct an ancient wonder. These earn spirit and give powerful effects. Will you reign as the most spirited champion of the ancient world?
- GAIN GLORY IN BATTLE: As time passes, each battle draws nearer. As the shields clash, gain spirit from one of your bronze, silver, or gold allegiances. Tense gameplay with plenty of moments to remember from game to game.
“No stamina gauge” is a description supplied by the publisher’s store page, not a performance claim verified through play. It indicates that the listing does not present stamina management as a combat resource. It does not establish that every action is unlimited, that enemies cannot interrupt attacks, or that the game has no other cooldowns or restrictions.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Purify yokai with an ōnusa
One of the announced activities is purifying yokai with an ōnusa, a ritual wand associated with Shinto purification. The store description presents purification as part of the adventure alongside conventional combat. The source does not specify a complete skill tree, a catalogue of yokai, elemental rules or whether purification is used only in fights or also during exploration.
For readers comparing the game with a conventional action title, the useful takeaway is that dealing with supernatural enemies is not described solely as defeating them with weapon attacks. The listing gives purification its own named role in the gameplay loop.
Help restore villages
Village restoration is another announced pillar. The store description says players help restore villages, suggesting that progress includes work beyond individual battles. However, the current sources do not define the restoration system’s resources, building list, upgrade tree or whether villagers provide a relationship mechanic. Treat it as a stated objective, not as confirmation of a full city-builder subsystem.
Care for Musashi
Players are also expected to care for Musashi, Taiki’s puppy. This companion element gives the adventure a domestic or relationship-focused activity in addition to exploration and combat. No source currently explains the exact care actions, whether Musashi has statistics, or whether care changes the story. The confirmed point is simply that looking after the puppy is part of the described experience.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Rank #4
- LUXE FORMAT NOTEBOOK: Distinctive and durable cloth-bound hardcover with foil stamping, full-color endsheets, and lined pages. Measures 6 x 8 inches, 128 pages, 140 GSM woodfree FSC-certified paper, and is nicely sized for all types of work and for carrying along in a backpack or tote.
- LAY-FLAT BINDING: This notebook lays flat for ease of writing.
- GREAT GIFT: Part of an officially licensed line with Japanese animation giant Studio Ghibli, this notebook makes a great gift or self-purchase for writers, animation enthusiasts, collectors, and fans of Japanese art, stationery, and pop culture.
- BELOVED STUDIO WITH MASSIVE FAN BASE WORLDWIDE: The Ghibli Museum, Mitaka and Ghibli Park are popular destinations in Japan. The studio won the Academy Award for Best Animated Feature for Spirited Away and The Boy and the Heron and earned Academy Award nominations for Howl’s Moving Castle, The Wind Rises, The Tale of The Princess Kaguya, When Marnie Was There, and The Red Turtle.
- PERFECT FOR: Studio Ghibli and animation fans; collectors and journalers; anyone who loves cute Japanese art, stationery, and pop culture; pairing with other Princess Mononoke merchandise, including Princess Mononoke Journal and Sketchbook, or Studio Ghibli 100 Collectible Postcards Volumes 1 and 2, to create an outstanding gift.
Difficulty and the casual mode
Steam says a casual mode is available. The store description phrases its purpose this way: “A casual mode is also available, so you can enjoy the story and your adventure with Musashi at your own pace.” That makes the mode relevant to players who want the narrative and setting without committing to the most demanding combat challenge.
The listing does not publish a difficulty comparison, damage multipliers, enemy behavior changes or an explanation of whether casual mode can be selected after starting a save. Do not assume that it is an invincibility setting, a separate story route or a permanent choice. Those implementation details remain unannounced.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Windows PC requirements
Steam provides the following requirements for the Windows version. They are listing specifications, not the result of an independent benchmark. Meeting the minimum does not guarantee a particular frame rate, resolution or graphics preset.
| Component | Minimum | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| Operating system | Windows 10 | Not separately stated; the listing specifies Windows 10 |
| Processor | Intel Core i5-8400 | Intel Core i7-7700 |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 with 4 GB | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 with 6 GB |
| Storage | 4 GB | 4 GB |
The storage figure is the same in both rows: 4 GB. The listing does not state memory (RAM), DirectX version, resolution targets, ray-tracing support, controller requirements or whether a solid-state drive is recommended. Those omissions mean a buyer should not infer additional specifications from the processor and graphics-card entries alone.
Because the game is not yet available, these requirements may change before launch. Check the live Steam page again when a release date and final build are announced.
Best Value
- ENHANCE YOUR FINAL GIRL EXPERIENCE: Bring your Final Girl gameplay to life with the A Demon in the Shadows Miniatures box. HIGH-QUALITY MINIATURES: All miniatures are expertly crafted with incredible detail, ensuring that they not only look fantastic on your game board but also feel immersive during your gameplay. IMPORTANT REQUIREMENT: This is not a stand-alone game. To play, you will need the Core Box and the A Demon in the Shadows feature film.
Supported languages and audio
Steam lists 18 supported languages and separates availability into interface, full audio and subtitles. Japanese is the only language marked for all three categories, including full audio. The other languages in the table are marked for interface and subtitles but not full audio.
| Language information | What is confirmed |
|---|---|
| Total languages on Steam | 18 |
| Full audio | Japanese is marked as supported |
| Interface and subtitles | The other listed languages are marked in these categories |
| Official-site summary | The official site gives a general list of 17; use Steam’s detailed table for the current exact count |
Language support can still be revised before release. The distinction between interface, subtitles and full audio is important: a language appearing in the total does not mean that it has dubbed voices. Japanese is the only full-audio option identified in the current Steam table.
Price, editions and physical products
No published game price is available yet. The official site says MSRP is coming soon, while Steam says the game is not yet available. There is also no confirmed boxed edition, printed guide, official merchandise item or game-specific accessory in the current official and Steam information.
That means readers should not treat a physical copy, collectible, manual or special controller as an announced product. A future physical edition or merchandise line is possible in the broad sense, but no specific item or availability has been confirmed by the sources currently describing the game.
What is confirmed, and what is still unknown?
| Confirmed now | Not established by the current listings |
|---|---|
| Steam is the listed platform | Switch, PlayStation, iOS or Android versions |
| Planned release year: 2027 | Exact launch date or month |
| Single-player feature | Co-op, multiplayer or online modes |
| Combat with charge attacks, dodges, guards and parries | Detailed weapon, skill or enemy systems |
| No stamina gauge, according to the store description | Frame-rate targets, balance and hands-on performance |
| Yokai purification with an ōnusa | Complete yokai list and purification rules |
| Village restoration and care for Musashi | Specific restoration upgrades or puppy-care mechanics |
| Casual mode | Exact difficulty changes and save-switching rules |
Keeping these categories separate prevents the most common misunderstanding around an unreleased game: a feature mentioned in a store description is an announced plan, while an unlisted feature is not automatically present or absent.
Should you wishlist or request the playtest?
Wishlist for release updates
Wishlisting the Steam page is the practical way to follow changes to the planned date, system requirements and availability. It does not convert the announced 2027 window into a guarantee, but it keeps the game attached to your Steam account for future notices.
Request playtest access only if you accept uncertainty
The playtest request is appropriate for readers who want to be considered for limited testing and understand that participation may never open for their account. A request is not a preorder, a purchase or a promise of immediate access. If you need a finished story, finalized language support or stable performance, wait for the full release information instead.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Bottom line for prospective players
Mononoke no Kuni is currently a 2027 Steam game for Windows, presented as a single-player action-adventure about Taiki and Musashi. Its announced loop combines timing-based combat, yokai purification, village restoration and caring for the puppy companion, with a casual mode for a less demanding approach. The game is not available yet, the old Autumn 2026 target has been replaced by 2027, and no console version, price or physical product has been confirmed.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




