Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Muramasa: Revenant Blades is announced for Windows PC through Steam, but it is not out yet. As of October 9, 2026, the Steam listing says the game is “not yet available” and gives a 2027 release year. The PlayStation Blog, dated September 10, 2026, gives February 4, 2027 as the launch date. No one can yet play a released PC version, so this article covers what has been announced and what is still unknown, not hands-on impressions of PC performance.
Where the game stands on each platform
Vanillaware’s 2D action RPG has been announced for four platforms. The sources reviewed do not give the same level of detail for each one, so the table below separates what is stated from what is not.
| Platform | Announced status | Release date given | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Windows PC (Steam) | Listed on Steam; “not yet available” at the time of checking | 2027 (Steam listing); PlayStation Blog gives February 4, 2027 as the launch date | Steam listing; PlayStation Blog (September 10, 2026) |
| PlayStation 5 | Announced | February 4, 2027 (PlayStation Blog); the platform-specific date is not separately stated | PlayStation Blog (September 10, 2026) |
| Nintendo Switch 2 | Announced | Not stated in the sources reviewed | Official Marvelous game website |
| Nintendo Switch | Announced; physical standard and limited editions listed | Not stated in the sources reviewed | Official Marvelous game website |
Release timing is the most time-sensitive part of this story. Publishers can move dates, and the Steam page’s 2027 year is less precise than the February 4 date from PlayStation Blog. Check the Steam store page and the official site before making a purchase decision.
What the PC version is announced to include
The Steam listing describes the release as combining Muramasa: Rebirth with the Genroku Legends add-on. Official publisher material also refers to variable gameplay styles and new modes. These are announced features. Nothing in the sources reviewed shows how they play on PC.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Full ROM on Game Card
- The Ultimate Muramasa - A brand-new localization, including English voiceover, provides immersion like never before. Plus, all six stories are available from the start, confirming this as the complete version of this unforgettable tale.
- Breathtaking Beauty - Muramasa’s fantastical world has been meticulously upgraded to gorgeous 4K, bringing characters, maps, and animations to vibrant life with stunning clarity.
- Fluid and Frenetic Gameplay - The side-scrolling, hack-and-slash action has never been better with updated controls, over 100 swords to forge, and dozens of skills to upgrade, master, and customize.
- Reforged and Refined - Variable gameplay styles and new modes give you more ways to play this classic adventure, and to appreciate the game’s magnificent art and animations from a fresh perspective.
Six protagonists with distinct fighting styles
The Steam listing says the game has six protagonists, each with a unique fighting style. Steam is the only source that describes the roster this way, so treat the character count and style differences as the developer-side description until hands-on coverage is available.
Expanded release and classic mode
PlayStation Blog says a classic mode features the PlayStation Vita versions of Muramasa: The Demon Blade and Genroku Legends. This means the release offers two routes: the newer expanded game and a classic option built on the earlier Vita versions. The sources do not establish whether the classic mode is a simple port or a rebuilt version, so avoid assuming either one.
Rank #2
Variable styles and new modes
Marvelous’ announcement highlights variable gameplay styles and new modes. The announcement does not specify what those modes are, how many there are, or whether they are available in the classic option. Those details are not stated in the sources reviewed.
Resolution and visuals: what is claimed
The Steam listing advertises support for up to 4K resolution. Marvelous’ official game website describes 4K as available on supported platforms. The website also uses promotional wording:
Rank #3
- The Revenant Society is an RPG where you must solve the mystery of your own demise before the next time loop starts or be doomed to repeat it. The afterlife is only the beginning...
- The Deluxe set comes with the core book, 6 playbooks, Loop Board, Map of Intrigue, a double-sided map for NYC and Paris, Fateweaver screen, Memory cards, 6 art deco dice, 4 Watcher minis, a Team miniature and more!
- Like other PbtA games, you roll 2D6 for your Moves - there are group Moves and character specific ones, that have success, partial success or miss.
- It’s up to the Fate Weaver (Game Master) to determine the story in the form of gained/lost information, damage to your already fragile corpse, or adding Watchers to the board.
- Beware! Danger awaits in the form of Watchers, which will try to prevent you from unlocking memories and succeeding.
“Step into a stunning 4K world steeped in Japanese myth and culture, and take up your blade for refined 2D action and an elevated Muramasa experience.”
These are capability statements from the publisher and storefront. They do not establish frame rate, performance, or image quality on any specific PC configuration, and no system requirements have been published yet. The Steam listing shows the additional system requirements as TBA.
Rank #4
- The Revenant Society: The Endless Loop Beneath the City Core Book is a tabletop roleplaying game in which you try to uncover your own death. Inspired by the Powered by the Apocalypse system.
- Like other PbtA games, you roll 2D6 for your Moves - there are group Moves and character specific ones, that have success, partial success or miss.
- It’s up to the Fate Weaver (Game Master) to determine the story in the form of gained/lost information, damage to your already fragile corpse, or adding Watchers to the board.
- Progressively memories will help create the NPC's that give the players clues as to what happened to them.
- Danger awaits in the form of Watchers, which will try to prevent you from unlocking memories and succeeding.
Editions, retailers and what is not confirmed for PC
The official website lists physical standard and limited editions for Nintendo Switch. Retailers named on that site are Marvelous USA Store, Best Buy, Amazon, GameStop, Target and Walmart. The sources do not establish a physical PC edition. For PC, the storefront confirmed in the sources is Steam, and the contents of any PC edition are not separately listed.
What to check before you buy or pre-order
- Confirm the release date on the Steam store page, since it currently gives only the year 2027.
- Check the PlayStation Blog and the official website for any change to the February 4, 2027 launch date.
- Wait for published PC system requirements before judging whether your hardware meets them.
- Check whether a physical PC edition exists before assuming one is available. The sources reviewed list physical editions only for Nintendo Switch.
- Look for hands-on coverage of the expanded release and the classic mode before deciding which version suits you.
Verdict: a PC release to watch, not one to judge yet
Muramasa: Revenant Blades is a confirmed PC title on Steam, but it has no released version to test. The announced combination of Rebirth and Genroku Legends, the classic Vita-based mode, six protagonists and variable styles give enough to follow. Performance, controls and the value of each mode on PC can only be judged once the game is out and reviewed.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteSources: Steam store listing for Muramasa: Revenant Blades; PlayStation Blog post dated September 10, 2026; official Marvelous game website; Marvelous Games announcement.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




