Yes. Portainer is still available free in 2026, but there are two different free routes. Community Edition (CE) is open source, needs no license key, and has no Portainer licensing dependency. Business Edition (BE) is free forever for up to three nodes, but it requires you to request and install a license key. Paid licensing applies when you exceed the free BE allowance or need a commercial plan with business support.
Antihost offers VPS plans with one-click Docker, NVMe storage and a 14-day free trial.
Portainer counts nodes, not user seats. A node can be a physical server, virtual machine, Raspberry Pi, desktop, laptop, industrial computer, or embedded device running or managed by Portainer. Because plan terms and prices can change, check Portainer’s live pricing page before committing to a deployment.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Recommended Free Tools
What “free” means in Portainer’s 2026 pricing
Portainer has two editions with no-cost paths, and they solve slightly different problems:
- Community Edition (CE): free and open source under the zlib licence. It does not require a licence key, does not depend on Portainer’s licensing infrastructure, and is intended for users who want the open-source edition.
- Business Edition (BE): free for up to three nodes with a valid free licence key. BE includes commercial features, but the key is still part of the setup.
Neil Cresswell of Portainer described the BE offer on January 5, 2026, as “free forever for up to 3 nodes.” That is a perpetual allowance rather than a short trial, provided your deployment remains within the three-node limit and the licence remains valid under the programme’s terms.
#1 Best Overall
- Includes Raspberry Pi 5 with 2.4Ghz 64-bit quad-core CPU (8GB RAM)
- Includes 128GB Micro SD Card pre-loaded with 64-bit Raspberry Pi OS, USB MicroSD Card Reader
- CanaKit Turbine Black Case for the Raspberry Pi 5
- CanaKit Low Noise Bearing System Fan
- Mega Heat Sink - Black Anodized
Portainer also advertises an extended enterprise trial covering up to 15 nodes for 45 days. A trial is temporary; it should not be confused with CE or the permanent three-node BE allowance.
Portainer CE: the no-key, open-source option
What CE includes
CE is the clearest answer to “Is Portainer really free?” It is open source, uses the zlib licence, and requires no licence key. Portainer also states that CE has no telemetry and no dependency on its licensing infrastructure. You can therefore run CE without registering a commercial subscription or maintaining a free BE key.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The trade-off is edition scope. CE is the community edition, so features and support differ from BE. Portainer’s paid plans provide business support, while CE users rely on community support channels. If your priority is avoiding licence administration and keeping the software open source, CE is the straightforward choice.
Who should choose CE?
- Home-lab owners who want a no-cost management interface and do not need BE-only capabilities.
- Individual users who prefer open-source software and do not want a licence key.
- Teams that can use community support and are comfortable evaluating CE’s feature set for their own workloads.
“Free” does not mean every edition has identical features. Check the current edition documentation when a specific capability, integration, or support entitlement is a requirement.
Rank #2
- Includes Raspberry Pi 5 16GB with 2.4Ghz 64-bit quad-core CPU (16GB RAM)
- Includes 128GB Micro SD Card pre-loaded with 64-bit Raspberry Pi OS, USB MicroSD Card Reader
- CanaKit Turbine Black Case for the Raspberry Pi 5
- CanaKit Low Noise Bearing System Fan
- Mega Heat Sink - Black Anodized
Portainer BE free for three nodes
How the three-node programme works
BE’s free allowance covers up to three nodes indefinitely according to Portainer’s January 2026 statement. Unlike CE, BE uses a licence key: you request the key, apply it in Portainer, and keep the managed environment within the allowed node count.
This route is useful when you need BE’s commercial feature set but have a small deployment. It is also suitable for a homelab with one, two, or three managed nodes. The allowance is measured in nodes, not in the number of people who sign in or the number of containers running on each node.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Is BE free for a homelab?
Yes, a homelab with no more than three nodes can use the free BE programme. The key requirement is the node limit and compliance with the programme’s terms. If your use is commercial, review the current eligibility language rather than assuming that a personal homelab allowance automatically covers a business deployment.
How Portainer counts nodes
Portainer defines a node as a physical server, virtual machine, Raspberry Pi, desktop, laptop, industrial computer, or embedded device capable of running containers that is running Portainer Server or managed by it.
Rank #3
- CanaKit Raspberry Pi 5 Essentials Starter Kit
Examples that count
- A virtual machine running Portainer Server counts as one node.
- A physical server managed by Portainer counts as one node.
- A Raspberry Pi used as a container host counts as one node.
- A desktop or laptop running a managed container environment counts as one node.
- An embedded or industrial computer capable of running containers can count as one node.
Swarm and Kubernetes details
In Docker Swarm, agents on each server count toward the node total. In Kubernetes, cluster nodes count. A Portainer Server that also runs an agent counts as one node, not two. Before selecting a plan, map every server, VM, and cluster member that Portainer will run on or manage.
Portainer’s pricing page states that a single Portainer licence covers all orchestrators and runtimes across the licensed nodes. There is no additional charge for using Docker, Swarm, and Kubernetes together on those licensed nodes. This does not remove the node limit: adding another host or cluster member can still move you into a different plan.
2026 paid Portainer plans
The following figures are the current displayed prices identified for 2026. They are annual prices, and Portainer can change plan details, so verify the live page before purchase.
| Plan | Displayed price | Node options | Support | CPU limit per node | Typical positioning |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $1,045 per year | 5, 10, or 15 nodes | Community support | Up to 16 vCPUs | Small paid deployments |
| Scale | $2,095 per year | 5 to 25 nodes | Next-business-day support | Up to 24 vCPUs | Larger deployments needing a stronger service level |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing | Not stated on the 2026 pricing page | Business-critical service level; exact terms are custom | Not stated | Business-critical deployments |
The paid plans are licensed by node rather than by user. A plan’s selectable node quantity is therefore the first sizing decision; user-seat counts do not determine the licence price.
Rank #4
- All-in-One Complete Kit: This SANOOV RPi 5 bundle comes with Raspberry Pi 5 4GB RAM single board, active cooler, durable ABS case and screwdriver. No extra parts needed, ready to use right out of the box for beginners and hobbyists
- Powerful Single Board Computer: Equipped with 4GB RAM and high-performance processor, delivers fast running speed for 4K playback, AI projects, programming and daily computing tasks. SANOOV for raspberry pi 5 4GB is equipped with broadcom 64 quad-core Arm Cortex A76 processor with gigabit ethernet and upgraded with IEEE 802.11ac Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 5.0 dual-band 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz and Power Over Ethernet (POE). Upgrading delivers 2-3 x speed vs Pi 4, redefining the experience
- Efficient Active Cooler: Effectively lowers operating temperature and prevents performance throttling. Runs quietly even under long-time heavy load, ensures stable operation all day long. SANOOV RPi 5 4GB kit offer an active cooler, which combines an aluminium heatsink with a high-performance PWM fan. Active cooler is fully compatible with the Pi OS, which can effectively reduce the temperature of RPi5 and ensure its good performance during long-term high load operation
- Sturdy ABS Protective Case: Well-fitted for Raspberry Pi 5 board, can be secured with 4 screws to effectively protect the Pi 5 motherboard from damage, reserves full access to all ports and buttons. SANOOV uses ABS material to produce the case, which has a softer texture and feel. Meanwhile, SANOOV case adopts a layered design for easy disassembly and installation. (Tip: The Case cannot install M.2 HAT Add on Board and Solid State Drive!)
- Wide Application & Full Compatibility: Seamlessly compatible with official OS and mainstream peripheral accessories for Raspberry Pi 5. Whether you are a beginner, student, electronics hobbyist or professional developer, this all-in-one kit meets your diverse needs. It excels in IoT projects, robotics design, retro gaming devices, home media servers and other DIY creations. Backed by a large global community, you can easily find guides, technical support and shared projects online
Home & Student pricing and non-commercial limits
Portainer’s licensing FAQ lists a separate Home & Student option at $149 per year for up to 15 nodes. The same FAQ describes it as non-commercial and includes community support. The figure is documented in the 2026 FAQ, but pricing and eligibility are volatile, so confirm that the offer is still displayed when you apply.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteHome & Student is not a substitute for a commercial licence. A company, paid service, or other commercial deployment should not rely on this non-commercial plan. If you need more than three nodes for personal, non-commercial use, this plan may be relevant; if you need business use, evaluate the paid Business plans instead.
What happens when a free licence expires?
Three nodes or fewer
Portainer’s renewal guidance says users with three or fewer nodes can move to the three-node-free programme. That keeps a small deployment on the permanent free BE path, subject to the current programme’s terms and the need to apply its licence key.
More than three nodes
Renewed five-node-free licences are limited to non-commercial users who still need more than three nodes. If you qualify and genuinely require more than three nodes, the renewal FAQ says you may apply for another five-node licence. This is not a general commercial-free tier.
Best Value
- 【What you Get】You will get 1*Pi 5 8GB Single Board,1*RasTech Case,1*Active Cooler,1*Screwdriver,1*Installation instructions,12-month free warranty, lifetime service, 24-hour prompt and friendly response.
- 【More Connectors】There are two USB 3.0 ports(5Gbps simultaneously) and two USB 2.0 ports, which triple total bandwidth ,support any combination of up to two cameras or displays. Peak SD card performance is doubled through support for the SDR104 high-speed mode. It provides a smooth desktop experience for you. Offer Gigabit Ethernet and a PCIe interface, along with dual-band Wi-Fi and Bluetooth 5.0/BLE wireless capability. The RasTech Pi 5 Kit use the new 27W 5.1V 5A USB-C power connector.
- 【 Support Dual 4Kp60 Display 】Each of the two microHDMI sockets can control a 4K display at 60 Hertz, now support HDR, offering super HD video for media streaming projects. RPi 5 is the first RPi model that comes with a PCI Express port (PCIe 2.0 x1 with 500 MB/s) to attach SSDs (requires separate M.2 HAT).
- 【 Excellent Chips And Applications】Pi 5 is a full-size Pi computer using silicon built in-house at Pi. The RP1 “southbridge” provides the bulk of the I/O capabilities for Pi 5. Pi 5 is more friendly and convenient in the development of Internet of Things, Web development, machine identification, automatic control and other electronic equipment applications and network.
- 【 Faster CPU, Better GPU 】 Pi 5 features a Broadcom BCM2712 64-bit quad-core Arm Cortex-A76 processor running at 2.4GHz, it delivers a 2–3× increase in CPU performance relative to RaspberryPi 4. The 800MHz VideoCore VII GPU is compatible to OpenGL ES 3.1 and Vulkan 1.2, substantial uplift in graphics performance. Pi 5 Offers lightning-fast CPU speed, a PCI Express interface, a Real Time Clock (RTC) and a power button and runs significantly cooler than Pi 4.
Commercial deployments
Commercial users should plan for a paid Business licence once the free allowance no longer applies. Do not treat an expired key as permission to continue beyond the allowed node count; review the current renewal instructions and licensing terms before the key expires.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsCE versus BE: which edition fits?
| Question | Community Edition | Business Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Open-source requirement | Open source under the zlib licence | Commercial edition; exact feature terms depend on the plan |
| Licence key | Not required | Required, including for the free three-node allowance |
| Free node count | No licence-key allowance; deployment scope follows CE’s available use and documentation | Up to three nodes free forever under the January 2026 programme statement |
| Commercial use | Check CE’s licence and organisational requirements | Paid licensing applies when free eligibility or node limits no longer cover the deployment |
| Feature set | Community-edition features | Commercial features, subject to the applicable plan |
| Support | Community support | Free users use community channels; paid plans add business support, with stronger service levels on Scale and Enterprise |
Choose CE when open-source status and no key matter most. Choose free BE when you need BE features and can stay at three nodes. Choose a paid plan when your organisation, node count, support requirements, or deployment scale exceeds the free programmes.
A practical way to calculate your node count
- List every host Portainer will manage. Include physical servers, VMs, single-board computers, desktops, laptops, and embedded systems.
- Draw the orchestration topology. For Swarm, count each server with an agent. For Kubernetes, count each cluster node.
- Check the Portainer Server host. If it also runs an agent, count that machine once as one node.
- Separate current and planned hosts. A three-node free BE deployment can become a four-node deployment when you add a test VM or a new cluster member.
- Match the total to the plan. Use the three-node BE programme, investigate a non-commercial Home & Student option where eligible, or select a paid node tier.
This inventory prevents a common budgeting error: counting only the machine where the Portainer interface is installed and overlooking the agents or cluster members it manages.
Support and operational trade-offs
Free CE users, free-node BE users, and Home & Student users use community support channels. Paid Business customers receive business support. Scale includes next-business-day support, while Enterprise provides a business-critical service level with custom terms. Starter is displayed with community support despite being a paid plan.
Support level can matter more than the software fee in production. A small personal lab may be comfortable with community assistance; a business running customer-facing services may need a paid plan because response expectations and commercial eligibility are part of the decision.
Quick Recap
Common pricing mistakes to avoid
- Confusing CE with free BE: CE needs no key; BE’s free programme does.
- Counting users instead of nodes: Portainer’s pricing is node-based, not seat-based.
- Ignoring cluster members: Swarm servers and Kubernetes nodes count individually.
- Treating a trial as permanent: The 15-node offer lasts 45 days.
- Using non-commercial terms for business: Home & Student and renewed five-node-free terms have non-commercial restrictions.
- Assuming old prices are permanent: The $149 Home & Student figure and paid-plan prices should be rechecked on the live pages.
- Forgetting CPU limits: Starter is displayed for nodes up to 16 vCPUs, while Scale is displayed for nodes up to 24 vCPUs.
Bottom-line decision guide
- One to three nodes, no key desired: Use CE.
- One to three nodes, BE features desired: Request the free BE key.
- Four to 15 nodes, personal and non-commercial: Check the current Home & Student offer and eligibility.
- More than three nodes, non-commercial, and still eligible for renewal: Review the five-node-free renewal process.
- Commercial or business-critical deployment: Size a paid Business plan by node count and support needs.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




