Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →There is no single best weapon for every fight in Red Dead Redemption 2. The June 18, 2024-updated IGN guide recommends the Schofield Revolver or Volcanic Pistol for sidearms, the Lancaster Repeater, the Semi-Auto Shotgun, and the Bolt-Action or Rolling Block Rifle. The right pick depends on whether you value firing speed, damage, range, or when the story lets you obtain it. These are in-game recommendations for Red Dead Redemption 2, not real-world firearm advice.
Which pistol is best in RDR2?
The Schofield Revolver is the faster-firing choice in this guide’s comparison; the Volcanic Pistol hits harder and carries more rounds. Both have the same listed range and accuracy, so the decision is mainly between rate of fire and damage/capacity. The figures below are the guide’s in-game stat values, not independent test results.
| Weapon | Damage | Range | Fire rate | Reload | Accuracy | Capacity | Listed in-game price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schofield Revolver | 1.8/4 | 2/4 | 3.8/4 | 2.6/4 | 2.8/4 | 6 | $84 |
| Volcanic Pistol | 2.2/4 | 2/4 | 2/4 | 2.4/4 | 2.8/4 | 8 | $150 |
Schofield Revolver: quicker follow-up shots
Choose the Schofield if its stronger firing-rate rating matters more to you than the Volcanic’s extra damage and two additional rounds. The guide describes it as a faster-firing, higher-firepower revolver, with a longer reload as its trade-off. Gunsmiths sell it after “Blessed are the Meek?” in Chapter 2; it can also be obtained during a doctor robbery in Valentine.
Volcanic Pistol: more damage and capacity
The Volcanic is the damage-oriented option among these two: it has the higher damage rating and an eight-round capacity, but a lower fire-rate rating. The guide says it is sold at the Valentine Gunsmith.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What is the best repeater?
Lancaster Repeater
The guide’s repeater pick is the Lancaster, described as rapid-firing. Its listed values are damage 2.2/4, range 2.6/4, fire rate 2.4/4, reload 2.8/4, accuracy 3/4, capacity 7, and price $135. The guide notes that it deals less damage and reloads more slowly than the Carbine, so its recommendation is not a claim that it wins every comparison.
It becomes available for purchase from any gunsmith after “An American Pastoral Scene” in Chapter 2.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What is the best shotgun?
Semi-Auto Shotgun
The Semi-Auto Shotgun is the guide’s shotgun choice, favoring a faster firing rhythm over the precision and reach of a rifle. Its listed ratings are damage 2.2/4, range 1.4/4, fire rate 2.2/4, reload 2.2/4, and accuracy 1.6/4; the guide lists a price of $225. It does not state a capacity value.
Gunsmiths sell it after “A Fine Night of Debauchery” in Chapter 4.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteRank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Which rifle should you use?
The guide identifies two rifle picks for different priorities: the Bolt-Action for longer-range combat involving multiple enemies, and the Rolling Block when maximum listed damage and range matter more than speed. Their stats make the trade-off clear.
| Weapon | Damage | Range | Fire rate | Reload | Accuracy | Capacity | Listed in-game price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bolt-Action Rifle | 2.8/4 | 3/4 | 1.6/4 | 2.2/4 | 3.2/4 | 5 | $180 |
| Rolling Block Rifle | 3.4/4 | 3.2/4 | 1.2/4 | 1.4/4 | 3.4/4 | not stated (IGN guide) | $187 |
Bolt-Action Rifle: a more flexible long-range pick
With five shots and higher fire-rate and reload ratings than the Rolling Block, the Bolt-Action is the less sluggish choice for engaging multiple enemies at range. Complete “Preaching Forgiveness as He Went” in Chapter 3 to unlock it.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Rolling Block Rifle: damage and range over speed
The Rolling Block has the highest damage and range values among the two rifles listed, but also the lowest fire-rate and reload ratings. The guide characterizes it as one of the slowest rifles to fire and reload. Gunsmiths sell it after “Pouring Forth Oil” in Chapter 2.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How soon can you get the recommended weapons?
Story progress determines when some picks become available; the guide also notes a robbery route for the Schofield. Here are the acquisition points it records:
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
| Weapon | Availability described by the guide |
|---|---|
| Schofield Revolver | Gunsmiths after “Blessed are the Meek?” in Chapter 2; alternatively, during a Valentine doctor robbery. |
| Volcanic Pistol | Sold at the Valentine Gunsmith; no mission unlock is specified. |
| Lancaster Repeater | Any gunsmith after “An American Pastoral Scene” in Chapter 2. |
| Rolling Block Rifle | Gunsmiths after “Pouring Forth Oil” in Chapter 2. |
| Bolt-Action Rifle | Unlocked by completing “Preaching Forgiveness as He Went” in Chapter 3. |
| Semi-Auto Shotgun | Gunsmiths after “A Fine Night of Debauchery” in Chapter 4. |
| Hatchets | Fences after “Dear Uncle Tacitus” in Chapter 5. |
The IGN guide says the furthest story point needed to obtain all of its listed picks is the end of Chapter 5. That is the guide’s stated acquisition summary, not an independently verified gameplay result.
How to choose between them
- For a sidearm: favor the Schofield’s firing speed or the Volcanic’s damage and capacity.
- For a repeater: the Lancaster is the guide’s pick, with a seven-round capacity and a balanced set of listed ratings.
- For a shotgun: the Semi-Auto is the recommended option, but its listed range and accuracy are low compared with the rifles.
- For a rifle: choose the Bolt-Action for a five-shot, faster-handling option, or the Rolling Block for higher listed damage and range.
- For melee or thrown options: the guide also names the Hatchet and Dynamite, respectively; the detailed comparisons here concern the firearm picks.
The weapon rankings and stat figures above are attributed to the IGN guide, whose reported update date is June 18, 2024. They should be read as that guide’s dated recommendations rather than a live, independently tested meta ranking.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




