Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsHallowed Concepts is a paid expansion for Risk of Rain 2, and the base game is required to play it. It launched on October 8, 2026, for PC, PlayStation 5, and Xbox Series X|S, according to the publisher. Its new stages, enemies, items, and other run content can appear in a co-op lobby when one player owns the expansion, but players who do not own it cannot choose its new survivors or permanently unlock its content. Steam’s listing and 2K’s October 8 patch notes establish the current details.
What does Hallowed Concepts add?
The expansion adds two survivors, new environments, bosses, enemies, trials, items, interactables, a curio called the N’Tomat, and music. In its October 8, 2026 patch notes, 2K specifies 14 Hexes and 11 Hallowed Items.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Risk of Rain 2 - Xbox One | $17.94 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Risk Of Rain 2 (PS4) | $31.69 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Risk of Rain 2 Standard - Nintendo Switch [Digital Code] | $24.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Risk of Rain 2 Standard - [Xbox One Digital Code] | $29.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
Renegade Game Studios Risk 2210 A.D. Board Game - Sci-Fi Strategy Game | $57.47 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
New survivors
The two additions are Enforcer and Acolyte. 2K says Enforcer is unlocked by default, while Acolyte is unlockable.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minutePC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11New run content
Hallowed Concepts also brings new stages and trials, enemies, bosses, interactables, and collectible items. These are expansion features; they should not be confused with every change shipped in the same-day game update.
#1 Best Overall
- Co-op Roguelike action
- Constant battles and incredible bosses
- Old favorites return and undiscovered challenges await
How does it fit with the base game?
Hallowed Concepts is DLC, not a standalone game. Steam lists Risk of Rain 2 as a requirement. The listing does not identify the other expansions as prerequisites, so there is no stated requirement to own them before adding Hallowed Concepts.
The October 8, 2026 release update also includes changes to the base game and earlier DLC. Those simultaneous update changes are not all exclusive to Hallowed Concepts: 2K’s patch notes distinguish expansion content from other update material. For the expansion’s specific additions, use the features listed under Hallowed Concepts rather than treating the full patch as paid DLC.
Rank #2
- Procedurally-generated planets with terrain that can be reshaped under your feet as though it were made of clay. Survive on and explore carefully crafted planets that can be entirely deformed and traversed.
- Extract resources, trade or craft new tools, vehicles, and modules. Snap together components and objects to build bases, rovers, and spaceships to travel to new planets and moons.
- Play with friends in 4 player online drop-in/drop-out co-op
- Discover and uncover the mysteries of the solar system.
Does everyone in a co-op lobby need to own it?
No. Steam says one player owning Hallowed Concepts enables its monsters, levels, and items to appear for the whole lobby. Ownership still matters for individual access: a player without the expansion cannot select Enforcer or Acolyte, or permanently unlock the new items, logbooks, or other expansion content. In short, shared run content and personal survivor selection and unlocks follow different rules.
Which platforms is Hallowed Concepts available on?
2K lists PC, PlayStation 5, and Xbox Series X|S for the October 8, 2026 launch. The PlayStation Store has a PS5 product listing. The sources confirm these platforms but do not establish availability on Nintendo Switch or older-generation consoles; a listing for the base game on a platform does not by itself confirm that this DLC is available there.
Rank #3
- Explore massive and exciting 3D levels
- Discover lore through the collection of monster, item, and environment logs
- Unlock over 75 items, keeping each run fresh
- Play, and unlock new and returning survivors, each with their own abilities to master
- Encounter challenging monsters and enormous bosses
How does it compare with the other Risk of Rain 2 expansions?
Steam’s DLC catalog lists four named expansions, including Hallowed Concepts. The table summarizes their place in the release order and the information established by the listed sources; it is a factual comparison, not a quality ranking.
| Expansion | Release date | What the sources establish | Prerequisite and co-op note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Survivors of the Void | March 1, 2022 | Named in Steam’s DLC catalog; specific content details are not stated in the cited catalog source. | Specific prerequisite and co-op ownership details are not stated in the cited catalog source. |
| Seekers of the Storm | August 27, 2024 | Named in Steam’s catalog; its individual listing identifies the expansion and describes its content. | Its Steam listing requires the base game and describes co-op ownership rules. See the individual listing. |
| Alloyed Collective | November 18, 2025 | Named in Steam’s DLC catalog; specific content details are not stated in the cited catalog source. | Specific prerequisite and co-op ownership details are not stated in the cited catalog source. |
| Hallowed Concepts | October 8, 2026 | Two survivors, new environments, bosses, enemies, trials, items, interactables, the N’Tomat curio, and music; 2K lists 14 Hexes and 11 Hallowed Items. | Requires the base game. One lobby player’s ownership enables monsters, levels, and items for the lobby; nonowners cannot select the new survivors or permanently unlock expansion content. |
The individual Hallowed Concepts listing and 2K’s dated patch notes confirm its October 8 launch. Steam’s catalog page showed a stale “To be announced” date for it when checked, so the catalog date field should not be used to contradict those more specific current sources.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Strategic sci-fi gameplay with new twists: Experience classic Risk reimagined with mechs, commanders, underwater cities, and moon territories that create fresh strategic challenges in every game you play
- Premium updated components for quality gameplay: Enjoy double-sided tokens, resealable bags, and a redesigned moon board that enhance durability while maintaining the iconic Risk experience across two to five players
- Multiple terrain conquest across three worlds: Lead your faction across Earth's surface, beneath the ocean depths, and across lunar settlements to achieve global domination and beyond in this expanded strategy adventure
- Replayable tactical experiences with card command system: Deploy five unique commanders per army and use five decks of command cards to create different strategies that keep gameplay fresh and engaging for dedicated gamers
- Perfect for family and adult game nights ages ten and up: Build memorable moments with accessible rules that teach quickly while offering the strategic depth that appeals to experienced board game enthusiasts
What should you check before buying?
- Confirm that you own Risk of Rain 2, since the expansion requires the base game.
- Check your platform’s store for a Hallowed Concepts listing. The confirmed launch platforms are PC, PS5, and Xbox Series X|S; availability on Switch and older consoles is not established by the cited sources.
- If you play co-op, distinguish shared run content from individual access: one owner can enable monsters, levels, and items in the lobby, but each player needs the expansion to select the new survivors and permanently unlock its content.
- Check the price displayed by your regional storefront. The Steam page’s captured price was localized, so it is not a reliable universal price.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →




