Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
An AMD chip called “Gainsborough” has reportedly surfaced in driver material, and leak reports suggest it could be connected to a future Steam Deck. That connection is not confirmed: Valve and AMD have not identified Gainsborough as a Steam Deck 2 chip, and the reported architecture, specifications and timing remain unverified.
Is Gainsborough the Steam Deck 2 chip?
It might be, but there is no confirmation that Valve selected the chip—or that Gainsborough is intended for a Steam Deck at all. Digital Citizen’s October 2 report describes a reference to the codename in AMD driver material and a separately reported shipping-manifest entry. These are the concrete clues behind the story; the product connection comes from leak reporting rather than an announcement by Valve or AMD.
The name offers a circumstantial hint: “Aerith Gainsborough” is the Final Fantasy VII character associated in hardware reporting with the first Steam Deck APU codename. That naming resemblance does not establish that the new chip is for Valve. Valve does not publish a Steam Deck chip codename on its product specifications page.
What the leak claims about the chip
Notebookcheck’s October 1 report attributes the proposed specifications to Moore’s Law Is Dead. The report describes a possible semi-custom AMD APU using TSMC N3P manufacturing, Zen 6 CPU technology and RDNA 5 graphics. It gives rumored ranges of four to eight Zen 6C or similar efficiency CPU cores and 12 to 24 RDNA 5 compute units.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
None of those details is a confirmed specification. The same report says the chip’s detailed specifications are unknown and allows that Valve may have evaluated it and then abandoned it, or AMD could repurpose the design. AMD’s official RDNA architecture overview lists RDNA 4 as the latest generation featured on that page; it does not confirm RDNA 5 or any Gainsborough product.
How the rumor compares with the Steam Deck OLED
Valve’s published specifications provide a verified baseline for the current Steam Deck OLED, not evidence about its successor. The reported Gainsborough details are still claims, so the two columns below are not an apples-to-apples product comparison.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Specification | Steam Deck OLED | Gainsborough rumor |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Zen 2, 4 cores/8 threads | Zen 6C or similar efficiency cores; rumored range of 4–8 |
| Graphics | RDNA 2, 8 compute units | RDNA 5; rumored range of 12–24 compute units |
| Manufacturing process | 6 nm | TSMC N3P, according to the leak report |
| Memory | 16 GB LPDDR5 | Not stated in the inspected leak reports |
| APU power range | 4–15 W | Not stated in the inspected leak reports |
| Status | Current product with published specifications | Unconfirmed codename and rumored specifications |
Valve also lists 512 GB and 1 TB NVMe SSD models and a high-speed microSD slot supporting SD, SDXC and SDHC. Those are OLED model details, not indications of what a successor might include. The current-device figures come from Valve’s Steam Deck technical specifications.
What Valve has said about a successor
Valve designer Pierre-Loup Griffais has described the kind of improvement the company wants, rather than confirming a particular chip. In a statement quoted by PC Gamer on October 1, 2026, he said: “We’re not interested in getting to a point where it’s 20 or 30 or even 50% more performance at the same battery life. We want something a little bit more demarcated than that.” This is a stated design goal, not evidence that Gainsborough meets it.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesRank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
When is Steam Deck 2 coming out?
There is no official Steam Deck 2 release date in the reports covered here. Late 2027 or 2028 has been suggested as a leak-based possibility, not announced by Valve. The available reporting also does not establish an official successor name, chip choice or price. Treat any specific release window as speculation unless Valve confirms it.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




