Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →There is no Steam Frame OLED available to buy. As of October 18, 2026, Valve has announced only the LCD Steam Frame. Source-code references reported by PC Gamer suggest OLED experimentation, but provide no release commitment, price, specifications, or upgrade path. If you need a headset now, evaluate the shipping LCD model; if OLED is essential, waiting is a choice to make with no timetable.
Is Steam Frame OLED a real product?
Not as a released or officially announced product. Valve’s confirmed headset is the wireless, streaming-first Steam Frame with LCD displays. On October 15, 2026, PC Gamer reported source-code branches named “deckard-oled” and “deckard-plano.” Those names indicate internal experimentation, not a retail product. The report also cautions that an OLED revision could be far away or never ship because changing the display would affect the optics, resolution, power draw, cooling, battery life and performance of the headset.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The same report quoted Valve employee Gabe Rowe saying, “Everybody assumes that we have some sort of like grand plan with our leaks, and it’s literally just somebody fat fingering something.” That is a useful warning against treating a branch name as a product announcement.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteThere is currently no official OLED release date, launch region, reservation queue, price, panel resolution, optical design, battery specification or upgrade program. Do not buy a listing that presents a rumored OLED model as available through a retailer, and do not assume an LCD purchase can later be converted to OLED.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What display does the Steam Frame you can buy use?
The shipping Steam Frame is an LCD headset, not an OLED headset. It uses two 2160 × 2160 LCD panels with pancake optics. The stated field of view is up to 110 degrees. Refresh-rate options run from 72Hz to 120Hz, with 144Hz listed as experimental. These are the specifications to use when comparing the product you can order today.
| Display item | Confirmed LCD Steam Frame specification | OLED Steam Frame information |
|---|---|---|
| Panel technology | Two LCD panels | Not officially announced |
| Panel resolution | 2160 × 2160 per eye | Not stated |
| Optics | Pancake optics | Not stated; an OLED change could require a different optical design |
| Field of view | Up to 110 degrees | Not stated |
| Refresh rate | 72–120Hz; 144Hz experimental | Not stated |
| Release status | Confirmed product | Unconfirmed project |
OLED could eventually offer different black-level characteristics, but that does not tell you what a future Steam Frame would cost, weigh, resolve or deliver in battery life. Until Valve publishes those details, an OLED-versus-LCD comparison can only identify the questions to ask, not supply answers for the unannounced model.
Choose your main way to play: streaming or standalone
Steam Frame is designed around two modes. In streaming mode, it receives VR and non-VR games from a computer. In standalone mode, it runs compatible games locally on its Snapdragon platform and SteamOS. Your game library and network determine whether the headset is a good fit more than the panel type does.
PC streaming
Valve positions Steam Frame as streaming-first. A dedicated wireless adapter is supplied for PC streaming, and the headset can stream the entire Steam catalog from a PC. This is the route to use for demanding VR titles or games that are not supported natively on the headset. You still need a capable gaming PC with the game installed, plus a network setup that can deliver consistent low-latency traffic; the headset does not turn a non-gaming computer into a gaming system.
The dedicated adapter uses Wi-Fi 6E. The headset itself supports Wi-Fi 7 for its wireless connectivity. A fast internet connection is not a substitute for a good local link when the PC and headset are in the same home: placement, congestion, interference and the PC’s wired connection can affect streaming stability.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Standalone play
The headset includes a Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 system-on-chip, 16GB of unified LPDDR5 memory and SteamOS. Those components allow local play for a smaller, growing subset of Steam games. Native compatibility is not the same as access to the entire Steam catalog, so check every must-play title before ordering. A game that streams successfully from your PC may not have a standalone build or acceptable local performance.
A practical decision rule
- Choose Steam Frame now if you already have a gaming PC for most of your VR library and want wireless streaming, with standalone play as a useful second mode.
- Choose it now if your priority is the confirmed LCD hardware, SteamOS integration and the ability to install supported games locally.
- Wait if OLED is a non-negotiable requirement and you accept an unknown release date and the possibility that no OLED model ships.
- Do not buy based on the assumption that every Steam game runs locally; verify the titles you care about first.
Storage: 256GB, 1TB or microSD?
Valve lists 256GB and 1TB configurations, and the headset has a user-accessible microSD slot for expanded storage. The right capacity follows your play pattern rather than a general “bigger is better” rule.
Recommended Free Tools
| Configuration | Best for | Trade-off |
|---|---|---|
| 256GB | Owners who stream most games and install only a small selection locally | Less room for a growing standalone library; more frequent uninstalling or card management |
| 1TB | Players who expect to install many compatible standalone games, updates and media | Higher purchase price; excess capacity is less useful if nearly all play is streamed |
| microSD expansion | Owners who want additional local capacity without replacing the headset | Confirm supported capacity and speed requirements at purchase; card performance and installation management still matter |
Road to VR reported 2026 prices of $1,059 for the 256GB Steam Frame and $1,299 for the 1TB model. Those figures are reported prices for that period, not a guarantee of today’s regional checkout total. Taxes, shipping, currency conversion, reservation terms and later price changes can alter what you pay.
If your library is primarily streamed, the 256GB version leaves more of the budget for accessories or a suitable microSD card. If you want the headset to function as a console-like standalone system, 1TB reduces storage housekeeping. Confirm the current capacity and card requirements on Valve’s product page before placing an order.
Hardware and connectivity checklist
| Component | Confirmed detail | Why it matters when buying |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 (SM8650) | Supports local processing and compatible standalone games |
| Memory | 16GB unified LPDDR5 RAM | Shared system memory for SteamOS and local applications |
| Operating system | SteamOS | Provides the Steam-focused interface and game-management environment |
| Internal storage | 256GB or 1TB UFS | Determines how much local content you can keep installed |
| Expansion | User-accessible microSD slot | Allows additional local storage; verify current card requirements |
| Headset wireless | Wi-Fi 7 | Handles headset connectivity and wireless data |
| PC-streaming adapter | Dedicated Wi-Fi 6E adapter | Provides the intended wireless path for PC streaming |
| Battery | 21.6Wh | Sets the fixed energy capacity; actual runtime varies by workload |
| Tracking cameras | Four outward monochrome cameras | Provide headset and controller tracking |
| Eye tracking | Two inward cameras | Supports eye-tracking functions |
| Passthrough | Monochrome | Provides a black-and-white view of the surroundings |
| Ports | USB-C and a user-accessible expansion port | Supports charging, accessories and future or specialized expansion use |
Road to VR reported more than two hours of headset battery life in its early testing. That is an observed result under that test’s conditions, not a universal runtime guarantee. Controller battery life was reported as up to 40 hours using AA batteries. Streaming workload, refresh rate, brightness, wireless conditions and game software can change endurance.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Controllers and tracking
The included controllers use six-degrees-of-freedom tracking, capacitive sensing, TMR thumbsticks, haptics and traditional gamepad input parity. TMR sticks are intended to provide a different sensing approach from conventional potentiometer sticks, while capacitive sensing can detect finger placement for supported interactions. The specification does not promise that every game uses every feature; software support remains title-dependent.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →The four outward monochrome cameras and two inward eye-tracking cameras are part of the base headset hardware. Passthrough on the base unit is monochrome, so do not assume a full-color mixed-reality view without an appropriate camera accessory.
Glasses, prescription inserts and fit
Road to VR reports that glasses can be worn using the included magnetic spacer. The spacer creates additional clearance, but comfort depends on your frame width, lens shape and facial fit. Test the adjustment before a long session rather than assuming every pair will fit identically.
Valve lists Zenni prescription inserts as a compatible accessory. Road to VR also names VR Optician, WidmoVR and VR Rock as third-party vendors advertising Frame lenses. Availability, supported prescriptions, lens coatings, frame measurements, delivery times and return policies can change, so verify all of those details with the vendor before ordering.
- Measure the width and height of your glasses or use the prescription and pupillary-distance information requested by the insert maker.
- Confirm that the insert is specifically listed for Steam Frame, not merely for another headset with similar optics.
- Check whether the magnetic spacer is required for your glasses and whether it affects your preferred eye relief or field of view.
- Read the return policy for prescription products before submitting an order; custom lenses may have different terms from standard accessories.
Accessories that affect the total cost
Valve says first-party accessories are offered during the headset purchase flow. Road to VR reported the following 2026 prices:
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
| Accessory | Reported price | When it is relevant |
|---|---|---|
| Dedicated PSU | $29 | Useful if you need an additional or replacement power supply |
| Ergonomic Accessories Kit | $59 | For buyers who need the included fit or comfort options supplemented |
| Accessory Replacement Kit | $49 | For replacing supported headset or controller accessories |
| Arcturus Vision camera | $150 | Adds color passthrough, spatial-video capture, environment mapping and Gaussian-splatting support, according to Road to VR |
These are reported 2026 prices and can change by region, stock status and checkout date. The camera is especially important to budget if you expect color passthrough or spatial-video features: the base headset’s passthrough is monochrome. Add the headset, storage choice, prescription solution, power supply and any camera or comfort kit before comparing the purchase with another headset.
How to check a Steam Frame listing before you order
- Verify the model name and display. Confirm that the listing identifies the current LCD Steam Frame and does not call an OLED model “in stock.” Match the two 2160 × 2160 LCD panels, pancake optics and 72–120Hz range against the official specification.
- Check your streaming plan. If your must-play games are not in the confirmed standalone-compatible set, plan on a gaming PC and the dedicated wireless adapter. Make sure the PC can run those games and can connect to your home network reliably.
- Audit your local library. Write down the games you want installed on the headset. Check each title’s current standalone compatibility instead of assuming that a Steam purchase automatically means a native build.
- Select storage. Choose 256GB for a mostly streamed library, 1TB for extensive local installs, or budget for a compatible microSD card after confirming current capacity and speed requirements.
- Measure your fit. Check whether your glasses work with the magnetic spacer. If you need inserts, verify the prescription range, lens dimensions, delivery time and returns before checkout.
- Price the complete setup. Add any reported accessory costs, taxes, shipping, storage card, prescription inserts and camera. Compare the total, not just the base headset price.
- Read availability and return terms. Reservation queues, regional availability, warranty coverage and return windows can change independently of hardware specifications. Save the terms shown at checkout.
- Recheck the OLED question immediately before payment. If Valve has not published an OLED announcement by your purchase date, treat the LCD as the only confirmed option and make the buy-or-wait decision on that basis.
Should you buy now or wait for OLED?
| Your priority | More defensible choice | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Wireless PC VR now | Buy the confirmed LCD Steam Frame | Streaming hardware and the dedicated adapter are available now; OLED timing is unknown |
| Standalone Steam gaming | Buy after checking game compatibility and storage | The Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 and local storage support a growing subset, not the entire catalog |
| OLED black levels are essential | Wait | No OLED model, specification or release date is confirmed |
| You need a headset for a fixed upcoming date | Buy only the product you can verify in stock | A source-code branch cannot guarantee retail availability |
| You dislike early-adopter uncertainty | Wait for an official announcement and full specifications | There is no confirmed price, battery, optics or upgrade path for OLED |
Waiting has a real opportunity cost: you could miss months of use of the LCD model while receiving no guarantee that an OLED version arrives. Buying now has a different risk: a later revision could change display quality or other hardware. Because Valve has not announced an OLED product, neither outcome can be assigned a launch date or price.
Common mistakes and how to avoid them
Assuming a code name is a launch plan
“Deckard-oled” and “deckard-plano” are reported source-code names, not a product page, reservation or announcement. Treat them as evidence of experimentation only.
Buying the 1TB model for a streaming-only setup
If nearly all games run on your PC, additional internal storage may provide little benefit. Use the price difference where it solves a real need, such as a comfort accessory, prescription inserts or a reliable local-storage plan.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Expecting every Steam game to run locally
Steam Frame can stream the entire Steam catalog from a PC, while native standalone support is smaller and expanding. Check the local compatibility of each must-play title.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Budgeting only for the headset
Storage expansion, a power supply, comfort parts, prescription inserts and the optional color camera can materially change the total. Use the reported accessory prices as a planning reference, then confirm the live checkout amount.
Expecting color passthrough from the base unit
The base headset has monochrome passthrough. Road to VR reports that the Arcturus Vision camera adds color passthrough and related capture and mapping features.
Treating early battery testing as a guarantee
The reported result of more than two hours came from early testing under specific conditions. Game load, wireless traffic, refresh rate and display settings can produce a different runtime.
What information is still missing for an OLED comparison?
A meaningful comparison requires official values for OLED panel resolution, subpixel layout, brightness, refresh modes, optics, field of view, weight, battery capacity and runtime, thermal limits, standalone performance, storage options, price, warranty and availability. None of those OLED-specific values has been announced. Until they are, tables that assign a launch window, rumored resolution or projected battery life are speculation rather than buying data.
For the confirmed LCD model, the decision can be made now using known factors: 2160 × 2160 LCD panels, pancake optics, up to 110 degrees of field of view, 72–120Hz operation with 144Hz experimental, PC streaming through the dedicated Wi-Fi 6E adapter, Wi-Fi 7 headset connectivity, Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 processing, 16GB RAM, 256GB or 1TB storage, microSD expansion and the fit and accessory requirements above.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

