SteelSeries announced the Apex Pro Gen 3 keyboard family on September 24, 2024, led by OmniPoint 3.0 switches with 40 adjustable actuation levels from 0.1 mm to 4.0 mm. The launch lineup included full-size, tenkeyless (TKL) and wireless TKL models. The range has since expanded with a 60% Mini and additional TKL variants, so layout and model details matter when comparing them.
What the 40 actuation levels mean
Actuation is the point in a key’s travel at which a press registers. SteelSeries says OmniPoint 3.0 lets users select from 40 actuation levels across a 0.1 mm–4.0 mm range. A shorter setting registers nearer the top of the key’s travel and can feel more sensitive; a deeper setting requires more travel before registering. The number and range are SteelSeries specifications, not independent test results. SteelSeries’ September 2024 launch announcement
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Which keys have adjustable actuation?
Not every key on every model uses an adjustable OmniPoint switch. SteelSeries Support says the main QWERTY keys on the Apex Pro Gen 3 and Apex Pro TKL Gen 3 are adjustable, while the numpad, arrow keys, function keys, and Insert/Home/Page Up keys use regular red switches. A separate support article says 61 keys can have actuation adjusted on the Gen 3 models it covers. Check the exact model’s key coverage rather than assuming all keys are adjustable.
SteelSeries Support: Which Keys Can Be Adjusted? · SteelSeries Support: What type of switches does Apex Pro Gen 3 have?
#1 Best Overall
- TRIPLE THREAT POWERED BY QUICKSET — Apex Pro is the only line of keyboards in the world with Rapid Trigger, Rapid Tap, and Protection Mode (Patent Pending), activated for your game in seconds
- RAPID TRIGGER FOR FASTER ACTIONS — Stop fast, start your next move faster. Resets the moment you release a key.
- RAPID TAP FOR FASTER MOVEMENT — Snaps to your latest key press to strafe and dodge faster.
- PROTECTION MODE STOPS MISTAKES — Patent pending feature reduces accidental keypresses on nearby keys - no more accidental ults
- QUICKSET AUTO-PRESETS — Easy setup in seconds, auto-launch pro-level configs when your game loads.
How Rapid Trigger and the other input features differ
Rapid Trigger
Rapid Trigger lets a key become active again as soon as it is pressed or released, rather than waiting for a fixed reset point. SteelSeries presents it as a way to support rapid repeated inputs.
Rapid Tap
Rapid Tap prioritizes the last-pressed key in a pair without requiring the preceding key to be released first. The product page describes five customizable key pairings. It is a separate feature from Rapid Trigger: one concerns key reactivation, the other how a paired input is prioritized.
Rank #2
- THE WORLD'S FASTEST KEYBOARD — Push the boundaries with cutting-edge OmniPoint 3.0 switches and Rapid Trigger, Protection Mode, Rapid Tap, and more
- OMNIPOINT 3.0 — More than just fast, newly redesigned Hall Effect Switch have 20x faster actuation and 11x quicker response time, with 40 levels of adjustable actuation
- GAME-READY PRESETS — Gain a competitive edge in your favorite game with just a few clicks using GG QuickSet's game-ready keyboard settings
- REDUCED LATENCY — Rapid Trigger and Rapid Tap register keypresses faster for more responsive gameplay and improved aim
- PROTECTION MODE — A SteelSeries exclusive feature — protect your keypresses by reducing the sensitivity of surrounding keys when the intended key is pressed, preventing accidental inputs
Protection Mode and 2-in-1 Action Keys
Protection Mode reduces sensitivity on selected surrounding keys to help reduce accidental presses. With 2-in-1 Action Keys, a single key can trigger different actions at different press depths—for example, a lighter press for walking and a deeper press for sprinting.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
GG QuickSet and the OLED screen
SteelSeries describes GG QuickSet as providing game profiles curated by championship-winning esports players, with one-click setup for options such as actuation, Rapid Trigger, Rapid Tap and lighting. The OLED Smart Screen can be used to adjust actuation and Rapid Trigger, view information and control media without switching away from a game. These are vendor-described features; the setup and available controls may depend on the model and software.
Rank #3
- TRIPLE THREAT POWERED BY QUICKSET — Apex Pro is the only line of keyboards in the world with Rapid Trigger, Rapid Tap, and Protection Mode (Patent Pending), activated for your game in seconds
- RAPID TRIGGER FOR FASTER ACTIONS — Stop fast, start your next move faster. Resets the moment you release a key.
- RAPID TAP FOR FASTER MOVEMENT — Snaps to your latest key press to strafe and dodge faster.
- PROTECTION MODE STOPS MISTAKES — Patent pending feature reduces accidental keypresses on nearby keys - no more accidental ults
- QUICKSET AUTO-PRESETS — Easy setup in seconds, auto-launch pro-level configs when your game loads.
SteelSeries Apex Pro Gen 3 product page
What changed across the Apex Pro Gen 3 lineup?
| Variant | Format or connection | What SteelSeries announced |
|---|---|---|
| Apex Pro Gen 3 | Full-size, wired | Part of the September 24, 2024 launch family. |
| Apex Pro TKL Gen 3 | Tenkeyless, wired | Part of the September 24, 2024 launch family. |
| Apex Pro TKL Wireless Gen 3 | Tenkeyless, wireless | Part of the September 24, 2024 launch family. |
| Apex Pro Mini Gen 3 | 60% compact | Announced in March 2025 as a black model. |
| Apex Pro TKL Gen 3 White | Tenkeyless | White variant announced in March 2025. |
| Apex Pro TKL Gen 3 Cyber and Steel | Tenkeyless limited editions | A later release announced variants with different Speed and Control switch spring weights. Its cited date line says availability would begin September 22 but does not state a year. |
For desk-space decisions, full-size retains a number pad, TKL reduces width, and the 60% Mini takes a more compact approach. Choose the wireless TKL if a cable-free setup is a priority. These are layout and connection trade-offs, not a ranking of performance. Regional key layouts, current inventory and variant-specific contents can differ.
SteelSeries’ March 2025 lineup expansion · SteelSeries’ Cyber and Steel announcement
Rank #4
- TRIPLE THREAT POWERED BY QUICKSET — Apex Pro is the only line of keyboards in the world with Rapid Trigger, Rapid Tap, and Protection Mode (Patent Pending), activated for your game in seconds
- RAPID TRIGGER FOR FASTER ACTIONS — Stop fast, start your next move faster. Resets the moment you release a key.
- RAPID TAP FOR FASTER MOVEMENT — Snaps to your latest key press to strafe and dodge faster.
- PROTECTION MODE STOPS MISTAKES — Patent pending feature reduces accidental keypresses on nearby keys - no more accidental ults
- QUICKSET AUTO-PRESETS — Easy setup in seconds, auto-launch pro-level configs when your game loads.
Launch prices and performance claims need context
At the 2024 launch, SteelSeries listed MSRP at US $239.99, €239.99 in EMEA and £239.99 in the UK. Those are historical manufacturer launch prices, not current retailer offers. For the Mini, the company listed 2025 MSRPs of US $199.99, €219.99 in EMEA, £189.99 in the UK and $229.99 in APAC. The later Cyber and Steel announcement listed MSRPs of $239.99 in North America, £239.99 in the UK and €249.99 in EMEA; its cited date line does not specify a year. Availability and prices today are not established by those announcements.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
SteelSeries’ 2024 launch release also claimed a 0.54 ms response time versus 6 ms for “standard mechanical keyboards” and described the switches as 11 times faster. The consulted launch material does not establish an independent test method, so those figures should be read as the company’s comparison, not a universal or independently verified benchmark.
Best Value
- The fastest keyboard ever – Our newly designed Hall Effect Switches are not only fast, but also offer 20 times faster actuation and an 11 times faster response time as well as 40 adjustable actuation levels.
- OMNIPOINT 3.0 - Overcome limitations with state-of-the-art OmniPoint 3.0 switches with Rapid Trigger, Protection Mode, Rapid Tap and comprehensive customization options
- Ready to use presets – gain a competitive advantage in your favourite game with just a few clicks by using the ready-to-use keyboard settings from GG Quick Set.
- Minimum latency: With Rapid Trigger and Rapid Tap, key inputs are registered faster and more responsive gameplay and improved targeting.
- Protection mode – an exclusive function from SteelSeries – protect your inputs by reducing the sensitivity of the surrounding buttons to prevent accidental triggering
Design, compatibility and included items
The product page lists upgraded double-shot PBT keycaps, per-key RGB, OLED controls and a detachable braided USB-C cable. The user guide for the documented full-size model lists an OLED smart display, multimedia roller, two-level feet, magnetic wrist rest, detachable braided USB-C-to-USB-A cable and keycap puller. SteelSeries says keycaps can be removed and replaced and directs owners to its accessories page for accessories and replacement parts. Confirm the exact variant’s in-box contents before buying; the guide does not establish that every model ships with identical items.
The user guide lists PC, Mac, Xbox and PlayStation compatibility, while noting that not all software features are supported on macOS. Check support for the exact model and platform if a particular feature or console setup is important.
Quick Recap
Product details · Apex Pro Gen 3 User Guide
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




