Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Yes—Tales of Eternia Remastered has a second-playthrough carryover system. Bandai Namco’s launch update confirms that Titles are carried over for the second playthrough and beyond. The publisher does not provide a complete carryover list or consistently call the feature “New Game Plus,” so the precise, documented description is a second-playthrough/carryover system.
Extreme difficulty is available immediately, Unknown unlocks after completing the game, encounters can be switched off, and experience and encounter frequency can be adjusted. There is no official completion-time number or published save-slot specification, so runtime and save behavior should not be treated as fixed until the in-game documentation provides those details.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What is Tales of Eternia Remastered?
Tales of Eternia Remastered revisits the 2001 Tales of Eternia action RPG. It is a single-player role-playing game starring Reid Hershel, Farah, Keele and Meredy as they travel between Inferia and Celestia to prevent the Grand Fall. Battles remain real-time 2D encounters using the Aggressive Linear Motion Battle System rather than a turn-based system.
The remaster adds modern quality-of-life controls while preserving a choice of presentation. Graphics and sound effects can be switched between remastered and original modes, and players can choose English or Japanese voice acting. Destination icons point toward the next objective, while Battle Retry, Quick Recovery and high-speed auto-battle reduce friction during exploration and routine fights.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Does Tales of Eternia Remastered have New Game Plus?
It has a confirmed second-playthrough carryover feature, although the available official wording is more careful than a standard “New Game Plus” label. Bandai Namco’s launch update states that Titles were added to the carryover elements “for the second playthrough and beyond.” That establishes that at least one progression category survives into later runs.
The official feature guide confirms that Unknown difficulty becomes available after completing the game. Taken together, the documented progression is:
- Complete the main game once.
- Start a subsequent playthrough using the available carryover elements.
- Use the newly unlocked Unknown difficulty if you want the game’s highest documented challenge.
Because the publisher has not released a complete inventory of carryover elements, it would be inaccurate to promise that levels, equipment, items, currency, recipes, collectibles or every other form of progress transfers. Treat Titles as the specifically confirmed carryover and check the in-game New Game or carryover screen for the rest.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallWhat the second run is useful for
A later run gives you a way to combine your completed-game progress with a harder challenge. You can also use encounter controls, experience Boost settings and high-speed auto-battle to move through familiar sections at a different pace. Those tools make a completion-focused replay and a challenge-focused replay possible without requiring the same tempo as the first run.
What carries over to a second playthrough?
| Progress category | Documented status | What that means |
|---|---|---|
| Titles | Confirmed | The launch update explicitly says Titles were added to the carryover elements for the second playthrough and beyond. |
| Other character, equipment or inventory progress | Not stated | No authoritative list reviewed specifies whether levels, weapons, armor, items, currency or abilities transfer. |
| Difficulty unlocks | Unknown unlock confirmed after completion | Finishing the game unlocks Unknown for a later run; the documentation does not define every interaction between difficulty and other carryover data. |
| Save slots and save-file behavior | Not stated | No official slot count or separate New Game Plus save procedure has been published. |
Do not delete your completed save while experimenting with a replay unless the game clearly explains how the new run is stored. The official material confirms the existence of carryover, but not whether the game uses separate completion records, a single persistent file, multiple slots or another arrangement.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Which difficulty options are available?
The remaster has a wider challenge range than a first-playthrough-only release. Extreme is available from the start, while Unknown unlocks after you complete the game. The publisher describes Unknown as being for an “ultimate run,” making it the documented post-completion challenge option.
| Option or control | Availability | Best use |
|---|---|---|
| Standard difficulty choices | Available for normal progression; the supplied official material does not enumerate every label or numerical modifier. | A conventional first playthrough when you want the story and combat at the default pace. |
| Extreme | Available immediately from the start. | A demanding first run for players already comfortable with real-time Tales combat. |
| Unknown | Unlocks after completing the game. | A post-completion challenge run; Bandai Namco calls it the difficulty for an “ultimate run.” |
| Experience Boost | Adjustable through the remaster’s Boost controls. | Reduce grinding or accelerate a replay, subject to the game’s available settings. |
| Encounter-frequency Boost | Adjustable through the Boost controls. | Increase or reduce how often battles occur while travelling. |
Difficulty and pacing are separate decisions. A player can choose Extreme for tougher battles while reducing encounter frequency, or choose a lower combat difficulty and leave encounters active for a more traditional progression curve. The available documentation does not publish the exact percentage values for the Boost controls, so do not assume a particular multiplier.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Can random encounters be turned off?
Yes. Enemy encounters can be turned off and on. This is a direct quality-of-life option, not merely a consequence of raising or lowering encounter frequency. It lets you cross a familiar route without initiating battles, then restore encounters when you want experience, drops or regular combat practice.
Practical ways to use encounter controls
- Story travel: Turn encounters off when backtracking between known locations or following destination icons to the next objective.
- Level preparation: Turn them on again before a boss or difficult area if your party needs experience.
- Replay cleanup: Combine encounters-off with experience Boost settings and high-speed auto-battle when revisiting content you have already mastered.
- Challenge runs: Leave encounters active on Unknown or Extreme when you want the additional pressure and resource drain.
The official guides confirm the control exists but do not provide a universal button sequence or menu path. The exact location may depend on the platform and the current game screen, so use the remaster’s options or gameplay settings and look for the encounter toggle rather than assuming a controller shortcut.
What other quality-of-life features change the experience?
Battle Retry
Battle Retry lets you try again after defeat instead of treating every loss as the end of the session. It is especially useful when learning a boss pattern on Extreme or Unknown.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Quick Recovery
Quick Recovery helps restore the party after battle. The supplied feature descriptions confirm the function but do not specify every item, resource or limitation involved, so regard it as a convenience feature rather than an unlimited replacement for normal preparation.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
High-speed auto-battle
Auto-battles can run in a high-speed mode. This is useful for routine encounters, but it does not replace active control when positioning, timing or enemy-specific tactics matter.
Destination icons
Destination icons indicate the next objective. They are particularly valuable during a second playthrough, when you may want to follow the critical path quickly instead of retracing every step from memory.
Remastered and original presentation
Graphics and sound effects can be switched between remastered and original modes. This affects presentation rather than the documented progression rules, allowing you to choose a modern look or a closer approximation of the 2001 release’s audiovisual style.
Voice acting
English and Japanese voice acting are available. The official feature guide confirms the language choices but does not state that every other text element changes with the voice setting.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsRank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
How does saving work?
The authoritative launch-update note does not publish a save-slot count, a manual-save procedure or a separate autosave-slot specification. That means there is no reliable official number to quote for how many files you can keep or how the game stores a first completion alongside a later run.
What is confirmed is the progression relationship: Titles were added to the carryover elements for the second playthrough and beyond. The save documentation does not explain whether that carryover is attached to a clear-complete flag, a selected save file, a profile-wide record or another mechanism.
Safe save habits until a full manual is available
- Read the on-screen save and carryover prompts before confirming a new playthrough.
- Keep a completed save available rather than overwriting it immediately with an experimental run.
- Use separate files, if the game offers them, for a first completion and a replay on Unknown.
- Do not assume that an autosave exists, that every checkpoint is recoverable, or that a New Game Plus file is reversible; none of those behaviors is specified in the published launch information.
If the in-game manual or a later official guide supplies a slot count or an exact save path, that information should take precedence over general assumptions from other role-playing games.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How long is Tales of Eternia Remastered?
No official source reviewed publishes a completion-time figure. There is therefore no defensible number of hours for the main story, a completionist run or a second playthrough. Any precise estimate presented as an official runtime would be invented.
Recommended Free Tools
Your actual time will vary because the remaster lets you alter several of the systems that normally determine an RPG’s pace:
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
| Factor | How it changes runtime |
|---|---|
| Difficulty | Extreme and Unknown can require more careful combat, retries and preparation than standard settings. |
| Encounter toggle | Turning encounters off shortens travel and reduces battle time; leaving them on adds fights and ordinary progression. |
| Encounter-frequency Boost | Higher frequency creates more battles, while a lower setting reduces interruptions during exploration. |
| Experience Boost | Faster experience gains can reduce time spent deliberately levelling, although the available material does not state the multiplier. |
| High-speed auto-battle | Speeds routine fights, but difficult encounters may still require manual play. |
| Exploration and side content | Optional detours, revisiting locations and extra battles add time beyond a direct objective-to-objective run. |
Two players can therefore complete the same story in very different amounts of time without either one playing incorrectly. For a meaningful personal estimate, record the in-game timer or your own session time on the first run, then compare a replay with your chosen encounter and Boost settings.
Release date and platforms
Bandai Namco announced launch availability for October 16, 2026 on Nintendo Switch 2, Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, Xbox Series X|S and PC via Steam. The Steam storefront records October 15, 2026 as its release date because storefront timing can differ by time zone. The publisher’s official game page lists all six platform families.
| Platform | Published launch date information |
|---|---|
| Nintendo Switch 2 | October 16, 2026 announcement date |
| Nintendo Switch | October 16, 2026 announcement date |
| PlayStation 5 | October 16, 2026 announcement date |
| PlayStation 4 | October 16, 2026 announcement date |
| Xbox Series X|S | October 16, 2026 announcement date |
| PC via Steam | Steam lists October 15, 2026; the publisher’s launch announcement gives October 16, 2026. |
Standard and Deluxe editions
The official site lists two digital purchase formats. The Standard Edition contains the base game. The Deluxe Edition contains the base game plus a Battle BGM Pack, Digital Artbook & Soundtrack and Super Growth Support Item Set.
| Edition | Included content |
|---|---|
| Standard Edition | Base game. |
| Deluxe Edition | Base game, Battle BGM Pack, Digital Artbook & Soundtrack and Super Growth Support Item Set. |
The Steam listing also shows separate downloadable level-up items. The official material reviewed does not establish a physical Amazon edition, a strategy guide, a soundtrack disc or a game-specific accessory, so those should not be assumed to be part of either edition.
Which settings fit each kind of playthrough?
First story run
Use a standard difficulty if you want the most conventional progression, keep encounters on while you learn the world and enable destination icons when you need navigation help. Remastered or original graphics and sound effects are presentation choices, so switch them according to which style you prefer.
Fast replay
Use the destination icons, reduce or disable encounters during backtracking, adjust the experience Boost to limit grinding and enable high-speed auto-battle for routine fights. This approach is suited to revisiting the story after your first completion.
Challenge replay
After completion, select Unknown for the documented ultimate challenge, or choose Extreme from the beginning if you want a demanding first run. Keep encounters active when you want regular combat pressure, and rely on Battle Retry and Quick Recovery as convenience tools rather than skipping preparation.
What is still undocumented?
Several questions remain open in the published material: the full list of carryover elements beyond Titles, the exact menu name and file behavior for a second playthrough, save-slot capacity, autosave rules, Boost percentages and official completion-time estimates. Those are documentation gaps, not evidence that the features do or do not work in a particular way. Until an in-game manual or later official guide answers them, avoid treating community assumptions as confirmed specifications.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

