October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
VGSources
Baldur’s Gate 3

The Best Split-Screen and Local Couch Co-Op Games

Find couch co-op games for two or more players, with verified split-screen details and platform-specific caveats for each pick.

By VGSources Team 4 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a two-player cooperative story, start with It Takes Two. For up to four players sharing one screen, Minecraft supports split-screen on consoles. If you want a two-player role-playing campaign on Xbox, Baldur’s Gate 3 supports split-screen co-op on one Xbox. These games offer different kinds of local play, so check the platform and mode before choosing.

Quick comparison: which game fits your group?

Game Local players and screen Play style and scope Platform qualification Best fit
It Takes Two Two players; split-screen Cooperative adventure built for two; EA describes couch co-op and online co-op. EA’s page supports the couch co-op and split-screen claims; confirm the compatible edition for your device. A pair looking for a cooperative campaign.
Minecraft Up to four players; split-screen Local multiplayer; the cited feature page establishes the player count and screen mode, not a specific campaign limitation. Split-screen is available only on consoles, according to Minecraft’s official feature page. A group of up to four with a supported console setup.
Baldur’s Gate 3 Up to two players; split-screen Co-op; the Xbox store listing describes split-screen co-op. The two-player, one-console claim is specific to the Xbox listing. Two Xbox players who want a role-playing game together.
Sackboy Local player count and screen mode not stated in the cited editorial. Listed as a local multiplayer example; campaign coverage is not specified there. Named in PlayStation’s PS4 local multiplayer editorial; check the specific game and edition. A PlayStation owner exploring local multiplayer options.
Sonic Superstars Up to four players; split-screen in the campaign. PlayStation’s editorial identifies campaign split-screen. The cited detail appears in PlayStation’s PS4 local multiplayer editorial; verify current compatibility for your edition. A group seeking a local campaign for up to four.

Best for a two-player co-op campaign

It Takes Two

EA describes It Takes Two as an adventure built purely for two, playable in couch co-op or online co-op, and its official page shows split-screen. That makes it the clearest fit here for a pair who want a game designed around cooperation rather than a larger party title with an added two-player mode. See EA’s official It Takes Two page for the game and mode details.

EA also describes a Friend’s Pass for online play, subject to requirements. That is an online option; it should not be mistaken for a general free local copy. If you plan to play on one screen, confirm the couch co-op setup for the edition and device you intend to use.

Best local option for up to four players

Minecraft

Minecraft offers console split-screen for up to four players at once, according to Mojang’s official feature page. The console limitation matters: the cited page does not say that split-screen is available on every platform. Check your device and edition before buying if playing together on one display is essential.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Best two-player split-screen RPG on Xbox

Baldur’s Gate 3

The Xbox store listing specifies split-screen co-op for up to two players on one Xbox. This is a platform-specific claim, not a basis for assuming the same local mode on every version. The listing separately says online console multiplayer requires a subscription sold separately; that statement concerns online play, not the local split-screen mode. Check the Xbox store listing for the edition and terms that apply to your setup.

More PlayStation local multiplayer leads

PlayStation’s local multiplayer pages point to additional options, but the details are not equally specific for every title. Its couch co-op collection includes It Takes Two and Baldur’s Gate 3 among its listed games: PlayStation’s Play Together collection. Its local PS4 editorial names Sackboy and Sonic Superstars; for Sonic Superstars, it specifies up to four-player split-screen in the campaign: PlayStation’s local PS4 multiplayer guide.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Use those pages as starting points, not guarantees that every edition or console generation has identical modes. In particular, the cited detail for Sonic Superstars is about the campaign, while the cited Sackboy entry does not establish a player count or screen mode.

How to choose a couch multiplayer game

  • Match the number of players. The verified limits here range from two players for It Takes Two and Xbox’s Baldur’s Gate 3 listing to up to four for console Minecraft and Sonic Superstars campaign split-screen.
  • Check how the display works. Split-screen divides the display into player views. Some local multiplayer games instead share one screen; do not assume a game is split-screen just because it supports couch play.
  • Distinguish local from online co-op. A game may offer both, but online-only support does not satisfy a one-room setup. EA’s Friend’s Pass information for It Takes Two concerns online play, while the game also has couch co-op.
  • Verify the exact platform and edition. Modes can differ by platform. The clearest examples are console-only split-screen in Minecraft and the one-Xbox detail in the Baldur’s Gate 3 store listing.
  • Look for campaign-specific limits. A local mode may apply to the campaign or particular modes rather than every part of a game. PlayStation’s stated four-player split-screen detail for Sonic Superstars specifically concerns its campaign.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What this shortlist does—and does not—cover

These are verified examples, not an exhaustive ranking of every local multiplayer game. The official pages cited here do not provide a consistent cross-platform comparison of player counts, screen modes, and campaign coverage for every candidate. Where a detail is not stated above, check the official page or store listing for your exact platform and edition before purchasing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from Patch Notes

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.