Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsThe Last Guardian appears to have sold modestly rather than becoming a major commercial hit, but there is no confirmed Sony worldwide lifetime total. The strongest public estimate is roughly 1–2 million copies, attributed to VGChartz in a 2019 Third Point investor presentation. That figure is indirect and should not be treated as an audited result. Sony’s own financial materials reviewed for the game do not publish a title-specific lifetime number.
The available launch indicators point in the same general direction without proving a global total: 82,260 copies were reported for the game’s first week in Japan, 93,014 cumulatively after the following week, and the title debuted at number seven on the weekly UK games chart. Those figures cover different territories and time periods, so they cannot simply be added together or compared with lifetime sales for another game.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The short answer: probably modest sales, not a documented blockbuster
The Last Guardian was released for PlayStation 4 on December 6, 2016. Public evidence supports describing its commercial reach as limited or modest. It does not support a precise statement such as “the game sold exactly X million copies worldwide.”
The distinction matters because the often-repeated 1–2 million figure is not a Sony announcement. It appears in a 2019 presentation by Third Point, which attributes the estimate to VGChartz. That makes it a rough third-party estimate with low confidence, not a company-reported sell-through total. Sony’s supplemental 2017 financial-results material reports PlayStation 4 platform sell-through and selected first-party software totals, but does not list a lifetime sales figure for The Last Guardian.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
In practical terms, the fairest answer to “Did The Last Guardian sell well?” is: it seems to have found a relatively small audience compared with a major first-party hit, while the exact worldwide result remains undisclosed.
Every public sales indicator, separated by scope
The figures below answer different questions. Keeping their geography, time window and confidence level attached prevents a launch-week observation from being mistaken for a lifetime total.
| Indicator | Reported figure | What it covers | How much weight to give it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Worldwide estimate in a 2019 Third Point presentation | Approximately 1–2 million copies | A rough estimate attributed to VGChartz; the presentation is not a Sony sales disclosure | Low confidence; useful as an order-of-magnitude clue, not a settled total |
| Japan, first week | 82,260 copies | Japanese launch-period sales only | Medium confidence as a regional indicator; not worldwide lifetime sales |
| Japan, after the following week | 93,014 copies cumulatively | Japan through the second reported week | Medium confidence; still a short regional window |
| United Kingdom weekly chart debut | Number seven | Position on a weekly UK games chart | Medium confidence as a ranking; a rank does not reveal unit sales |
| Sony title-specific lifetime total | Not stated in the Sony financial material reviewed | No official figure located for this individual game | High confidence about what the cited Sony tables include and omit |
Why Sony’s own reports do not provide a definitive total
Sony’s supplemental financial-results reporting is not a complete catalog of every game’s lifetime performance. The 2017 material includes PlayStation 4 platform sell-through and selected first-party software totals, but The Last Guardian is not listed with its own cumulative number.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →That omission should be read narrowly. It means the inspected Sony reporting does not establish a title-level lifetime total; it does not prove that the game sold poorly, nor does it prove that no internal figure exists. Companies routinely disclose some products and aggregate others. A platform total, such as the number of PS4 systems or all software units sold, cannot be substituted for sales of one particular title.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Sony also uses specific software-accounting terms in its financial reporting. Sell-through estimates, shipments, digital transactions and physical units are not automatically interchangeable. Any comparison with another game would need matching definitions, regions, formats and dates. Without those controls, a larger-looking number can describe a fundamentally different measure.
What the Japan numbers tell us
First-week performance
The reported Japanese first-week figure is 82,260 copies. This is a useful snapshot of the title’s opening in one market, but it is not a worldwide launch figure. It may reflect the reporting method used for that chart coverage and should not be expanded to include digital sales, other countries or later years unless those components are separately documented.
The following week
The same secondary chart summary reports 93,014 copies cumulatively after the next week. Because this is a cumulative Japanese total, it includes the first-week result rather than adding a second independent worldwide number. The increase between the two reported points indicates that sales continued beyond launch, but the two-week window cannot establish the game’s lifetime performance.
Why a regional figure cannot settle the global question
Japan is one territory with its own retail patterns, chart coverage and platform mix. A title can perform differently in North America, Europe and other markets, and physical and digital sales may be tracked separately. The Japanese figures therefore support a cautious statement about launch reach in Japan, not a conclusion about the complete global audience.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What the UK number-seven debut tells us
The Last Guardian reportedly entered the weekly UK games chart at number seven. That placement indicates that several games ranked above it during that particular week, but a chart position is ordinal rather than quantitative. The difference between seventh place and sixth place could be a large or small number of copies, and the ranking does not disclose digital coverage, revenue or cumulative sales.
It is also a weekly result, not a lifetime ranking. A game can debut outside the top tier and continue selling for months, or open strongly and fall quickly. The UK result is best used as one launch signal alongside the Japanese data, not as a conversion formula for worldwide units.
How reliable is the 1–2 million estimate?
The estimate commonly cited for the game is written as “~1–2mm” in a 2019 Third Point presentation. The presentation credits VGChartz, so the source chain is Third Point presenting an estimate attributed to VGChartz rather than Sony reporting a final audited count.
Recommended Free Tools
There are three reasons to keep the range qualified:
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
- It is approximate. The tilde and the range itself signal an order-of-magnitude estimate, not a precise database total.
- It is indirect. The number is reproduced in an investor presentation and attributed to a third party, rather than issued in a Sony earnings release for the title.
- The measure is not fully specified in the cited line. The public wording does not, by itself, document the exact treatment of digital copies, physical shipments, regional coverage or the cutoff date.
Even with those limitations, the estimate is directionally consistent with the launch evidence: the game was visible in major charts but did not present the public profile of a runaway seller. It should be quoted as “an approximately 1–2 million third-party estimate,” never as an official lifetime result.
Release timing and why context matters
The game’s launch date was December 6, 2016, on PS4. In a September 12, 2016 launch update, Shuhei Yoshida, then identified as President of SCE Worldwide Studios, explained a delay by writing: “To ensure that The Last Guardian delivers on the experience that the game’s creators have envisioned, we need to take the extra time to work on those issues.” That statement concerns development and release quality, not sales, but it helps identify the specific product and its long-delayed path to market.
Release context is important when interpreting a commercial result. The Last Guardian was a single PS4 title arriving late in the console generation’s holiday period, and its public sales evidence is fragmented across regional charts and an external estimate. None of those facts supplies a development budget, a break-even target or a publisher forecast. Without those business inputs, “successful” and “unsuccessful” are judgments rather than measured outcomes.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →What can responsibly be concluded
Supported conclusion
The supported conclusion is that The Last Guardian achieved modest commercial reach. The Japan launch figures and UK chart debut show that it sold through retail channels and registered on national charts. The 2019 estimate places its possible worldwide scale in the low single-digit millions, but only as an approximate third-party range.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Claims the evidence does not support
- There is no verified Sony worldwide lifetime total in the cited financial material.
- The Japanese figures cannot be presented as global sales.
- The UK number-seven ranking cannot be converted into a unit count without the underlying chart data.
- The 1–2 million estimate cannot be described as audited, official or exact.
- Platform-wide PS4 software totals cannot stand in for this game’s sales.
How to compare this game with another title without mixing unlike numbers
A fair commercial comparison requires the same measurement on both sides. Use this checklist before drawing a conclusion:
- Match the geography. Compare worldwide with worldwide, Japan with Japan, or the UK with the UK.
- Match the time window. First week, first month and lifetime are separate measures.
- Match the unit definition. Confirm whether the figure means sell-through to players, shipments to retailers, paid downloads or a combined total.
- Match the format coverage. Check whether physical, digital and bundled copies are included for both games.
- Match the reporting date. A 2017 total and a 2019 estimate may describe different points in the product’s sales life.
- Label confidence. A publisher disclosure carries different evidentiary weight from a chart summary or an estimate attributed through an investor presentation.
Following those rules prevents a common error: comparing a single territory’s opening week for one game with another title’s worldwide lifetime sales and calling the larger number proof of superior performance.
What this means for someone who wants to play it
The Last Guardian is a PS4 game, and Sony’s official product information identifies that platform and the December 6, 2016 release date. A physical PS4 copy is relevant for players who prefer a disc or collectors who want a boxed version. Current stock, prices, edition details and retailer availability are not established by the sales figures above and can vary by country and condition.
Sales history also does not determine whether the game is worth playing. It answers a narrower question: how large an audience the public evidence indicates. A modest commercial result can coexist with a distinctive game, while a high-selling title is not automatically a good fit for every player.
Final assessment
The Last Guardian does not have a publicly confirmed Sony lifetime sales total in the reporting examined. The best available worldwide figure is a low-confidence estimate of approximately 1–2 million copies attributed to VGChartz in a 2019 Third Point presentation. Japan’s 82,260 first-week copies and 93,014 cumulative copies after the next week, plus a number-seven UK chart debut, show measurable but not overwhelming launch traction.
So, did it sell well? Probably not in the sense of a major blockbuster; more accurately, it appears to have sold modestly, and the exact worldwide total remains undisclosed.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

