Recommended Free Tools
Ubisoft has confirmed a remake of Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, titled Assassin’s Creed Black Flag Resynced, and separately released a free 60 FPS performance update for Assassin’s Creed Unity on current consoles. The two are different products. Black Flag Resynced is a new version of a 2013 game, with a scheduled release date of July 9, 2026 on PS5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC. The Unity update improves an existing 2014 game on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S.
Two separate Ubisoft updates
Ubisoft’s franchise update, “Assassin’s Creed: Into 2026,” was published on March 4, 2026. It hinted at a Black Flag project and announced that Unity’s 60 FPS patch would arrive the following day. Head of Content Jean Guesdon framed the hint with a playful line: “some whispers have a little more wind in their sails.” The formal details for the remake followed in Ubisoft’s April 23, 2026 overview, “Assassin’s Creed Black Flag Resynced Out July 9: Everything You Need to Know.”
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Assassin's Creed Black Flag Resynced - PlayStation 5 | $54.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag - PlayStation 4 | $24.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Assassin's Creed: The Rebel Collection (Nintendo Switch) | $27.99 | Buy on Amazon |
Keep the two items apart when you write about them. Unity received an update to the original game. It did not receive the remake, and Black Flag Resynced does not replace or patch Unity.
Assassin’s Creed Black Flag Resynced
Ubisoft describes Black Flag Resynced as a faithful recreation of the 2013 original, rebuilt on the latest version of the proprietary Anvil engine. The remake adds and changes elements across several systems:
#1 Best Overall
- BECOME A FEARSOME PIRATE- Strike fear in your foes as you board and sink enemy vessels as Edward Kenway, captain of the Jackdaw. Whether blending into crowds or leading daring assaults, switch between silent takedowns and fierce brawls as you effortlessly wield swords, pistols, and the Hidden Blade. With a cast of historical pirate legends at your side, defy empires amidst the age-old conflict opposing Assassins and Templars.
- A CLASSIC REBUILT FOR AN ENHANCED EXPERIENCE- Combat has been rebuilt for more dynamic encounters, emphasizing parries and takedowns, while stealth and parkour have been improved for smoother escapes and assassinations. Continuously upgrade the Jackdaw to face powerful enemy ships with enhanced naval mechanics featuring new alternate fire modes. Quality-of-life additions also address previous pain points, ensuring your experience is improved.
- THE CARIBBEAN LIKE NEVER BEFORE- Whether you’re sailing the open seas or journeying across untamed lands, discover a seamless open world built with the latest Anvil engine. Take in sweeping vistas as you brave stormy waters, dive into underwater shipwrecks, or push through dense tropical jungles. Enhanced by features such as Dolby Atmos and ray tracing, every scene feels more immersive, bringing the world’s beauty to life.
- EXPANDING EDWARD’S ADVENTURE- Building on top of the original story, Assassin’s Creed Black Flag Resynced introduces exclusive new content. Familiar faces will return, with new storylines dedicated to fan-favorite characters such as Blackbeard and Stede Bonnet. Unexpected allies will also cross your path, as three officers join you on your journey as part of the main narrative. More surprises await, such as new sea shanties, pets, a photo mode, and more.
- Visuals: a rebuilt presentation on the current Anvil engine.
- Missions and combat: revised mission content and combat systems.
- Stealth and parkour: updated stealth and movement mechanics.
- Naval systems: changes to ship and sea gameplay, the series’ most distinctive element in Black Flag.
- Weather: additions to the weather systems.
Ubisoft has not published a detailed changelog that compares each system against the 2013 version, so the scope of each change should be read from the overview rather than assumed.
Platforms and access
Ubisoft’s April 23 overview lists three platforms: PS5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC. PC access is listed through PC storefronts. Cloud streaming is listed through NVIDIA GeForce Now and Blacknut. Ubisoft did not name other streaming services, so do not assume support elsewhere.
Ubisoft also lists physical editions. A physical Standard Edition is sold through local retailers, and a Collector’s Edition is offered for PS5 and Xbox Series X|S. The Collector’s Edition contents include a 31 cm (about 12 inch) Edward Kenway figurine, a leather logbook, a metal brooch, a steelbook, and a sea shanty music sheet.
PC requirements
Ubisoft published two PC tiers. The minimum tier targets 1080p at 30 FPS on the low preset with standard ray tracing. The recommended tier targets 1080p at 60 FPS on the medium preset. These are Ubisoft’s published requirements, not results from independent benchmarking.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Rank #2
- A BRASH REBEL ASSASSIN: Become Edward Kenway, a charismatic yet brutal pirate captain, trained by Assassins. Edward can effortlessly switch between the Hidden Blade of the Assassin's Order and all new weaponry including four flintock pistols and dual cutlass swords
- EXPLORE AN OPEN WORLD FILLED WITH OPPORTUNITIES: Discover the most diverse Assassin's Creed world ever created. From Kingston to Nassau, explore 50 unique locations where you can live the life of a pirate
- BECOME THE MOST FEARED PIRATE IN THE CARIBBEAN: Command your ship, the Jackdaw, and strike fear in all who see her. Plunder and pillage to upgrade the Jackdaw with ammunition and equipment needed to fight off enemy ships
- EXPERIENCE THE GRITTY REALITY BEHIND THE PIRATE FANTASY: Stand amongst legendary names such as Blackbeard and Benjamin Hornigold, as you establish a lawless Republic in the Bahamas and relive the truly explosive events that defined the Golden Age of Pirates
- MULTIPLAYER EXPERIENCE: Play with your friends in the ruthless and critically acclaimed multiplayer experience. Choose from an eclectic cast of characters from the Golden Age of Pirates and fight to the death in exotic locations
| Component | Minimum (1080p, 30 FPS, low preset) | Recommended (1080p, 60 FPS, medium preset) |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | Intel Core i7-8700K or AMD Ryzen 5 3600 | Intel Core i5-10600K or AMD Ryzen 5 3600 |
| GPU | NVIDIA GTX 1660, AMD RX 5500 XT, or Intel Arc A580 | NVIDIA RTX 3060, AMD RX 6600 XT, or Intel Arc B580 |
| Memory | 16 GB dual-channel RAM | 16 GB RAM (channel configuration not stated) |
| Storage | 65 GB SSD | 65 GB SSD |
| Operating system | Windows 11 | Windows 11 |
Ubisoft says the full PC experience can be played offline after a single online connection to install the game.
Release status
The release date Ubisoft gave for Black Flag Resynced is July 9, 2026. That date is now in the past. The April 23 overview establishes the schedule and platform list, but it does not confirm whether the game launched on time, its current price, or whether it is in stock at any retailer or streaming service. Check the storefronts and Ubisoft’s current pages before buying.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Assassin’s Creed Unity 60 FPS patch
Ubisoft’s March 5, 2026 patch notes, “Assassin’s Creed Unity – Play now at 60 FPS on consoles,” list the following console specifications. The patch is free and covers consoles only. Ubisoft’s sources do not describe a PC change.
| Console | Resolution and frame rate (Ubisoft specification) |
|---|---|
| Xbox Series X | 4K at 60 FPS |
| Xbox Series S | 1080p at 60 FPS |
| PS5 | 4K at 60 FPS |
| PS5 Pro | 4K at 60 FPS |
Ubisoft’s follow-up, published March 6, 2026 on Ubisoft News, summarizes the change more broadly. It says Unity received 60 FPS on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S, and a 4K update on PS5 and Xbox Series X. The follow-up also references subscription access to Unity through Ubisoft+. Confirm the current Ubisoft+ catalog and your region before assuming access.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Rank #3
- Includes Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag with all its single-player DLCs on game card and Assassin’s Creed Rogue digital download.
- Enhanced Features for the Nintendo Switch system
- In Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag become the most feared pirate in the Caribbean - Become Edward Kenway
- An award-winning naval experience - Command your ship, the Jackdaw, and strike fear in all who see her.
- In Assassin's Creed Rogue Slowly descend into darkness - witness Shay's transformation from an adventurous assassin to a grim and committed Templar hunting down his former brothers
These figures are the publisher’s specifications. They are not independent frame-rate measurements, and performance will vary by scene and by how a given console is set up.
Remake or update: which applies to you
| Question | Assassin’s Creed Unity patch | Black Flag Resynced |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Performance update to a 2014 game | Remake of the 2013 Black Flag |
| Platforms named by Ubisoft | PS5, PS5 Pro, Xbox Series X|S | PS5, Xbox Series X|S, PC |
| Cloud streaming named by Ubisoft | Not stated in the March sources | NVIDIA GeForce Now and Blacknut |
| Date | Patch published March 5, 2026 | Scheduled for July 9, 2026 |
| Physical editions | Not stated in the March sources | Standard Edition at local retailers; Collector’s Edition for PS5 and Xbox Series X|S |
If you want to play the original Unity on a current console at a higher frame rate, the patch is the relevant update. If you are waiting for the Black Flag remake, the April overview is the source for its platforms and schedule.
What is still unconfirmed
- Whether Black Flag Resynced launched on July 9, 2026 as scheduled, and its present price and stock.
- Whether any streaming service beyond GeForce Now and Blacknut will carry the remake.
- Any PC performance change for Unity. The March sources cover consoles only.
- Independent performance results for either title.
Ubisoft’s official pages are the primary sources for these points. Check them directly for the latest status, since storefront listings and regional availability can change after publication.
Quick Recap
“
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




