Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Unknown 9: Awakening is a single-player action-adventure built around Haroona, a young woman who can reach the Fold, a parallel dimension. The developer says you do not need to read or watch anything else in the franchise to follow its plot. Other Unknown 9 stories add lore and background, but they are not prerequisites.
This is a review-oriented guide, not a verdict. The official material describes what the game is designed to do. It does not establish how well those systems perform in play, and no independent critical consensus is available to summarise. Treat the sections below as a map of what is promised and what you should check before buying.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Unknown 9: Awakening - Compatible for PS5 - UK PAL | $24.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Atari 50: The Anniversary Celebration - PS5 | $44.95 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Overpass 2 [GRA PS5] | $29.48 | Buy on Amazon |
What kind of game Unknown 9: Awakening is
The game is a single-player action-adventure. According to the official PlayStation US listing, you play as Haroona, a Quaestor drawn into a conflict between secret societies and the Fold. That listing says the Ascendants want to use the Fold to change human history, which gives the story its central threat.
The genre label matters because it sets expectations for how encounters are built. The publisher presents the game as a mix of combat and stealth, supported by abilities that let Haroona interact with the Fold directly. How well those two halves fit together is the central question a review would need to answer, and it is one this guide cannot answer from marketing material alone.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems#1 Best Overall
- Brand new. UK Import PAL version. Game in English. UK PSN account may be required for any online features.
The Fold abilities the publisher advertises
The publisher lists four families of Fold powers. Each is described as an intended mechanic, not as a tested one.
Stepping into enemies
The most distinctive ability is the option to enter an enemy’s body and control them. The publisher uses the phrase “Stepping into” for this, and it is the main hook in the marketing. Whether it is a reliable tactical tool, a situational trick, or a mechanic that dominates encounters is not something the official material can show.
Evasion and concealment
The listing also names dodging bullets and disappearing in plain sight. Together these point toward a stealth-leaning approach in which Haroona avoids detection rather than only fighting through it. The publisher says the game allows different playstyles and different ways to approach most encounters. That is a design claim, and the sources available here do not test whether the alternatives are equally viable.
Umbric energy attacks
Haroona can also attack with Umbric energy. The official listing presents this as the offensive counterpart to the stealth tools, so the combat side of the game is built on these attacks rather than on conventional weapons alone.
Do you need the other Unknown 9 stories first?
No, according to the developer. The Reflector Entertainment 2024 press kit lists comics, novels, scripted podcasts, and video games as the franchise’s media, and describes each story as a standalone narrative and an entry point. That structure fits the developer’s account of the game.
Rank #2
- 100+ classic games lovingly presented with best-in-class emulation and modern quality-of-life enhancements – and the ability to play classic games that have not been available for ages
- Discover the brand that launched the modern video game industry and the creative individuals behind it through interviews, archival images, special source material and behind-the-scenes content within an interactive timeline
- Emulation of games created for seven hardware platforms: Arcade, Atari 800, Atari 2600, Atari 5200, Atari 7800, Atari Jaguar, Atari Lynx
- Over 60 minutes of exclusive interviews with key players in the games industry – from early Atari designers and engineers and other luminaries of the gaming world -- as they discuss Atari’s enduring impact on the video entertainment landscape
- A retrospective on gaming history that is a must-own for collectors and fans of video games
In the official developer Q&A, Yoan Le Souder, the developer representative, answers the question directly:
“It isn’t necessary to consult the other stories. The game plot can be understood by itself.”
Christophe Rossignol, identified as Creative Director in the same Q&A, says the other stories help readers learn more about the world and its other characters. He also frames the game in terms of interactivity: “As a player, you’re not only witnessing the story of Haroona, you’re experiencing it.” That is a developer’s description of the medium rather than an independent judgment of the writing.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →If you finish the game and want more of the world, the official material identifies the novels, comics, and podcast as places to find additional lore. Availability of those formats varies, and the sources here do not confirm current retail options.
Platforms and editions
The game launched on October 18, 2024. Bandai Namco’s launch announcement names the following platforms:
Rank #3
- 30 vehicles official manufacturer, in 3 categories, UTV, ATV, Rock Bouncer
- 5 types of racing, off-road sprint, off-road track, mountain climbing, obstacle course, closed circuit
- Official manufacturers, equipment and sponsors
- A comprehensive career mode with team and calendar management
- Online races for up to 8 players
| Platform | Release date | What the sources state |
|---|---|---|
| PlayStation 4 | October 18, 2024 | Digital PS4 version is included in the PS4/PS5 product entitlement on the PlayStation US listing |
| PlayStation 5 | October 18, 2024 | Digital PS5 version is included in the same entitlement; see upgrade conditions below |
| Xbox One | October 18, 2024 | Named in the launch announcement; edition details not stated in the sources |
| Xbox Series X|S | October 18, 2024 | Named in the launch announcement; edition details not stated in the sources |
| PC (Steam) | October 18, 2024 | Store page lists minimum requirements (see below) |
The PlayStation US listing states: “This product entitles you to download both the digital PS4® version and the digital PS5® version of this game.” That wording applies to that listing, not to every edition sold elsewhere.
The listing describes an upgrade path for existing PS4 owners, who can obtain the PS5 digital version at no extra cost under the conditions stated there. Disc owners must insert the disc to qualify. PS5 Digital Edition owners cannot use the disc-based entitlement. Confirm these conditions on the current listing before you rely on them.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11PC requirements on Steam
The Steam store page for the game lists the following minimum requirements. These are the store’s stated figures, not performance tests.
- Operating system: Windows 10
- Memory: 12 GB RAM
- Graphics: 8 GB VRAM, or AMD RX 580
- Storage: 55 GB free space
- Drive: SSD
Steam lists minimums only. The page does not establish the frame rate or settings you can expect at those specifications, so check the page for any updates before purchase.
Price and edition
The PlayStation US listing shows a Standard Edition and a Deluxe Edition. At the time the listing was captured, it showed an offer of $9.99 against a stated original price of $19.99, with the offer ending October 22, 2026 at 06:59 UTC. This is a US storefront figure from a 2026 snapshot. It is not a stable price, and it does not apply to other regions or stores. Check your local store page for the current price and the contents of each edition.
Accessibility options
Accessibility features are reported in two places, and they are not identical. The developer Q&A and the PlayStation US listing each name different options, so the table below shows where each feature is stated. Do not assume every platform offers the same set.
Quick Recap
| Feature | Where it is stated |
|---|---|
| Colour-blindness settings | Developer Q&A |
| HUD scaling | Developer Q&A |
| Subtitle scaling | Developer Q&A; PlayStation US listing lists subtitle options |
| Keyboard and controller input remapping | Developer Q&A |
| Control reminders | PlayStation US listing |
| Stick sensitivity and inversion | PlayStation US listing |
| Pausing in offline play | PlayStation US listing |
| Manual saving | PlayStation US listing |
| Play without simultaneous button presses | PlayStation US listing |
| Motion controls, touch controls, vibration, adaptive triggers | PlayStation US listing accessibility section |
Before you buy
- Choose your platform first. Check the PlayStation, Xbox, or Steam listing for the edition and any upgrade conditions that apply to you.
- Compare your PC against the Steam minimums. The listed figures are the minimum, not a performance guarantee.
- Confirm the accessibility options on your platform. Controls and display settings vary by listing.
- Check the local price. The US offer is time-limited and region-specific.
- Read independent reviews before judging combat, pacing, length, or value. The official material here describes the game’s intent. It cannot tell you whether the stealth and combat systems deliver on that intent.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




