Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
VGSOURCES
Get listed

Dungeons & DragonsPATCH 2026.10.18

Why D&D Returned to Ravenloft Again: What the Schneider Interview Confirms

By VGSources Team 7 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The available excerpt does not reveal why Dungeons & Dragons returned to Ravenloft. It records Polygon writer Francesco Cacciatore asking principal game designer Wesley Schneider, “Why Ravenloft?”, but it does not reproduce Schneider’s answer. What can be confirmed is narrower: a new sourcebook called Ravenloft: The Horrors Within is being presented alongside Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft, which the excerpt describes as having arrived five years earlier.

That distinction matters. The question is documented; the explanation is not. Any claim about the team’s design goals, the reason for revisiting the setting, or what changed between the two books would go beyond the published material currently available.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What the June 23, 2026 listing actually establishes

The relevant item is a Polygon interview listing attributed to Francesco Cacciatore and dated June 23, 2026. The interviewee is Wesley Schneider, identified as a principal game designer for Dungeons & Dragons. The listing’s reproduced excerpt begins with Cacciatore asking Schneider a direct question: “Why Ravenloft?”

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The excerpt frames that question around a new Ravenloft sourcebook, Ravenloft: The Horrors Within. It also names Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft, describing the newer book as a remake of that earlier sourcebook. The same passage says the earlier guide was released five years before the new book. That is the wording of the excerpt; it is not an independently checked calculation based on two confirmed publication dates.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Those are the firm points. The listing establishes the participants, the opening question and the identities of the two books. It does not provide a product page, a release specification, a chapter list, a rules preview or Schneider’s substantive reply.

  • Interview: Francesco Cacciatore speaking with Wesley Schneider.
  • Date shown on the listing: June 23, 2026.
  • Opening question: “Why Ravenloft?”
  • New book named: Ravenloft: The Horrors Within.
  • Earlier book named: Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft.
  • Relationship described in the excerpt: the new sourcebook is characterized as a remake of the earlier one.
  • Timing language: the earlier guide is said to predate the new book by five years.

Nothing in that list supplies Schneider’s reasoning. It is therefore possible to report what the interview is about without pretending that the interview’s answer is visible.

Why the title’s “why” remains unanswered

An interview opener is not the same thing as an answer. “Why Ravenloft?” is Cacciatore’s question, not a quotation from Schneider and not a statement of policy from Wizards of the Coast. The excerpt stops before the response that would explain the decision.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That missing response leaves several different possibilities open, and the available text does not allow them to be ranked. A return could be motivated by a creative brief, a desire to revise earlier material, a change in audience, a publishing plan, or something else entirely. None of those motives is established here. Naming one as the reason would turn a question into an unsupported conclusion.

The absence is broader than one missing sentence. The material at hand also does not establish:

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  • what Schneider said the designers wanted to accomplish;
  • which parts of the earlier guide are being retained, rewritten or replaced;
  • whether the new book changes rules, setting presentation, adventures, monsters or campaign advice;
  • the intended audience or campaign format;
  • a confirmed release date, edition, format or price;
  • how much of the book is new material rather than revised material; or
  • any sales, playtest or survey statistic supporting the return.

These are not minor omissions. They are the details a reader would need in order to explain the business or design logic behind a second Ravenloft sourcebook. Until Schneider’s answer or an official product description supplies them, the responsible answer is that the rationale has not been published in the material available here.

What the “remake” description tells us—and what it does not

The excerpt’s most consequential phrase is its description of Ravenloft: The Horrors Within as a remake of Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft. That wording supports a relationship between the books, but it does not define the scope of the remake.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

“Remake” could refer to a comprehensive replacement, a reorganization of similar material, a revision for a later rules context or a broad editorial label for a book that revisits the same subject. The excerpt does not choose among those interpretations. It also does not say whether every chapter has an equivalent, whether any text is carried over, or whether the new volume adds wholly different sections.

Comparison point What is established What is not established
Book identity Both titles are named in the listing. Exact editions, formats or product numbers.
Relationship The excerpt calls the newer book a remake of the earlier guide. How closely the contents correspond.
Rules and mechanics Not stated. Any revised rules, subsystems or character options.
Setting coverage Both books are presented as Ravenloft sourcebooks. Which domains, locations or lore receive coverage.
Adventure material Not stated. The presence, number or structure of adventures.
Tone and design aims Not stated. Any stated approach to horror, safety tools or campaign style.
Publication details The excerpt uses a five-year comparison. Verified publication dates, price, release window and availability.

This table is deliberately narrow. It separates a documented label from the many conclusions readers might be tempted to draw from it. A comparison of mechanics, tone or chapter content would require the full interview, an official description or the books themselves.

How to read the five-year comparison

The excerpt says Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft came out five years before Ravenloft: The Horrors Within. That phrasing explains why Cacciatore’s question sounds surprised: the listing presents the new volume as a return to a setting that already received a sourcebook relatively recently.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

It does not establish the precise calendar interval. No publication dates for both books are supplied in the material available here, so “five years” should remain attributed to the excerpt rather than converted into an exact date calculation. The comparison also does not prove that the earlier guide was inadequate, obsolete or commercially unsuccessful. It only supplies the interval used to frame the interview question.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That qualification prevents a common mistake: treating elapsed time as evidence of a particular motive. A five-year gap can describe chronology without explaining the decision that followed it.

What a complete answer would need to show

When the full interview is available, readers can test the explanation against a few concrete standards. A reliable account of the return should identify Schneider’s own words, make clear which statements are his and which are the interviewer’s framing, and distinguish an aspiration from a confirmed feature of the book.

  1. Locate the direct response. The answer should quote or accurately paraphrase Schneider’s reply to “Why Ravenloft?” rather than infer a motive from the existence of the book.
  2. Separate intent from implementation. If Schneider describes a goal, that does not by itself prove the final book contains a particular mechanic, adventure or setting revision.
  3. Match each claim to its scope. A comment about the design team’s priorities should not be presented as a statement about every page of the sourcebook.
  4. Check the comparison. If the interview says the new volume revises the earlier guide, the explanation should identify whether that means a replacement, an expansion or another kind of revision.
  5. Keep dates and editions attached to the claim. Release timing and product details can vary by format and region, so they should be reported only when an official listing confirms them.

This approach protects readers from a headline becoming more specific than the underlying interview. It also leaves room for Schneider’s eventual explanation to be nuanced rather than forcing it into a single slogan.

What players can safely take away now

There is still useful information in the short listing, even without the designer’s rationale. A player deciding whether to follow the announcement can identify the project and the earlier point of comparison. A DM who already owns Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft can recognize that the new title is being positioned in relation to that book, while understanding that the extent of the revision is unknown.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

The practical conclusions are limited but clear:

  • The project is called Ravenloft: The Horrors Within.
  • The named predecessor is Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft.
  • The public interview listing centers on the question of why the setting is being revisited.
  • The available excerpt does not answer that question.
  • No verified comparison of rules, adventures, setting material, tone or format is available from the excerpt.
  • No price, availability, edition or confirmed release specification is established by this material.

That is enough to identify the announcement, but not enough to tell an owner whether the new book is worth replacing an older one. A replacement decision would require content and edition information that the listing does not provide.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Open questions that should not be filled with guesses

What changed since the earlier guide?

The excerpt does not identify any changed chapter, rule or setting element. “Remake” alone cannot answer that.

Why revisit Ravenloft now?

Schneider may have addressed this in the unseen portion of the interview, but no rationale is reproduced in the available listing. The timing question remains open.

Is the new book meant for existing owners?

There is no audience statement, upgrade guidance or conversion advice in the material available here.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is it a new edition or a new format?

No edition, physical format, digital format or release configuration is confirmed.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Does the book include adventures or campaign tools?

The listing supplies no contents list, so neither presence nor absence can be reported.

Keeping these questions open is more informative than answering them with assumptions. It tells a prospective reader exactly what additional information would change the assessment.

The responsible answer to “Why Ravenloft?”

For now, the documented answer is about the question, not the motive: Cacciatore asked Wesley Schneider why Dungeons & Dragons was returning to Ravenloft while introducing Ravenloft: The Horrors Within as a remake of Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft, described as five years older. The excerpt available from the June 23, 2026 Polygon listing does not include Schneider’s explanation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Readers can therefore identify the project and the comparison, but they should not attribute a design goal, content change or publishing reason to Schneider until his answer is actually available. Any fuller explanation would require the complete interview or an official product description.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Dungeons & DragonsRavenloftRole-playing gamesTabletop GamesWesley Schneider

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.